Classic Macaroni and Cheese - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1 cup each

Savor this saucy, cheesy crowd-pleaser today. You can't go wrong with this Classic Macaroni and Cheese recipe that leaves a lasting impression.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Melt butter in large saucepan on low heat. Stir in flour; cook and stir 2 min. or until bubbly. Gradually stir in milk; bring to boil on medium heat, stirring constantly. Simmer on low heat 3 to 5 min. or until thickened, stirring constantly. Add 1-1/2 cups cheese; cook and stir 2 to 3 min. or until melted. Stir in macaroni.
  • Spoon into 1-1/2-qt. casserole sprayed with cooking spray; sprinkle with remaining cheese.
  • Bake 20 min. or until heated through.

Healthy Living

Save 50 calories and 7g of fat, including 4 g sat fat, per serving by preparing with fat-free milk and KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Cheddar Cheese.

Substitute

Prepare using KRAFT Shredded Mild Cheddar Cheese.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 400
Total fat 21g
Saturated fat 12g
Cholesterol 60mg
Sodium 340mg
Carbohydrate 37g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 5g
Protein 16g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 40 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really liked this recipe because it's simple and does not use eggs. I really liked this recipe because it's simple and does not use eggs. I do use a little less milk and i use more cheese. (we are cheese lovers in my house). I also will add onion from time to time for a little kick. This is my standard dish i bring for pot luck and everyone loves it.
Date published: 2010-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this several times before but I also added 1/2 cup cubed Velveeta cheese to saucepan and... I've made this several times before but I also added 1/2 cup cubed Velveeta cheese to saucepan and then after putting mac n cheese in casserole dish, I sprinkle plain bread crumbs on top. My family loved it!
Date published: 2011-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is it possible to make this with mozzeralla cheese since my family does not like cheddar cheese. Is it possible to make this with mozzeralla cheese since my family does not like cheddar cheese. Someone please respond and if they enjoyed it. Thank you. <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ Mozzarella cheese is not appropriate cheese in a sauce because it will be very think and stringy – not smooth. You could, however, follow the Tip to use mild cheddar instead of the sharp cheddar. >>>
Date published: 2007-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is fabulous, I didn't change a thing. This is fabulous, I didn't change a thing. It is perfect as it is and the sharp cheddar really makes it! I served it with salmon patties and spinach. My hubby is not usally a big mac & cheese fan but he sure took 2nds and even 3rds of this one! The kids loved it too! This sure beats the boxed kind!!
Date published: 2005-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a funeral, but I did get to sample a little. I made this recipe for a funeral, but I did get to sample a little. This is an excellent recipe. One I remember from when I was young. Very easy to make. You could probably slip a little Velveeta in for a little sweeter taste if you prefer. But the old fashioned sharp cheddar was wonderful! Thanks!
Date published: 2003-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from GROSS quantified This was the most awful tasting bunch of goo we have ever tried. Obviously no one on your dietary advisement section has ever had Macaroni and Cheese as done in New England. There is no taste to this product. It also has very little nutritious value. This would never be served in our home.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a family gathering (just doubled the recipe) and it was a complete hit. I made this recipe for a family gathering (just doubled the recipe) and it was a complete hit. Everyone loved it, and I made it again a couple of days later, and yet again it was all eaten. It is so much better than just opening a box of mac & cheese, but almost as simple to prepare.
Date published: 2007-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think in an earlier review I said I added cream of potato but I obviously was thinking of a... I think in an earlier review I said I added cream of potato but I obviously was thinking of a different recipe! This one is by far the BEST homemade mac and cheese I've had. I added a little garlic, onion and then ritz crackers to the top. Never any left overs. Delicious!!!
Date published: 2008-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is very easy to make and it very cheesy. This is very easy to make and it very cheesy. I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit at the dinner party. I have many recipes for mac and cheese, but this is the one I will use from now on. I would suggest using various cheese like colby and jack also.
Date published: 2003-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was absolutely excellent. This was absolutely excellent. I used a variety of cheeses and will probably make this about 3 to 4 times a month. However, I do believe that I will decrease the flour to 1 1/2 tablespoons, I might have done something wrong, but there was a slightly gritty feel.
Date published: 2007-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made the mac and after much disapproval from my teenage son. I made the mac and after much disapproval from my teenage son. It wasn't bad considering I have NEVER made mac and cheese from scratch before but it was not as creamy as I had hoped and a little bland. I may make this again after some more advice from grandma.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like I made years ago. Just like I made years ago. I added some Velveeta also as my family likes lots of cheese. Also some had some chopped green chiles in the refrigerator so added them. Everyone loved it and want me to make it again, which I plan to do on the Fridays of Lent.
Date published: 2003-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have found that this recipe is very good, however, I saute some chopped onion, green and red... I have found that this recipe is very good, however, I saute some chopped onion, green and red pepper and add to the macaroni before I bake it in the oven. It not only looks great but the flavor is wonderful and you get some vegetables in your diet.
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had never made homemade macaroni and cheese before. I had never made homemade macaroni and cheese before. I was babysitting my niece and needed something for lunch. I found this recipe and tried it - I will continue to make it from now on rather than the boxed kind. It was very easy and delicious!
Date published: 2004-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i was looking to find this recipe and i was really glad that people tell you how to make it all... i was looking to find this recipe and i was really glad that people tell you how to make it all different ways. i wanted to try something different and this showed me how. my husband and kids love this dish and belive me i will bake this again
Date published: 2003-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is essentially the recipe I use, which was my mother's, except I add a teaspoon of dry mustard... This is essentially the recipe I use, which was my mother's, except I add a teaspoon of dry mustard (or a tablespoon of prepared mustard) with the flour and butter. Makes a great mac and cheese which my family and cousins all love.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really, really good! Really, really good! I made as directed since it was dinner for my two young children and they loved it. For myself, I would add some black pepper and red pepper flakes, but it was still very yummy! Easy to make and quick, too:)
Date published: 2010-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this last night.. Made this last night.. Best thing about this recipe is that it is QUICK QUICK QUICK!!! Very reasonable portion size.. this could feed a family of 4. I have made larger portions that were just tooo big. Excellent simple flavor!
Date published: 2006-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome. Awesome. I normally make mac and cheese for a crowd and it never came out right when I scaled down the ingredients. This recipe tasted the same and was just enough for my small family. I would definitely make this again.
Date published: 2007-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this with very high hopes, but it didn't come out as good as expected. I made this with very high hopes, but it didn't come out as good as expected. It thickened nicely, but came out slightly gritty with a bit of an odd taste. I may have done something incorrectly, and I plan to try again.
Date published: 2007-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this recipe but I do boil the macaroni first. I love this recipe but I do boil the macaroni first. Each time I have made this without doing that, the macaroni is hard and tuff. I also add cut up cubes of low sodium spam. It is soo delicious... My husband loves it!
Date published: 2007-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe. I love this recipe. I've never been a huge fan of boxed mac 'n cheese. This is fabulous. It's quite good without even baking it. My 3 young kids love it! (If you don't bake it, it's just as fast as boxed.)
Date published: 2007-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not have all of the ingredients to make my normal Mac N Cheese, but had everything for this... Did not have all of the ingredients to make my normal Mac N Cheese, but had everything for this one. It was kind of bland. None of the four kids came back for seconds...usually they have seconds or thirds.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic. Fantastic. Could not believe how good this tasted given how simple it was! I have been looking for a recipe to rival that great mac and cheese they serve in so many diners and truck stops and this is it!
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe was just ok. This recipe was just ok. I found it a tad bland but that may be because I used a medium cheese instead of a sharp cheese. I will try it again with a stronger cheese and maybe some vegetable additions.
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made the mac & cheese exactly as directed. I made the mac & cheese exactly as directed. The cheese sauce tasted great before I put it in the oven. After cooking for 20 min in the oven, almost all of the cheese sauce was gone! What happened??
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had my doubts about this but after I put it all together and tasted it, it was so good! I had my doubts about this but after I put it all together and tasted it, it was so good! If the flour and butter mixture looks too thick, add a little more butter :) Black pepper was good on this too
Date published: 2007-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the best mac and cheese recipe i have tried, , i used the extra sharp cheese and added a... this is the best mac and cheese recipe i have tried, , i used the extra sharp cheese and added a pizza cheese to make up the difference and my family love it i surely will make it many more times
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was way too rich! This was way too rich! If I ever do make it again, I will not use sharp cheese and I'll probably cut the cheese in half. Even my Mac 'n Cheese loving kids were not impressed by this recipe.
Date published: 2007-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter and I love this! My daughter and I love this! She said it is way better than the box stuff and that I am a good cooker! Thanks, will definately make this again, matter of fact sounds good for tonight!
Date published: 2006-07-12
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_149
  • loc_en_US, sid_57123, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

500232:57123

>