Coconut-Pecan Filling and Frosting - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Coconut-Pecan Filling and Frosting

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
20
min.
Servings

36 servings, 2 Tbsp. each

This is, of course, the best reason to eat German chocolate cake. A sweet, caramely mix of coconut and pecans that can make you forget there's a whole dessert underneath it.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Beat egg yolks, milk and vanilla in large saucepan with whisk until blended.
  • Add sugar and butter; cook on medium heat 12 min. or until thickened and golden brown, stirring constantly. Remove from heat.
  • Add coconut and nuts; mix well. Cool to desired spreading consistency.

Size Wise

Enjoy this rich, classic BAKER'S recipe. A small amount goes a long way so keep tabs on portions.

Note

This easy-to-make recipe makes about 4-1/2 cups frosting - enough to frost top and sides of 3 (8- or 9-inch) cake layers, tops of 2 (13x9-inch) cakes or 36 cupcakes.

Servings

  • 36 servings, 2 Tbsp. each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 36 servings, 2 Tbsp. each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 140
Total fat 10g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 55mg
Carbohydrate 12g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 11g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made a German chocolate cake for my dad for Father's Day and I used this frosting recipe. I made a German chocolate cake for my dad for Father's Day and I used this frosting recipe. The problem I have is that it too thick to spread on the cake. I also didn't have enough for a two layer 8 inch cake. I ended up having to go to the store and buying a can which was actually a lot easier to spread!
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is my first time actually making a cake, and I used this frosting for it (a Baker's German's... This is my first time actually making a cake, and I used this frosting for it (a Baker's German's sweet chocolate cake -- thanks for the recipe!). This frosting was very easy to make, and made good use of baking ingredients that I had on hand (leftover from making the cornbread for my Thanksgiving dressing!). I made this recipe as written, except for one thing. The recipe called for a 12-oz can of evaporated milk. That size wasn't available at my grocery store, so I had to buy two smaller cans for a total of 10 ozs. I supplemented it with some buttermilk (2 ozs) that I had leftover. (Since I'm just learning how to cook, it seemed important to me to have 12 ozs of liquid -- not sure if it made that much of a difference). This recipe made enough for my 9X13 cake, with just a little left over. While I was cooking the icing, however, I noticed yellow flecks showing up in the mixture. I assumed it was eggs (or maybe butter?), and kept cooking it to make sure any salmonella wo
Date published: 2004-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the only recipe I make for the German Chocolate Cake, that is my husbands favorite. This is the only recipe I make for the German Chocolate Cake, that is my husbands favorite. If some are having trouble getting it think enough, it is not cooking long enough in the initial stage, really needs 12 to 20 min depending on how high you cook it, but it does thicken without powdered sugar.
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this frosting along with the cake every year for my husband for his birthday. I have made this frosting along with the cake every year for my husband for his birthday. This is the 39th year. I have never have any issue with either! I actually double the frosting for the cake. He loves both, they are his favorite and he can tell if I cheat during the year and try a boxed cake!
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother made this recipe for my step-fatheron his birthday,and I was allergic to coconut. My mother made this recipe for my step-fatheron his birthday,and I was allergic to coconut. So, my mother decided to put a new twist on the recipe and left out the coconut and pecans. Now this is the only way I will eat the frosting, even though I did grow out of the allergy.
Date published: 2005-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making this recipe for at least 10 years. I have been making this recipe for at least 10 years. It can be found inside Baker's German's sweet chocolate box. It is now and forever will be the family favorite. One comment of caution: Do not let the frosting mixture (egg yolks) get over 180 degrees as they will seperate.
Date published: 2002-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Since one of my sisters now needs gluten free foods, we have discovered that this frosting is... Since one of my sisters now needs gluten free foods, we have discovered that this frosting is almost as great over chocolate or vanilla ice cream as over the Baker's German's Chocolate Cake that has been our family tradition from our mother for about 50 years.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best results for a spreadable frosting is to make the frosting before the cake and be sure to... The best results for a spreadable frosting is to make the frosting before the cake and be sure to refrigerate. Once the cake is made and done, the frosting will be ready. Otherwise the frosting will run if used shortly after being prepared.
Date published: 2006-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my daughter-in-law and a co-worker for their birthdays and now it is an annual... I made this for my daughter-in-law and a co-worker for their birthdays and now it is an annual thing. In fact I am making it for another co-worker tonight for her birthday. It is sinfully rich and wonderful and not hard to do.
Date published: 2002-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake has been my favorite for more than 40 years. This cake has been my favorite for more than 40 years. It was my favorite Auntie birthday present to me for years. When I relocated from MI to TX, she finally gave me this recipe so, I could have birthday cake anytime i wanted.
Date published: 2009-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will make this for Thanksgiving/birthday dessert again. I will make this for Thanksgiving/birthday dessert again. I have made this cake for 38 years - my husband's favorite dessert. This time I am baking cupcakes as it will be easier to serve to our big crowd at holiday dinner!
Date published: 2008-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turned out perfect! Turned out perfect! And delicious. Thickened up nicely. You need to start timing for 12 minutes when mixture comes to a roiling boil. Keep heat at medium the whole time. Will thicken as it cools.
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This my favorite icing. This my favorite icing. One thing I do is I don't time the 12 minutes till the mixture is boiling. that method has been full proof but means all together is a little longer than12 minutes. Delicious!
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I've been making this recipe for decades. It's easy and super caramelishiously delicious! I could just eat it with a spoon. I'll keep making it as long as I'm able to cook...and eat.
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been making this recipe for about 10 yrs every Christmas and it is always a hit. I've been making this recipe for about 10 yrs every Christmas and it is always a hit. Everyone seems to think it is the best German Chocolate Cake they have EVER tasted!!thanks;)
Date published: 2009-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my husband and Grandpa's fav kind of cake. This is my husband and Grandpa's fav kind of cake. I just made it for grandpas b day and everybody loved it. The frosting was awsome. I love it and its pretty easy to make.
Date published: 2010-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This frosting was very running. This frosting was very running. I kept the cake in the fridge and pulled it out 30 minutes before serving. The cake was a melted mess. Taste great, but not practical.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Followed the directions and ended up with very runny frosting. Followed the directions and ended up with very runny frosting. I tried adding more coconut and then adding cornstarch. Nothing helped. Tasted good but would not thicken.
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the recipe that my grandmother made for many, many years. This is the recipe that my grandmother made for many, many years. It's a classic in my family and I'm now the one to make it you all the special occasions.
Date published: 2008-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe sugar free using Spelenda it was Delicious! I made this recipe sugar free using Spelenda it was Delicious! My husband couldn't believe it was sugar free!Will be making this many more days to come!
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is a great recipe.The recipe is easy to follow and understand. It is a great recipe.The recipe is easy to follow and understand. The best part is getting to eat your handiwork, the cake is great.
Date published: 2007-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully easy!!! Followed directions exactly! Came out perfect....am extremely happy and this will be my go to recipe for coconut pecan icing!!!
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I went overboard with the coconut and it wouldn't stay on the cake very good. I went overboard with the coconut and it wouldn't stay on the cake very good. Otherwise very good. I vould eat it all by itself
Date published: 2006-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly a wonderful recipe. Truly a wonderful recipe. Not too sweet and really delicious. Very different from the every day frosting and so much better
Date published: 2002-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't think this would be able to frost 2 9x13 cakes. I don't think this would be able to frost 2 9x13 cakes. It provided a nice, thick icing on one cake for me.
Date published: 2002-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved this on german choclate cake. My husband loved this on german choclate cake. It was so easy to make and tasted so smooth and delicious
Date published: 2004-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe, I also did not time until it started boiling but it was wonderful and fun! This was a great recipe, I also did not time until it started boiling but it was wonderful and fun!
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have been making this since I was a teenager and never had a problem. It is always perfect.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This frosting is so delicious I couldn't stop eating it from the spoon after it was made. This frosting is so delicious I couldn't stop eating it from the spoon after it was made.
Date published: 2013-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY Coconut-Pecan Filling and Frosting worth making! The ONLY Coconut-Pecan Filling and Frosting worth making! 5 stars all the way>
Date published: 2010-10-14
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_51053, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505812:51053

>