Cream Cheese Flan Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Cream Cheese Flan Recipe

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
50
min.
Servings

8 servings

Fulfill your every flan-tasy with our Cream Cheese Flan recipe. Watch now to learn how to make a crowd-pleasing flan recipe.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Cook 1 cup sugar in small saucepan on medium heat until melted and deep golden brown, stirring constantly. Pour into 9-inch round pan; tilt pan to evenly cover bottom with syrup.
  • Blend milk and cream cheese in blender until smooth. Add remaining sugar, eggs and vanilla; blend just until smooth. Pour over syrup in pan. Place filled pan in larger pan; add enough hot water to larger pan to come halfway up side of small pan.
  • Bake 50 min. to 1 hour or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool slightly. Carefully remove flan from water; cool completely on wire rack. Refrigerate several hours or until chilled. Unmold onto plate just before serving.

Size Wise

Sweets can add enjoyment to a balanced diet, but remember to keep tabs on portions. One serving of this flan is 1/2 cup.

How To Unmold Flan

Bake and refrigerate flan as directed. Run metal knife around edge of flan. Invert onto plate; shake gently to loosen. Gently twist to remove pan. To soften any remaining caramel in pan, dip bottom of pan in hot water; spoon caramel over flan.

Flavor Variations

Prepare as directed. Choose one of the following options: Guava: Add 1/2 cup guava paste, cut into pieces, or 1/2 cup canned guava shells in heavy syrup to cream cheese batter before pouring into prepared pan. Lime: Add zest from 1 lime to boiling sugar mixture; remove from syrup before sugar caramelizes. Pour into prepared pan as directed. Cajeta: Add 1/4 cup cajeta (Mexican goat milk caramel) to cream cheese batter before pouring into prepared pan. Chocolate-Orange: Add 2 oz. BAKER'S Semi-Sweet Chocolate, melted and cooled, and 1 Tbsp. orange zest to cream cheese batter before pouring into prepared pan. Coconut: When serving adults, omit vanilla. Add 1/4 cup BAKER'S ANGEL FLAKE Coconut or 1/2 cup coconut milk, and 1 Tbsp. rum to cream cheese batter before pouring into prepared pan.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 390
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 165mg
Sodium 190mg
Carbohydrate 55g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 54g
Protein 9g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 15 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is very good! This recipe is very good! I learned how to make cream cheese flan from my grandmother. I also added variations to it. Instead of cream cheese you can add a can of pumpkin pie filling and condensed milk (for a more richer taste). Other variations are chocolate chips, crushed almonds and a vegetable known in Puerto Rico as panapen. Just experiment!
Date published: 2009-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Delicious yes! Delicious yes! But be careful with that sugar which turns into molten lava when melted. Fitting the whole thing into a 9 inch pan was a challenge, and fitting that pan into another pan full of hot water was yet another challenge. It was really good but I think from now on I'll just eat flan in a restaurant.
Date published: 2005-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tips: 1) the water bath part's important 2)Perfect Shape: Use a 2 1/4 Quart (10"? Tips: 1) the water bath part's important 2)Perfect Shape: Use a 2 1/4 Quart (10"?) round Corning Ware bowl instead of a baking pan. beautiful shape! 3) Caramel melting: keep the stove on high and stir constantly (preferably with a wooden spoon) 4)Cleaning caramel: soak pan (that was used to make caramel) in water for 45 min to get out all the hardened caramel easily 5) Mixing: do not overbeat/mix the eggs 6) Water bath: put baking dish in the other pan/dish first, then put both on your oven rack, then pour the hot water into the bigger pan/dish 7) Removing from dish: let the flan cool in its dish. Second, fill the bigger pan again with cold water and put the flan dish in that pan for 30 seconds. Loosen the sides of the flan from the dish with a knive. Center an upside down plate on top of the flan dish. Hold both together carefully as you quickly flip them both together. The flan will easily drop onto the plate. 8) Topping: top with strawberries: chop strawberries, mix
Date published: 2005-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my family last night and we all fell in love with it. I made this for my family last night and we all fell in love with it. The caramel got stuck to the bottom (I had to boil it off), and I also bought too small of a can of evaporated milk so I added some sweetened condensed milk and it tasted so good my guest asked me to make it for an event for them.
Date published: 2007-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Cream Cheese Flan was AMAZING, I have made it twice this week because as soon as I made the... This Cream Cheese Flan was AMAZING, I have made it twice this week because as soon as I made the first one, two days later there was no more! my whole family said it was the best flan they have had, and honestly to me not only was it delicious but it was easy to make and I am all about easy! =]
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe because it was so simple and besides that I had quite a bit of cream cheese on... I loved this recipe because it was so simple and besides that I had quite a bit of cream cheese on hand. I did experience some problem with the consistency of my carmel. (Not sure what went wrong there). All in all, it was pretty good and I will definately try it again.
Date published: 2006-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second time this year making it again.I made it for Thanksgiving and now i made it again... This is my second time this year making it again.I made it for Thanksgiving and now i made it again for NEW YEARS EVE and I did NOT offer I was told to make the desserts. This is one of the 3 different ones I made. THIS IS A MAJOR LATIN HIT HERE IN MIAMI!!!!
Date published: 2006-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was sooooo awesome! This was sooooo awesome! I was a little scared at first because it was so easy to make but my picky husband, even pickier son, and a few of my friends agree that this recipe is a keeper. The flan was gone in one day! Can't even write how much I loved it!!!!
Date published: 2009-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very easy to make. This was very easy to make. I used a tip I had read to use a can of La Lechera in place of the cup of sugar and it came out rich and delicious. Not too sweet like you might think. If you like cheesecake you'll love this. Can't wait to make this again!! YUM
Date published: 2007-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from There is a serious flaw somewhere in this recipe. There is a serious flaw somewhere in this recipe. The custard part taste great but the carmel sauce was rock hard and stuck to the bottom of the dish. I followed the recipe exactly and the sauce hardened within seconds of pouring on bottom of dish.
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! Would difinitely make again. The batter is very thin. Don't do what I did and put it into a springform pan! I didn't have a pan big enough to set the 9" pan. Thought I could split it into two smaller (springform) pans.
Date published: 2008-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This flan was fairly easy to make, and turned out really good. This flan was fairly easy to make, and turned out really good. It was not as sweet as I thought it was going to be but it was my first time trying flan. I would definitely make it again because my husband and daughter loved it!
Date published: 2006-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little too heavy and I didn't like the strong evaporated milk taste. A little too heavy and I didn't like the strong evaporated milk taste. Will make again using 4 oz of cream cheese and replace the evaporated milk with half-and-half. Also, a bit too sweet. Will reduce the sugar in the mixture.
Date published: 2012-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was so light, creamy and flavorful. It was so light, creamy and flavorful. Instructions are very easy and I didn't (and wouldn't) change a thing. My guests all agreed that it was the best flan they ever had, and I agree. Definitely a keeper.
Date published: 2005-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been making this recipe for over 5 years now and it never fails to impress. I've been making this recipe for over 5 years now and it never fails to impress. I have made it as is, as well as using the Guava and Coconut flavor varations. Guava seems to be the winner among guests.
Date published: 2007-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW! This cheesecake flan was superb. It was easy to make, is a beautiful "presentation" dessert, the consistency smooth, the taste perfect - not too sweet, not too cheesy. Try it - you won't be sorry.
Date published: 2006-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is GREAT i made it for my boyfriend and supposely he didnt like flan or anything like... This recipe is GREAT i made it for my boyfriend and supposely he didnt like flan or anything like it but once he tested this cheese cake flan he keeps on telling me to make it, that's how good it is.
Date published: 2006-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to make. Very easy to make. Tasted like a cross between flan and cheese cake. I substituted Philadephia Neufchatel chees and 2% evaporated milk in the recipe, futher reducing the fat. Yum comments by all.
Date published: 2006-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from we have made this several times and its always a great hit! we have made this several times and its always a great hit! everyone loves it and it disappeares quickly! great flavor and so easy. my 14 yr old daughter makes it herself because its her favorite.
Date published: 2008-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When i made the caramel it turned out ok i put it in the mold then bake the whole flan but when i... When i made the caramel it turned out ok i put it in the mold then bake the whole flan but when i took it out, all the caramel got hard at the bottom of the mold. what did i do wrong? please help.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made one flan for my family, and it was so delicious I made a second one to take to work. I made one flan for my family, and it was so delicious I made a second one to take to work. Everyone (family and work) loved it!!! Very easy to make. I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2006-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so easy to make, easy to serve, and all the family loved it, including the kids. This recipe was so easy to make, easy to serve, and all the family loved it, including the kids. It was creamy and sweet and from my family to your family try it, you can't miss.
Date published: 2006-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Coming from a mexican family thata everbody knows how to cook but me, they were very impressed with... Coming from a mexican family thata everbody knows how to cook but me, they were very impressed with very easy to make flan. They even said very much better then orginanal kind.
Date published: 2006-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this! Loved this! I made this for a Cinco de Mayo party tonight and it was a hit. The dish was licked clean and my husband, who doesn't normally like flan, liked this recipe.
Date published: 2008-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I served it for my New Years get together and it was a big hit. I served it for my New Years get together and it was a big hit. Wouldn't change a thing, definitely doing again. A simple way to impress all those stuck up aunts. :)
Date published: 2008-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to make and tasted great. Easy to make and tasted great. I used low fat cream cheese to cut some of the calories. I would make this again for sure. The hardest part was waiting for it to cool!
Date published: 2007-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this flan! I loved this flan! It was sooo delicious and it was simple to make! I made it for my family and everyone loved it! I'm going to make it again for sure! Thanks Kraft!!
Date published: 2008-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I MADE THIS BECAUSE I HAD ALL INDGREDIANTS ON HAND...IT WAS SO GOOD I HAD TROUBLE GETTING THE... I MADE THIS BECAUSE I HAD ALL INDGREDIANTS ON HAND...IT WAS SO GOOD I HAD TROUBLE GETTING THE CARAMEL AT THE RIGHT CONSISTENCY BUT ALL TOGETHER EASY AND DELICIOUS!!
Date published: 2005-05-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was good, but just too thick. It was good, but just too thick. It was more like cheese cake with the flan flavor. The temperature indicated was not enough to melt the caramel sugar completely.
Date published: 2008-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been wanting to make a flan and found this recipe and finally made it. I've been wanting to make a flan and found this recipe and finally made it. It was so easy and it taste as good as it looks. My family and friends love it.
Date published: 2010-05-06
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_26, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_52824, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

506120:52824

>