Creamy Chicken Enchiladas Verde - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas Verde

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

8 servings

See our Creamy Chicken Enchiladas Verde video and make this green chicken enchilada recipe! Tasty Salsa adds flavor to our green chicken enchilada recipe.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Mix sour cream and salsa until blended. Cook and stir onions and garlic in hot oil in large skillet on medium heat 4 to 5 min. or until onions are crisp-tender. Stir in chicken, 1 cup sour cream mixture, 1/2 cup cheese and chiles.
  • Spoon about 1/3 cup chicken mixture down center of each tortilla; roll up. Place, seam-sides down, in 13x9–inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray. Top with remaining sour cream mixture and cheese. Cover.
  • Bake 15 to 20 min. or until heated through.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a side of hot cooked rice and spicy black beans.

Special Extra

Sprinkle with chopped tomatoes and sliced green onions just before serving.

Variation

Prepare as directed, omitting the oil and substituting 1 lb. extra-lean ground beef for the chicken. Brown meat with onions and garlic; continue as directed.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 330
Total fat 17g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 85mg
Sodium 690mg
Carbohydrate 20g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 2g
Protein 24g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 20 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this today. I made this today. The family liked it. My husband suggested adding more vegetables. I think it was missing something too, but it could be that I used the red salsa instead of green. And I used 10 inch soft tacos. I just used what I had, but it was still delicious!
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! Yummy!! The creamy sauce was such an amazing combination. Very easy to make & the family loved it. I used corn tortillas because I just don't like the idea of flour tortillas for enchiladas.... That seems more like a burrito to me. But great recipe & will make again :)
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried this recipe last night and it was a big success. I tried this recipe last night and it was a big success. I loved it and will definatly have it again. I like my enchiladas a little hotter, so I added jalepenos and onions to the top and sprinkled a little hot sauce when it was out of the oven. Good stuff!
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious! I did add some cumin to the sauce and used wheat flour tortillas. This one is more authentic to me since I'm not a fan of cream soups in chicken enchiladas verde. Next time I plan to make a pico de gallo to decorate the top for a bit more heat.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dish was amazing! This dish was amazing! It just bursts with flavor! It was perfect - I can't think of one thing I would change about this recipe. Best enchilada recipe I've tried (and I've tried many). I'll definitely be making this again, hopefully sometime soon.
Date published: 2011-09-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but nothing special I've made this twice now. It's good but really lacks that "something special" flavor. I can't figure out what to add to get that. Tried a different type of salsa for each attempt. Corn tortillas were much better than flour ones.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My two oldest are 8 and 6- they HATE onions... My two oldest are 8 and 6- they HATE onions... I made this dish exactly (except used canned chicken) and they both had seconds. They said the onions "didn't taste like onions" and it was delish!! Wahoo!!
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious! I added fajita seasoning to the chicken mix as well as the verde sauce. I like a lot of flavor and spice so it was a little bland without it for my liking. Otherwise it was great!
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Very Good! Very Very Good!..... I added cumin and cayenne pepper (We like it hot). I only warmed it in the over for approx 10-12 min. and it came out perfectly! Will be adding to the weekday rotation.
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe came out fine despite the fact that I ended up using regular salsa. This recipe came out fine despite the fact that I ended up using regular salsa. The most difficult part was pulling apart the chicken, but overall, fairly easy to make.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these! LOVE these!! I used pre-cooked marinated shrimp and corn toritillas. Brother, husband & I loved them! :) Low fat cheeses make this a healthy delicious dinner!
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great weeknight recipe. This is a great weeknight recipe. I've made it 3 times in the last few months and every time it is a huge hit. Great for working moms since it is so simple.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband and three boys for dinner one night. I made this for my husband and three boys for dinner one night. Turned out great and was something we all liked. I will definitely be making this again.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make and had great flavor. Easy to make and had great flavor. I was running short on time so I used a rotisserie chicken from the store. I will definately make again.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made these tonight for dinner, used life balance tortillas and they were soggy! Made these tonight for dinner, used life balance tortillas and they were soggy! Will try again using corn tortillas, filling was delicious!
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent!! My only recommendation would be to make extra tomatillo salsa/sour cream sauce--it was so delicious that you will want more.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was a big hit with my family. This recipe was a big hit with my family. It was very quick and easy to make. Will definitely be making this one again and again..
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This will be made again in my home I added my own spices to the chicken mixer and it was great my... This will be made again in my home I added my own spices to the chicken mixer and it was great my family loved it
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was yummy. This was yummy. Did not change the recipe one iota. Just don't crowd the enchiladas or they will be undercooked.
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yumm! Yumm! Excellent. Wow. Superb. *gobsmakes" I LOVE IT! Me and my mom made this meal together and CAN'T get enough
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved this. My family loved this. I have also made it with pulled pork. I mixed in some taco seasoning to the meat.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was the most tasteless dish I've ever made.The recipe is in the trash as is the rest of the... This was the most tasteless dish I've ever made.The recipe is in the trash as is the rest of the dish.
Date published: 2015-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this exactly according to recipe and it was great. I made this exactly according to recipe and it was great. Could be even better with a few tweaks.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of flavor and one of the best recipes I have made in a long time! Lots of flavor and one of the best recipes I have made in a long time! Must try!
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A different twist to enchiladas. A different twist to enchiladas. Easy to make and a hit with everyone!
Date published: 2011-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make The video was very helpful and made it super easy!
Date published: 2017-07-16
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_125313, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

501052:125313

>