Creamy Lemon Squares - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Creamy Lemon Squares

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
3
hr.
23
min.
Servings

16 servings

Lemon, show us your sunny pop of color and your intense burst of flavor. Where would we, and these better-for-you creamy squares, be without you?

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Line 8-inch square pan with Reynolds Wrap® Aluminum Foil. Combine first 3 ingredients in medium bowl. Cut in margarine with pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse crumbs; press onto bottom of prepared pan. Bake 15 min.
  • Beat Neufchatel and granulated sugar with mixer until blended. Add eggs and 2 Tbsp. flour; mix well. Blend in 1 Tbsp. lemon zest, juice and baking powder; pour over crust.
  • Bake 25 to 28 min. or until center is set. Cool completely. Refrigerate 2 hours. Sprinkle dessert with powdered sugar and remaining zest just before serving.
Reynolds® is a registered trademark of Reynolds Consumer Products LLC

Substitute

Substitute 1 Tbsp. each lemon, lime and orange zest for the 3 Tbsp. lemon zest.

Note from the Kraft Kitchens

For a softer crust, reduce the crust baking time from 15 min. to 5 min.

Note

You should get about 1 Tbsp. zest and 2 Tbsp. juice from each lemon.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 170
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 2.5g
Cholesterol 30mg
Sodium 130mg
Carbohydrate 25g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 18g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this recipe! We loved this recipe! I made it just for fun to try and was amazed at how easy it was. My children really enjoyed it also. I am a big lemon square fan and this was a great new twist on them. My only disappointment was that I made it after work and by the time we assembled it and baked it there was not enough time for it to cool and eat that night! Oh well, good things come to those who wait and this is worth waiting for.
Date published: 2008-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and creamy! Delicious and creamy! Super easy to make also. In response to the member who gave it one star and thinks they might have done something wrong- perhaps you grated the peel too far. Just lightly grate the peel. If you get to the white part then it's too far, and that will give it a bitter taste. I encourage you to try this recipe again because it really is delicious! You can probably even leave the peel out all together.
Date published: 2009-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is awesome. This recipe is awesome. I did read previous reviews on crust. I used 1 stick of butter (1/2 c) and baked for 5 min. instead of 15 minutes. AND..for those who want to use other type cookies for crust, it comes out to 1/2 cup of crumbs. For the filling, I followed exactly. For those wanting to know how many lemons for zest. A Tblspoon was about 3 medium lemons. Even though the recipe called for 1/4 c of lemon juice, I just juiced the 3 lemons and it was almost 1/2 c, but it did not affect the filling. We just like it more lemony. I did follow the advice of whipping all ingrediants well. The filling came out light and fluffy. This is, without a doubt, the best lemon bars I have ever eaten. Because of the amount of lemon zest needed to top, and lemons being $1 a piece I opted to garnish with powdered sugar. My family loved it and it is the best the next day, if it makes it that long.
Date published: 2008-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are SO GOOD! These are SO GOOD! I love lemon bars and was so excited to try this recipe. These are by far my new favorite! I also accidentally used a 1/2 cup butter instead of a 1/2 stick, and the crust turned out soft and wonderful. These bars bake up beautifully - no browning, cracking, sinking, puffing, or any of those annoying things that happen with regular lemon bar recipes. Try them! You'll love them!
Date published: 2007-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from After reading all the comments, I was psyched to make these lemon bars. After reading all the comments, I was psyched to make these lemon bars. They sounded oh-so-good. I have to say, I was a bit disappointed in them. They were not a lemony as I anticipated, and the crust was hard to cut. The next time, I plan on experimenting a bit, using a graham cracker crust instead of the cookie crust, and adding 1 tsp lemon extract to get that lemony taste I was looking for.
Date published: 2007-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Easter dinner and had to send in my review. I made this for Easter dinner and had to send in my review. I've never rated a recipe before, but these were incredible! Very easy and such a light compliment to a meal. The fresh squeezed lemon juice makes all the difference! I used the juice of two lemons. The crust wasn't hard, but I made these on Friday night and refrigerated until Sunday, so that might have made the crust softer.
Date published: 2007-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great! These are great! I didn't have the normal sized Nilla Wafers in the house, all I had were the Nilla Wafer Mini's, so I calculated what the equivalent would be (50 of the minis) and it worked out great. I've already made this recipe twice (used the Mini's both times), and it's been a hit both times. I'm sure I'll be making it a few more times before the summer comes to an end!
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is now one of our families favorites. Is now one of our families favorites. This is a lovely dessert, and it's absolutely delicious! Definitely be prepared with the recipe, you will be asked for it! I also made this with a crushed graham cracker crust, and I don't always add the lemon zest if I'm out of fresh lemons. I usually add an extra Tbsp of butter to also get the mixture to resemble the coarse crumbs.
Date published: 2008-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very delicious, but I wish the recipe had indicated how many lemons would be needed for the... This was very delicious, but I wish the recipe had indicated how many lemons would be needed for the grated lemon peel. Two lemons wasn't even enough for the 1 tablespoon's worth needed to go into the lemon filling. I had to go back out to the grocery store in the middle of making this. I ended up using about 3 and a half lemons for 1 tablespoon of grated lemon peel.
Date published: 2007-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These bars are great - taste like lemon cheesecake. These bars are great - taste like lemon cheesecake. I heeded the comments and baked the crust for only 5 minutes. I mixed the filling in a food processor since I only have a hand mixer - was really easy. I did not add the lemon peel to the top - just powdered sugar after thoroughy chilled. Crust was perfect and filling wonderful. Will definitely make this one again.
Date published: 2008-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been looking for a good lemon square recipe for years. I have been looking for a good lemon square recipe for years. I have tried many but was never really satisifed. When I tried this I knew I found the perfect one! I gave some to my Mother to try and she said she had all she could do to not eat it all at once! My husband keeps "trying" it, just to see if each piece is as good as the last. Thanks for a great recipe!
Date published: 2007-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was my first time making lemon squares and they turned out very well. This was my first time making lemon squares and they turned out very well. My only problem was the edges were a bit hard but I think that's due to the high altitude where I live (makes baking kind of hard). The one thing I changed was I only used about 1/2 a cup of lemon juice instead of 3/4 of a cup, and they were still plenty lemony. I'd recommend this recipe.
Date published: 2008-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I HAD TO BAKE THIS RECIPE AN ADDITIONAL 15 MINUTES TO SET THE BATTER. I HAD TO BAKE THIS RECIPE AN ADDITIONAL 15 MINUTES TO SET THE BATTER. I CONSIDER MYSELF EXPERIENCED AND AM USING A NEW BOSCH OVEN IN PERFECT CALLIBRATION. THE RESULTS AFTER CHILLING WERE EXCELLENT BUT CORRECTIONS SHOULD BE MADE TO THE INGREDIENTS AND/OR BAKE TIME. YOU COULD ALSO ADD A BLUEBERRY TO TOP OFF A LARGER PIECE FOR THOSE WHO ENJOY THAT COMBINATION.
Date published: 2007-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I doubled the recipe and added the juice of a fresh lemon and dry lemon mix plus the zest of 1 lemon... I doubled the recipe and added the juice of a fresh lemon and dry lemon mix plus the zest of 1 lemon and thought they had plenty of lemone taste. The crust I also thought was a little difficult to cut at first but if you pushed the tip of the butter knife straight down like you were using an ice pick I had no trouble. Everyone at the party enjoyed these bars.
Date published: 2007-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lemon luscious! Have made this many times and it's always delicious! Have also made it with graham cracker crust. I use 1/4 cup ReaLemon juice and 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. lemon extract when I don't have lemons. I also make Blueberry compote to go with this dessert; the sweet blueberry compote and tangy lemon really compliment each other! Add vanilla ice cream and it's the best!
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe twice and loved it both times. I have made this recipe twice and loved it both times. I did tweak the crustthe 2nd time and chose to bake it with the filling instead of baking it first. It came out PERFECT. I do think that they were still too sweet so next time I will cut down on the sugar in the filling. Other than this - My family loved this recipe and I recommend it to all. Cheers !
Date published: 2008-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! Yummy!!! I gave some to the neighbor and they all raved about them. They taste like a lemon cheesecake. Next time I will spray the foil with Pam because my crust stuck to the foil. My mom tried it without the foil and they stuck to the pan. I also didn't put the lemon peel on top, just powdered sugar before serving and they were still devine!
Date published: 2007-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These were very good--the perfect combination of tangy and sweet! These were very good--the perfect combination of tangy and sweet! I made it for a family gathering and everyone enjoyed it. The only change I would make for next time is not to put foil on the bottom of the pan, since the squares stuck to them somewhat--I think spraying the pan with Pam would work just fine. But very good recipe!
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Per magazine recipe, it says to cook the crumbs 15 mins., then add the filling, I did. Per magazine recipe, it says to cook the crumbs 15 mins., then add the filling, I did. The crumb bottom was very, very hard, I would suggest you bake the crumbs with the filling to see if that helps, seriously the filling was delicious, bottom was not eatable , had made to serve to chuch friends, didn't..I will try again though.
Date published: 2007-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It took longer than the 28 minutes for the middle to set when I made this, so we extended the total... It took longer than the 28 minutes for the middle to set when I made this, so we extended the total time to about 34 minutes. The top was great, but the crust was way too hard after cooking so long. I'll have to try it again and bake the crust less time than the 15 minutes suggested. Otherwise, it was a fresh, tasty dessert.
Date published: 2008-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this and used more margarine than it called for. I made this and used more margarine than it called for. I misread the amount of margarine as 1/2 CUP instead of 1/2 stick. It was great that way. I told my sister about my mistake and she plans to make it that way after reading some of the other reviews about problems with the crust. She loved them they way I made them.
Date published: 2007-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are good! These are good! Skip the brown sugar in the crust; the wafers are sweet enough. Baking the crust for about 8 minutes is enough to ensure a soft crust. Reducing the sugar by 1/3 for the cream cheese filling made little difference in the taste. The result was a tasty treat even with these 3 little recipe adjustments.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took these to a group dinner and they were a hit. I took these to a group dinner and they were a hit. I opted to bake the crust for 5 minutes instead of 15 as it suggested near the bottom, and it was perfect. Another plus was that in my search for a lemon bar recipe it was hard to find one that didn't call for 2-3 cups of sugar. This one had the least amount at 1 cup.
Date published: 2009-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you love lemon you will love these. If you love lemon you will love these. I didn't get the low calorie items though and made my crust with real butter. It wasn't specific on how many lemons and I had to add some lemon from concentrate. You will need TWO if you want fresh lemon. I thought they were to die for!! I will definately make these again.
Date published: 2007-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made these for Easter. Made these for Easter. If you like lemon, you will love these! Be sure and put the conf. sugar on before serving. I was traveling and put it on before I left and when I got there it soaked it, which this type of sugar usually does. I did bring my shaker, so I put more on! Very pretty dessert also! It was a hit!
Date published: 2007-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe. This was a great recipe. I don't really even care for lemon and I still liked this recipe. It was my mom's favorite dessert that she's ever had. She's begging me to make it again really soon. I think I'll omit the lemon peel next time since I don't think it really added anything. Other than that it was perfect.
Date published: 2008-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made my with limes and limejuice. I made my with limes and limejuice. It was delicious. I had to use my food processer to crush the vanilla wafers, they didn't crush easily. I also had to cook it a little longer, about 15 minutes. And the filling isn't quite as full as the picture. But all in all, it had a good flavor and was very different.
Date published: 2011-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The crust was too hard in the plan - maybe if you increased the butter and did not prebake it would... The crust was too hard in the plan - maybe if you increased the butter and did not prebake it would be better. My husband ate the filling. I made them for a dessert to take but did not since the crust was not the best. I was thinking they would be more like the picture crustwise and it definitely was not.
Date published: 2007-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I received rave comments after serving the lemon squares for a brunch. I received rave comments after serving the lemon squares for a brunch. Everyone wanted the recipe. Instead of lining the pan with foil I lined it with parchment paper. The crust was a bit hard, cutting the baking time might help. I am making it again for my granddaughter's lst communion celebration.
Date published: 2008-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best lemon squares ever! Best lemon squares ever! I doubled the recipe and baked in a 13x9" pan. Used half regular sugar and half Splenda, and EggBeaters for the whole eggs. They were a huge hit at both my women's book club and the next day at hubby's office. Glad I saved a few for us ahead of time cuz they disappeared! :-)
Date published: 2013-07-23
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_44, tr_300
  • loc_en_US, sid_104737, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556448:104737

>