Creamy Mandarin Orange Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Creamy Mandarin Orange Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
25
min.
Servings

Makes 18 servings.

Add sour cream and lemon pudding to make this delicious mandarin orange cake rich and moist. Creamy Mandarin Orange Cake has delicious layers of citrus.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Beat cake mix, dry pudding mix, 1 cup sour cream, water, oil, eggs and orange zest with mixer until blended. Pour into 2 greased and floured 9-inch round pans.
  • Bake 25 to 30 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool cakes in pans 10 min. Invert onto wire racks; gently remove pans. Cool cakes completely.
  • Whisk remaining sour cream and sugar in large bowl until blended. Stir in COOL WHIP.
  • Stack cake layers on plate, filling with half each of the COOL WHIP mixture and oranges. Frost top with remaining COOL WHIP mixture. Garnish with remaining oranges. Keep refrigerated.

Variation

Prepare using COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping, and BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream.

Chocolate Cream Cake

Prepare as directed, using a chocolate cake mix and 1 pkg. (3.9 oz.) JELL-O Chocolate Flavor Instant Pudding, and substituting 1 cup fresh berries, such as raspberries, sliced strawberries or blueberries, for the oranges.

Make Ahead

The COOL WHIP filling can be prepared in advance. Store in tightly covered container in refrigerator up to 2 days before using as directed.

Substitute

Prepare using a white cake mix.

How to Store

Keep refrigerated.

Servings

  • Makes 18 servings.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 18 servings.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 270
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 45mg
Sodium 280mg
Carbohydrate 35g
Sugars 25g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake last year for a shower, but I made it as a trifle. I made this cake last year for a shower, but I made it as a trifle. I made the cake in a 9x13 pan, and then cubed it after it cooled. Then I layered the cake with the whipped topping and oranges. It was a huge hit and was so pretty! I'm making it again tomorrow for an anniversary party.
Date published: 2006-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am only a teen and i made this cake for my mom on mother's day. I am only a teen and i made this cake for my mom on mother's day. she absolutely loved it!! she especially loved the orange zesty taste. i highly reccomend the orange peel. this is a very easy cake to make. i have never baked anything in my life and i made this cake like a pro.
Date published: 2006-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was moist and not too sweet. This cake was moist and not too sweet. It was perfect... even my son liked it & normally if it isn't a chocolate cake, he won't even look at it. One of my husband's co-worker liked it so much she asked how much I would charge to make one for her...
Date published: 2007-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and delicious. Very easy and delicious. I made it for Easter and it was a huge hit! And it looked just like the picture! I'll for sure make it again. The only slight downside is that it was a little challenging to cut and serve, but overall, not a big deal.
Date published: 2005-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for Easter. I made this recipe for Easter. It not only looked beautiful and festive, but it was delicious. Everyone enjoyed this tasty cake. I used two cans of Mandarin Oranges and frosted the sides with the Cool Whip. Will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2005-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mom made this for my graduation dinner & it was WONDERFUL! My mom made this for my graduation dinner & it was WONDERFUL! I couldn't wait to come over again for the leftovers! It was very moist & sweet with citrus. She used more madarin oranges than it called for and it was delicious!
Date published: 2005-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a holiday tradition for us. This is a holiday tradition for us. I have substituted the pudding with different flavors as well as the fruit. It always turns out good. I have even put crushed pineapple in the cake mix, all to great reviews.
Date published: 2010-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this cake for a family cook-out. Made this cake for a family cook-out. Everyone loved it. It was easy and the citrus flavor is great for summer time. I gave the recipe to some of my friends to try. I can't wait to try the chocolate variation.
Date published: 2005-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this dessert numerous times; I have even used chocolate pudding instead of lemon. I have made this dessert numerous times; I have even used chocolate pudding instead of lemon. Every time it has been a hit and everyone wants to know where I got the recipe!!! Thanks for the easy recipes!!
Date published: 2005-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made a lemon blueberry variation for Easter and everyone raved. I made a lemon blueberry variation for Easter and everyone raved. Even though this dessert is sinfully rich, my family kept commmenting on how light it was. I can' t wait try this with strawberries!
Date published: 2005-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this cake for my Father-in-laws birthday and it was a big hit on his big day! Made this cake for my Father-in-laws birthday and it was a big hit on his big day!! His wife who never eats many sweets couldn't get enough of it. My husband asks for it on special occations.
Date published: 2005-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic recipe! Fantastic recipe!!!!!! It is scrumptiously delicious and has a great burst of citrus flavours on the tongue which definately heightens the eating enjoyment. This recipe is amazing!!!
Date published: 2005-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the most delicious type of cake I've ever tasted. This is the most delicious type of cake I've ever tasted. The sweet bread just melts in your mouth. My friends and family loved it when I made it for a birthday party. Thanks!
Date published: 2005-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this reipe many, amny time over the last year, starting with my daughters first birthday... I made this reipe many, amny time over the last year, starting with my daughters first birthday because she loved Mandarin oranges, and my whole family still asks for it.
Date published: 2006-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So yummy! So yummy! The pudding mix makes the cake a little bit dense, and the whipped topping balances it out being light and fluffy. I will definitely make this again and again.
Date published: 2005-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took this cake to our family reunion last year and everyone liked it so well, I am taking it again... I took this cake to our family reunion last year and everyone liked it so well, I am taking it again this year. absolutely one of the best cakes I have ever tasted. Ann
Date published: 2008-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my boss bbq party and it was a big hit by all. I made this for my boss bbq party and it was a big hit by all. I had to leave any left overs which of course there was none to leave. This is a superb cake. Thank you.
Date published: 2006-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this recipe all the time in the summer. I make this recipe all the time in the summer. It is perfect for picnics and BBQ's. I always get rave reviews when I make it. Light and fluffy and so yummy!!!
Date published: 2009-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am requested to make this cake for every function I attend, and it get DEVOURED immediately every... I am requested to make this cake for every function I attend, and it get DEVOURED immediately every time. It is EXCELLENT. However I do omit the orange peel.
Date published: 2006-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW!! I made this recipe 7 months ago for Mother's Day. Her birthday was a couple weeks ago and this was the recipe she insisted on for her birthday cake.
Date published: 2005-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Followed recipe exactly except made it in a sheet 13" x 9" pan. Followed recipe exactly except made it in a sheet 13" x 9" pan. Fabulous. Husband wanted to stick his face in the frosting. Moist cake and not too sweet.
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brought this to my coworkers this summer. Brought this to my coworkers this summer. They all said it was very good and light for a summer treat. It was very easy and pretty. A repeater!
Date published: 2005-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my family's favorite desserts! This is one of my family's favorite desserts! We love it just like it is or the chocolate version with berries. We can't decide which is better!
Date published: 2012-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cake several times, and always received compliments. I have made this cake several times, and always received compliments. I have also made this recipe as cupcakes, which turned out very well.
Date published: 2006-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took this to a dessert meeting and was asked for the recipe several times. I took this to a dessert meeting and was asked for the recipe several times. It was gone in a flash. Very moist and not too sweet.
Date published: 2005-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great and simple to make recipe! A great and simple to make recipe! My toddler loves mandarin oranges and so far, I have made this twice. A great tasting cake!!!!
Date published: 2005-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cake is very moist and delicious. Cake is very moist and delicious. I tried it with the filling from the Angel Lush Cake (pineapple filling) and it is to die for!!
Date published: 2005-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NEXT TIME I AM GOING TO CHANGE THE PUDDING TO FRENCH VANILLA AND TRY THAT,I THING IT WILL BE4... NEXT TIME I AM GOING TO CHANGE THE PUDDING TO FRENCH VANILLA AND TRY THAT,I THING IT WILL BE4 EXCELLENT ALSO. SHIRLEY B.
Date published: 2005-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a lite and delicious dessert. This is a lite and delicious dessert. Very easy too and looks pretty enough for company and allows you still stay on a diet.
Date published: 2009-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an amazing recipe. This is an amazing recipe. I have probably made it a dozen times and it is always a tremendous hit. The cake is so moist!
Date published: 2009-02-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_64893, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

547842:64893

>