Creamy Pasta Primavera - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Creamy Pasta Primavera

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

6 servings, 1-1/3 cups each

Fresh zucchini and asparagus team up with penne pasta, chicken and two kinds of cheese for a delicious way to get some veggies on the table.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook pasta in large saucepan as directed on package, omitting salt.
  • Meanwhile, heat dressing in large skillet on medium heat. Add chicken and vegetables; cook 10 to 12 min. or until chicken is done, stirring frequently. Add broth and Neufchatel; cook 1 min. or until Neufchatel is completely melted and sauce is well blended, stirring constantly. Stir in Parmesan.
  • Drain pasta; return to pan. Add chicken mixture; mix lightly. Cook 1 min. or until heated through. (Sauce will thicken upon standing.)

How to Make it Meatless

Omit chicken. Prepare recipe as directed, cooking the vegetables until crisp-tender.

Special Extra

Sprinkle with 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh chives or basil just before serving.

Substitute

Prepare using any variety of whole wheat pasta. Or, prepare using 5 cups of whatever vegetables you have on hand.

Servings

  • 6 servings, 1-1/3 cups each

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 3 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2-1/2 Starch
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 4 Meat (L)
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

This creamy, yet low-calorie, low-sodium and low-fat meal is an easy way to add vegetables to your family's diet.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings, 1-1/3 cups each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 420
Total fat 10g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 85mg
Sodium 370mg
Carbohydrate 45g
Dietary fiber 4g
Sugars 5g
Protein 36g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 25 %DV
Vitamin C 35 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like using cream cheese as a sauce. I like using cream cheese as a sauce. I didn't use Philly this time and it did make a difference. I usually don't like Philly but it makes a great sauce. I made this meatless and used frozen veggies. It needed more spices and was bland. I added Italian spices and that helped a little! I realized I strayed from the reciepe but I hope my comments help you from making the same mistakes. Otherwise good quick and easy meal.
Date published: 2006-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ok- I thought this was delicious, however, based on the comments I "tweaked" it a little. ok- I thought this was delicious, however, based on the comments I "tweaked" it a little. I made 1 1/2 the sauce mix, which was pretty liquidy. I did not use parmesan (because that often lacks flavor for me) and instead used about 1/4 C feta, as well as about 1/2 pkg shredded mozzarella. I seasoned with a little garlic and it was really, really good. I will definitely make this again as my whole family enjoyed it.
Date published: 2008-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm not a huge fan of "primavera" sauce but this turned out pretty tasty. I'm not a huge fan of "primavera" sauce but this turned out pretty tasty. I used a bag of frozen veggies instead of fresh for the convience factor. I used more pasta then what the recipe called for as I had some I needed to get rid of so the leftovers ended up a tad dry even after adding a whole block of cheese. Overall, I'd say add some seasonings and you're good to go. Will throw this into the dinner rotation.
Date published: 2007-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We really enjoyed this one! We really enjoyed this one! If I were to do it again, I would cook the chicken and veggies separately and drain the veggies. The sauce would not thicken at all due to all of the liquid from the veggies. I also marinated the chicken in the dressing for about one or two hours. It added a little extra flavor, but my boyfriend still felt it was bland. If you season this to your liking, it really is great!!
Date published: 2009-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. I made a few changes- I used reg Italian dressing and cooked the chicken fully before adding the veggies because we like them a bit crisp. I used chicken base and water to make the chicken broth.(might have been more flavorful that way) I also added more cream cheese because we like a creamier sauce. It was very flavorful and easy to make. I will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2010-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a very good recipe with a few changes. This was a very good recipe with a few changes. I didn't use the aspargus because my family doesn't like it very much. I added 3 cloves of fresh garlic chopped. I also seasoned the chicken with a little season salt and pepper. I used 8oz of cream cheese instead of 4, it made the sauce really creamy. If you like a little spice add some red pepper flakes too. I thought it was really yummy
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this with 8oz of cream cheese, and 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth.... I made this with 8oz of cream cheese, and 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth.... it was excellent! Also, because this is summer time and my garden is going crazy.... I used zucchini, yellow summer squash, green pepper, yellow banana peppers, and cherry tomatoes.... it was amazing! The left overs are just as tasty! My husband said that this recipe can be added to the 'regular' stack =)
Date published: 2008-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this countless times and always is a winner. I have made this countless times and always is a winner. I normally use about 1 lb of shrimp instead of chicken (which I sautee in EVOO and garlic or grill) or I grill the chicken. I also use what ever fresh veggies I have, asparagus tastes the best though. It is a fresh dish and oh so creamy. Top with more parmesan cheese. Very Tasty! Perfect light dish for hot summer nights.
Date published: 2010-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading several reviews, I went ahead and seasoned the chicken with salt, peeper, and a small... After reading several reviews, I went ahead and seasoned the chicken with salt, peeper, and a small pinch of Italian seasoning. I did not have asparagus but did have everything else. This dish was so good and tasty even the veggies had a lot of flavor. My husband loved it too, he wants this dish to be a staple in our house. Fast and easy to make...my favorite!
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this after reading the suggestions from others and made several changes. I made this after reading the suggestions from others and made several changes. I marinated the chicken for 2 hours in the dressing and then cooked it in the marinade. I cooked the vegetables separately and added the chicken later. And I used 8 oz cream cheese not 4. I also seasoned the dish with italian seasoning and chives before serving. It was very good.
Date published: 2010-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was absolutely fantastic! This was absolutely fantastic!!!! I used Red peppers and broccoli which I steamed & seasoned first. Cut up the chicken breast into 1" pieces that I sauted in EVOO and also seasoned with salt,pepper and garlic powder. I mixed everything together and tossed the pasta in last. Added red pepper flakes for a little heat. Wont be so bland if you season as you go :-)
Date published: 2009-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a great base recipe - loved all the veggies in it, too! This was a great base recipe - loved all the veggies in it, too! Found that if I used a box of rigatoni, I needed a bit more broth and cream cheese to get the ideal consistency and quantity of sauce. Also, it needed quite a bit more seasoning to really have a great flavor. Will definitely make again though with my own tweaks, as it was a hit with the family!
Date published: 2009-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe is great! this recipe is great! some recipes don't work well when cooking for two since the leftovers never taste as good as fresh, however, this makes great leftovers! everyone at work wanted to know what takeout i was eating and i said that i made it myself...they couldn't believe it. i told them how easy it was and told them to check out the recipe as well.
Date published: 2006-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just tried this recipe tonight for the first time and I must say - it was delicious! Just tried this recipe tonight for the first time and I must say - it was delicious! I made it exactly like the recipe called for only I used long grain brown rice pasta noodles (Wheat free, gluten fee for those of us with allergies!) Everyone loved it. My husband even commented that this was a definite "keeper"! I can't wait to make it again.
Date published: 2009-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a big hit with us. This was a big hit with us. Like a previous poster, I added the broth and cheese to the same pan, and the result was a brown color. We still loved the taste, but next time I will try to keep them separate to make it look more like the picture. It's a great way to get vegetables in your diet as well. We will definitely be making this again.
Date published: 2006-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was great! This recipe was great! Instead of chicken I used eye of round and marinated in in a cracked pepper marinade. I added fresh mushrooms too. Then I whipped up a cajun sour cream sauce that consisted of sour cream, creole seasoning and 2 tsps of horse radish. Serve it on ther side. Yum! It was great! This one will go into my 'fav recipes' folder.
Date published: 2009-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! Yummy! Didn't have zucchini, so used more asparagus, which is both locally-grown and in season. Used a whole box of whole-wheat penne, and upped the neufchatel and broth accordingly. My little girl devoured hers and begged me to send some of the leftovers in her school lunchbox today; I'm eating my leftovers-as-lunch even as I write this.
Date published: 2010-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I doubled this recipe and used broccoli instead of asparagus. I doubled this recipe and used broccoli instead of asparagus. I did add extra seasoning to vegetables and a little olive oil when cooking. I left the chicken out. I used a stock pot to cook noodles in and then after pouring out noodles to drain I used that same pot for vegetables. Easy to make and leftovers are better the next day.
Date published: 2006-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wish there was a 1/2 star option...I would say this recipe was pretty good (3.5 stars). I wish there was a 1/2 star option...I would say this recipe was pretty good (3.5 stars). The dish was filling, the veggies were yummy, and the chicken was moist and flavorful. I added garlic, italian seasoning, salt & pepper, but it still could have used something else. My family liked the dish--they said it was "pretty good"
Date published: 2010-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We thought this recipe was wonderful! We thought this recipe was wonderful! The sauce ends up taking on the flavor of the red peppers. This recipe is also very versatile. You can experiment with whatever vegetables you like although I don't recommend leaving out the red peppers. My 2 yr old daugher woofed this down and asked for more. Big thumbs up for us!
Date published: 2006-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME dinner! AWESOME dinner!! My husband and I loved it, all we kept saying was that it tasted too good to be healthy! I used wheat penne instead along with shrimp instead of chicken and added mushrooms. I will def make this again! Also..to feed more..I used the entire brick of cream cheese along with a whole can of chicken broth.
Date published: 2007-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was wonderful! This recipe was wonderful! I used frozen summer blend vegetables, including yellow squash, zucchini, carrots, bell peppers and onions. I also added garlic herb seasoning and pepper. I used whole wheat pasta. The dish was very flavorful and the creamy sauce is a much healthier alternative to alfredo. Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2007-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this without meat for a Friday night Lenten meal. I made this without meat for a Friday night Lenten meal. It was quick, easy, and delicious. You can easily substitute different veggies according to what's in season. My store didn't have fresh asparagus so I used mushrooms. Quite yummy and I'm looking forward to making it with the chicken and asparagus. A winner!
Date published: 2007-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good and my friends loved it! very good and my friends loved it! i used bell pepper when i didn't have asparagus and that added alot of flavor and i also put in yellow squash. i used fat free Philly cream cheese. i would add some italian seasoning next time as it was just a little bland. overall, a great success and i felt healthy eat it!
Date published: 2006-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was very easy to modify for my vegetarian diet. This recipe was very easy to modify for my vegetarian diet. I cut out the chicken and used vegetable broth in place of the chicken broth. I used extra veggies instead (no red pepper though). I liked this recipe a lot, but will not be making it regularly as I prefer super healthy meals (no cheese or less cheese).
Date published: 2008-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this recipe! We loved this recipe! I replaced the peppers with grape tomatoes for the kids. I served this at a children's birthday party and both the parents and children were taking second helpings! The empty bowl and the request for the recipe, from all the parents, had me directing our guest to your website. Thank you M
Date published: 2008-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a fantastic "go to" recipe. This is a fantastic "go to" recipe. It has the two essential qualities of a good potluck dish: it pleases a wide range of tastes and it doesn't break the bank. The sauce is creamy and the flavor is fantastic. It makes an excellent dish to debut new veggies for my picky eaters- I just use what I have on hand!
Date published: 2009-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious!!!! The only reason I gave 4 stars was I did have to add some extra spice as it was slightly bland. I doubled the recipie (big family) and used zucc, red, orange and green peppers and mushrooms. I added some garlic, salt and pepper to taste as I was cooking. Everyone loved this dish!!
Date published: 2010-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was great! This recipe was great! I substituted the mixed veges for broccoli, diced chicken and roasted garlic, and it was excellent. The sauce was delicious and very easy to make. I had all ingredients on hand. I really like recipes that don't required special trips to the supermarket. This recipe is a winner!
Date published: 2006-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't have asparagus so I added grape tomatoes in the last few minutes of sauteing the veggies,... I didn't have asparagus so I added grape tomatoes in the last few minutes of sauteing the veggies, plus I added a couple cloves of garlic to the mix. The tomatoes cooked down to give a nice tomato cream sauce. We thought it needed a little salt and pepper, but otherwise it was great. A definite keeper!
Date published: 2013-08-12
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_79, tr_348
  • loc_en_US, sid_90958, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552306:90958

>