Crispy Baked Pesto Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Crispy Baked Pesto Chicken

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
35
min.
Servings

4 servings

Top a crunchy coating with pesto and mozzarella to get a simply delicious pesto chicken dish. Or, as we like to call it, Crispy Baked Pesto Chicken.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Coat chicken with coating mix; place in 8-inch square baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 20 min. or until done (165ºF).
  • Top with pesto and cheese; bake 5 min. or until cheese is melted.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with hot cooked rice and steamed fresh vegetables.

Food Facts

Pesto is an uncooked sauce made with fresh basil, garlic, pignoli (pine nuts), Parmesan or Pecorino cheese and olive oil. This classic, fresh-tasting sauce originated in Italy and is a favorite on pasta and chicken dishes. Look for prepared pesto in either the refrigerated aisle of your supermarket, with the sauces and dressings in the produce aisle or with the jarred pasta sauces in the grocery aisle.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1 Starch
  • 4 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Swap out fried chicken for this crispy pesto- and cheese-topped baked chicken. Eating right never tasted so good!

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 260
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 2.5g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 630mg
Carbohydrate 15g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 1g
Protein 28g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a great step up to just regular old shake and bake chicken! This was a great step up to just regular old shake and bake chicken!! The pesto gave it a nice change of pace and even my 7yr old and 19 month old liked it!! We eat a lot of chicken so this was a great way to get out of a rut! For those who said the pesto was too much, keep in mind it is 2T to all the chicken, not per piece.
Date published: 2007-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was SO GOOD! This was SO GOOD! I put a little bit of Kraft Shredded Parmesan Romano and Asiago cheese, cracked pepper, and italian spices in with the Shake & Bake to coat the chicken. This made it extra crunchy and flavorful. My husband and I loved it and it's something that is quick and easy to make for a family of just two!
Date published: 2006-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My very picky husband LOVED this recipe and said it was definitely a "make it again". My very picky husband LOVED this recipe and said it was definitely a "make it again". It was extremely easy to make and inexpensive as well. It tasted like something from a fancy restaurant. Although I purchased the Sun Dried Tomato Peso by mistake I plan on making it with that all the time.
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was so simple, only requires four ingredients and the chicken turned out EXCELLENT! This recipe was so simple, only requires four ingredients and the chicken turned out EXCELLENT! It was so juicy, crispy on the outside and had a wonderful flavor. The best part about it is that it only took 20 minutes to make! I would definitely make this again...
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i made this for dinner with my parents last night. i made this for dinner with my parents last night. they were RAVING about it. i did not use the shake & bake. just the pesto over the top and sprinkled mozzarella. it was moist and delicious. my mom said "this is good enough for company!" and she is hard to impress!
Date published: 2007-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Fantastic!! I changed it slightly. I pounded the chicken flat and put the pesto sauce and cheese on the inside. Then rolled it up and put it in the Shake N Bake. Still put some pesto on top with more cheese. It made a beautiful presentation. Super moist.
Date published: 2008-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was fantastic! This was fantastic! Very easy to make. The chicken was very tender. My whole family (including my 2 year old) loved it! I will certainly make again. I used extra pesto to coat potatoes and roasted them with parmesan cheese and the entire meal was great!
Date published: 2007-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is absolutely delicious! this is absolutely delicious! my other half and son loved as well as did i. just made the other and i'm craving it and making it again tonight. i have not made it with plain chicken seasoned shake n bake but with the parmesan flavored and it's awesome!
Date published: 2008-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instead of putting the coating on and baking then adding the pesto, I put the pesto on, added the... Instead of putting the coating on and baking then adding the pesto, I put the pesto on, added the coating and baked it. Then I put fresh, sliced Roma tomatoes on top, sprinkled some mozzarella cheese and baked 5 minutes more. It was SPECTACULAR!!!
Date published: 2008-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wasnt sure if my family would like it at first they are such picky eaters, however they loved it. I wasnt sure if my family would like it at first they are such picky eaters, however they loved it. This is the first time in a long time i have not had left overs, or even to many dishes for clean up. I loved it! Great tast, easy and quick.
Date published: 2007-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really wanted to rate the concept, 1 bag, 5 dinners. I really wanted to rate the concept, 1 bag, 5 dinners. I love the concept and would like to get more ideas. The recipes were delicious and easy to follow. I found the site w/more choises but would like you to continue to add new ones.
Date published: 2007-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not very good. Not very good. The pesto's strong flavor covers the taste of the chicken. Also, if you don't turn the chicken half way through cooking, the bottom becomes soggy. I would suggest serving this with marinara or a spaghetti sauce as well.
Date published: 2008-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this several times.It is very easy to make and it doesn't keep you in the kitchen.My... I've made this several times.It is very easy to make and it doesn't keep you in the kitchen.My family loves it and it's very healthy meal with the rice.We have it with brussel sprouts steamed.Delicious! Thank you kraft kitchen.
Date published: 2008-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this meal! I loved this meal! My husband thought it was okay. Definitely make sure everyone is a fan of pesto, though- it's a unique flavor. Also keep in mind you need to cook at least 2 other sides- this recipe is not for a complete meal
Date published: 2011-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very yummy and fancy enough for company. Very yummy and fancy enough for company. The chicken breast stayed tender and you know how hard it is to keep breasts from drying out. Leftovers were good too reheated in the microwave. Even the little kids ate this one.
Date published: 2007-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious! I made it with a side of spaghetti with marinara sauce. It would also be good with the 15 Minute Parmesan Pasta (also on this site) with 2 Tbls. of pesto added. I also liked the idea of pesto potatoes.
Date published: 2007-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My husband loves this! My husband loves this! I would invest in a meat thermometer before you do this one. The suggested cooking time is too long, especially if you are using chicken breast halves. I served it with the bowtie pesto pasta salad.
Date published: 2007-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from this recipe is just ok...nothing special. this recipe is just ok...nothing special. I did like the pesto with the chicken but I'm not a huge fan of shake & bake coating, although it does make it sort of crispy. My husband liked it so I probably would make it again.
Date published: 2007-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was soooo good! This was soooo good! I did marinate the chicken in Ranch dressing before I did the shake and bake, and it does give the chicken more taste. This is soo easy to make. I could make this over and over again. I loved it :)
Date published: 2007-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this one a lot! I make this one a lot! I love the flavor of the pesto on top. I coat the chicken in light ranch dressing before coating with Shake & Bake. It makes the chicken extra juicy and gives it a little more flavor.
Date published: 2006-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was easy, tasty and a healthy meal. This was easy, tasty and a healthy meal. We used a bit of the pesto over our rice. I Refrigerated the leftovers and sliced the chicken down the next day and put in a salad. That was really good too.
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really easy and great tasting. Really easy and great tasting. The sodium content was a little high but I melted provolone on the left overs in sub sandwiches and it seemed to tone it down. All and all a definite do it again.
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was so convenient to make: quick AND delicious. This was so convenient to make: quick AND delicious. I had never used pesto before. Now I will have it as a staple in my house. Even my picky 4 and 7 year old loved their 'cheesy chicken' dinner!
Date published: 2009-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe many times and love it. I've made this recipe many times and love it. I use these ingredients towards other meals that I make so it's makes shopping very convenient- plus everyone really enjoys it for its great flavor.
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I said I made this, but actually my 15 year old son made it; that's how easy it is. I said I made this, but actually my 15 year old son made it; that's how easy it is. It was absolutely delicious, and my picky 13 year old ate it too. To me, that's the biggest endorsement of all!
Date published: 2007-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum! Yum! We love this chicken! I HATED shake and bake, but the cripsy version is yum, and makes this chicken delicious! I normally add pesto to some rotini and add a fruit and veggie and its dinner!
Date published: 2009-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made some with the pesto and some without for my husband. I made some with the pesto and some without for my husband. both were great!! Really easy but looks gourmet. I cut up the leftover chicken and tossed pasta with the pesto, was a great 2nd meal.
Date published: 2008-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was very good and easy to prepare. This recipe was very good and easy to prepare. I especially liked the five day plan and shopping list. Great for the Holidays when you are so busy. Also, you can use most of the ingredients.
Date published: 2007-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I halved the recipe for my husband and myself. I halved the recipe for my husband and myself. We both loved it. I served it with the suggested side dishes of rice and green beans, added a salad, and Voila! A delicious dinner! Thanks!
Date published: 2007-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an awesome recipe, however I added the "onions" you use when you make Green bean cassole... This is an awesome recipe, however I added the "onions" you use when you make Green bean cassole with the coating mix! I served this dish with hashbrowns instead of rice - Excellent Dish!!
Date published: 2010-02-17
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_72, tr_278
  • loc_en_US, sid_95137, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556367:95137

>