Deep-Dish Chicken Pot Pie Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Deep-Dish Chicken Pot Pie Recipe

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
55
min.
Servings

6 servings

Watch the how-to video for this Deep-Dish Chicken Pot Pie Recipe and you'll understand why you should never, ever buy a frozen pot pie again.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • Cook chicken in hot dressing in large skillet on medium heat 2 min., stirring frequently. Add Neufchatel; cook and stir 2 to 3 min. or until melted. Add flour; mix well. Stir in broth; cook and stir 2 to 3 min. or until thickened. Add vegetables; stir. Simmer 5 min. or until heated through, stirring frequently.
  • Spoon into 10-inch deep-dish pie plate sprayed with cooking spray; cover with pie crust. Use tines of fork to seal edge of crust to rim of pie plate. Cut slits in crust to permit steam to escape.
  • Bake 30 min. or until golden brown.

Makeover - How We Did It

This comfort food classic has 180 fewer calories, 13g less fat and 4g less saturated fat per serving when compared to a double-crust pot pie made with cream cheese and regular dressing.

Substitute

If you don't have a 10-inch deep-dish pie plate, you can prepare this recipe in a 2-qt. round casserole instead.

Special Extra

Cover edge of pie crust with strip of foil for the last 15 min. of the baking time to prevent it from browning too much.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 360
Total fat 18g
Saturated fat 6g
Cholesterol 55mg
Sodium 490mg
Carbohydrate 27g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 4g
Protein 22g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasently surprised. Pleasently surprised. Near restaurant quality. I was wondering what the other cooks did for the pie crust (??). I used a frozen pre-formed one and had to be careful transferring to the top of the pot pie. It broke slightly, but was just for me and my husband, so I wasn't too concerned about presentation. Does anyone have an easier idea? Thanks! <<< Response from Kraft Kitchens Expert, Wendy ~ The recipe calls for a refrigerated pie crust that can be found in the dairy case near the refrigerated biscuits. >>>
Date published: 2007-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it. I loved it. For me, i used cream cheese and added my usual three spices to almost every meal (chili powder, garlic powder and pepper). we need a little kick to our food. i added this to the chicken. I used the pie crust to fit the top of the dish and had a bit left over, so i used that for the bottom layer. IT was delicious and my husband loved it. He needs to eat our ethnic food at least 6 days of week and once a week, i get to try out diff't recipes and usually he's blah about it, but this one, he approved.
Date published: 2008-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely loved this recipe. I absolutely loved this recipe. I have made it many many times and by far it is my favorite chicken pot pie to date. I use a can of veg-all instead of frozen veggies because I love lots of potatoes in my pie. The dressing gives it an amazing kick and I love how the cream cheese and broth make a super creamy and yummy sauce and its healthier for you than other pot pies. I think this is the only pot pie recipe I will ever make again; Anyone who loves chicken pot pie has to try this recipe, you will love it.
Date published: 2007-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't know if I can rate THIS recipe per se. I don't know if I can rate THIS recipe per se. I took it as a basis: I liked that it used cream cheese. But I doctored it up significantly: I added mushrooms, finely chopped onions, and potatoes (no vegetables as my husband doesn't like them). I also seasoned it with garlic and tarragon. I did not add flour as potatoes provided the necessary thickening. I made it earlier in the day and let it sit to thicken and to mix flavors. Then I baked it. It is superb and was fun and easy to make.
Date published: 2005-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe twice, the first time i followed the recipe and it came out really good. I made this recipe twice, the first time i followed the recipe and it came out really good. The second time i changed it just a bit. I used carrots, peas, and cauliflower as my veggies, also i used an italian dressing i had at home, so really i think any will do because it came out good. Plus, i put the mixture in a baking dish and baked it for fifteen minutes, then topped it with pilsbury reduced fat cresent roll dough. I just rolled it out and put in on top. It came out really good!
Date published: 2007-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Very good of course I mad it with real cream cheese and a little extra chicken broth to make... Very Very good of course I mad it with real cream cheese and a little extra chicken broth to make it more saucey,but I also added onions and celery to the chicken part , really really makes a difference it was great , I have a very picky family and we get tired of eating the same things all the time ( since almost everything I make for the kids has to be chiken) this is a wonderful dish, and you can really be creative and add what you want
Date published: 2005-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is AWESOME! This recipe is AWESOME! I have made it several times for my family. I was asked to cook for a dinner meeting at our church & so I choose this and made it into indivival servings. Because I had made more than enough, people offered to buy the rest! Needless to say I accepted and sold out with in minutes! The only thing I changed was adding a bit more dressing 1/4 cup or so, just adds a little more zip.
Date published: 2008-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great!!!! I had never used a pie crust before, and had a little trouble. I found the best way to do it was to put everything in your pie plate dish and then set the pie crust pan upside down on your pie dish, the heat from the chicken and veggies made the crust fall right into place.... not being an experienced cook..... this was something I wish I had known before I destroyed the first pie crust!!!!
Date published: 2007-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love how easy this recipe is and how good it tasted. I love how easy this recipe is and how good it tasted. I used the precooked chicken strips to make it even faster along with extra dressing and cheese for a little more sauce. I was surprised from reading the ingredients and a little leary of how it might taste but it tasted just like pot pie's I used to eat as a kid and much much better than the ones I've gotten from the frozen section lately.
Date published: 2007-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first time making and eating chicken potpie, I made it because my boyfriend is a big fan of it... My first time making and eating chicken potpie, I made it because my boyfriend is a big fan of it and I thought it was great. I took some pointers from other reviews and added a little more cheese and broth to keep it from drying out and I put a crust on the bottom. It doesn't seem much like a pie without it. I am going to make this again soon, I'm even buying a new baking dish just to do so.
Date published: 2010-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tasted delicious. This tasted delicious. My husband, son and I ate the whole thing in one night. My son is 2 years old and he LOVED it! I did use extra broth to make it more saucy. It is not exactly deep dish however. I put it in my deep dish pan and it only filled it half way. It came out perfectly in a regular sized pie dish. I like the idea of using flavored cream cheese and may try that next time.
Date published: 2007-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great version of homemade chicken pot pie. This is a great version of homemade chicken pot pie. It is very savory. I must admit, I did add a few extra ingredients, though. I added white onion and I only had full fat dressing on hand. Prior to baking, I brushed the crust with a mixture of melted margarine and grated Parmesan cheese. Talk about delicious! My entire family loved it and I think it would be great for dinner gatherings.
Date published: 2005-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't be afraid to make this. Don't be afraid to make this. It's not that hard, honest. A few things: when cooking all ingredients in pan be sure the result is medium consistancy. It's very easy to make it too thick or too runny. The flour brings it altogether but can make it too thick--just add a bit more chicken broth. Also, brush beaten egg onto the pie before cooking. Comes out brown and beautiful-very appetizing.
Date published: 2007-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always thought that chicken pot pie was just OK but then I tried your Deep Dish Chicken Pot Pie... I always thought that chicken pot pie was just OK but then I tried your Deep Dish Chicken Pot Pie and now I think it is amazing! (this version of it anyway). The dressing and cheese make this recipe so delicious! The only thing that I did differently was that I added pepper into the mixture before pouring it into the pie plate. I will make this recipe often. Thank You!
Date published: 2006-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS DISH! I LOVE THIS DISH! So does my husband! I made a few personal changes. I put a bottom pastry and cook that for 15 minutes then putt the filling in and then the top an cook as directed. I also added a can of mushrooms, since we love them in my house. The bottom crust makes it easier to dish out! But either my way or the original way, this dish is a great family favorite!
Date published: 2010-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just made this earlier tonight and it was delicious! Just made this earlier tonight and it was delicious! But if I were to make it again I would make sure to use less flour and more chicken stock because the sauce was a little gummy. And maybe next time I won't fully cook the chicken before adding in the other ingredients because by the time the whole pie was done, the chicken was a little dry. Definitely delicious though!!
Date published: 2007-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this 2-3 years ago and it was the best I'd ever had. I made this 2-3 years ago and it was the best I'd ever had. I've made it several times. I make an easier version by using a different crust. 1 C biscuit mix, 1/2 C milk, 1 egg; drop by spoonsful over top. Much easier & tastier. It's a great dish to take to shut-ins, etc. I also use my own variety of vegetables instead of frozen mixed to suit our tastes. Arlene 771
Date published: 2009-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thought this was really good. I thought this was really good. It was simple to make. I didn't have the right size pie plate or casserole dish, so I had to put it in something a little bigger and it turned out fine. It didn't look as pretty though. My kids 6 and 4 didn't like it and my hubby thought it was okay, but he's not a fan of any pot pies. But I like pot pies and I thought it was great!
Date published: 2009-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this recipe because a friend said it was good. I made this recipe because a friend said it was good. I decided to use the bottom and top crust to make it more filling. The problem with the recipe is with the Cream cheese, my husband couldn't eat it becuase he said it tasted like Chicken Alfredo, which he hates! I think a more traditional recipe with Chicken gravy (buy the fat free) would taste much better.
Date published: 2007-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was the worst chicken pot pie I have Ever made. This was the worst chicken pot pie I have Ever made. The flavor from the zesty italian dresssing was horrible! Not only will I never make this again, but I will tell everyone one that I had already told soooo, so, many great things about this site, that this is such terrible waste of time and money, I apoligize for even suggesting it to them. Ick, and gross!!
Date published: 2010-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this dish was awesome and the ENTIRE family enjoyed it! this dish was awesome and the ENTIRE family enjoyed it! i did take one reader's advice and used bisquick as the crust instead of the pie crust, which actually was really easy and tasted great! i am actually cooking this tonight for my mom and grandma....the kids are looking forward to having it again! thanks for a great recipe that was easy as pie to make!
Date published: 2010-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This would have been very good if it were creamier and w/o the Zesty Italian or cream cheese..not... This would have been very good if it were creamier and w/o the Zesty Italian or cream cheese..not sure which one gave it a funky flavor. I'd like to try it with a creamy sauce instead of the Italian dressing. I made my own chicken broth and I added onions. Very easy to make! I like Zesty Italian and cream cheese, just didn't care for it in this recipe.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good. So good. I used tuscan house italian dressing instead of the zesty italian. I used regular chicken broth and cream cheese, this filling filled up 2 deep dish 9 in. pie crusts. I had to trim a little bit of excess from the top pie crust to get it to fit right. I used one pound of mixed vegetables. made more filling the next night, and served over noodles.
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried this recipe because it was a classic but slimmed down. I tried this recipe because it was a classic but slimmed down. I absolutely love it. I use low-fat or fat free everything and it is just so good. You would never guess it was somewhat healthy. My family loves it and we make it at least twice a month now. So simple. I double the batch and use a 9x13" pan so that we have leftovers for lunch the next day.
Date published: 2008-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone loved it. Everyone loved it. Changed it a little. Forgot to add the italian dressing and added a little bit more broth and 2 cans of cream of chicken and mushrooms and our fav veggies. Added bottom crust as well, along with salt and pepper and garlic salt. Made real creamy and everyone loved it. Only complaint is during reheat, the crust became doughy.
Date published: 2006-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was good on a cold snowy evening. This was good on a cold snowy evening. I didn't have the bag of mixed veggies, so I substituted a 1/2 c of each sliced canned carrots and new potatoes and frozen peas and corn, and it worked very well. The second time I made the recipe I had a top and bottom crust so it was not as messy to get out of the pan and it was just as wonderful tasting.
Date published: 2007-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from unfourchantely i made this while sick so i couldn't taste a thing! unfourchantely i made this while sick so i couldn't taste a thing! but my husband cleared his plate and said to make it again, and he's not a big chicken fan. one thing i will change, if you're like us and love the traditonal pot pies, add an extra pie crust on the bottom as well as the top; once cut there just wasn't enough crust to go around!
Date published: 2006-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would recommend using 3/4 cup of chicken broth to make the mixture creamier. I would recommend using 3/4 cup of chicken broth to make the mixture creamier. It was too thick the first time I made it. Also, I used canned mixed veggies instead of the frozen ones. For the top, I used the Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry sheets to get the flaky crust. Make sure they are well thawed. It was even a hit with my mother-in-law!
Date published: 2007-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have always tried to find a recipe for this dish that had the best tasting sauce and this was it. I have always tried to find a recipe for this dish that had the best tasting sauce and this was it. I made two versions of this pot pie, one with chicken and the other with a vegetarian substitute for chicken and both were the best tasting ever. How great to find one recipe to make to suit both the vegetarians and meat eaters in my family!
Date published: 2007-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is very hard for me to make something my whole family enjoys but this recipe was a success! It is very hard for me to make something my whole family enjoys but this recipe was a success! after reading the other comments i decided to use a rotisserie chicken for more flavor and i also added cubed potatos.. i felt it needed salt and pepper but other than that it was great and easy to subsitute and add ingredients to your liking =)
Date published: 2006-03-03
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_115, tr_577
  • loc_en_US, sid_75580, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

550999:75580

>