Double-Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Double-Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
20
min.
Servings

16 servings

Dip a fresh strawberry in chocolate—twice. That's how deeply chocolatey we've made this strawberry shortcake.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Prepare cake batter and bake as directed on package for 2 (9-inch) round pans. Cool in pans on wire racks 10 min. Loosen cakes from sides of pans. Invert onto racks; gently remove pans. Cool cakes completely.
  • Beat pudding mix and milk in large bowl with whisk 2 min. (Pudding will be thick.) Gently stir in COOL WHIP.
  • Place 1 cake layer on plate; spread with jam. Top with layers of half each of the pudding mixture and strawberries; cover with remaining cake layer. Top with remaining pudding mixture. Refrigerate 1 hour. Top with remaining strawberries and sprinkle with sugar just before serving.

Variation

Prepare using 1 pkg. (1.4 oz.) JELL-O Chocolate Flavor Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Pudding, fat-free milk and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Substitute

Prepare using 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Instant Pudding.

How to Store

Keep refrigerated.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 280
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 3.5g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 390mg
Carbohydrate 37g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 24g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Mother's Day and it was big hit! I made this for Mother's Day and it was big hit! Chocolate and fresh strawberry make a wonderful combination. I suggest having extra strawberries to spoon over each slice, and also, if you're like me and don't like cake mix, make your own cake from scratch. I used a Wellesley Fudge cake recipe and it was great!
Date published: 2010-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for our Easter get together. I made this cake for our Easter get together. It was a hit. I really enjoyed making it. I started with baking the layers and slicing the strawberries the night before, so that I could easily whip it together on Easter day and give it plenty of time to refrigerate before eating. Thanks for the recipe.
Date published: 2008-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I actually made this for someone and asked THEM to rate it ! I actually made this for someone and asked THEM to rate it ! They said the only reason they gave it a 4 was because there's nothing that's perfect - LOL ! I didn't try it, but I AM going to make it again and it was a SPECTACULAR sight to see ! I felt so elegant looking at the end result ! LOL !
Date published: 2010-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really yummy! This was really yummy! The only problem was the filling in the middle was too slippery and the top layer slid off easily. Still tasted great though! I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil in the cake mix (1:1 ratio), used a reduced-sugar cake mix, and fat-free whipped topping.
Date published: 2008-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a birthday party. I made this cake for a birthday party. It was very good,and got lots of compliments. The great thing about this cake is that it is very easy, and you can prepare it with many variations by changing the cake flavor, jam, fruit and filling to suit you or your guests favorites.
Date published: 2010-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good and much lighter than I thought it would be. Very good and much lighter than I thought it would be. Strawberries ended up a little mooshy and watery after storing it in the fridge for a few hours. I would recommend preparing everything and putting it all together right before serving.
Date published: 2008-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so easy to make but looked so fancy! This recipe was so easy to make but looked so fancy! Everyone loved it and couldn't help but have seconds. The only problem we had was that it softened quickly so after you cut a piece, put it back in the refrigerator.
Date published: 2008-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very delicious combo of chocolate and strawberry. Very delicious combo of chocolate and strawberry. I think the next time I make it I'll leave out the fresh strawberries from between the layers. If you have leftovers, the top layer will start to slide off the fruit.
Date published: 2011-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm more a cook, not so much a baker. I'm more a cook, not so much a baker. I made this cake for my father in-law's birthday and it was a huge success!!! everyone loved it and it looked BEAUTIFUL! very easy to make!!!
Date published: 2008-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake makes a very impressive presentation while being quick and easy to make. This cake makes a very impressive presentation while being quick and easy to make. Although a scratch cake would undoubtedly improve it even further, the cake mix wasn't bad.
Date published: 2008-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for my son's 3rd birthday party. Made this for my son's 3rd birthday party. Only complaint was that I should have made two, instead of one, because everybody wanted seconds. Will definitely make again!!
Date published: 2009-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i will try this recipe for a friends birthday and hope it goes well. i will try this recipe for a friends birthday and hope it goes well. i will substitute the pudding frosting for chocolate flavored cool whipp. i hope that goes well.
Date published: 2008-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The look of this dessert makes it look like it would be so heavy but it is really light and fresh. The look of this dessert makes it look like it would be so heavy but it is really light and fresh. My family all loved the flavor of this sweet treat.
Date published: 2008-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was actually pretty easy to make and we had company over and they thought it was store-bought as... It was actually pretty easy to make and we had company over and they thought it was store-bought as it looked so pretty. So this was a great recipe!
Date published: 2008-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It took me 43 years, but I finally found my birthday cake. It took me 43 years, but I finally found my birthday cake. This cake has everthing I love and it is easy to make. Thank you Kraft Hitchen
Date published: 2009-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Family really enjoyed this cake over the hoildays. My Family really enjoyed this cake over the hoildays. Very moist and really easy to assemble. Not to mention the presentation was amazing.
Date published: 2010-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was delish! This cake was delish! I made it for my Sister-In-Law's wedding shower and it was a huge hit! It looked pretty and tasted fantastic!
Date published: 2008-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely LOVED IT! Absolutely LOVED IT!! Usually icing is too rich that my family can't eat it, but with the pudding as icing it was PERFECT!!
Date published: 2008-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so delicious. This was so delicious. Very light, not a super heavy, rich dessert. We took it to a get together and everyone loved it!
Date published: 2008-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was very good. This recipe was very good. Everyone in my house loved it. The only thing I would suggest, it stay light on the jam.
Date published: 2008-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought this was a wonderful recipe! I thought this was a wonderful recipe! I lightened it up a bit by using sugar free pudding and cool whip. Yumm!
Date published: 2008-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake turned out beautifully and it was easy to make. This cake turned out beautifully and it was easy to make. I am excited to make it again for another occasion!
Date published: 2008-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these into mini cupcakes and brought them to work- they were a hit! I made these into mini cupcakes and brought them to work- they were a hit! Will definitely do this again!
Date published: 2010-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is so good! This cake is so good!! It is a fun cake to make. My whole family just loved it!! I will make it again.
Date published: 2008-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake looks very presentable! This cake looks very presentable! I split the layers so I had a total of 4 cake layers.
Date published: 2009-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent recipe and easy to make. Excellent recipe and easy to make. My family loved it. Will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2008-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from taste fluffy and delicious...very tasty family loved it..and easy! taste fluffy and delicious...very tasty family loved it..and easy!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2008-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for Mother's Day and it went over great! I made this for Mother's Day and it went over great!!! Everyone loved it.
Date published: 2008-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent cake. Excellent cake. I took it to a friends for supper. They just loved it.
Date published: 2010-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make and looked great. Easy to make and looked great. I received lots of compliments.
Date published: 2010-09-14
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_109628, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

559004:109628

>