Double-Layer Pumpkin Pie - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Double-Layer Pumpkin Pie

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
20
min.
Servings

10 servings

Did Cinderella have it all wrong? This Double-Layer Pumpkin Pie proves the pumpkin is better than the prince! Enjoy this creamy Double-Layer Pumpkin Pie.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Beat cream cheese, sugar and 1 Tbsp. milk in large bowl with whisk until blended. Stir in half the COOL WHIP. Spread onto bottom of crust.
  • Whisk pumpkin, dry pudding mixes, spices and remaining milk in medium bowl 2 min. (Mixture will be thick.) Spread over cream cheese layer.
  • Refrigerate 4 hours or until firm.
  • Serve topped with remaining COOL WHIP.

Variation

Prepare using PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese, fat-free milk, COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping and a 6-oz. ready-to-use reduced-fat graham cracker crumb crust.

Cooking Know-How

Be sure to use canned 100% pure pumpkin, not the canned pumpkin pie mix.

Double-Layer Pecan-Pumpkin Pie

Prepare as directed, stirring in 1/4 cup chopped toasted PLANTERS Pecans along with the COOL WHIP.

How to Soften the Cream Cheese

Place completely unwrapped package of cream cheese on microwaveable plate. Microwave on HIGH 10 to 15 sec. or until slightly softened.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with brewed MAXWELL HOUSE Coffee. For an extra-special toffee flavor, stir 1 Tbsp. each chocolate syrup and caramel ice cream topping into each 6-oz. cup of hot coffee until blended; top with a dollop of thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping.

Substitute

Prepare using 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 330
Total fat 17g
Saturated fat 11g
Cholesterol 25mg
Sodium 450mg
Carbohydrate 42g
Sugars 28g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 230 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from My family and I are not a fan of this one. My family and I are not a fan of this one. I had two pie shells and intended to make two of these, but the first one wound up being so unbelievably runny that I just threw the whole thing in the trash. In the second one, I omitted the one cup of milk from the pumpkin and it was less runny. My husband loves pumpkin pie, but thought the pumpkin mixed with the cheese was strange. I thought it was a waste of perfectly good cream cheese and whipped topping, and I don't think the vanilla pudding mix adds anything to this recipe either. I wouldn't bother trying to make this a third time.
Date published: 2007-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is very easy and quick to make and inexpensive; the longest part is the time it takes to set-up... This is very easy and quick to make and inexpensive; the longest part is the time it takes to set-up in the frig (4 hours or more). I made this today to take to a party tomorrow and I topped it with a criss-cross design of caramel. I like to add some walnuts or pecans to the top when I know that no one is allergic. One thing about this recipe there is always too much pie filling to put the lid on without some squishing out and making it very messy. If you use the amounts the recipe calls for you may want to put a little less pumpkin layer and save yourself the clean-up! Enjoy :)
Date published: 2010-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my boyfriend to take to his family last Thanksgiving. I made this for my boyfriend to take to his family last Thanksgiving. They loved it, and requested it for Christmas as well :) My family on the other hand loved it, but of course, being the traditional lot they are, made their own pumpkin pies after I told them I was bringing one. "Just in case, sweety," and "Oh, I forgot you were making one," were the responses I got from them. BUT!! My little cousin, who hates all pies except apple, took a bite of the piece my aunt was eating, smiled and grabbed the plate from her. YOU RULE JACOB!! Satisfaction from a 5 year old never felt so good :) Back to the recipe, the cloves go a long way, so use to your liking. Whipped cream is optional, it is so good without it :)
Date published: 2007-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving this year, and it was the only pie left over. I made this for Thanksgiving this year, and it was the only pie left over. Like many others I found there was just way too much filling for such a small pie crust. I did not make the pudding first, I followed directions to a T, and still had to toss some filling and it was over flowing the pie tin. Couldn't use the lid it came with to keep it in the fridge it was so mcuh. The pie itself was ok. Me and my family felt it wasn't sweet enough. We put even more cool whip on top!
Date published: 2004-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS PUMPKIN PIE IS THE BEST FOR ANYONE! THIS PUMPKIN PIE IS THE BEST FOR ANYONE! ~*Thanksgiving with my Parents/Family came and I was in charge of making all the desserts. Okay so my dad & I LOVE Pumpkin Pie! ..but my mom and some others in the family don't. They hate the "strong straight pumpkin" pie taste. I wanted to fix a few pumpkin pies that we can ALL enjoy! That's when I found THIS "Double Layer Pumpkin Pie" recipe. I made it, and crossed my fingers. EVERYONE LOVED IT!! My mom told me that she loved THIS pie the best, because it had the pumpkin flavor but it wasn't to much because of all the double whipped cream layor it. *yay! Because it was still pumpkin pie, my dad & I couldn't complain. We all just kept going back for seconds and thirds. :) *hehe
Date published: 2006-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a GREAT recipe! This is a GREAT recipe! So easy to make, that I even leave it for the same day I need it (early morning though as it does have some time in the fridge to set). There is no way though that it can fit in a 6 inch - so I go with the 9 inch, and have even made 2 - 6 inches with doubling the cream cheese. We do love Cream Cheese - so I double the Cream Ch. and the Sugar/milk. I also put the pie in the fridge with just the cream cheese layer while mixing up the pumpkin mixture - this helps keep the layers separate. This is one of my "most requested" desserts. :o)
Date published: 2005-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was a big hit with my family this weekend. This recipe was a big hit with my family this weekend. I substituted a reduced fat pie crust, fat free cream cheese and fat free cool whip, sugar free pudding mix made with nonfat milk and used Splenda for the sugar. It was recomended in another cook's comment to use the entire 8 oz of cream cheese and I agree. It would not have been firm enough with just 4 oz. I also took the advice of a previous comment and substituted 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the spices called for. This was by far the easiest dessert I have ever made. This pie was so delicious I promise you will not be able to tell it is so low in fat and in sugar. I'm so glad I found this recipe. You can bet I will be making this pie for Thanksgiving!!
Date published: 2004-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I get requests for this pie every Thanksgiving. I get requests for this pie every Thanksgiving. It's a people pleaser. Very simple to make, delicious to eat. I recommend this for your next holiday dessert. I don't just make it for the holidays -- when autumn comes, it's the perfect time for this fantastic pie!! I have to make two or three pies -- one to keep at home, one or two to take wherever we're celebrating the holidays!! When I make it, instead of putting the whipped topping on when I serve it, I cover the entire pie with the topping and then place in the refrigerator. Who doesn't like whipped topping?! Mine never comes out runny -- I'm not sure what happened to the other person who made this. If you follow the directions, it will come out perfect. And very delicious!!
Date published: 2004-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a popular simple pie that my family requests time and time again. This is a popular simple pie that my family requests time and time again. A twist in the original recipe that I do is to substitute cheesecake pudding for the vanilla pudding. Another twist I do is to sub. white chocolate pudding also. Sometimes I even mix one cheesecake and one white chocolate pudding mixes for one pie. As for the problem with the pumking being too heaving, I've never expierenced that before, it's always very sturdy. You might try making sure the cool whip is right from the refidgerator and make sure it's chilled before serving.
Date published: 2004-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I played with the recipe a bit. I played with the recipe a bit. I reduced the milk a little and used more the cream cheese, I also used just a small pinch of the cloves. It was magical!! My picky seven year old askes for it ever fall, thanksgiving and christmas, and since it's so easy I do it!! People having problems with the cream cheese layer should just use more cheese and put it in the freezer while you make the pumpkin part. For people having problems with the pumpkin part, hopefully you are not making the pudding and only putting them in dry, like it says.
Date published: 2006-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wanted to make this because it seemed like something different and that my family would enjoy. I wanted to make this because it seemed like something different and that my family would enjoy. I had read the reviews and decided to make it the day before but I have to agree with some of the other people. It was very MUSHY it was a nightmare I was very disappointed. I don't know what went wrong I read the instructions over and over and I don't get it. What did I do differently?
Date published: 2008-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and rave reviews! Very easy and rave reviews! Everyone will ask for the recipe. I made a "trial" pie prior to Thanksgiving then ended up making it in a springform pan with my own graham cracker crust. I doubled the amounts for the base (8oz cream cheese, etc) but kept the same amounts for the pumpkin layer. I topped it with a mixture of chopped pecans, brown sugar, & butter (heat & stir until blended). Crumble on top. It was awesome. People couldn't believe it wasn't made from scratch, much less a no bake pie. This is now my favorite pumpkin pie recipe!
Date published: 2007-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this pie because I was looking for an alternative to traditional pumpkin pie since my... I made this pie because I was looking for an alternative to traditional pumpkin pie since my daughter is allergic to eggs. This turned out so much better than I expected. I made a ginger snap crust instead of graham cracker and pumpkin pie spice instead of the spices listed. Tastes more like traditional pumpkin pie than I thought it would (but better in my opinion). Like other no-bake pies, does not set up super-firm, but definitely not too soft was other reviewers have said. Will be making this again next year (if not sooner).
Date published: 2009-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pastrymami, did you use pumpkin pie filling instead of plain canned pumpkin? pastrymami, did you use pumpkin pie filling instead of plain canned pumpkin? That might explain your problem with the recipe. My co-worker brought this to work yesterday and I immediately asked for the recipe. It's so creamy and delicious! When I make it for the first time, I'd like to try substituting Jell-O's Pumpkin Spice pudding mix for one of the packages of vanilla pudding. I think the vanilla helps to give the pie its creamy, smooth taste, but I love pumpkin, so I think the pumpkin pudding would only enhance the flavor.
Date published: 2008-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS! DELICIOUS! I could eat this any day of the year! I made this for Thanksgiving this year. I bought enough stuff to make two pies because I wanted to try it out before I brought it to Thanksgiving dinner. The first one turned out like a few people have said, it was a little runny and didn't set up well. So, I changed the recipe a little by using only 3/4 cup of milk for pumpkin layer, so it turned out *perfect* (firmer/thicker, not as runny as the first one I made). I also used 2 1/2 boxes of Cheescake flavored Jello, instead of vanilla. Yummmmmmy, it was so delicious with the cheesecake flavor, but not to strong tasting! Also, I suggest that you make this as early as possible (1 or 2 days prior) to give it about 24-48 hours of refridgeration time.
Date published: 2007-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would definetely make this recipe again. I would definetely make this recipe again. I tried it the first time with Fat Free Cream Cheese and well it didn't set up right. I'm going to try it again but this time with Philly Light. I guess there are some things that you just can't substitute on. I also used the sugar free/ fat free Jell-o Pudding mixes. I'm wondering what will happen if I use 1/2 a pkg of vanilla or even cheesecake flavor in the cream cheese mixture in addition with the cool whip and cream cheese. I'll post back when I get the final results.
Date published: 2005-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for the past 2 Thanksgivings and last year I actually had to make two one for our... I have made this for the past 2 Thanksgivings and last year I actually had to make two one for our house and one to take to my inlaws. I will definatly be making it this year because my husbands LOVES this pie and he tells everyone about it. If you are having trouble with the pie setting make sure you are using canned pumpkin not canned pumpkin pie. The first year I made this I accidently got the pumpkin pie and it wouldnt set. When I looked closer I realized my mistake bought the canned pumpkin and it set perfectly!
Date published: 2009-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving! This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving! Everyone loved it. I used pumpkin spice instead of the other spices - it was just easier since I had that on hand. I will do one thing different the next time though. Next time, I am going to put the pie in the freezer for about 15 minutes after I spread the first layer. After it has set, I will spread on the second layer. When I made it, the 2 layers just sort of meshed together - it did not make a 2 layer look. But appearance aside - it was great! Everyone loved it.
Date published: 2005-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this. Love this. Always gets rave reviews. A lighter take on traditional pumpkin pie. I personally like a graham cracker crust much better than a regular pastry crust. The pumpkin layer is a bit too much to fit easily in the crust. I solved that by leaving out about a cup of the pumpkin layer. I mixed that with about 2/3 of the remaining Cool Whip to make pumpkin mousse. Put in parfait glasses and topped with the last of the Cool Whip. If I was feeling really fancy I could have layered with crushed graham crackers. Yum!
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this recipe all the time, my daughters absolutely love it and this year I"m making three of... I make this recipe all the time, my daughters absolutely love it and this year I"m making three of them. I was wondering if anyone had ever frozen one before and if so, was it okay when it thawed? I have to travel to my daughters house which is 6 hours away this year. In answer to 'shecooke on 11/20/2005' I have made that mistake before and it turned out fine, just in case the pie filling is a bit 'wet' though, you might just use a little bit less when mixing it with the pudding. good luck!
Date published: 2005-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'VE BEEN MAKING THIS RECIPE FOR A FEW YEARS NOW.. I'VE BEEN MAKING THIS RECIPE FOR A FEW YEARS NOW.. SOMETIME I DON'T LAYER IT.. JUST USE THE BIG BOX OF INSTANT PUDDING.. I HAVE ALSO USED ONE BOX OF VANILLA N 1 OF BUTTERSCHOTCH.. AWAYS THE SUGAR FREE ONE.. THE FAMILY N FRIEND LIKE IT.. I HAVE ALSO PUT IT IN A REGULAR PIE CRUST, THAT WAS BAKED.. TOP IT WITH WHIPPED TOPPING.. OR A TURKEY CUT OUT OF PIE CRUST AND BAKED BEFORE I PUT THE TURKEY CUT OUT IN THE MIDDLE.. WE LIKE THIS ONE LAYER N NOT LAYERED.. THIS IS A VERY EASY RECIPE TO MAKE..
Date published: 2004-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe but changed a few ingredients. I made this recipe but changed a few ingredients. I am diabetic so I used Equal instead of sugar, Sugar Free / Fat Free instant pudding instead of the regular and 2% milk instead of whole. After doing the calculations the nutrition breakdown went to 266 cal. 31 carbs and 6 sugars. This pie was a huge hit with my dad and my sisters family. They finished a whole pie in one sitting, there are seven of them but still even the babies (3 years old) loved it. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2004-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic, indeed! Classic, indeed! This recipe is a perennial favorite with family and friends at both Thanksgiving and Christmas and is a popularly requested item. The combination of cream cheese & pumpkin is delightful. I usually make my own crust with crushed vanilla wafers or graham crackers and a little melted butter & sugar & spices to taste (baked at 350 for 10 minutes). I often vary the spices in the pumpkin a little, adding cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice, & ginger. Delicious!
Date published: 2006-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful recipe and so good! However, it calls for 1 pie crust when in fact it will easily fill 2. Buy 2!
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was fabulous. This recipe was fabulous. I've made a total of seven of the pies since finding the recipe. All have loved it. I think those that say the pie was runny did not follow the recipe exactly. I followed it to the "T" and it was heavenly. I will make five more of these pies as Christmas gifts in addition to two for our Christmas dinner!!! It was a great twist on pumpkin cheesecake! I'm not a huge pumpkin fan but I loved this and so has everyone else that's tried it!!!
Date published: 2007-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe since the first year it came out. I have made this recipe since the first year it came out. My 4 children(ages 22, 21, 16, and 11) absolutely insist on it for all holidays. As a matter of fact my oldest called from Cali. today for the recipe(since he can't come home for T-day and he wants to try to make it) and has asked for only 2 things for X-mas one of which is this pie. I make it with egg nog instead of milk...you must increase the amount though because egg nog is thicker... and the kids LOVE it.
Date published: 2004-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a awesome recipe but because of others comments I altered it a tad....I doubled the cream... This is a awesome recipe but because of others comments I altered it a tad....I doubled the cream cheese, I omitted the spices and used 2 tbs pumpkin pie spice, I used sugar free pudding mixes and I lowered the milk to 3/4 cup in the pumpkin! With the recipe altered it filled (3) 6" pie crusts! I had no problem with the pie setting, as others did maybe that is an altitude problem! My family went wild over it! And everyone wanted the recipe! make it and enjoy!
Date published: 2004-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read the ratings again, and the only thing that I can think of that anyone could have done wrong... I read the ratings again, and the only thing that I can think of that anyone could have done wrong is maybe using the pudding mix after make the actual pudding, because using only one cup of milk for the recipe (and the 1 tbs) doesn't possibly give you enough liquid to make the pie runny. I have always used an electric mixer so the sugar in the cream cheese and the pudding mix in the top layer doesn't end up gritty. (and I add more sugar to the cream cheese).
Date published: 2004-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband is never big fan of old fashioned traditional pie like pumpkin, apple & more. My husband is never big fan of old fashioned traditional pie like pumpkin, apple & more. He said the crust always ruin the flavor of pie for him. So he asked me to find different pie & something new. Years ago, I saw this recipe in magazine & I showed it to him. He said let's try that. He love it ever since. He love the idea of having graham cracker crust instead of regular crust. At every holiday, I make this pie & it's a big hit in our families. ~ Dawn ~
Date published: 2008-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is such an easy recipe! This is such an easy recipe! It has been a staple in my holiday meals for the past 10 years now (since it first came out I think.) I get requests for it every year. It's so easy and totable since you use a premade graham cracker crust and can cover it with the plastic cover that comes with it. Just wonderful. For the people who aren't huge pumpkin fans, this has just the right amount of pumpkin and cheesecakey flavor. I will always make this pie!
Date published: 2005-12-22
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_264, tr_1295
  • loc_en_US, sid_54636, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

504936:54636

>