Easy Barbecued Sloppy Joes - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy Barbecued Sloppy Joes

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
20
min.
Servings

4 servings

Switch things up in the sloppy joe department by making your next batch of sandwiches with ground turkey and BBQ sauce.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook turkey in large nonstick skillet until done; drain. Add peppers and onions; cook and stir until crisp-tender.
  • Add barbecue sauce; cook 1 to 2 min. or until heated through, stirring occasionally.
  • Fill buns with turkey mixture.

Substitute

Prepare using lean ground beef.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious

Diet Exchange

  • 1-1/2 Starch
  • 1 Vegetable
  • 3 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Try this tangy twist to sloppy joes. The peppers serve up an excellent source of vitamins A and C.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 300
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 85mg
Sodium 420mg
Carbohydrate 26g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 4g
Protein 24g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 70 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I jazzed it up a little by adding about 1 teaspoon or so of Tabasco sauce and some crushed red... I jazzed it up a little by adding about 1 teaspoon or so of Tabasco sauce and some crushed red pepper flakes. That gave it a real "kick". This quick and easy receipe is great for kids and novices who are just beginning to learn how to cook.
Date published: 2005-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My fiance loves sloppy joes and I've been trying to find a tasty healthier version that he will... My fiance loves sloppy joes and I've been trying to find a tasty healthier version that he will enjoy. It was very flavorful and he loved it! I will definitely keep this quick and easy recipe handy for busy nights.
Date published: 2005-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe is easy and tasty. This recipe is easy and tasty. I added mushrooms and used Krafts BBQ Carb brand. I'm not on a Carb free diet, but this brand has few calories than the others and the fewer calories I can get away with the better.
Date published: 2005-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to make. Very easy to make. I followed one of the suggestions here and that was pouring 1/4 cup of orange juice after the barbeque sauce. Wow !! It is sooo good. My boyfriend loves it that he finished 4 hamburger buns !!!
Date published: 2006-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added crushed red pepper and some garlic powder to the meat while cooking and it was fantastic! I added crushed red pepper and some garlic powder to the meat while cooking and it was fantastic!! I also used honey bbq sauce instead of regular. Everyone loved these! I will definitely make again soon.
Date published: 2007-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added a table spoon of sweet relish; 1/2 cup of barbecue sauce 2 tsp of sugar. I added a table spoon of sweet relish; 1/2 cup of barbecue sauce 2 tsp of sugar. I started out using two pounds of ground beef. It all turned out the way I remember the sloppy joe's in elementary school.
Date published: 2005-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! We all liked it, even the kids. This was my very first ground turkey try and I love that it doesn't smell yucky when cooking, leaves so little grease you don't need to drain it and tastes great.
Date published: 2005-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was good and easy. This was good and easy. I took some advice and added red pepper flake and garlic powder. I think it would have been very bland without it. I will try with ground beef next time.
Date published: 2008-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty! Very tasty! adds a whole new word for sloppy joe, I will share this with my friends. Kids love sloppy joes, then when you add the bar b que, it makes it so much better!
Date published: 2005-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the easiest recipe I have ever made. This is the easiest recipe I have ever made. I have made it several times using many if the different BBQ sauces. My kid like it with the Honey BBQ sauce the best.
Date published: 2009-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Very easy to make! Very Very easy to make! A good go to recipe when you need something fast. My kids actually loved them! And my husband too who isnt much of a sloppy joe eater!
Date published: 2008-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a very good way to use turkey and still have an excellant meal that tastes like the old fashioned... a very good way to use turkey and still have an excellant meal that tastes like the old fashioned sandwich I missed so much on my new 'lifestyle' diet.
Date published: 2002-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe. I love this recipe. I can make this more often then once aweek because I can only have beef or chicken once aweek due to allergies.
Date published: 2003-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW! My kids loved this and so did I. Not too spicy for my son with acid reflux but great flavor. Perfect cold weather meal.
Date published: 2006-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is I should have made more! All I can say is I should have made more!!! We absolutely love this!! It was quick and easy to prepare, but I wish I made more.
Date published: 2009-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and delicious. Very easy and delicious. My husband did not even know it was turkey. We love sloppy joes and this was a great alternative.
Date published: 2009-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was so EASY! This recipe was so EASY! My six-year-old loved it. Thanks! I will definitely add this to my list of favorites!
Date published: 2009-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family absolutely loves this recipe and it's become something they have started requesting with... My family absolutely loves this recipe and it's become something they have started requesting with regularity.
Date published: 2009-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast, easy and delicious. Fast, easy and delicious. I added kraft shredded cheddar cheese a few minutes before serving. A big hit!
Date published: 2003-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There is can not be a better sloppy joe than this. There is can not be a better sloppy joe than this. It's much better than my child's school lunch.
Date published: 2006-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from seems very quick & easy for when you want something different than hamburgers or meatballs. seems very quick & easy for when you want something different than hamburgers or meatballs.
Date published: 2002-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from these were great! these were great! Try adding a couple of teaspoons of brown sugar for a hint of sweetness
Date published: 2003-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was quick and easy to make, but most of all the whole family loved it! This recipe was quick and easy to make, but most of all the whole family loved it!!!!
Date published: 2003-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe passed the picky 5 year old test :) We will be making this again soon :) This recipe passed the picky 5 year old test :) We will be making this again soon :)
Date published: 2011-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was very easy to make and tasty too. It was very easy to make and tasty too. If you are pressed for time this a winner.
Date published: 2002-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I didn't like it with turkey. I didn't like it with turkey. I will give it another try, though, with lean beef.
Date published: 2008-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy, very quick and easy! Yummy, very quick and easy! Tastiest sloppy joe recipe I've ever made so far!
Date published: 2005-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been asked for the recipe by others who have eaten this in our home. I have been asked for the recipe by others who have eaten this in our home.
Date published: 2002-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe tastes good. this recipe tastes good. it is even better than regular sloppy joes
Date published: 2008-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great, just like it is.....love the turkey in lieu of ground beef. great, just like it is.....love the turkey in lieu of ground beef.
Date published: 2006-05-08
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_56239, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

506672:56239

>