Easy Bistro Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy Bistro Chicken

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
32
min.
Servings

4 servings

Bistro, translated literally, means bar in French. Raise the bar in your kitchen with this chicken. Saucy and delicious, all in one skillet.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oil in large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and onions; cook 5 min., stirring occasionally. Stir in tomatoes, dressing and tomato paste.
  • Add chicken; cover. Simmer on medium-low heat 12 min. or until chicken is done (165°F).
  • Top with cheese and bacon; simmer, uncovered, 5 min. or until cheese is melted.

Special Extra

Serve with hot cooked rice or orzo.

Note

This dish also tastes great when served as leftovers. Just reheat in the microwave before enjoying as part of your lunch or dinner the next day.

Substitute

Substitute 1/4 cup OSCAR MAYER Real Bacon Bits for the chopped bacon.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low calorie
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 3 Vegetable
  • 4 Meat (L)
  • 2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Get more than 1 cup of the recommended 2-1/2 cups of vegetables per day in this low calorie main dish.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 330
Total fat 14g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 85mg
Sodium 780mg
Carbohydrate 16g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 6g
Protein 35g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I cooked the chicken seperate (on low) than the mix, then I poured the mix over the chicken and let... I cooked the chicken seperate (on low) than the mix, then I poured the mix over the chicken and let stand for 10 mins. It was awesome! I added bell pepers and next time I would use diced tomatoes rather than the stewed tomatoes only because they were so big I had to cut them. I served over rice as suggested and an italian cheesy bread. It makes for a beautiful presentation. The best recipe I have come across in a long time.
Date published: 2006-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so easy and it will look just like it does in the picture. This recipe was so easy and it will look just like it does in the picture. This was a definite crowd-pleaser; even my picky 3-year-old loved it! We put it on top of white or whole grain brown rice. I will say that it makes a DEFINITE difference if you put imitation bacon bits in it--do not do this! It ruined it for us! We have loved this recipe so much it has become our "weekend treat" and our "birthday meal"! HA HA~~
Date published: 2007-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a terrific recipe! What a terrific recipe!! I tried this on my husband and picky 2 year old and they both loved it!! I added green pepper and used diced tomatoes,but it still turned out great!! I took leftovers to work the next day and everyone in the office was asking for the recipe. Now, it is also one of their favorites and we always talk about how our family raves about it! Thanks for this one, it is definitely a keeper!!!
Date published: 2006-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We LOVED this recipe! We LOVED this recipe! The recipe and the picture looked so weird but I wanted to try something new and different. This was by far one of my favorite Kraft recipes that I've ever made. My husband and I absolutely loved it. We don't like mushrooms so I didn't even put them in and it still tasted good. Also, instead of using just mozzarella cheese, I added some cheddar in there as well. Try this! It's excellent!
Date published: 2008-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was certainly an easy chicken dish and it was a hit with my ENTIRE family of 8. This was certainly an easy chicken dish and it was a hit with my ENTIRE family of 8. There are not many meals that fall into that category! The chicken was as tender as can be and the sauce was delicious. I served plenty of fresh French bread and there was very little sauce left on any plate. I did add a couple of garlic cloves with the veggies. I'll share and repeat this recipe!
Date published: 2006-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I doubled this recipe (except the chicken) for a family of five - everyone enjoyed it and had some... I doubled this recipe (except the chicken) for a family of five - everyone enjoyed it and had some left over. I served over ziti the first night, then the left-overs on rice the following day. Both were excellent. I omitted the bacon all together, and added the cheese directly to the serving once on dinner plate for those who wanted it. Others are counting their calories!
Date published: 2007-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I cut up the chicken into bite sized pieces...was very good. I cut up the chicken into bite sized pieces...was very good. I also cooked about 3-4 pieces of bacon instead of using bacon bits. I did not drain the bacon, I cooked the onions and mushrooms in the drippings from the bacon. Once I plated the dish, also sprinkled a little extra mozzarella cheese - was great over Orzo Pasta. Would definitely make this dish again
Date published: 2007-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a really easy, fast & yummy recipe. This is a really easy, fast & yummy recipe. I'm not sure where you find small chicken breasts, but we did cut the ones we got in half. I'm going to do this in a camping Dutch oven using chicken thighs for 30 Scout leaders. They'll love it. I also posted it on a camping web site and said it was a Kraft recipe. We have leftovers I'm looking forward to. Moose
Date published: 2006-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe turned out very watery and very bland in flavor. This recipe turned out very watery and very bland in flavor. However, I may try to make it again using italian seasoned diced tomatoes instead of the stewed (half drained) and 2-3 cloves garlic. Also, this recipe can be made a lot healthier (lower fat) by using Pam cooking spray instead of the oil, fat-free zesty italian dressing, and Kraft 2% mozzerella.
Date published: 2006-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious! I forgot to get Italian dressing so I substituted various seasonings (garlic powder, onion salt, italian seasoning, pepper and Extra virgin olive oil). I also added extra bacon and served over spaghetti. It turned out awesome! My husband, my biggest critic, also gave it rave reviews! I will without a doubt serve it again!
Date published: 2006-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this last night for dinner and it was a big hit. I made this last night for dinner and it was a big hit. Normally my husband doesn't like chicken breasts but he loved this. The chicken was tender and moist. I did add touch of sugar to the recipe to cut some of the acid from the tomatoes but it sure turned out great. Can't wait to make it again and add some green peppers.
Date published: 2006-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has to be the best chicken I ever made! This has to be the best chicken I ever made! I didn't add mushrooms only because the kids don't like them and we don't eat pork so I didn't add the bacon either. But, it was still awesome!! And I love cheese so I did add more. I the dish with penne noodles which were flavored with butter, garlic and parmesan cheese - YUMMY!!!
Date published: 2006-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. I added garlic and pepper before topping the chicken with the bacon and cheese. I did use Turkey Bacon to make it South Beach friendly and although I didn't serve it with rice, I made a side of steamed vegetables and the sauce was wonderful with the veggies too. Very moist chicken. Definite keeper.
Date published: 2007-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was a great recipe. this was a great recipe. easy to make and tastes great. I used a can of tomato sauce instead of paste so that I could get more sauce as some of the previous comments said it was kind of dry. I also had run out of dressing, so I used mayo and added basil, cilatro and oregano. It was great with rice and better with Orzo.
Date published: 2006-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! I made this for my boyfriend last night and he loved it, as did I!. I am not a big fan of bacon, so I left it out. Also, instead of using stewed tomatoes, I used a can of DICED tomatoes with mushrooms and garlic flavors. I served it on a bed of white rice and it was unbelievable! Will make it again soon!
Date published: 2006-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed and I used canned mushrooms b/c I had them on hand. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed and I used canned mushrooms b/c I had them on hand. I also added garlic when the onions were cooking. My b/f was late so I put it in a casserole dish and put the cheese on top to bake while I waited for him. It was amazing and my b/f already told me to make it again.
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My fiance and I love love love this dish, and we serve it for friends/family all the time. My fiance and I love love love this dish, and we serve it for friends/family all the time. We substitute the bacon with chopped reduced-fat smoked sausage (which we saute with the onions), and that creates an amazing flavor! Also, sometimes we throw in sauteed green peppers and fresh garlic just for kicks.
Date published: 2006-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I changed the recipe to be more of a mexican dish. I changed the recipe to be more of a mexican dish. I used mexican style tomatoes, fried up onions, garlic,a jalapeno and nopales (catus). I was looking for a change for my chicken, I know have a new dish to add to my menu. I definately will try it with the italian flare next time. Thanks for the recipe idea.
Date published: 2008-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked this recipe a lot but next time I will add more salad dressing, also I dont like mushrooms... I liked this recipe a lot but next time I will add more salad dressing, also I dont like mushrooms so I added garlic and green pepper, also chicken takes about 35 min to cook mine sure was not done in 12 min. I gave this recipe to a coworker he made it last night and brought it in to work everyone loved it.
Date published: 2006-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful flavor and so easy! Wonderful flavor and so easy! I did use an Italian cheese blend for more interest and left out the bacon. I cooked mine a little longer since my chicken breast were thick. Great recipe! I served this over couscous but next time will use angel hair pasta. This is a real keeper in my recipe collection!
Date published: 2009-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great flavor! Great flavor! I made mine with fresh bacon and sauteed the onions and mushrooms in the bacon drippings. I also used diced tomatoes since it's what I had, and sprinkled the chicken with garlic powder. Served with egg noodles - great combo! My husband loved it and requested more bacon next time.
Date published: 2008-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion and the tomato paste I used had italian spices in it. It took closer to 30 minutes though to cook thoroughly, but it was worth the wait! Next time I will try cutting the chicken in strips to shorten the cooking time.
Date published: 2006-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe several times, it's super easy and not the same old, same old. I have made this recipe several times, it's super easy and not the same old, same old. My 13-year-old, who eats nothing unless it's difficult to make or comes in a carton, wanted to know why I didn't make more of it so she could have seconds. Who knew she'd want seconds? Next time I will!
Date published: 2006-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! I loved this recipe and to my surprise my husband did as well. He's not a big mushroom eater but loved this recipe. It was very easy to make and I loved the variety that it added to my same old chicken routine. I would definetly make it again. It was too easy and quick to make.
Date published: 2008-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whoa! Whoa! I will definitely make this one again. I normally do not like chicken with tomato sauce but this is totally different. Wonderful flavor and I used bacon bits instead of fresh cooked bacon. I can only imagine it with fresh cooked bacon. Also, I served it on linguine pasta, great.
Date published: 2006-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Wow! My two little ones loved it -- as did my hubby and I!! Not easy with a 3 and 5 year old!! I made it a little saucier by using an entire small can of tomato paste and a little extra dressing. Fantastic! I think this would be a great casual company dinner. Very, very good!
Date published: 2006-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was ok, it tasted too much like the italian dressing to me and I had to add sugar to offset the... It was ok, it tasted too much like the italian dressing to me and I had to add sugar to offset the strong acidic taste of dressing and tomatoes. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup that really seemed to help it and it turned out pretty good. I served it with white rice.
Date published: 2007-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was very easy to make and was wonderful in flavor! This recipe was very easy to make and was wonderful in flavor! I'm one who doesn't like to spend a ton of time making dinner and this was simple. Last night when I made this recipe, my dad stopped unexpectedly and had dinner with us and he as well loved the dish!!! Thank You!
Date published: 2006-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVED it! I LOVED it!!! I'm picky and my three year old is picky. My husband and my 1 year old also loved it. I served it over Orzo rice. I didn't add bacon and I added a little more Italian dressing (the Light Done Right). It was so easy, fast and I will be making it again very soon!
Date published: 2007-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Great recipe! I followed it exactly except left out oil and just sprayed some nonstick cooking spray. Worked just as well and saved some fat. It's even better after it sits 30mins or so as the sauce thickens. My husband and I loved this chicken and I will be making this again.
Date published: 2010-01-04
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_58, tr_345
  • loc_en_US, sid_91432, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

552521:91432

>