Easy Chicken Cordon Bleu - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy Chicken Cordon Bleu

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

6 servings

Discover the blue ribbon Easy Chicken Cordon Bleu. This version is just as yummy as the more complex recipe, easy to make on busy weeknights.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Prepare stuffing mix as directed on package.
  • Place chicken in 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; cover with ham. Mix soup and mustard; spoon over chicken. Top with stuffing.
  • Bake 25 min. or until chicken is done (165°F). Top with cheese; bake 5 min. or until cheese is melted.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with hot steamed broccoli for a quick-and-tasty weeknight dinner.

Substitute

Prepare using KRAFT Extra Thin Swiss Cheese Slices.

Substitute

Prepare using GREY POUPON Dijon Mustard.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 430
Total fat 18g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 95mg
Sodium 730mg
Carbohydrate 28g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 2g
Protein 36g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 25 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good and easy to prepare. So good and easy to prepare. The second time I made it I cut a slit in the chicken breast and stuffed with a slice of Swiss cheese and the ham and slathered the chicken with the Dijon mustard. Then topped with thinned down cream of chicken soup with milk. Will try with rice on the side next time in place of stuffing. My family loves this dinner!
Date published: 2011-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, I've made this 3 times in a month. So far, I've made this 3 times in a month. And every time it gets a rave review from my husband and of course myself. My 2 boys on the other hand don't care for it. Can't figure out why. My 13 y/o says it's the crust, my 10 y/o says just because and I say I'm the cook/mom so eat it! And they do so I have yet to understand their complaints.
Date published: 2006-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dish exactly as instructed except that I had more like 1 1/2 pounds of chicken. I made this dish exactly as instructed except that I had more like 1 1/2 pounds of chicken. It turned out perfectly. The chicken tasted just fine with the soup/mustard mixture. The stuffing added seasoning to the entire dish, and the cheese helped keep the stuffing moist in the oven. This tasted just like chicken cordon bleu. It was so good.
Date published: 2006-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband is the one that makes this dish. My husband is the one that makes this dish. We realllllly enjoy it and it takes so little time to have a very healthy meal. There are just the two of us, so we are able to get 3 meals out of the one casserole. It is even better the next two nites when the flavors all blend together. Thanks, Kraft Kitchen for a wonderful recipe.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have always wanted to make chicken cordon bleu, but didn't know what it consisted of. We have always wanted to make chicken cordon bleu, but didn't know what it consisted of. This was really easy to make and it better tasting the next day! I forgot to buy the grey poupon and used regular mustard instead and we sliced the breasts in halves and stuffed the ham inside. Will make again next time we have company.
Date published: 2008-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our adult daughter said this was a top-of-the-line restaurant-quality dish and has loved it each... Our adult daughter said this was a top-of-the-line restaurant-quality dish and has loved it each time she has had it at our house. My wife agrees. I followed all of the instructions as written, including cooking time, and it cooks perfectly. Really a great center piece for a gourmet meal! An Alabama guy who loves to cook.
Date published: 2007-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone in my family LOVES this recipe. Everyone in my family LOVES this recipe. I make it about once a month. It's so easy to prepare. Instead of grated swiss cheese, I use sliced swiss and layer it on top of the ham under the stuffing before baking. I also add more ham than the recipe calls for. And I use a box of stuffing rather than from the canister. Yummy!
Date published: 2007-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We really liked this one. We really liked this one. It was easy and tasty. When I make it again, I plan to pound the chicken breasts thinner - so that a serving isn't so tall (with all of the toppings.) Additional seasonings sprinkled on the chicken might be beneficial as well, such as cracked pepper and/or a sprinkling of basil or rosemary.
Date published: 2008-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was yummy! This was yummy! I used thin-sliced chicken breast cutlets and baked them for 15 minutes before adding any toppings. Once toppings are added, I baked for 10-minutes, added the cheese and baked for 5 additional minutes. Came out perfect!! My husband and son ate for lunch the next day and said they were even better!!
Date published: 2008-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was very easy to make and tasted great! This recipe was very easy to make and tasted great! Make sure you use the recommended baking dish. I used a smaller one (because there was so much room in the 13x9) but it took much longer to cook and the stuffing got very brown-it still tasted great. It could use a little more mustard if you like that dijon taste.
Date published: 2006-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from As the queen of substitutions I thought I could make do out of my cabinet when putting this recipe... As the queen of substitutions I thought I could make do out of my cabinet when putting this recipe together. There is a reason they want you to use a certain cheese! There is a reason they want you to use low sodium soup. Next time I'll follow the directions! I believe it will be much better than what I made.
Date published: 2008-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i cooked the recipe for the first time tonight for my mom and little sister we thought it was very... i cooked the recipe for the first time tonight for my mom and little sister we thought it was very delicious. although i didn't have all of the ingredients needed i did substitute a few of them. instead of the grey poupon mustard i used honey mustard and i also cooked stoganolff as a side dish.
Date published: 2006-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST EVER! BEST EVER!! I goofed up and got smoked turkey instead of ham and i hate swiss so i used a nice white cheddar and WOW!! EXCELLENT!!! You can mix and match this dish and no matter what it would still be good and you can always tailer it to someones needs. THANKS!!! can't wait to make it again!
Date published: 2008-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is now in regular rotation on our monthly menus. This is now in regular rotation on our monthly menus. I tried it with 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, and my husband couldn't even tell the difference. I also half the butter called for with the stuffing, use reduced fat swiss and double the mustard. It's one of our very favorites!
Date published: 2007-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to substitute imitation crab meat for the ham because my ham had gone bad, it was wonderful. I had to substitute imitation crab meat for the ham because my ham had gone bad, it was wonderful. Even my very picky three year old ate it! My six year old son said delicioso!!! My husband and I would definately make it again. If anyone wants a twist we suggest the crab substitution.
Date published: 2006-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY BROTHER IS HARD TO PLEASE WHEN IT COMES TO CHICKEN DISHES BUT HE LOVED THIS ONE AND SAID I CAN... MY BROTHER IS HARD TO PLEASE WHEN IT COMES TO CHICKEN DISHES BUT HE LOVED THIS ONE AND SAID I CAN MAKE IT AGAIN.. IN FACT HE WANTS TO TELL HIS FRIEND ABOUT IT..I LOVE IT BECAUSE IT IS SO EASY WITH SUCH A GREAT TASTE LIKE YOU TOOK ALL DAY TO MAKE IT..THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIEPE..
Date published: 2006-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious- I made it with low fat cream soup and also light cheese. This was delicious- I made it with low fat cream soup and also light cheese. However it did take longer than 30 minutes to cook. I would allow 45 at least. Next time I will layer stuffing on the bottom, with the chicken, ham, cheese, and soup over all. Will definitely make again!
Date published: 2007-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was good, but next time I will wait until the end of cooking time to add the stuffing. This was good, but next time I will wait until the end of cooking time to add the stuffing. Since the stuffing is already cooked ahead of time, I thought it got a bit crunchy after being baked another 25 minutes in the oven. The flavor was good though and it is very easy to make.
Date published: 2006-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My boyfriend raved about this recipe. My boyfriend raved about this recipe. Whenever I prepare new meals, I ask him to rate the dish from 1-10 (with 10 being the best thing he's ever tasted). He rated this version of chicken cordon bleu an 8!! The only changes that I would make would be to reduce the sodium.
Date published: 2006-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so easy to put together, hence the name "Easy Chicken Cordon Bleu". This was so easy to put together, hence the name "Easy Chicken Cordon Bleu". Everybody loved it. I doubled the recipe because I like to have two-nighter meals during the week. I made Sweet Glazed Carrots (from the Winter 2006 issue) to go with it. Wonderful!
Date published: 2006-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this dinner! My husband and I loved this dinner! The chicken was very moist and the stuffing was such a small amount we didn't feel guilty eating it. Is the cream of chicken soup where the fat comes from? Anyway, it tastes great and was really simple to make and clean up!
Date published: 2006-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The mustard taste was too pronounced for my chicken cordon bleu loving 12 year old. The mustard taste was too pronounced for my chicken cordon bleu loving 12 year old. I make a very similar recipe that has the cheese directly on the chicken and sherry mixed with the soup as opposed to the mustard. Think I will stick with my own version.
Date published: 2006-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This dish was a winner! This dish was a winner! it was nice to have a meal with tasty stuffing that wasnt thanksgiving. The only thing i did different was add a lot of swiss cheese. When it melted it became sweet and blended with the chicken perfectly. Everyone loved this dish!
Date published: 2006-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for Easter dinner. I made this for Easter dinner. It was easy, delicious and wasn't as daunting for me like a big chicken or ham. I didn't have a very large group of people over, so this was perfect and they loved how different it was from the usual holiday meal.
Date published: 2008-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this many times and even my picky husband likes it. I have made this many times and even my picky husband likes it. The Dijon mustard can be a strong flavor so you may have to adjust it according to your tastes. I love that I can have it ready for the oven before the oven is even pre-heated.
Date published: 2008-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was awesome! This was awesome! My husband loved it- and the kids (ages 4 and 2) ate it too! It is really salty though, so next time I will use the reduced/low sodium varieties of the Stove-top and Cream of Chicken Soup. This will be one of our "regulars"!
Date published: 2006-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My mom made this recipe for dinner one night. My mom made this recipe for dinner one night. Instead of adding stuffing to the chicken, she made mashed potatoes and broccoli on the side. The chicken was very good, but needs more seasoning to taste. Other than that, my family enjoyed it!
Date published: 2006-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last night after being extremely cold in the house due to a power outage. I made this last night after being extremely cold in the house due to a power outage. It hit the spot. Followed the directions and the chicken was just right and the flavor with the mustard was delicious. Definitely will make this again.
Date published: 2009-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is very quick & easy to make! This recipe is very quick & easy to make! My family w/ 4 teenagers loved it! I will make it again soon! I have tried several recipes from this Winter 2006 book and they have all been a hit! I can't wait until the next one! Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2006-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We didn't have mustard, so I didn't add it to the soup. We didn't have mustard, so I didn't add it to the soup. But I think it was ok without it anyway. My husband liked this, and so did my 2 year old. It was also very fast and easy, for a weeknight meal. So I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2006-05-01
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_58, tr_296
  • loc_en_US, sid_90491, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

546519:90491

>