Easy Chicken and Rice Divan - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy Chicken and Rice Divan

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
55
min.
Servings

6 servings

Despite its restaurant roots, Chicken Divan can dress casual at your dinner table any night of the week. Try this easy spin on the classic.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • Whisk first 3 ingredients in 13x9-inch baking dish until blended. Gradually stir in milk.
  • Add chicken, rice, broccoli and 1 cup cheese; mix well. Cover.
  • Bake 30 min.; stir. Top with remaining cheese; bake 5 to 10 min. or until chicken is done. Let stand 5 min. or until liquid is absorbed.

Makeover - How We Did It

We replaced the milk, mayonnaise and cheese in a classic recipe with better-for-you products. These small changes will save you 140 calories and 17g of total fat, including 5.5g of saturated fat, per serving.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Healthy Living

  • Good source of calcium
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch
  • 4 Meat (L)
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

This family favorite is a cinch to prepare in one dish. And as a bonus, it's a good source of calcium from the cheese.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 370
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 500mg
Carbohydrate 32g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 6g
Protein 34g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 50 %DV
Iron 10 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great! I make this once a week. It has been dry before, but I just add a bit more milk and it comes out great! Sometimes with recipes a little altering is necessary. If it comes out dry the first time you make it, add a bit more liquid and it will be a lot better. It helps to cut the chicken pretty small to keep the whole dish from being dry. I will be making this for a long time to come.
Date published: 2006-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good base recipe. Very good base recipe. I added some extra things though. My husband will not eat anything dry so I added two cans of cream of broccoli, mixed cheese in before cooking and increased the mayo. I had leftover baked chicken from lunch and just used that instead of using raw chicken. The thyme was a fragrant spice to use in this dish. I would highly suggest this recipe to anyone.
Date published: 2005-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used fresh broccoli and only a pound of chicken, and cooked it 15 minutes longer than the recipe... I used fresh broccoli and only a pound of chicken, and cooked it 15 minutes longer than the recipe called for. My husband & I and our 3 year old son loved it. Not as much can be said for our girls. I like the fact that we could each add our own favorites (pepper sauce; seasoning salt; extra cheese) because it's pretty basic - yet complete.
Date published: 2006-04-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I made this and thought it was so-so. I made this and thought it was so-so. I did use uncooked chicken (since the recipe didn't specify), which was only partially thawed, & this added about 20 minutes to the baking time. I think the extra juices from the chicken made it a little too wet. I added salt & pepper. But it wasn't outstanding & I probably won't make it again.
Date published: 2006-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This dish came out absolutely delicious! This dish came out absolutely delicious! The kids loved it! After reading the other comments for this recipe, I decided to change it a bit. I added 1/2 cup more milk, a can of cream of mushroom and 1/2 cup of sour cream instead of mayo, and about 2 cups of monterey/colby cheese. I also used white rice...definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2008-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was a definite hit! This recipe was a definite hit!! My entire family loved this one. I added a bit more to the recipe. I didn't use the garlic powder; instead, I used lemon and garlic pepper to season the chicken. In addition, I added shrimp to this one. My family loves seafood and it was pleasing to everyone's tastebuds!! Enjoy!!
Date published: 2005-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great! I did change a few things. Cook and season the chicken, cook the rice as well. And I replaced the mayo with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and only use 1cp of milk. It wasn't dry and there was no crunchy rice. I had NO leftovers, and i am not a mother. My friends ate it up. Definately will make again!
Date published: 2005-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Based on the reviews, I poached the chicken & cooked the rice prior to adding to the milk & mayo... Based on the reviews, I poached the chicken & cooked the rice prior to adding to the milk & mayo mixture. The sauce never got thicker/absorbed, but the vegetables & chicken were starting to get burnt. I ended up draining the sauce & then adding cheese. After the modifications the end result was ok.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was really excited about this recipe. I was really excited about this recipe. It sounded delicious and seemed easy. I don't think I've ever made anything that had no flavor like this before! I prepped two at once and gave one to a friend and called her with apologies the next day. She didn't dislike it as much as I did, though.
Date published: 2006-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVED this recipe! I LOVED this recipe! It was very good! The first time I cooked it, it the rice turned out very dry, and not all the way cooked. The second time my Mom told me too cover it, so I tryed that and it turned out great!! It was'nt dry and it was all the way cooked! I will definintly cook this again!
Date published: 2005-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this last night. I made this last night. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Followed your instructions and everything worked great! A little note... Make sure you cook your chicken first. I knew that but a novice may have a big problem. It was nice and creamy and I will def! cook this again. Great JOB!
Date published: 2006-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family and I really loved this casserole. My family and I really loved this casserole. It was quick and easy to make and was even good as leftovers 2 days later. I made extra sauce and added it in while the dish was re-heating and it was as tasty and moist as the first day! Will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2007-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I added some flavoring to it (S&P), but the rice didn't seem to cook all that well. I added some flavoring to it (S&P), but the rice didn't seem to cook all that well. I followed the directions and the rice seemed cruchy. It didn't taste to bad other than that. I Probably won't make again because my boys didn't seem all that interested in eating it.
Date published: 2005-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I thought we would really enjoy this recipe however, it was very bland. I thought we would really enjoy this recipe however, it was very bland. The rice was crunchy. We tried some different seasonings to add flavor but nothing worked. It is a good concept but we need to figure out what would bring more taste to the dish. Suggestions?
Date published: 2006-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There were a lot of negative comments about this one, especially about the rice being crunchy. There were a lot of negative comments about this one, especially about the rice being crunchy. I wonder if they didn't use the Minute Rice, and used regular rice instead? From what I see of the recipes ingredients and directions, this one should have been a hit...
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Looks good in the magazine - NO taste! Looks good in the magazine - NO taste! Very bland and the texture is horrible. The rice was crunchy (yes, I used instant rice), and the milk and mayo didn't combine well. Definately not a keeper. Didn't even keep the leftovers - and there were lots of those!
Date published: 2006-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband and myself Sunday evening and he fell in love with it. I made this for my husband and myself Sunday evening and he fell in love with it. I did add some onion powder and granulated garlic to it which made it burst with flavor. I also used some parmesaen cheese on the top with the cheddar. Definately a keeper!
Date published: 2006-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was awful. This was awful. Dry, almost no flavor- unless you count the over powering flavor of thyme. I had to add almost a cup of additional milk PLUS a can of cream of chicken in order to make it slightly creamy. Sorry Kraft but I am greatly disappointed this time!
Date published: 2010-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I cooked the rice before mixing it in, and tossed in a chicken boullion cube. I cooked the rice before mixing it in, and tossed in a chicken boullion cube. I also added some pepper and about 1/2 tsp of celery seed to the mix. My family LOVED it! I can't wait to have leftover chicken so I can make it again! It also reheats well.
Date published: 2005-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This wasn't bad, just ok. This wasn't bad, just ok. It was very easy to make and I had all the ingredients on had so that was helpful. My husband said it was ok, but don't make it again. I did add the cream of chicken instead of the mayo. I also added a little sour cream.
Date published: 2006-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made this recipe exactly as it says to and I consider myself a fairly good cook but this was... I made this recipe exactly as it says to and I consider myself a fairly good cook but this was pretty bad. It was runny, there was way too much liquid. Nobody liked it, the flavors did not go well together. Will not make again.
Date published: 2006-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family loved it, but I changed it up a bit though. My family loved it, but I changed it up a bit though. I used white rice, only garlic salt as seasoning, 2% milk, mayo with olive oil and fresh broccoli. I think it needed maybe a 1/2 cup more milk. The rice was a little crunchy :)
Date published: 2010-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to make! Very easy to make! Whole meal in one dish. I have found it is best to add the rice to the mayo, milk, spice mixture first and stir well before adding the chicken and broccoli. This keeps from having pieces of crunchy rice.
Date published: 2006-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was outrageously bland. This was outrageously bland. I've had it with boring chicken/rice/veggie recipes, this just didn't have the zip it needed. I ate my serving and threw the rest out. I didn't even try to serve it to the rest of my family.
Date published: 2005-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My kids both loved it! My kids both loved it! I also made some additions, seasoned the chicken and pre-cooked it, mixed veggies for the little ones. Definitely will make again. Thanks for the idea of covering it when baking to keep it moist!
Date published: 2005-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I would suggest boiling the chicken first, and then cutting into smaller pieces. I would suggest boiling the chicken first, and then cutting into smaller pieces. Adding 1 can Cream of chicken soup instead of the milk, and adding lemon to the mix to taste. It will be much better and more flavorful.
Date published: 2006-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My major complaint was that the thyme made this dish "hot". My major complaint was that the thyme made this dish "hot". It also was a little dry and perhaps I would increase the mayo/milk combination. It was okay. I love chicken and broccoli so may try again with modification.
Date published: 2006-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I found the recipe to be a little bland and dry. I found the recipe to be a little bland and dry. I didn't have garlic powder so used 2 cloves fresh garlic but apparently that wasn't enough. I am not a heavy user of salt but I thought it needed some salt as well.
Date published: 2005-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I thought this was a delicious recipe, but the kids weren't as crazy about it. My husband and I thought this was a delicious recipe, but the kids weren't as crazy about it. I liked its delicate taste and it was very creamy and has all my favorite ingredients in it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Date published: 2005-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was quite tasty. This was quite tasty. I did not cook the chicken before mixing it all together, but I think I will in the future. It took twice as long to cook as recommended, basically because the chicken wasn't done in time.
Date published: 2005-10-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_75571, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

550823:75571

>