Easy Layered Italian Meatloaf - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy Layered Italian Meatloaf

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

Makes 6 servings.

Our Easy Layered Italian Meatloaf has everything you love about lasagna except the noodles—and the hassle.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • Mix stuffing mix with half each of the pasta sauce and oregano. Add meat; mix well. Pat into 13x9-inch baking dish.
  • Mix vegetables and remaining pasta sauce and oregano. Spoon over meat mixture; cover.
  • Bake 25 min. Top with cheese. Bake, uncovered, 10 min. or until meatloaf is done (160°F).

Food Facts

Adding pasta sauce to the meat mixture not only adds flavor but also helps to keep the baked meatloaf moist.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with your favorite cooked vegetables such as steamed green beans and boiled potatoes.

Special Extra

Need an easy dish to serve guests? Just make this in a colorful CORNINGWARE® etch™ Baking Dish. Its premium-crafted, artisan-quality stoneware ensures proper cooking and gives comfort food a dressed-up look for company.

Servings

  • Makes 6 servings.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 6 servings.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 370
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 1060mg
Carbohydrate 34g
Sugars 8g
Protein 32g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 25 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 30 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from This easy layered Italian meatloaf is not good at all! This easy layered Italian meatloaf is not good at all! Too much sodium in it, too much sauce and why do you need all of that stuffing in it. I used half of the stuffing, half of sauce and add a little more meat. I love the name and can't you used low soduim sauce? that is why I am going to do the next time I make this. If you like a alot of bread in your meatloaf, then this is a good recipe for meatloaf
Date published: 2006-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I changed a few things, I used half spaggetti sauce and half hot salsa, also added cup of onion &cup... I changed a few things, I used half spaggetti sauce and half hot salsa, also added cup of onion &cup of celery, used cornbread dressing and doubled the cheese. I guess you could say I made a totaly different meatloaf, but it sure was good!!!! try it folks you won't be sorry. oh ya, i omitted the oregano too. it's just me but I would sooner eat dirt. not much diff. but the dirt has better texture.
Date published: 2006-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best meatloaf I have ever tasted. This is the best meatloaf I have ever tasted. It is even better than Ann Landers' famous recipe. I made it for my family last week and made it again for a Church dinner last weekend. The meatloaf was a 5-star hit both places. Not being too fond of zucchini, I used long yellow squash instead with great results. This will be my new potluck dinner signature dish.
Date published: 2010-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This provided a tasty alternative to our regular meatloaf, much appreciated by my family. This provided a tasty alternative to our regular meatloaf, much appreciated by my family. It also provided an excellent way to use the remaining zucchini left in the garden at the end of the summer! I'll probably play with the recipe a little the next time. I didn't get the Italian flavors I thought I would but everyone here loved it.
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this tonight with almost none of the suggested ingredients. I made this tonight with almost none of the suggested ingredients. I just wanted to point out that you can use these recipes for new ideas. As all of the cooks out there know, you've got to use what's at hand. I changed everything except the spaghetti sauce in this dish and it was fabulous! Have an inventive dinner tonight!
Date published: 2006-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this many times and have NEVER been disappointed, nor have my guests, served ! I have made this many times and have NEVER been disappointed, nor have my guests, served ! I am NOT a meatloaf eater - except for MINE ! :D which, is this recipe ! LOVE it ! I do not add the extra oregano and if I can't find zucchini, cheap enough - I don't use it and it's still awesome !
Date published: 2007-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I only made this recipe because my husband requested meatloaf (I hate it), and this one was... I only made this recipe because my husband requested meatloaf (I hate it), and this one was healthier and looked better than the ketchup-soaked recipes I've seen. We both loved it, and I plan to make it today (although my original thoughts on meatloaf in general still stand :) ). Delicious!
Date published: 2010-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The recipe calls for way too much stuffing mix - you can't even tell there's meat in the loaf. The recipe calls for way too much stuffing mix - you can't even tell there's meat in the loaf. The chicken flavor of the stuffing also overpowered the flavor of the meat. IF I ever make this again, I will reduce the stuffing mix by at least half. The cheese & veggies were good on top.
Date published: 2011-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband loved this meatloaf. My husband loved this meatloaf. He said I should make it when we have the whole family over for dinner. I used half a pound of ground sausage and ground meat. I think next time I'll use less Oregano and add my own spices. Also the recipe makes way more than 6 servings. It was great!
Date published: 2006-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The recipe had little flavor since there wasn't any seasonings (salt, pepper, wochestershire sauce,... The recipe had little flavor since there wasn't any seasonings (salt, pepper, wochestershire sauce, etc.) in the recipe and meat was not done in the time alloted. I had to bake it an additional 15 minutes. My family did not like it at all and I would not make this recipe again.
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The meat kept it's shape with all of the stuffing in it, however I think there was too much oregano... The meat kept it's shape with all of the stuffing in it, however I think there was too much oregano in the recipe. Maybe the combination of the oregano and the seasoning already in the stuffing did not "blend" really well together. We just didn't care for the flavor at all.
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was so-so. This was so-so. I will try it again and mix the meat with typical meatloaf items, egg, onions, bread, milk, worcheshire, etc and then add the zucchini, mushrooms and cheese. The meat in the current recipe fell apart. I think adding the egg will stop this from happening.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I prepared this recipe on 9/17/06 for about twelve of my family members and they all loved it. I prepared this recipe on 9/17/06 for about twelve of my family members and they all loved it. I actually doubled my recipe and used what the recipe called for on one and used green peppers and mushrooms on the other. I will try adding pepperoni next time. Thanks!!
Date published: 2006-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was delicious! This recipe was delicious! I didn't have zucchinis or mushrooms so I just added provolone slices and shredded mexican cheese on top. I had to cook the meatloaf for 1 hour before adding the cheese. It was a very easy recipe and smelled great the whole way through.
Date published: 2010-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it is 'easy' but i don't know why it's called layered, it's topped. it is 'easy' but i don't know why it's called layered, it's topped. i think the flavor intensity depends largely on the spaghetti sauce; if you choose a plain sauce, the meatloaf will have less flavor. i used a roasted garlic sauce and think it came out very good.
Date published: 2006-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have LOVED everything I have made off of this site. I have LOVED everything I have made off of this site. However, this meatloaf was so bad, I ended up throwing most of it out. It lacked taste/flavor. It looked nice, but it had NO flavor. I would skip this meatloaf and try another one... save the money and the time.
Date published: 2006-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was awesome. This was awesome. My daughter told me to never make "regular" meatloaf again. I added chopped onion, green bell pepper, italian seasonings, spices, and garlic salt. I served it with Speghetti Squash with speghetti sauce and garlic bread and salad. We loved it.
Date published: 2006-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this receipe with turkey (ground instead of beef) And I will like to say that thank you for... I made this receipe with turkey (ground instead of beef) And I will like to say that thank you for this superb idea. I will also like to know the calorie and fat and fiber content change to be listed since I did use turkey meat the ratio was 85/15 leanto fat
Date published: 2006-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I loved how the sauce made the meatloaf so moist but i didn't like the zucchini on top of it because... I loved how the sauce made the meatloaf so moist but i didn't like the zucchini on top of it because when the meatloaf was cooked through the zucchini wasn't. I would actually saute the vegetables first next time before adding them to the meatloaf.
Date published: 2007-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved this! We loved this! My husband was ready to eat the whole pan. I did add some addl garlic and hot & spicy Mrs Dash as we do like alot of spice also used Italian season in place of Oregano. The stuffing mix helps keep the extra lean meat moist.
Date published: 2006-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is wonderful, even my children liked it I also had my mom over for dinner and she... This recipe is wonderful, even my children liked it I also had my mom over for dinner and she doesn't like meatloaf, but she loved this and asked for the recipe. The next day I found out my sister and her co-workers also wanted the recipe!
Date published: 2006-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was very good you don't really know that you are eating zucchini, didn't have the mozzarella cheese... Was very good you don't really know that you are eating zucchini, didn't have the mozzarella cheese so I used half swiss and half american cheese. I'm going to make it again for my sister when she comes. Would recomend that you try it.
Date published: 2006-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this meatloaf last nite and it is a great recipe It made a big hit with the family.will make... I made this meatloaf last nite and it is a great recipe It made a big hit with the family.will make it again. I rate it 5 stars.And thankyou,Kraft for the 2007 Calendar,I will try some of the recipes on it.Thankyou again. 1-27-2007
Date published: 2007-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did not include the zucchini and mushrooms but it turned out great. I did not include the zucchini and mushrooms but it turned out great. I am not a meatloaf fan and I really like it, my Husband was impressed as well. It was very moist and flavorful. I will definately be making this again.
Date published: 2006-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was good! This recipe was good!! My family loves meatloaf and even though it's alittle different, they liked it all the same. My little girl wasn't too keen on the zucchini. Next time I may try another type of vegetable instead.
Date published: 2007-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made my own meatloaf (I don't use stove top and I like to add 1/2 can tomato sauce w/ 1/2 can... I made my own meatloaf (I don't use stove top and I like to add 1/2 can tomato sauce w/ 1/2 can Worcestershire sauce into the meat). I pour the other half of the tomato sauce on top. I did summer squash on top. Delicious.
Date published: 2008-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Served this for my sister's birthday and it was a HIT! Served this for my sister's birthday and it was a HIT! The consistency, taste, and completeness (one meal in a pan) made this a keeper. Serving only 6 people from this has to be a mistake. The pieces would be HUGE.
Date published: 2006-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flavor. Great flavor. Added some chopped bell pepper,diced zucchini to meat mixture. I suggest not useing amount of sauce in meat because as another viewer mentiond meat became unstable. Was great as a meatloaf sandwich.
Date published: 2010-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added 1 tbs minced garlic and 1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese to the meat mixture and another tbs of... I added 1 tbs minced garlic and 1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese to the meat mixture and another tbs of garlic to the veggies. Baked for 45 min with the foil on and 15 with it off - came out perfect and very yummy!!
Date published: 2008-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I entertain often fixing meals for friends and family. I entertain often fixing meals for friends and family. This was really good. I've also done it without the veggies & just mushrooms and it was terrific. I like using a flavored Spaghetti Sauce with garlic.
Date published: 2006-10-04
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_121
  • loc_en_US, sid_95078, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551325:95078

>