Easy Lemon Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy Lemon Cake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
25
min.
Servings

16 servings

Try our Easy Lemon Cake recipe that's almost too easy to make tonight. With just four ingredients, this lemon cake recipe delivers spectacular results.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Prepare cake batter and bake as directed on package for 2 (8- or 9-inch) round cake layers. Cool in pans 10 min. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Beat pudding mixes and milk with whisk 2 min. Immediately spread over tops of cakes.
  • Stack cake layers. Frost with COOL WHIP.

Variation

Bake cake in 13x9-inch pan; cool. Do not remove from pan. Spread cake with pudding mixture, then COOL WHIP.

Special Extra

Garnish with lemon slices and fresh mint leaves just before serving.

Special Extra

Ensure easy removal of cake layers by covering bottoms of cake pans with circles of parchment paper before filling with batter.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 260
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 350mg
Carbohydrate 39g
Dietary fiber 0g
Sugars 26g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was a total disaster! It was a total disaster! I let the pudding set 5 min. and when I put it on cake, it flowed down sides. When I put the top cake on it kept sliding off and finally broke in half. I ended up making a trifle out of it which turned out pretty and tasted good. I don't know what went wrong but would like to know.
Date published: 2010-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake turned out beautiful. This cake turned out beautiful. Also very simple to make. Mom and Dad enjoyed eating this cake, it was definitley a hit after dinner. I will make this cake again. Just alittle tip: Be sure to thaw your cool whip in the refrigerator, then I stired a little before frosting cake. It looked beautiful.
Date published: 2002-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from didn't make this cake, looks good. didn't make this cake, looks good. just wanted to say, to make a REALLY good, moist, and flavorful cake, take lemon cake mix, add one can of diet sprite and bake according to box directions. don't add eggs, oil or anything else. just spay pan or muffin tin with nonstick spray. bake and enjoy!
Date published: 2007-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family went wild after they took the first bite of this cake and my best friend wanted the... My family went wild after they took the first bite of this cake and my best friend wanted the recipe. The only change I made was adding a little lemon juice to the cake mix and pudding mix and it was so easy to make,I will make this for my next get together and the next Church event.
Date published: 2009-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, this was easy to prepare. Overall, this was easy to prepare. The only problem I had was the frosting. I couldn't get my Cool Whip frosting to look like the picture! Although the cake was completely cool, I got this runny stuff. I will definitely make this again, only I will try a different frosting.
Date published: 2002-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my Grandma's birthday because she loves lemon. I made this cake for my Grandma's birthday because she loves lemon. Everyone loved it except my really picky cousin (she said that is was "disgusting". I would recommend this cake to everyone unless you have one of these types in your family. I will make this again. :)
Date published: 2006-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a co-workers birthday last year. I made this cake for a co-workers birthday last year. She has requested the same cake this year. She says its the best lemon cake she has ever had. My co-worker will be 82 and it makes me happy to see how much she enjoys it. The whole office loved it.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made this for my brother's birthday, and it just didn't taste good (with the exception of the... I made this for my brother's birthday, and it just didn't taste good (with the exception of the cool whip) I only used about half of the pudding because I couldn't fit any more on, so some of the pudding went to waste, any it was really hard to frost
Date published: 2009-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I found that the pudding did not set up well and the cool whip topping did not spread easily over... I found that the pudding did not set up well and the cool whip topping did not spread easily over the cake, making it look completely unappetizing. I made this for my family on Easter, and was too embarrassed to serve it. A complete disappointment.
Date published: 2009-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK, I can never get my desserts to look like the photos, but his recipe was easy to make and came... OK, I can never get my desserts to look like the photos, but his recipe was easy to make and came out almost perfect. I took it to the office for a potluck and it received rave reviews and was gone in no time. Now I have to make one for my family.
Date published: 2009-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband surprised me on my 32nd birthday by baking this cake. My husband surprised me on my 32nd birthday by baking this cake. I could tell he was extremely stressed as it it was his first time using an oven. The cake turned out lovely and was a huge success at the party! Can't wait until he makes it again.
Date published: 2009-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was awesome! This cake was awesome!!!! I don't really care for cake and I probably ate the most! I was afraid that the lemon flavor was going to be overwhelming, but it was actually just right! Will definitely make this cake several more times to come!!!
Date published: 2009-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy and a hit for Easter dessert. Very easy and a hit for Easter dessert. Only change I made was thickening the thawed Cool Whip a bit with 1/4 C confectioner's sugar and added 1 tsp lemon extract. Definitely needs to go back in the fridge right after frosting to help it set.
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made the cake for a family gathering and it didn't have a chance of survival. I made the cake for a family gathering and it didn't have a chance of survival. Everyone loved it and I've received several calls asking when I was going to make another. This cake is definately a family and/or party success.
Date published: 2005-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER EASY, light, great lemon flavor. SUPER EASY, light, great lemon flavor. Added a liitle bit of zest to the cake mix from the lemons that I used for garnish. Nice Easter dessert. I almost felt guilty about all the compliments I received because it was sooo easy.
Date published: 2009-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I followed the directions exactly and this cake is easy to make. I followed the directions exactly and this cake is easy to make. It was a little hard to spread the frosting, so it wasnt very pretty. But what it lacked in looks was made up for by the taste. I would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2009-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe! Love this recipe!!! Have made it a few times for friends and coworkers. Even the ones that do not like lemon cake loved it. The lemon is not over powering. Very delicious, would recommend it to everyone. Easy to make!
Date published: 2009-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I made this recipe for Easter and we were very satisfied with the results. My husband and I made this recipe for Easter and we were very satisfied with the results. We followed the instructions that were given to us and we had no messes and no problems. We would definitely make this cake again!
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This cake was not good at all. This cake was not good at all. I made it for a cast party for 50+ people and no one liked the lemon pudding in it. The cake itself was fine but just didn't go well with the lemon cake. I would not recommend this cake.
Date published: 2009-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The word "Refreshing" comes to mind every time I take a bite. The word "Refreshing" comes to mind every time I take a bite. Since the recipe is made with pudding & cool whip, the cake must be kept in the refrigerator. Therefore, each bite has a slight chill making it so refreshing!
Date published: 2009-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to make, make sure to follow the directions listed via Kraft, do not use 2 cups milk per... Very easy to make, make sure to follow the directions listed via Kraft, do not use 2 cups milk per pudding pack (which I think some people did... which is why it may have been to messy). Its easy and good tasting.
Date published: 2009-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it. I made this cake for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it. It was nice to have a delicious cake, that was also light tasting, sometimes chocolate is just too much and in that case we have this recipe!
Date published: 2005-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my family at Easter. I made this recipe for my family at Easter. Not much left after everyone had their fill. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe!!!!!!!! I made it in a 9X13 pan. Yes, would definitely make this again!!
Date published: 2010-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just like many have already stated, great recipe. just like many have already stated, great recipe. Super easy and very tasty! A perfect dessert for the summer because its so light. Even if you don't like lemon desserts, you should give this one a try.
Date published: 2009-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for both my mom and mother in law for Mothers Day. I made this cake for both my mom and mother in law for Mothers Day. It was so simple and delicious. They both really enjoyed it. I am planning to make it again for July 4th to go along with our barbq.
Date published: 2009-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made it for a birthday dinner at work. I made it for a birthday dinner at work. Everyone loved it, and it was simple to make. It was so creamy and really hit the spot. Especially with it being May. It's light, and satisfying on a hot day.
Date published: 2008-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lemon flavor was pretty bland. Lemon flavor was pretty bland. I made this with lemon frosting on the top and sides instead of cool whip and that was the only thing that saved the cake from being terribly plain in terms of tastes.
Date published: 2007-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a favorite! This is a favorite! Family & friends always request this dessert. Thank you, this recipe is so easy & not expensive, nor does it take up to much time. I keep these ingredients on hand all the time.
Date published: 2010-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is just what I was looking for Easter weekend to take to a friend's home for dessert. This is just what I was looking for Easter weekend to take to a friend's home for dessert. We love lemon and something lighter was a great find. This is one that we will make over and over again.
Date published: 2009-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy...And fun. Yummy...And fun. I made this on St. Patricks day and made it all green! One change I will make next time is to put whipped cream in the middle on top of the pudding as well as on the outside.
Date published: 2009-03-18
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_123
  • loc_en_US, sid_50221, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505643:50221

>