Easy Peanut Butter & Chocolate Éclair Dessert - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy Peanut Butter & Chocolate Éclair Dessert

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
8
hr.
30
min.
Servings

24 servings

Discover a delicious peanut butter-chocolate éclair dessert made with graham crackers. This Easy Peanut Butter-Chocolate Éclair Dessert is a unique dish.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Beat pudding mix and milk in large bowl with whisk 2 min. Add peanut butter; mix well. Stir in COOL WHIP. Layer 1/3 of the grahams and half of the pudding mixture in 13x9-inch dish, breaking grahams as necessary to fit. Repeat layers. Top with remaining grahams.
  • Microwave chocolate and butter in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min. or until butter is melted, stirring after 1 min. Stir until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Spread over grahams.
  • Refrigerate 8 hours.

How to Easily Cut Dessert into Serving Pieces

To easily cut the dessert for serving, use a sharp knife and dip the knife blade in hot water after each cut to warm and clean the blade.

Variation

Prepare using 1 pkg. (1 oz.) JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Pudding, fat-free milk, reduced-fat creamy peanut butter and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Easy Chocolate Éclair Dessert

Prepare as directed, omitting the peanut butter.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Best Apples for Baking and Cooking

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Servings

  • 24 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 24 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 180
Total fat 9g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 170mg
Carbohydrate 24g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 13g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for dessert for Easter. Made this for dessert for Easter. My husband and son really liked it. It was not too difficult to make. I used fat free pudding, non fat milk, low fat Cool Whip and low fat graham crackers. Wanted to make it a little more low fat. I did not like the fact that the chocolate on top was so hard. It made it difficult to cut into. I have made a recipe similar to this in the past and it called for frosting. I may try using that next time, so that it it easier to cut into.
Date published: 2008-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a hit with my family, in fact everytime we get together for any type of holiday, they... This recipe is a hit with my family, in fact everytime we get together for any type of holiday, they request that I bring it. I did change the recipe a little bit, I use 2 pkgs of Jell-O pudding but I use french vanilla and sometimes I cut on bannans and put in the pudding mix. I also use low fat Honey Grahams (they taste the same as the regular) I make 3 layers instead of two. It is really easy and good!
Date published: 2011-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and loved it! I made this recipe and loved it! Coming from someone who does not cook at all!! I did not add the peanut butter and I doubled the other ingredients so there was a little more filling in between the layers and instead of using the baking chocolate for the top, I just got cans of chocolate cake frosting and used that. Got rave reviews from the guests and am planning on making it again for a potluck at work.
Date published: 2008-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I reviewed this recipe back in 2008 - still a favorite, but it's better with the Kraft frosting... I reviewed this recipe back in 2008 - still a favorite, but it's better with the Kraft frosting recipe for "best ever chocolate cake", which is just chocolate squares melted in the microwave with a tub of Cool Whip. It's delicious and doesn't harden like the chocolate and butter. Also, the graham crackers are meant to soften - it's an eclair recipe! Better after refrigerated a day.
Date published: 2008-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i LOVE this! i LOVE this!! ive made this a few times and had problems with the frosting cracking when trying to cut it. this last time when i made it i put it into a 9x13 dish with an air tight lid. i had NO problems at all cutting it, smooth lines every time. i think that made all the difference. also when i make this i use chocolate pudding instead and omit the peanut butter. LOVE IT!!
Date published: 2009-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! Love this! Equally good (but different) with the pb omitted. Make sure to refrigerate for at least 8 hours so that the graham crackers can soften. They're supposed to be soft! I always top mine with a can of chocolate frosting. Either stir a couple of tablespoons of milk into it, or warm in the microwave to make it easier to top the dessert with. Don't skip this one!
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I give it 4 stars as written, 5 with my changes. I give it 4 stars as written, 5 with my changes. I double the pudding to make thicker layers. And for those who have trouble with the top making it hard to cut. I had that problem the first time I made it too, so the second time I used a can of chocolate frosting that I microwaved until thin enough to spread easily. It was much quicker, cut better and tasted better!
Date published: 2011-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried this for Easter dinner - YUM! Tried this for Easter dinner - YUM! Everyone really liked it. I will try this for my Bible study, omitting the peanut butter (allergies). The filling is delicious enough to eat by itself! A couple of disappointments-the graham crackers were a little soft the day after, and it was hard to spread the chocolate without moving everything. But all in all, REALLY good!!
Date published: 2008-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from After reading other reviews, I tried freezing it. After reading other reviews, I tried freezing it. I then turned it upside down on a cutting board, so chocolate was on the bottom. It made it easier to cut(You had the lines from the crackers. Plus it didn't squish. But you have to work fast. As it thaws out quickly. I think it is alot of trouble. I will wait and see what the reviews are for the frosting version.
Date published: 2008-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I would make this recipe again ONLY if the chocolate topping was changed. I would make this recipe again ONLY if the chocolate topping was changed. I have made this twice and the eclair part is delicious; however, the chocolate hardens much to much. Today,I made it for a potluck and ended up leaving it at home because of the mess that was made when I attempted to cut into serving pieces. Perhaps Kraft could revise the topping?
Date published: 2011-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS. DELICIOUS. We were wondering if it would be easy to slice cosidering graham crackers usually would just crack and fall apart, but the graham crackers seem to get soft in the refrigerator and it was fairly easy to slice with a sharp knife. I did not have vanilla pudding so I used banana and it was very good. I would definitely make it again and again.
Date published: 2008-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe today and have not eaten it yet, but I did find out that 6 squares of bakers... I made this recipe today and have not eaten it yet, but I did find out that 6 squares of bakers chocolate were not enough. Next time I would use more. It didn't cover the top so I had to make 2 more. After eating it tonight, I will review the taste of it. I am going to cover it tight as one of the reviewers said it made it come out better.
Date published: 2009-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and easy. Delicious and easy. Per other's recommendations I doubled the pudding, milk and peanut butter and made 3 layers instead of 2. The ratio was perfect! For the topping I used heavy cream instead of butter and made a ganache. I cooled it a bit before spreading. It was the perfect consistency and stayed soft but not sticky for cutting.
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This had two things against it before I began; 1, I don't care for eclairs, 2, I was afraid of the... This had two things against it before I began; 1, I don't care for eclairs, 2, I was afraid of the graham crackers being- one too soggy or too difficult to cut the dessert. Great news! The recipe works beautifully and the ingredients are adequate, (something else I was concerned with). Great for a gathering. Janet
Date published: 2008-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I am not impressed with this recipe. I am not impressed with this recipe. As soon as the butter mixed with the chocolate it started setting. Even before I could get it on the rest of the dessert. The chocolate set so hard that I couldn't cut pieces. It would break apart everywhere and made an ugly mess. The taste was only okay. I won't make this again.
Date published: 2009-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a big hit at a family party I held at my house. This was a big hit at a family party I held at my house. I did not make the topping as written in recipe, I actually made my own chocolate frosting because I was afraid that using melted chocolate squares would get too hard to cut (as stated in other reviews). When I make in the future I will use frosting again.
Date published: 2008-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tasted delicious, but had a hard time cutting. Tasted delicious, but had a hard time cutting. The chocolate top was too hard and difficult to cut through. After using enough pressure to cut through the chocolate topping, the rest of the dessert was squished. The next time that I make this, I'll probably opt for a can of ready made chocolate fudge icing.
Date published: 2008-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Disappears fast. Disappears fast. Like others said, it can be hard to cut. I didn't have Baker's chocolate, so substituted with 10 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips + 5 TBL butter. I might try the chocolate mixture over first layer of grahams unless I use the chocolate frosting as others suggested the next time I make this.
Date published: 2009-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was very easy but I think the next time I would make the pudding first then add everything to... This was very easy but I think the next time I would make the pudding first then add everything to it. When I make it next time I will not use bakers semi-sweet I think that milk chocolate would taste better on top. It really needs 8 hours so be sure to make a day before, it took mine almost 24 hours.
Date published: 2008-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious! I followed the recipe and the only thing I would do suggest is adding more chocolate. I ended up using 8 pieces of chocolate instead of 6. Maybe using chips next time or just a few more squares. It was really yummy! Adding chocolate syrup to your cut piece of cake makes it even better!
Date published: 2008-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe as it is using chocolate frosting instead of the chocolate. I have made this recipe as it is using chocolate frosting instead of the chocolate. This time when I made it, I mixed a can of pumpkin into the filling and added some pumpkin pie spice. I then frosted it with cream cheese frosting. The whole family loved this fall version of the recipe!!
Date published: 2008-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was really yummy. This recipe was really yummy. My only complaint was that the pudding layers made the gram crackers kind of soggy. It was nice texture for eating, but not so much for plating. I had to tell everyone that it tastes much better than it looks. When they got gutsy to try it they all agreed.
Date published: 2008-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely a delicious combination. Definitely a delicious combination. The filling could easily be eating on its own. The chocolate was a bit hard for my taste, so I may try to make some of the suggested adjustments the next time I make this. Cutting is much easier when you rinse the knife in hot water between each cut.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this cake for all of our family functions, but I have never tried it with peanut butter... I make this cake for all of our family functions, but I have never tried it with peanut butter before now. I have to admit, adding the peanut butter was a great idea. This recipe is simple and delicious. If you like chocolate and peanut butter, then you will love this recipe.
Date published: 2009-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't have problems with the chocolate being hard. I didn't have problems with the chocolate being hard. I used MILK chocolate chips instead (avg size bag). I melted it in a pot and put in about 1/4 cup of milk to easily stir. After sitting in the fridge the whole night, the chocolate was firm, but soft enough to cut through.
Date published: 2008-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't have any problems with the chocolate being too hard. I didn't have any problems with the chocolate being too hard. I used half chocolate bars, and half chips. I could have eaten the peanut butter mix straight out of the bowl. I think I will skip the graham cracker layer just below the chocolate, and see how it works without it.
Date published: 2008-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My boyfriend is a peanutbutter-aholic so when i saw this recipe i knew i had to make it. My boyfriend is a peanutbutter-aholic so when i saw this recipe i knew i had to make it. i loved it except for the very hard topping. i guess a thinner layer would help with this problem. Im now working on my own variation taking out the peanut butter and adding banana slices!
Date published: 2008-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the taste of this desert. I love the taste of this desert. I used regular chocolate icing on top in place of the melted chocolate and it was so good and yummy. I made it for a work party and it was the first thing gone. I have made it for birthdays and other occiasions since then. It's always a hit!!!
Date published: 2008-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great and easy-no baking great summer dessert. This was great and easy-no baking great summer dessert. The only difference I made was in the frosting. I used the semi sweet chocolate and cool whip mixed together for the frosting. This was from roscoe21 rating. on 5/20/08. Had no problem with the frosting using this.
Date published: 2008-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I can say is... All I can say is... Yummy! This is very good. I took it to work for a party and was asked to bring it again 2 weeks later. The only change I did was to use frosting from a can...I warmed it up in the microwave for about a minute and poured it over. Very easy too!
Date published: 2008-06-18
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_128
  • loc_en_US, sid_109732, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

500757:109732

>