Easy "Pierogi" Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy "Pierogi" Casserole

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

12 servings

Love hot, cheesy potatoes? You'll love this easy casserole! It's everything you love in a pierogi—in easy-to-transport, potluck-perfect form.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • Prepare potatoes as directed on package. Meanwhile, cook the noodles.
  • Combine potatoes, cream cheese spread, onions, 1/2 cup bacon and 1 cup cheddar.
  • Drain noodles. Place 3 noodles in 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; cover with 1/3 of the potato mixture. Repeat layers twice. Top with remaining cheddar and bacon; cover.
  • Bake 33 to 35 min. or until heated through, uncovering for the last 5 min. Let stand 10 min. before cutting to serve.

Serving Suggestion

For added color and texture, serve with a mixed green salad tossed with your favorite KRAFT Lite Dressing.

Note

This recipe can also be made using mashed fresh potatoes. You will need to cook about 2 lb. baking potatoes (about 6) to get the measure of mashed potatoes needed to prepare this recipe (about 4 cups). For extra creamy potatoes, add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of the reserved potato cooking water to potatoes when mashing them.

Substitute

For a change of pace, substitute BREAKSTONE'S or KNUDSEN Cottage Cheese for the mashed potatoes.

Special Extra

Garnish with caramelized onions just before serving.

Substitute

Prepare using 1 pkg. (2.8 oz.) OSCAR MAYER Real Bacon Recipe Pieces or 1 pkg. (2.1 oz.) OSCAR MAYER Fully Cooked Bacon, chopped.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 250
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 30mg
Sodium 380mg
Carbohydrate 23g
Sugars 1g
Protein 11g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 8 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved this. My husband loved this. He had three servings. He asked me if I was putting it on the list, which meant he loved it. I made the lasagna noodles earlier and laid them out flat and separated them wth wax paper. It worked very well. I only had to mix everything and layer and bake. I would add fried onions instead of the green onions. This is a winner.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made my own mashed potatoes and fried my own bacon. I made my own mashed potatoes and fried my own bacon. The only thing I changed was that I prepared and assembled everything the night before and kept in fridge. Placed in the oven for approx. 40 mins covered. Uncovered for the last 10 mins or so. This was very good and assembling ahead of time, helped.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a party that my friends and I have each year. I made this recipe for a party that my friends and I have each year. Our recipes are judged and I won best entree with this recipe. I used 2 containers of Bob Evan's original mashed potatoes inplace of mashing potatoes from scratch - heated and 4 cups measured out.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you like Pierogi's, you are going to love this recipe. If you like Pierogi's, you are going to love this recipe. Very easy to make. I doubled up on the PHILADELPHIA Chive & Onion Cream Cheese Spread and it worked out great. This is a keeper and I'll will definitely be making this again.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Concept, Needs Modifications I should've pre-soaked my no-bake lasagna noodles before making this. My whole top layer of noodles were uncooked basically, even though they were topped with cheese and bacon. Overall, the recipe was good. I added lots of extra cheese (cheddar and mozzarella) but this recipe could've also used a little salt in the potato mixture. I used real mashed potatoes instead of instant. Overall, a great recipe to start with and add modifications.
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this for dinner tonight! I made this for dinner tonight! Warning it may be called EASY, but it definitely takes a long time to prepare. I really would think twice about making it again. The only addition I made was adding fried onions to it...which just added to the long process of preparation! I agree that it would be better as a side dish to a ham or pork tenderloin. But then you would be spending more time on the side dish than the whole meal!
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this casserole, with some adjustments. I love this casserole, with some adjustments. I make the mashed potatoes as I would usually make potatoes - with plenty of butter, sour cream, salt and pepper as well as the cream cheese, cheddar and bacon bits. This is a regular dinner recipe at our house.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the best thing about recipes from here is they give you a great starting place. the best thing about recipes from here is they give you a great starting place. Also Love the recipe because it warms you and it would be a great camping food all those carbs to give you the energy to go hiking. I cooks well in a dutch oven too.
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a delicious dish and it went so well with the salad. This was a delicious dish and it went so well with the salad. I used real bacon crumbled in. My 15 yearold son calls this "ambrosia" and he loves to eat the leftovers for breakfast.
Date published: 2011-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bland Dense and bland. I will never make this again. Needed something to spice it up a little/lot.
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This looks like a wonderful recipe. This looks like a wonderful recipe. However, like nearly all other recipes not very healthful: super high in Sodium as well as high in calories. Can your kitchens not develop recipes that are low sodium AND low calories.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family loves it I did change it up quite a bit, to make it a more one meal dish. I fried up hamburger and bacon, mixed with the mash potatoes and cheese. then I added a layer of ricotta cheese, mixed with an egg and seasonings. So I layered 1/2 mashed potato mixture, layer of boiled lasagna noodles, ricotta cheese mixture, rest of potato mixture and topped with cheddar cheese. Hubby says use breakfast sausage next time, not hamburger.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty tasty The main thing I like about pierogi is sautéing them in butter and onions so instead of green onions, I used a sweet onion and sautéed it in butter and added it to the potato mixture along with some crushed red pepper flakes.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whole family loved it! Whole family loved it!! I an old school and I make my own pierogis from scratch which takes a LONG time and a lot of work. This is a quick and easy way to get the same great taste. I didn't use the bacon or green onion on top (since usually not inside) and I made extra onions to put on top when I served. Delicious!
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a big hit at our house. This was a big hit at our house. Really tasty. The only thing I added was a bit of milk to the potatoes because they were a dry and I added some ground pepper. Spread out the potato mixture with a fork instead of a spoon/spatula to avoid a sticky potato situation. Will definitely make again! Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2011-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Was a Hit! Made this recipe for a family get-together and everyone loved it & I brought home an empty casserole dish! I used instant garlic mashed potatoes, but otherwise followed the recipe. Will be making again in the next couple weeks for a friend's birthday party because she loves mashed potatoes.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm doing volunteer work in Japan for the next 18 months and can't get some of the ingreedients for... I'm doing volunteer work in Japan for the next 18 months and can't get some of the ingreedients for this recipe (namely the lasagna noodles), but I know this is just right up my alley. I can't wait to get home to try it. I may just have to have friends send me a package of noodles. Yum-yum!
Date published: 2011-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was good, not great, but could use something different to make it a better texture. It was good, not great, but could use something different to make it a better texture. Possible small curd cottage cheese instead of mash potatoes. Also, I used fresh bacon, instead of the jarred stuff. I liked it, but could be pumped up more.
Date published: 2011-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Recipe! Awesome Recipe! I made homemade Mashed Potatoes and used those but you could use instant if you like. The only think I would do different is add maybe sourcream to the mash potatoes also, we ended up eating it on the side. LOVE IT!
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this for my boyfriend and I. I made this for my boyfriend and I. Overall, I thought that it was good, but it needed something. The next time I make this I'm going to add butter to my mashed potatoes, as well as a light seasoning of salt & pepper.
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The ultimate comfort food! The ultimate comfort food! I cheated and used boxed mashed potatoes (which is a definite NO in my house) to save some time. But it got great reviews anyway! I will absolutely make this dish again!
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nowhere near like the REAL thing but a very good knock-off! nowhere near like the REAL thing but a very good knock-off! i did not use the bacon or green onion because i know my daughter wouldn't eat it but i bet that would be good too! it's a keeper!
Date published: 2011-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was soooo good. This was soooo good. I cheated and used instant mashed potatoes, and cut down on the green onion (6 would have overpowered it for our tastes). Will definitely add this to the rotation.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wasn't sure what to expect since I've never tried Pierogi. I wasn't sure what to expect since I've never tried Pierogi. It was okay, but not very flavorful and should be used as a side only. It wasn't very filling with very little meat.
Date published: 2012-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nothing like homemade pierogis but alot like the frozen ones you buy at the store. Nothing like homemade pierogis but alot like the frozen ones you buy at the store. This meal was very good even though it reminded me of eating a big bowl of mashed potatoes :)
Date published: 2011-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My fussy teenagers loved this! My fussy teenagers loved this! I left out the bacon and made a veggie meal out of it w/o any complaints. I will certainly make it again. Served w/ a salad and garlic bread.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I ended up having to use instant potatoes because there were big green shoots on my potatoes. I ended up having to use instant potatoes because there were big green shoots on my potatoes. I had a difficult time spreading out the mashed potato mix. Tasty though.
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Modifier Recipe Made this with a touch of Cream of Onion soup in the mixture, finely diced jalapenos and a little sugar and Accent (m.s.g.) and was absolutely AMAZING!
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from takes a little work It takes a bit to put together but it's a filling and good casserole. Made it for a pot luck and I got good comments. Would make again.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is delicious. This is delicious. My kids loved it. there were NO leftovers. Make it even easier & sub your favorite instant potatoes instead of real.
Date published: 2011-10-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_126172, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

566845:126172

>