Easy Southern Banana Pudding - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Easy Southern Banana Pudding

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
3
hr.
20
min.
Servings

14 servings, about 2/3 cup each

Combine classic Southern-style banana pudding with crunchy vanilla wafers in this Easy Southern Banana Pudding dessert. Follow this simple recipe today!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Beat pudding mixes and milk with whisk 2 min. Let stand 5 min.
  • Arrange half the wafers on bottom and up side of 2-qt. serving bowl; top with layers of half each of the banana slices and pudding. Repeat all layers. Cover with COOL WHIP.
  • Refrigerate 3 hours.

Healthy Living

Save 60 calories and 3.5 grams of fat per serving by preparing with fat-free milk, JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Sugar Free Fat Free Instant Pudding, reduced-fat vanilla wafers and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Special Extra

Garnish with additional banana slices, dipped in lemon juice to prevent darkening, just before serving.

Easy Low-Fat Southern Banana Pudding

Check out our Healthy Living version of Easy Low-Fat Southern Banana Pudding.

Servings

  • 14 servings, about 2/3 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 14 servings, about 2/3 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 180
Total fat 6g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 260mg
Carbohydrate 32g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 23g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my 'All Time Favorites'! This is one of my 'All Time Favorites'!! My Grandma and my Mom made this for me when I was growing and now I make it for my kids. It is an easy desert/snack, that the kids can help make, and they get really excited when its time to make banana pudding. It is really great seeing Kraft with a recipe that I have grown up with and now my kids are getting to enjoy it too!!!!!
Date published: 2002-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm so glad that someone finally came up with recipe with*****ooked pudding. I'm so glad that someone finally came up with recipe with*****ooked pudding. I always hated that when I was a kid. I added an extra banana and it seem to carry over to the pudding flavor. Also I made homemade whipped topping verses the cool whip. Its a great recipe whether you are culinary challenged or not and I'm not
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this recipe is good, but my brother has made with sara lee pound cake, and banana cream pudding... this recipe is good, but my brother has made with sara lee pound cake, and banana cream pudding instead. It's delicious. Try it for something different. you can also add fresh cut up strawberries.
Date published: 2005-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have a tip for all. I have a tip for all. You can substitute part of the milk to make the pudding, with condensed milk. This will help thicken the consistency...and you can imagine how much more delicious it will be!
Date published: 2007-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy and easy to make! Yummy and easy to make! The vanilla wafers taste SO good in this. Used banana pudding instead of vanilla and still tasted great. Definitely will make again soon as it's all gone now.
Date published: 2005-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made the comment about adding the sweetened condensed milk in the pudding but make sure you... I just made the comment about adding the sweetened condensed milk in the pudding but make sure you do add regular milk in the mixture then add the sweetened milk.
Date published: 2006-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe. I love this recipe. I have been making this since I was a little girl. The only thing I mix a little cool whip in with the vanilla pudding. It's very delicious!
Date published: 2003-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I rated this recipe on 4/14/2006 giving it 5 stars, but since then I have learned that my toddler... I rated this recipe on 4/14/2006 giving it 5 stars, but since then I have learned that my toddler has a milk allergy. Just writing as a heads up that soy milk will not set this pudding up! My bananas floated to the top and turned brown. Had to dump it all out. Will make again, but she unfortunately won't be able to eat it I guess..... - A Cook in StL, MO.
Date published: 2006-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'd have given it 5 stars but I don't make it exactly as the recipe states. I'd have given it 5 stars but I don't make it exactly as the recipe states. I use 1 package banana pudding mix and 1 package cheesecake flavored mix. I also have made it in a pie before and dip the bananas in caramel ice cream topping mixed with rum extract and a 1/2 tsp ground ginger and a dash of cinnamon. People have gone nuts over that pie.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this dessert and brought it to a cookout. I made this dessert and brought it to a cookout. It was very popular and everybody enjoyed it. In fact, it all went!! I would definitely recommend making this.. It is easy and taste great. I used a glass bowl and it looked just like the pictures. Being that it was 4th of july too, I decorated the top with berries to represent a flag!
Date published: 2005-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm really glad someone tried a recipe with*****ooked pudding. I'm really glad someone tried a recipe with*****ooked pudding. I always hated that growing up. I added an extra banana (the flavor does carry over into the pudding) and homemade whipped topping and it tastes great no gross cooked bananas . Its a great alternative whether you are culinary challenged or not and I'm not.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe although I did make it a little differently and my kids were ecsatic over it. I loved this recipe although I did make it a little differently and my kids were ecsatic over it. Instead of using 2 packages of the vanilla pudding I used one vanilla and one chocolate. I layered wafers, banana, vanilla and then wafers, banana, and chocolate. Super easy to make, family pleaser=a definite keeper!!
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too much cool whip, not enough pudding Recipe is easy to do. However way too much cool whip and not enough pudding. In our bowls, it was just a bite of pudding with a ton of cool whip. Next time I will use another box of pudding and just half a tub of cool whip on top. My daughter really likes banana pudding and was very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is good, but there is NOTHING like banana pudding made with the cooked vanilla pudding. This is good, but there is NOTHING like banana pudding made with the cooked vanilla pudding. My mother-in-law made this years ago for every family event, and received applause. Then, she discovered instant, and the raves diminished considerably. Love your Kraft website, and products
Date published: 2006-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We made a couple of changes to this recipe and it is really great. We made a couple of changes to this recipe and it is really great. Everyone we've served it to loves it and wants the recipe. We use no-sugar pudding and sugar free vanilla wafers. We also add a teaspoon and a half of vanilla extract. This low sugar pudding couldn't be better.
Date published: 2009-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this and LOVED it! I've made this and LOVED it!! I did make a few changes though. I added carmel to it. I layered it like this: Vanilla Wafers Banana pudding Bananas Cool Whip Drizzle carmel Vanilla Wafers and continue the layers. I did 4 layers, ending with Coll Whip. Everyone LOVED it!!
Date published: 2010-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the exact recipe that my Mother used when we were kids and the same one I use today except,... This is the exact recipe that my Mother used when we were kids and the same one I use today except, I mush one sometimes 2 bananas up and add to the pudding mix before putting the dish together, not only does it enhance the flavor but it also makes it a little richer.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this yesterday and i love it. I made this yesterday and i love it. My mom felt like it didnt have any taste but everybody else love it. I didnt use the cool whip and I used 4 1/2 cups of milk and it was still pretty thick. I'm not sure why a lot of people said there was runny. I would make again.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Anyone from the south would know you do not use instant pudding in a real southern banana pudding. Anyone from the south would know you do not use instant pudding in a real southern banana pudding. Only the cooked custard would be served at a southern table !! I always ask in a restaurant if instant pudding is used and if so I decline to order it. Not good.
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great "quick" recipe. This is a great "quick" recipe. There is still nothing better than a warm banana pudding. :) We liked it and I will make it again. I did mix in bananas with the pudding ... I like more bananas. Great job Kraftfoods.com! I love this resource!
Date published: 2006-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it was a hit and was so simple was wiped out rather quickly made it sugar-free jello and nonfat milk... it was a hit and was so simple was wiped out rather quickly made it sugar-free jello and nonfat milk and no one even knew it was low cal too! Will most certainly make bigger batch next time and has already been requested to next family gathering
Date published: 2010-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this banana pudding taste just like mama use to make. this banana pudding taste just like mama use to make. it is so easy and tasty i have given this recipe to fellow coworkers and they love it to. you could not get an easier, homemade taste. this is the best thing since slice bread.
Date published: 2005-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have loved banana pudding since I was a child. I have loved banana pudding since I was a child. My mother always used the cooked pudding instead of instant. I make banana pudding for my daughters and they love it. I will try using the instant pudding and see hoe it turns out.
Date published: 2002-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did one thing different. I did one thing different. I add 1/2 (4oz) of cool whip to the pudding mixture, then layered it as normal ending with crushed nilla waffers on top. It was great. The other 1/2 of cool whip was not needed. Yummm!!
Date published: 2005-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use either one can sweetened condensed milk in mine for a sweeter version, or i add sour cream too... I use either one can sweetened condensed milk in mine for a sweeter version, or i add sour cream too mine either one of those two and it turns out really good but use one or the other. it really is an awsome recipe
Date published: 2007-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe. Love this recipe. To make it a little more light and fluffy I add half the tub of Cool Whip into the pudding and put the other half on top. Superb!! During the summer I make this almost every other week.
Date published: 2007-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Even my little one year old grandson loved this one. Even my little one year old grandson loved this one. He only got a couple of bites and they were small but he loved it. So did his grandfather. He really loved it!!. I have to make some more today
Date published: 2007-02-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is MOST DEFINITELY not classic Southern Banana Pudding. This is MOST DEFINITELY not classic Southern Banana Pudding. It MUST be made with cooked pudding or custard to allow the banana flavor to infuse. Substitute recipe for the culinarily challenged.
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make this using 1 box of pudding, 1 cup of milk, 1/2 cup French Vanilla Cool Whip and 1/2 cup... I make this using 1 box of pudding, 1 cup of milk, 1/2 cup French Vanilla Cool Whip and 1/2 cup sour cream. The sour cream needs to be blended in before adding the FV cool whip. It's awesome!!
Date published: 2007-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe couldn't be any easier. This recipe couldn't be any easier. I made this for a cook out with family & my father-n-law had 4 servings of it! It was soooo good & now the family wants it all the time.
Date published: 2005-07-13
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_61, tr_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_50744, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505523:50744

>