Family Classic Meatloaf - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Family Classic Meatloaf

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

6 servings

Find out why the whole family will love this classic meatloaf! If you're busy, you'll love this Family Classic Meatloaf, too, with only 15 minutes of prep.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Mix first 5 ingredients and 1/2 cup soup just until blended; press into 8x4-inch loaf pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 55 min. or until done (160ºF). About 5 min. before meatloaf is done, cook remaining soup and chili sauce in saucepan on medium heat until heated through, stirring occasionally.
  • Remove meatloaf from pan; top with soup mixture.

Substitute

Prepare using ground pork.

Special Extra

Prepare meatloaf as directed; cool, then slice. Wrap individual portions in foil. Label, date and place in freezer-weight resealable plastic bags. When ready to serve, unwrap and microwave until heated through (160°F).

Servings

  • 6 servings

Healthy Living

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2-1/2 Starch
  • 3 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

This classic meatloaf is a good source of iron from the ground beef.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 310
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 90mg
Sodium 800mg
Carbohydrate 34g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 9g
Protein 27g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 25 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from The second time I made this, I used 2 lbs. The second time I made this, I used 2 lbs. of ground beef. Using 2 eggs and a whole can of tomato soup mixed with 1/4 cup of chili sauce adding this to the other ingredients. Then I made another batch of sauce, using one whole can of tomato soup mixed with chili sauce, I spread some on top before baking and heated the rest to use after the meatloaf was done to pour over the sliceded meatloaf for serving. Perfect...My husband loves to take this everday for lunch.
Date published: 2006-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cooking for two, I only use one pound of ground beef and still have enough for sandwiches. Cooking for two, I only use one pound of ground beef and still have enough for sandwiches. I measured out the Stove Top and used half, saving the remainder for the next loaf. Also, I didn't have thyme or chili sauce, so I added smokey-sweet barbecue sauce to the soup. EXCELLENT! We both loved it and look forward to having it again! Additionally, it held together nicely and we didn't have crumbly sandwiches for lunch the next day.
Date published: 2006-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first time ever making meatloaf (I'm a newly-wed) and it was delicious and very easy to make! My first time ever making meatloaf (I'm a newly-wed) and it was delicious and very easy to make! It is the best meatloaf I have ever had...because it doesn't taste so meatloafy! You get a nice strong flavor from the stuffing which is very very good! I even substituted 1 tbsp of onion powder for the onion which saved a step (I didn't have an onion). Mine took a little over an hour to bake. Will definitely make this recipe again!
Date published: 2010-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The meatloaf itself was good. The meatloaf itself was good. But the editors and writers of Food & Family really need to test their recipes and make sure they work. 1/4 cup of chili sauce for a meatloaf topping is insane. This is something that Food & Family wants you to feed to your children. I really think that it should read 1/4 tsp. chili sauce, and the next time I make it, that's what I will try. If there are others out there who want to try the sauce rather than ketchup, I'd suggest you start with 1/4 tsp. of chili sauce and adjust the taste as necessary rather than ruining the whole thing. I had to throw away the whole batch of sauce and use ketchup, which is very high in sugar. I like F&F recipes, and some of them have occassional mistakes, but this one could seriously be bad with small children if it was not tested beforehand. F&F really needs to work harder on this problem.
Date published: 2006-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really liked this recipe. I really liked this recipe. And I didn't alter too much. I didn't have chicken stuffing but corn bread stuffing so I used that and since some of the comments I read said it was a little dry I used 2/3c of the tomato soup and 1/3c Kraft Honey flavored bbq instead. It turned out good. then I just added some bbq sauce to the soup can and let everyone try it. It really was a good match. Will definately make again.
Date published: 2009-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is a good alternative to your same old meat loaf recipe. This recipe is a good alternative to your same old meat loaf recipe. My family tends to make meat loaf a meal about one every 2 weeks and it's nice to have a new recipe that switches things up. The stuffing is a great change to regular breadcrumbs and they really give the meatloaf great flavor. I would recommend this recipe to anyone whether you're just learning to cook or have been cooking for years.
Date published: 2006-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. Loved it. I read all the comments and decided to add 1/4 c. bell peppers, and celery (1 stalk), and added water to the 1/2 can of tomato soup. I also made sure everything was chopped very fine (including the stuffing). It was quite dense and a huge serving for just 310 calories for a 1/6 of this meatloaf. I think next time I will add mushrooms too. I served with the smashed potatoes - hmmm.
Date published: 2008-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just made this meatloaf tonight for dinner and loved it. I just made this meatloaf tonight for dinner and loved it. I used the turkey stuffing instead though cause that is our favorite and instead of the soup I used half a cup of Parmesan and Romano Ragu sauce and then used the rest of the sauce to put on top when it was done and put mozerella cheese on top. It was delicious. My 4 year old son loved it too. We will definately be making this again!
Date published: 2009-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After working 9 hrs a day I always look for receipes with few ingredients and very little prep... After working 9 hrs a day I always look for receipes with few ingredients and very little prep time. This receipe was exactly what I was looking for. I used 2 pds of meat and there was enough left to take to lunch for both of us. Its a great receipe that is so good I can't believe that it took no time to make it. Plus you can add what you want use what topping you want and its still great.
Date published: 2007-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make. Easy to make. I used what I had at home the 1st time I made this. Mixed 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 ground turkey. Used the herbal Stovetop and spaghetti sause for the tomato soup. My son, who does not like spaghetti, told me this was the best meatloaf I have ever made. I have used salsa in the recipe and different flavors of Stovetop. Never had to throw any out. Made great sandwhiches.
Date published: 2009-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was expecting awesome but got pretty good. I was expecting awesome but got pretty good. It was so easy to just add the package of stuffing mix instead of chasing around for ingredients but the meatloaf turned out way too bready. I will use a whole can of soup and half the package of stuffing next time and less chopped onion. The topping with the chili sauce and soup had a unique flavor but I will probably use ketchup next time.
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been the best meat loaf my husband and I have ever had in our 40 years of marriage. This has been the best meat loaf my husband and I have ever had in our 40 years of marriage. He use to say that his mother made the best meat loaf ever. I would make his moms recipe for him but never eat it myself. Your recipe Was very moist and so simple to make. I made 2 and we ate meat loaf sandwiches for the rest of the week. He is a cold meat loaf sandwich person. Judy.
Date published: 2006-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I told my husband I was making meatloaf he grumbled. When I told my husband I was making meatloaf he grumbled. But when I served this one up he went back for seconds, and even asked me to send it with him to work the next day! The kids loved it, too! I used cheap 73/27 ground beef, fresh onion & fresh celery, no thyme, lower sodium Stuffing Mix & Heart Healthy Tomato Soup, and just added chili powder seasoning.
Date published: 2010-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When I told my husband yesterday that I was making meatloaf for dinner, he grumbled, "I don't like... When I told my husband yesterday that I was making meatloaf for dinner, he grumbled, "I don't like meatloaf." I had just found this recipe earlier in the day and was excited to try it. I made it with just a few variations. It was a hit at my house!! My husband even told me that he won't mind if I make it again (and he even took leftovers to work today)
Date published: 2009-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i never made meatloaf myself, but i love it. i never made meatloaf myself, but i love it. so this was my first time making it and it wasn't difficult at all. i have a really big family so i had to double it and i didnt use thyme and for the topping i mixed it with ketchup. also, i used savory herb stuffing mix, it turned out to be the greatest meatloaf ever. even my picky brother said it was awsome.
Date published: 2006-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a nice change for making a meatloaf. This was a nice change for making a meatloaf. I liked how well the meatloaf stayed together after baking. I omitted the thyme as we don't care for it. It had enough seasoning with the stuffing mix we thought. I baked the meatloaf longer than stated as I felt 55 minutes was not enough time (Baked 1hr and 30 minute) Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Date published: 2010-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make this recipe, But I add chopped green pepper and lots of chopped onion, adding only about 1/4... I make this recipe, But I add chopped green pepper and lots of chopped onion, adding only about 1/4 cup of the Stovetop Dressing because I like to watch the caloric intake. Instead of the chili sauce which sounds good, I open a can of stewed, chopped tomatoes and add a little Worchestershire sauce heated and served with the meatloaf. Delicious!
Date published: 2012-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family love this meatloaf and its so quick and easy. My family love this meatloaf and its so quick and easy. I've also made this using Mushroom and Onion Stuffing mix and put brown gravy on the top while cooking with 1 sliced onion and a package of sliced mushroom my kids said it tasted like Salisbury steak and my husband loved all the mushroom and onions that we wouldn't eat great flavor.
Date published: 2009-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure if I'll be making this again...I might find something better before then. Not sure if I'll be making this again...I might find something better before then. It was basic meatloaf: basic texture (though quite firm the second and third day), basic flavor, maybe even a little out there (I think it was the sauce that threw it off, or the distinct breadiness of the stuffing). I don't know, I think I can do better.
Date published: 2010-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My hubby loved this recipe... My hubby loved this recipe... I however thought the tyme was a little too strong so I might suggest using a little less? Seemed like that's all I could taste. And it didnt say what size of onion so i had to just guess but all in all it was a good recipe. Will probably make it again :) May add more soup to the mixture next time too.
Date published: 2010-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making meatloaf for over 30 years, and I have tried many different ways. I have been making meatloaf for over 30 years, and I have tried many different ways. I just made this recipe tonight for supper, and I have never tasted anything so good! Can't wait to see what the cold meatloaf sandwich is going to taste for my lunch tomorrow. I will be passing this on to all my friends! Thanks for the email!!
Date published: 2010-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make this recipe 2 or 3 times a month. I make this recipe 2 or 3 times a month. My husband dreams about it. My only changes are ketchup instead of chili sauce. I add chopped green pepper and celery. Served with mashed potatoes, greenbeans, and sugar free jello salad, this is the perfect comfort meal. Thanks for a quick, easy recipe, that rivals my mother-in-laws!
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had never made meatloaf before and I made it because my boyfriend requested it because he loves... I had never made meatloaf before and I made it because my boyfriend requested it because he loves his moms so much. He really liked it! I really liked it too. It was easy to make and the hardest part was having to wait while I could smell it cooking. I didn't have the chili sauce though so I just used the tomato soup.
Date published: 2009-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was our first time ever making meatloaf and, wow, were we impressed! This was our first time ever making meatloaf and, wow, were we impressed! This is the best tasting meatloaf I've ever had, and one of the best entrees I've ever had hands down. I just loved it! Instead of buying chili sauce, we just added a little bit of water and a dash of chili powder to the tomato soup. Amazing!
Date published: 2007-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best meatloaf I have ever had! This was the best meatloaf I have ever had! The stuffing puts it over the top with flavor. Also, I thought 1/4 c. chili sauce was perfect when combined with the tomato soup. It was tangy and somewhere in between ketchup and barbeque sauce. My husband really enjoyed it, and we have leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Date published: 2006-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was very tasty. This recipe was very tasty. Even my very picky husband and daughter liked this. I wasn't sure if I liked how much stuffing was in this so I only used about half. I also didn't have chili sauce so I just added a little extra ketchup. This meat loaf was also kind of sweet from the soup in it. We liked that.
Date published: 2008-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just been back from the store, where I picked up a box of the Stove Top Stuffing to make this meat... Just been back from the store, where I picked up a box of the Stove Top Stuffing to make this meat loaf. Being a bit health concious, I bought the wheat laddened one. The family didn't seem to notice last time I've done that. And the left overs are great for meat loaf sandwhich at work the next day!
Date published: 2007-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I never make meatloaf because my husband hates it. I never make meatloaf because my husband hates it. I have tried in the past and failed. I love meatloaf so I decided to try again with this recipe, mostly because it sounded really good to me and sometimes we have to cook what we like. The biggest reason my husband doesn't like meatloaf is because it usually involves ketchup. This one doesn't. I added tiny diced celery and carrots to sneak veggies in for the kids. He came home from work, looked at the meatloaf and said oh, ketchup. I said no and don't knock it till you try it. So he wandered around and then when I wasn't looking he took a bite then I saw him eating more. He said, it's not too bad. Then he went away and came back and ate the rest of the mini loaf he had been eating. Then walked in the room and said I had finally done it. I made a meatloaf that he enjoyed. YES!!!!!! I attribute the difference to the stove top stuffing and the sause made of tomato soup and chili sauce. My son, also a very picky eater loved
Date published: 2011-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family loved this recipe. My family loved this recipe. It had such a good flavor to it. My husband even passed up more mashed potatoes (which he loves) for more meatloaf instead. It was easy to prepare. I did not use the chili sauce topping, because we prefer ketchup with our meatloaf. I will make this again soon.
Date published: 2006-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my family. I made this for my family. I have a problem with really greasy meatloaves. This one wasn't too bad with the grease. The flavor itself was very good. I used 3/4 cup of bread crumbs instead of the stuffing and it worked well. I think the stuffing would have given it more flavor though.
Date published: 2006-04-19
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_48, tr_212
  • loc_en_US, sid_90487, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

543582:90487

>