Farmhouse Chicken Dinner - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Farmhouse Chicken Dinner

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
50
min.
Servings

4 servings

Surprise everyone with this smart and simple restaurant fake-out. The veggies cook with the chicken breasts and lend flavor to the creamy sauce.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Mix flour and pepper in shallow dish. Add chicken; turn to coat both sides of each piece. Gently shake off excess flour. Heat dressing in large nonstick skillet on medium heat. Add chicken, meat-sides down; cook 5 to 6 min. or until golden brown. Turn chicken. Add carrots, onions and 1 cup broth; cover. Simmer on medium-low heat 20 min. or until chicken is done (165°F). Meanwhile, cook rice as directed on package.
  • Spoon rice onto platter. Use slotted spoon to remove chicken and vegetables from skillet; place over rice. Cover to keep warm.
  • Add Neufchatel and remaining broth to liquid remaining in skillet; cook on medium-high heat 5 min. or until Neufchatel is melted and sauce is well blended, stirring constantly. Simmer on medium-low heat 3 to 5 min. or until slightly thickened, stirring occasionally. Spoon over chicken and vegetables; top with parsley.
* Made with quality cheeses crafted in the USA.

Substitute

Substitute 8 bone-in chicken thighs with skin removed for the chicken breasts.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Healthy Living

  • Low fat
  • Low calorie
  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 3-1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2-1/2 Starch
  • 2 Vegetable
  • 4 Meat (L)
  • 1 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

The carrots in this low-calorie, low-fat meal will provide your family with an excellent source of vitamin A. And as an added bonus, it's low in sodium too.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 470
Total fat 12g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 100mg
Sodium 640mg
Carbohydrate 51g
Dietary fiber 5g
Sugars 8g
Protein 37g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 220 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was great. This was great. It took me a good hour in the kitchen though - I am slow. I also made green beans. The gravy/sauce was amazing. I could taste the cream cheese. (If you don't like cream cheese don't add as much. I didn't use all of the broth either.) Additionally, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. My husband LOVED it and ate the leftovers, which he never does.
Date published: 2007-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for dinner last and night and it was very good. I made this recipe for dinner last and night and it was very good. I was really surprised about cooking the chicken in Italian dressing, but it turned out wonderful. My husband really loved it. The only thing I will do different the next time I make it is to use canned carrots (to cut down on the cooking time) and double the sauce, it was so yummy! Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2006-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 5yr old loves this dinner. My 5yr old loves this dinner. I made some modifications, though. I cut up some boneless, skinless chicken breast into strips instead of using the whole breast. Goes a lot further that way when I have company. I also left out the carrots (we are not much of a cooked carrot family...love them raw, though) and used fresh zucchini from grandma's garden instead.
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! Fabulous!! We will definately be having this again. It was so easy and fast. My 2 picky eaters loved it! I added a little more dressing when browning the chicken (I used boneless breasts) and added some fresh mushrooms while it was simmering. Next time I might experiment with some other veggies - got some ideas from other comments!! Thanks KRAFT!!!
Date published: 2007-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used frozen, boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and cut them into two portions before cooking... I used frozen, boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and cut them into two portions before cooking them. It came out great. My husband also loved this dish. Next time, I think we'll use carrot slices or sticks, and not the baby carrots. This recipe is a keeper. Easy to make, and easy to clean up! And you don't need anything fancy to make it. Try it!
Date published: 2009-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW! The only thing I did differently was use all natural Asiago Cheese dressing in place of the cream cheese. A little faster and one less dish to clean.I also used chicken breast tenderloins since it always takes me longer to cook thicker pieces of chicken. It was SO juicy and the chicken cut with a fork. No knife required when eating this one.
Date published: 2010-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a little bit more work than I thought it was going to be, I really had to work the cream... This was a little bit more work than I thought it was going to be, I really had to work the cream cheese into the sauce. But..it was worth it! It was delicious and it didn't taste like something that should have been healthy, but it was! I really like the idea of having your meat, rice and vegetables in the same dish and have it be healthy too.
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent dish! Excellent dish! I made with light balsamic vinegar dressing and everyone loved it. They even mentioned that the carrots could be switched out for other vegetables or more vegetables could be added. I also cut the chicken into bit size pieces before shaking in flour and putting in pan. Will absolutely make again.
Date published: 2009-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was looking for something different and I thought this would be just an ok dish. I was looking for something different and I thought this would be just an ok dish. Wow, what a pleasant surprise. I used boneless chicken and fat free dressing. This dish is definitley going to be a regular in my house. I never rate any new recipe but I had to with this one. Make it when you get the chance.
Date published: 2008-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is Awesome! This recipe is Awesome! I did substitute the bone-in chicken breasts with boneless ones, and used brown rice, in place of the white....and.... i also found it to be more flavorful to saute the onions seperately, then toss on before pouring the sauce. It's by far, my most favorite chicken recipe ever! Mmm....
Date published: 2007-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made it once and thought it was just okay. I made it once and thought it was just okay. The next time I made it I doubled the amount of sauce, and used some white wine with the chicken stock to make the sauce. It made it creamy and tangy and so good. I also added celery to the carrots and onions and made the rice with chicken stock for extra flavor.
Date published: 2007-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter made this dish when we went to visit her in TN. My daughter made this dish when we went to visit her in TN. It was presented quite elegantly and the aroma permeated the house. When we sat down to eat, I anxiously plunged in and WOW what a wonderful taste. I will be making this recipe for mothers day and hope everyone enjoys it as much as we did.
Date published: 2007-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved this. My husband loved this. Takes longer to cook than recipe says but well worth it. I preboiled the carrots for about 20 minutes. Also had some mushrooms that I needed to cook so I sliced them and added them at the end for about 10 minutes. Hubby said to always add and recipe is a keeper. Great taste.
Date published: 2009-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used 4 large boneless chicken breasts... I used 4 large boneless chicken breasts... I read the previous reviews in which most indicated they had to cook the chicken longer...I added a few tablespoons of vegetable oil to speed things up a bit . Next time, I'll add another can of the broth...seemed like I didn't have enough of the gravy
Date published: 2007-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was good. This was good. I used boneless chicken and cooked it on my George Foreman grill to save even more fat, but I had to add the fat back when I made the sauce. The sauce was way too thin and so I added 8 oz of cream cheese and some flour to thicken. Other than that, it was tasty and pretty quick.
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, This was a wonderful meal and I sent the recipe to a lot of my friends and family, I plan on... Wow, This was a wonderful meal and I sent the recipe to a lot of my friends and family, I plan on making this again soon. I did substitute low fat cream cheese and I left out the onion, but added in minced onion along with other spices and it turned out wonderful and it really hit the spot.
Date published: 2006-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used fat free cream cheese and could tell no difference. I used fat free cream cheese and could tell no difference. Also used boneless chicken breasts to save time. I also made twice as much sauce and served the dish with yellow rice. it was a wow!!! My family loved it and I served it to guests another time. They wanted the recipe.
Date published: 2010-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this recipe! LOVE this recipe! I have made it several times, with no problems with the sauce or with the veggies cooking at the same time with the chicken. I use baby carrots and follow the directions as presented and they are cooked to perfection every time. Very flavorful recipe.
Date published: 2007-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The overall flavor was good, but I thought it was just a little bland. The overall flavor was good, but I thought it was just a little bland. Maybe it is because I didn't have the Zesty Italian and subbed a different type of vinaigrette. I added some garlic & thyme but it still lacked something. I would try it again using the Zesty Italian.
Date published: 2009-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband pretty much hates everything that is good for him, and he liked this quite a bit. My husband pretty much hates everything that is good for him, and he liked this quite a bit. I did use reg. brown rice and cooked it in a rice cooker, and added some garlic salt to it. I also used boneless skinless chicken breasts, as has been previously suggested.
Date published: 2007-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was sooo good! This was sooo good!!! it was my first time making it and it is so flavorfull!!! Try it you will love it. I did notice while i was mixing the sauce, it did not "look" like it was thickened, however, as soon as I turned it off and waited a couple of secs. it did!
Date published: 2007-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was superb! This recipe was superb!! I used boneless chicken breasts and pre-cooked my carrots in the microwave. I loved the easy sauce. I served it over egg noddles instead of rice which was a big hit with my family. I definately will make this one again and again.
Date published: 2006-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I found that with the dredging and frying and stirring of the sauce that I spent more than 15... I found that with the dredging and frying and stirring of the sauce that I spent more than 15 minutes "prepping" and it took longer than 20 minutes to simmer to a finish. We loved the sauce, and I'll use that part again, but the rest was a disappointment.
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for our dinner tonight and it was excellant! I made this for our dinner tonight and it was excellant! The sauce was a little lumpy, but that may have been because I did not use the lower fat cream cheese. I'd forgotten it at the store and only had regular here. We will definately have this again!
Date published: 2008-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had added some minced garlic to the dressing before the chicken, and had some leftover cooked... I had added some minced garlic to the dressing before the chicken, and had some leftover cooked strips of bacon, so decided to chop them up, and add with the broth and cream cheese. Really gave it a nice flavor! The whole family loved this chicken!
Date published: 2009-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! AWESOME!!! I made this recipe for the first time last month and my family has requested it 3 more times since. I added white wine 1 time. GREAT! I did not have chicken broth so I used water and chicken bullion, just as superb. This is a must make!
Date published: 2011-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family loved this quick and eay meal. My family loved this quick and eay meal. I changed part of the recipe. I served this penne pasta and used some dill in the sause and topped the whole dish with parmasean cheese. My husband wanted to know when we were going to have it again.
Date published: 2006-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the best chicken recipes I have found. This is one of the best chicken recipes I have found. My daughter is a picky eater and she has asked when are we having that chicken dinner again. For more tender carrots pre cook in the microwave for a few minutes before adding to the pan.
Date published: 2006-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The chicken came out very moist and tasty. The chicken came out very moist and tasty. This recipe is great for Sunday dinner. My only problem was that the cream cheese for the sauce did not melt as expected so we had little lumps of cream cheese in the sauce, but it was still tasty.
Date published: 2006-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chicken rocks! This chicken rocks! Even my three year old ate everything and opted to feed himself rather than wait for me (a daily battle resolved). I served this with long grain and wild rice and added another side of string beans. It was wonderful!
Date published: 2007-03-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43, tr_189
  • loc_en_US, sid_94487, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555002:94487

>