Favorite Meatloaf - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Favorite Meatloaf

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
30
min.
Servings

8 servings

Look no further for your new favorite meatloaf! Our's uses STOVE TOP Stuffing instead of bread crumbs and is filled with cheddar cheesy goodness.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook onions in dressing in skillet on medium heat 8 to 10 min. or until golden brown, stirring frequently. Cool slightly.
  • Heat oven to 375°F. Mix meat, stuffing mix, water, egg whites, 1/4 cup ketchup and onions just until blended; shape into 10x5-inch loaf in 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray. Cover with remaining ketchup.
  • Bake 55 min. to 1 hour or until done (160°F). Sprinkle with cheese; bake 2 min. or until melted.

Makeover - How We Did It

We've made over this traditional entrée and cut more than half the fat by using extra-lean ground beef, and egg whites instead of whole eggs. As a result, this saves 80 calories and 9g of fat, including 2.5g of sat fat, per serving.

Special Extra

Prepare meatloaf as directed; cool, then slice. Wrap individual portions in foil. Label, date and place in freezer-weight resealable plastic bags. When ready to serve, unwrap and microwave until heated through (160°F).

Substitute

Prepare using STOVE TOP Lower Sodium Stuffing Mix for Chicken.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Healthy Living

  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch
  • 3 Meat (L)

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoy this delicious entrée, made with better-for-you ingredients, as part of your healthful eating plan. And as a bonus, it's a good source of iron from the ground beef.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 290
Total fat 8g
Saturated fat 3.5g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 750mg
Carbohydrate 26g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 3g
Protein 27g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The recipe was easy to assemble. The recipe was easy to assemble. I baked it a bit longer while I did final preparations - it was still moist and perfectly cooked. I love meatloaf, but have never been good at making it. This would make a great family get together main course and would serve ample people - I think substituting bbque sauce for the ketchup would be a good alternative and may try that next time. It was also attractive to the eye which made it more appealing to eat.
Date published: 2007-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great recipe, I loved it as did my picky husband and kids but I did make a few changes like I used... Great recipe, I loved it as did my picky husband and kids but I did make a few changes like I used turkey instead of beef, and I used whole eggs in place of the egg whites. Oh also I added a bit of bbq sauce to the ketchup and it gave it such a nice sweet flavor with a kick. For sides I made some of the box butter & herb mashed potatoes and microwave a bag of frozen veggies. It was delicious, satisfying, and best of all simple to make.
Date published: 2010-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious!! I did have to make 2 changes in the recipe. I didnt put the cheese on top and instead of putting just ketchup on top of the meatloaf I mixed brown sugar and the ketchup in a bowl and smeared it on top. I also made extra ketchup and brown sugar mixture to add to the sliced meatloaf once its done....kind of like a gravy. I made this for dinner last night and had leftovers for lunch and it tasted even better the next day.
Date published: 2011-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is good, but the other meatloaf recipe- the one with the can of tomato soup & chili... This recipe is good, but the other meatloaf recipe- the one with the can of tomato soup & chili sauce- is the BEST. If the onion flavor is too intense for you, give yourself an extra 10-15 minutes and caramelize them before adding to the dish, it completely changes their flavor, adding depth & sweetness, instead of a harsh oniony flavor. I do this with most of my recipes so that my kids will eat the onions without complaint.
Date published: 2009-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This meatloaf ROCKS! This meatloaf ROCKS! Flavorful, moist, but not too spicy. My dear sweet picky hubby went for seconds, and had reruns the next day!! Out of pure habit, I did season the meat with worsch. sauce and a garlic/pepper blend. I think it might be fun on the next one I cook to cover the top with a steak sauce instead of ketchup...bet that would go wonderfully with the cheese! This is definitely a keeper in my recipe box!
Date published: 2007-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Growing up, I realyl detested meatloaf, it was the worst thing EVER, I would rather starve than eat... Growing up, I realyl detested meatloaf, it was the worst thing EVER, I would rather starve than eat meatloaf. When I made this recipe, it tasted GREAT. I love meatloaf now. I did change the recipe a little, I used ground turkey and I used all of the egg. I was tasting the meatloaf to make sure that it tasted all right and I found myself eat a 1X1 piece of meatloaf. The best tasting ever.
Date published: 2007-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this recipe and how much it makes. I really enjoyed this recipe and how much it makes. The only downfall of it....it could have used some salt and pepper in the mix. I think when I make this again I will add it in. I ended up leaving out the salad dressing and it still ended up moist and fall apart! I really liked the flavor of the stuffing in it. For me and hubby I made the whole recipe but put half of it in the freezer.
Date published: 2010-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this several times and my husband and I think it is great. I have made this several times and my husband and I think it is great. The only thing that I did different was put half the meat loaf in the pan,then layered cheese. Then I put the other half on top and used a fork to seal it. I have always put chees in the middle of a meatloaf and my family likes it like that. I will now throw my old recipe away and use this one.
Date published: 2009-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious! Absolutely delicious! I made this for my husband and two year old son and they both gobbled it up and wanted second helpings! I tweaked it a little by adding garlic to the onions and dressing. I also added BBQ sauce to the ground beef. I didn't add the cheese in the end because I figured we didn't need the extra calories. It turned out wonderful. Moist and tasty.
Date published: 2009-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE! LOVE LOVE LOVE! This is by far the BEST meatloaf recipe I have ever cooked. The fact that they tell ya to satuee the onions befor hand is wonderful! I can follow this recipe by the letter and love it! Mine looks exactly like the picture! Serve with potates and green beens and you have a good ol fashioned Comfort meal! My extended family loves it as well!
Date published: 2007-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best meatloaf I have ever made. The best meatloaf I have ever made. Tweaked the recipe a bit. I used one egg yolk and 2 egg whites, and for the glaze, I used ketchup, mustard, brown sugar, a bit of bbq sauce and a dash of worcestershire and only put it on the meatloaf for the last 15 minutes of baking time. Served with mashed potatoes and mixed steamed veggies - super yummy!
Date published: 2009-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this recipe tonight for dinner. I made this recipe tonight for dinner. I liked it forgot the stuffing mix at the store so I subsituted italian breadcrumbs. I don't know if it was because of the different bread but it fell apart really, really easily. I loved the onions sauted in italian seasoning. I will probably make this again for a little healthier version of meatloaf.
Date published: 2009-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband said this was the best meatloaf ever! My husband said this was the best meatloaf ever! I doubled the recipe, so I could freeze a loaf for later, then I forgot to add the 1 cup of water to each loaf, so i wasnt expecting much....But it was wonderful, and moist! I used 1 very large onion for both loafs, and it was alot, but we love the onion taste. We will definately eat this again!
Date published: 2007-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was FANTASTIC! This recipe was FANTASTIC!!! I had never made a meatloaf before, but this surpassed any meatloaf I've ever eaten. I made it for my boyfriend and I for dinner and he went back for 3 extra helpings. He said he would have gone back for a fourth but his stomach was too full. This is a very good recipe sure to please even the pickiest eater :)
Date published: 2007-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe a number of times, however we aren't ketchup lovers, so I put my own spin on... I've made this recipe a number of times, however we aren't ketchup lovers, so I put my own spin on this. I used 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of ground pork. I nixed the ketchup and added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also used Stove Top Savory Herb not the Stove Top for Chicken...my family and friends LOVE this recipe done this way.
Date published: 2011-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this without the cheese, and it was excellent! I made this without the cheese, and it was excellent! I went ahead and cooked the whole recipe (but split into two loaves) for just the two of us, and my husband has been eating the leftovers any chance he gets! There's still one piece left, and he's already telling me that I should make it again. It was a definite hit in our house!
Date published: 2009-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like meatloaf but have never found a recipe that I would make again. I like meatloaf but have never found a recipe that I would make again. This is one I will make again. I used dried, minced onion (because I fogot to cut up the fresh one) and added less dressing. I also put it in a stoneware deep dish baker instead of making into a loaf. I love the fact that this has less fat than reg. meatloaf.
Date published: 2007-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As far as recipes go, this was was very very good. As far as recipes go, this was was very very good. My whole family loved it, even my meatloaf food critic (or so he thinks) husband. I made it without the onions because we don't like them, and instead of the cheese I put our traditional meatloaf topping which is a combination of ketchup, mustard and a TBLSP or 2 of brown sugar.
Date published: 2009-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this a couple times now and really like how the stove top adds some great flavor. I have made this a couple times now and really like how the stove top adds some great flavor. I find that meatloaf can be very bland but it's not the case with this one. The only change I make to the recipe is sauteing the onions in olive oil and then add italian seasoning to that mixture, instead of using the dressing. YUM!
Date published: 2009-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have picky eaters in my house. I have picky eaters in my house. My whole family enjoyed this recipe! I did make one change....instead of ketchup, I used Chili Sauce! Adding just a little kick to the recipe was all it took for the kids to eat it up! My family loves the recipes I get from this website. THANKS for making mealtime less of a battlefield!
Date published: 2007-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been making meatloaf for more years than I care to admit and this is by far the best recipe I... I have been making meatloaf for more years than I care to admit and this is by far the best recipe I have found. My 19yr old son and his friends went crazy for it. I used 80% ground beef and whole eggs, it was so moist with a great browned bottom. Fast and easy. Definitly a keeper! Too bad there was none left for sandwiches.
Date published: 2010-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband doesn't really like meatloaf, I do. My husband doesn't really like meatloaf, I do. I made this but did individual meatloaves, made 6 small ones. He actually said it was good. Also didn't have any Chicken Stove Top Stuffing, but did have cornbread stuffing. It was really good. Made good meatloaf sandwiches the next couple of days for lunch, it's a keeper
Date published: 2009-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So this has been a favorite of our families ever since I found it on here last year. So this has been a favorite of our families ever since I found it on here last year. Recently I have started doing WW and I have been really wanting meatloaf, but not willing to give up the points. I just calculated this recipe and it's only 7 PP per serving! That is awesome! Can't wait to make this recipe this week!!
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been looking for a great meatloaf recipe for a long time. I have been looking for a great meatloaf recipe for a long time. I have found many good ones. This is the only great one that I have found. This is so easy and very tasty. I will probably put a little bit less ketchup on top next time. However, my search is over. This recipe will definitely be our meatloaf standard!
Date published: 2007-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We really enjoyed this meatloaf tonight. We really enjoyed this meatloaf tonight. I have my own version of a meat loaf I make that we really love but this was really good for a change & very easy. Next time I might add some of the cheese in the meatloaf instead of just on top. And maybe alittle more ketchup to the meatloaf too. But I will make again!
Date published: 2011-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband HATES meatloaf typically - I have tried many recipes to find one he will eat. My husband HATES meatloaf typically - I have tried many recipes to find one he will eat. For the first time ever I received COMPLIMENTS on meatloaf with this recipe. The only tip I have is that it took about 20 minutes longer to cook than the hour listed in the recipe. I am having the leftovers tonight - YEAH!
Date published: 2008-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Yummy! Very Yummy! My husband loved it! I actually used about 1/4 c. of shredded cheese in the meatloaf as well to give it a little extra boost. Even though I really enjoyed the taste of the stuffing, I will probably use a little less next time since it seemed to dry it out just a bit. Will certainly make it again!
Date published: 2007-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I hate meatload and my boyfriend loves meatloaf but hates stove top stuffing. I hate meatload and my boyfriend loves meatloaf but hates stove top stuffing. I read other reviews and made sure to chop up the stuffing. I actually loved this and so did my boyfriend. He was shocked that it had stove top in it. I will make this again and again. He said it was as good as his mom's meatloaf!
Date published: 2010-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the first meatloaf I had ever made and it was fantastic. This was the first meatloaf I had ever made and it was fantastic. I cut up some velveeta cheese to put on top instead of the shredded stuff and it was amazing. It tasted like a cheeseburger! Next time I will put cheese in the middle of the meatloaf since that's how my husband's grandma use to make it. YUMMY!
Date published: 2009-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my husband, my mother and myself. I made this recipe for my husband, my mother and myself. Since it was for three of us I made a half of recipe. It turned out WONDERFUL. Everyone made many comments on how great it was. Even my picky husband wants me to make it again. The one thing that I didn't do was add the cheese and it was still great.
Date published: 2007-04-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_91, tr_388
  • loc_en_US, sid_104483, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

555990:104483

>