Fiesta Chicken Soup Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Fiesta Chicken Soup Recipe

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

8 servings, about 1 cup each

Discover the key to the most savory chicken soup recipe. Broiling (not boiling) makes this Fiesta Chicken Soup recipe ooey, gooey and satisfying.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat dressing in large saucepan on medium-high heat. Add chicken and onions; cook 5 min., stirring occasionally.
  • Add all remaining ingredients except cheese; stir. Bring to boil; simmer on medium heat 8 min. or until chicken is done and onions are tender. Meanwhile, heat broiler.
  • Ladle soup into 8 ovenproof bowls; top with cheese. Broil, 6 inches from heat, 2 to 3 min. or until cheese is melted.

Special Extra

Serve with crackers, or topped with croutons or crushed tortilla chips.

Substitute

Substitute whatever canned vegetables you have on hand, such as cut green beans or whole kernel corn, for the peas and carrots.

Servings

  • 8 servings, about 1 cup each

Healthy Living

Nutrition Bonus

The colorful peas and carrots are an excellent source of vitamin A in this zesty chicken soup.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings, about 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 130
Total fat 5g
Saturated fat 2.5g
Cholesterol 35mg
Sodium 400mg
Carbohydrate 7g
Sugars 3g
Protein 12g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 30 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful flavor. Wonderful flavor. I was in a hurry so I picked up 2 pkgs Southwestern chicken strips, used all chicken broth and no water. We also used the crushed up chips and cheese and added sour cream. It tasted like a warm mexican taco. It was delicious. The recipe is a keeper for future use.
Date published: 2007-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good soup. Very good soup. My husband got seconds! I added frozen corn and used the whole can of tomatoes (but decreased the water a little bit to compensate). The tomatoes gave it a sweeter taste than I expected, but in a good way. I topped with Tobasco sauce for a little extra heat.
Date published: 2008-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This soup was delicious on a chilly fall evening. This soup was delicious on a chilly fall evening. I added frozen vegetables (instead of the can of peas and carrots, that I didn't have) and also added kiney beans. My husband and I topped our soup with both croutons and tortilla strips along with cheese. Quite tasty!!!
Date published: 2008-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very simple, yet excellent soup! Very simple, yet excellent soup! I used an entire can of the stewed tomatoes instead of half for more flavor. Also, used all chicken broth, no water. Add a dollup of sour cream on top and this soup is just delicious! Definitely keeps you warm on a cold fall evening!
Date published: 2007-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first time I made this, I made a huge batch and it went to work with my husband on a pot-luck... The first time I made this, I made a huge batch and it went to work with my husband on a pot-luck Saturday. The only thing I did differently was to add some canned corn, so it was more colorful. It was SOOOO good! I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2008-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another member suggested making this recipe with black beans and corn. Another member suggested making this recipe with black beans and corn. I like it better this way. I also use crushed tomatoes instead of stewed as my husband doesn't like chunky tomatoes. We put fat free mozarella cheese on top and its delicious!
Date published: 2008-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just made this tonight...perfect for the cold weather! I just made this tonight...perfect for the cold weather! I added rice and used frozen peas & carrots instead. I also added a little hot sauce to give it a kick. I baked cornbread muffins in a sweet creamed-corn mixture to go with...yummy!
Date published: 2008-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was an very good pantry item recipe - nice flavors - I like a little heat so I added hot sauce... This was an very good pantry item recipe - nice flavors - I like a little heat so I added hot sauce to mine - and while I agree that fresh/frozen veggies taste better and are more nutritious, this is a great "throw together" quick meal.
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely a winning recipe. Absolutely a winning recipe. It was absolutely quick, especially coming home after a long day at work. This was quick and delicious. My kids LOVED it! My son tried it with crumbled saltine crackers which was a definite hit.
Date published: 2008-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This soup was very good and easy. This soup was very good and easy. Next time I think I'll substitute whole kernel corn and/or kidney beans for the peas. I didn't think the flavor of the peas went well with the other flavors. Will definitely make again!
Date published: 2008-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it is a bit bland. it is a bit bland. I even added an extra tsp of chili powder and 1/2 cup of itilian dressing. I also added garlic. I used black beans, corns and diced chilis and carrots and cilantro at the end. it is super easy to make
Date published: 2007-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We really like this soup. We really like this soup. The basics I leave the same but I don't put the carrots or peas, instead I add corn and sometimes rice. I also sprinkle fried tortillia pieces on top with a dollop of sour cream
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a wonderful winter soup I added sour cream and use mixed veggies rather than just the peas... This is a wonderful winter soup I added sour cream and use mixed veggies rather than just the peas and carrots. doubled the recipe this time so I can freeze it and give out to my family in their lunches!!
Date published: 2007-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I would make this recipe using all fresh vegies instead of canned YUCK! I would make this recipe using all fresh vegies instead of canned YUCK! Fresh or even frozen is better then canned products, and fresh is better for you. Plus i would add more vegies.
Date published: 2007-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to put together. Simple to put together. Following reviews from others I substituted a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies and used chili beans and corn in place of peas and carrots. Sensational!
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am part mexican, and I substituted the peas & diced carrots with whole kernel corn. I am part mexican, and I substituted the peas & diced carrots with whole kernel corn. I also added black beans, and after it was done cooking, I added cilantro. My family loved it!
Date published: 2007-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from added 1 cup green onion and chili hot beans and used frozen veggies......made the cornbread muffins... added 1 cup green onion and chili hot beans and used frozen veggies......made the cornbread muffins as suggested...YUMMY! Will have to double this recipe next time for my crew!
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We added a few diced chilis, a dash of cayenne pepper and then crumbled some tortilla chips on top... We added a few diced chilis, a dash of cayenne pepper and then crumbled some tortilla chips on top and then melted the cheese, it was fantastic and such a hit with the family.
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from but insted of peas and carrots I put in left over pinto beans and after dishing up a serving,... but insted of peas and carrots I put in left over pinto beans and after dishing up a serving, crumbled up corn chips over the top and chowed down... Was a super souper supper.
Date published: 2008-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty! Very tasty! I used diced tomatoes with green chiles to add a little spice. Also, I substituted corn and rice for the carrots and peas. Will definitely be making this again!
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super quick and easy to make! Super quick and easy to make! I used canned corn and added a little more chili powder and cumin. Would be great with beans or salsa too. A versatile recipe!
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family just loved it ! My family just loved it !!! We put tortilla chips on the bottom of the bowl, before adding the soup... What a great taste.... This one's a keeper....
Date published: 2007-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe. This is a great recipe. I added kidney beans because I thought it needed something extra. Other than that it was superb. A hit for the whole family!
Date published: 2008-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I will season the chicken more next time as I thought the zesty dressing was enough but the flavor... I will season the chicken more next time as I thought the zesty dressing was enough but the flavor of the soup was great. I will double next time.
Date published: 2007-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made it today! I made it today! The only thing is that I used beef instead of chicken and I decided to used fresh carrot, potato and corn with a mini side salad
Date published: 2008-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really easy to make. This was really easy to make. I also ended up putting some other stuff in with it which is one of the pluses of this recipe: very flexible.
Date published: 2009-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soup and very easy to make! Great soup and very easy to make! I've tried it with different veggies and I've also used the canned chicken for an even quicker meal.
Date published: 2008-09-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from this was not what i expected at all. this was not what i expected at all. it is just a vegetable soup, no fiesta about it. it needs maybe taco seasoning or something.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is a great starting point as many have said. It is a great starting point as many have said. I too, added, switched etc on your base and I now feel I have a 5 star recipe.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tasty soup! Very tasty soup! I simmered it for quite a while so it removed some of the base and made it more substance. Yum (and easy).
Date published: 2008-11-20
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_107311, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557665:107311

>