Free-Form Harvest Apple Tart Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Free-Form Harvest Apple Tart Recipe

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
55
min.
Servings

8 servings

Mold a rustic, fresh fruit tart by hand with our Free-Form Harvest Apple Tart Recipe. Special occasions in autumn call for a delicious apple tart recipe!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Use pulsing action to process flour, butter and half the cream cheese in food processor until mixture is blended and dough starts to pull away from side of container. Shape into ball; wrap tightly with plastic wrap. Refrigerate 1 hour or until chilled.
  • Heat oven to 400°F. Roll dough on lightly floured surface to 14x8-inch rectangle. Place on parchment-covered baking sheet; set aside.
  • Place remaining cream cheese in medium microwaveable bowl. Microwave on HIGH 10 sec. or just until softened. Add half the dry gelatin mix; stir until blended. Spread onto dough to within 2 inches of edges.
  • Toss apples with cornstarch, cinnamon and remaining dry gelatin mix; spoon over cream cheese mixture. Fold edges of pastry over apples. (Apples in center of tart will remain exposed.) Sprinkle with nuts.
  • Bake 35 min. or until crust is golden brown and apples are tender. Cool.

Size Wise

Enjoy a serving of this indulgent tart on a special occasion.

Note

For best results, bake tart on rack in lower third of oven.

How to Store

Refrigerate leftovers.

Special Extra

For a more golden brown crust, lightly beat 1 egg yolk with 1 tsp. water. Brush onto edges of unbaked crust; sprinkle with 2 tsp. sugar. Bake as directed.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 360
Total fat 23g
Saturated fat 13g
Cholesterol 70mg
Sodium 260mg
Carbohydrate 33g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 15g
Protein 6g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made 2 batch of this recipe using different nuts. I made 2 batch of this recipe using different nuts. The original with almonds and the other with walnuts. It was a big hit not to mention that it was fast and easy to prepare/bake. Also tried it with canned pears, drained. WINNER. Just a dribble of caramel over the pears then serve. Thank you for your 'quick and easy' dessert.
Date published: 2006-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The recipe is flawed in several ways: it calls for 2 apples yet also calls for 1#. The recipe is flawed in several ways: it calls for 2 apples yet also calls for 1#. Those would be large McIntosh apples indeed! I used the weight as a measure since apple sizes can vary & ended up with far too many apple slices for the size of crust. The photo doesn't look like whoever prep'd this recipe "spread" the slices on top of the Jello-cream cheese mixture as the instructions say. Putting them on in rows makes more sense. I don't know what purpose leaving the skins on the apples serves except to simplify preparation. It doesn't enhance the texture of the tart. Also, it's not easy to roll out the dough and end up with a rectangle. Finally, be sure to pinch the corners to keep the juices from leaking out onto the baking sheet or you'll have a burned mess at 400 degrees. Otherwise, the recipe tastes great and the pastry could stand alone being so rich. (note the fat content per serving, something not stated in the recipe I got in the calendar mailed to me)
Date published: 2006-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OH MY GOODNESS! OH MY GOODNESS!!! So wonderful! I love all lemons and apple pie, so this is now one of my all time favorite desserts! I also love that the crust doesn't have to look perfect. I usually struggle getting the pie crust into the pie dish without ripping it, so this was perfect for me. Just roll it out and fold it up.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had a little trouble getting the crust right but I used low fat cream cheese which may have made the... Had a little trouble getting the crust right but I used low fat cream cheese which may have made the difference. Also, all I had was Jello Lemon Pie Filling which may have changed it somewhat. I added fresh ground nutmeg. Tart was a big hit with everyone. This will become a regular for us.
Date published: 2006-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will indeed make this again. I will indeed make this again. It was absolutely delicious. I didn't have any lemon jello so I subsituted plain gelatin and fresh lemon juice plus about 1/2 cup sugar (divided). Also, I added 1 tbsp cold water when mixing the dough. I think next time I will peel the apples. mmmm yum.
Date published: 2006-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so simple and delicious. This was so simple and delicious. I made the crust in my food processor in less than a minute! Just put the ingredients in and pulse a few times - amazing! I also added just a little bit of brown sugar to the apples. I will definitely make this for every fall party I attend!
Date published: 2008-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Though the crust was easy to roll out, I found it too thick if I used the 14 x 8 size specified. Though the crust was easy to roll out, I found it too thick if I used the 14 x 8 size specified. I rolled it out much thinner and used the leftover dough for cinnamon-sugar twists. It was also a bit too lemony for us. If I make it again, I'll try using less gelatin.
Date published: 2006-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used sugar free jello which worked very well and my diabetic husband loves this as a dessert with... I used sugar free jello which worked very well and my diabetic husband loves this as a dessert with whipped topping and for breakfast. I have made it twice since Saturday and am making it again today for my mother's bridge club. It is outstanding.
Date published: 2006-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is a nice change. This recipe is a nice change. The crust is really good. Mine didnt look as pretty as the picture but was still unique looking. Remember that this is a tart. I would not make this often but for something different i would try it again.
Date published: 2007-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe. I love this recipe. Sooo good and easy. I made it into a circle shape which I thought makes it look really pretty too...it tastes great and my family loves it. I add cinnamon to the pastry and more cream cheese...its a great recipe
Date published: 2008-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was fabulous. This recipe was fabulous. My family thought it was the best. I used gala apples since that was what I had on hand. This is an easy recipe to have everything on hand and easy to make. I will most definately make this again.
Date published: 2010-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe 3 times each and every time it is a hit! I have made this recipe 3 times each and every time it is a hit!!!very easy and just plain pretty perfect the way it is but I add more cream cheese than the recipe calls for just because I love cream cheese Susan In Alabama
Date published: 2008-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who ever thought of this recipe needs a medal. Who ever thought of this recipe needs a medal. This is the easest apple pie like recipes I have made. Plus it is better than most of the apple pies out there. We have this apple tart every Sunday during football season!
Date published: 2011-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this for our Tailgate party last night with the neighbors...a hit all around! Made this for our Tailgate party last night with the neighbors...a hit all around! Added a touch more flour (might try whole wheat next time). Variations on the jello might be interesting, too. Very easy to make!
Date published: 2007-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had some bartlett pears and no apples, so I substituted the pears. I had some bartlett pears and no apples, so I substituted the pears. I also put a teaspoon or so of lemon zest in the cream cheese mixture. The crust was wonderfully easy and delicious. My husband loved it too.
Date published: 2006-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The crust is difficult to roll. The crust is difficult to roll. Next time. I will probably make it with low-fat cream cheese or add some water. Apple filling definitely needs some sugar and less cornstarch to produce a mosit tart filling.
Date published: 2006-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely wonderful! Absolutely wonderful! I made it as a dessert for n hors d'oeuvres party. It was easy to prepare. I was a bit hesitant about the lemon Jell-o, but I was pleasantly surprised by the fresh flavor it added.
Date published: 2006-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lemon Jello with apples sounds kind of gross. Lemon Jello with apples sounds kind of gross. I'll give it a try, but I'm guessing it's not going to taste very good. Lemon Jello has too much of a lemon oil taste, not a fresh lemon juice taste
Date published: 2006-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haven't made this one but plan to but made one that used melted butter and pkg. Haven't made this one but plan to but made one that used melted butter and pkg. lemon jello to cook apples in then baked them in a pie crust--gotta tell you it was delicious-just a little lemony.
Date published: 2006-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used instant pudding&pie filling in error, but it was delicious and loved by all. I used instant pudding&pie filling in error, but it was delicious and loved by all. On my 2nd try, I'll use the Jell-o lemon gelatin. So pretty and delicious. Thank you for this recipe.
Date published: 2010-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very yummy. Very yummy. I used unsalted butter in the crust and it was definitely missing salt. Next time I'll use salted butter. I didn't use the almonds because my family doesn't care for them.
Date published: 2010-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is absolutely delicious! This is absolutely delicious! Too bad it only uses 2 apples (I'm looking to use up the lg. bag we just picked). I guess I'll just have to make it again...and again...and again! Yum!
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I have not tried this recipe yet... I have not tried this recipe yet... however, when I do I think I will use plain gelatin and lemon juice vice the lemon jello. It just sounds like a better combination to me.
Date published: 2006-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kraft thanks, you did it again. Kraft thanks, you did it again. This is to die for.With the nice fresh apples in season now, everyone needs to try this. It's one outstanding taster.
Date published: 2006-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We are not much on apple deserts, just wondered if any kind of berries would work. We are not much on apple deserts, just wondered if any kind of berries would work. Any suggestions. My Mother-in Law made this and they loved it.
Date published: 2006-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used peach jello. I used peach jello. I also made a drizzle frosting of butter, powdered sugar, cream and almond flavoring and everyone who has tasted it loved it.
Date published: 2006-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe many times. I've made this recipe many times. My family loves it and I won't change a thing about it. The crust is so easy to make and taste so flakey.
Date published: 2009-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I haven't tried this recipe yet, but was wondering how to make it using a pie crust. I haven't tried this recipe yet, but was wondering how to make it using a pie crust. I don't have a food processor either. thanks gail
Date published: 2009-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this tart. I love this tart. I was so good. I can't wait to make it again. The lemony cream cheese would make a great fruit dip on it's own, too!
Date published: 2008-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Think this sounds very good. Think this sounds very good. I have recipe that calls for lemon jello with pineapple and cream cheese and it is delicious.Will try this
Date published: 2006-10-03
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_95067, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

554835:95067

>