Freestyle Apple Tart - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Freestyle Apple Tart

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

8 servings

Discover the deliciousness of our Freestyle Apple Tart! Fresh apples layered over a cream cheese and cinnamon sugar filling make this apple tart oh so great.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 450ºF.
  • Line 9-inch pie plate with pie crust. Carefully spread cream cheese into 6-inch circle on center of crust.
  • Toss apples with granulated sugar and flour; spoon over cream cheese. Fold edge of crust partially over apples; sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.
  • Bake 25 min., covering loosely with foil for the last 5 min. Cool.
  • Serve topped with COOL WHIP.

Variation

Prepare using PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

How to Store Any Leftovers

Refrigerate any leftovers.

Note

For best results, use baking apples, such as Granny Smith, Golden Delicious and/or McIntosh.

How to Make Cinnamon Sugar

For each teaspoon of cinnamon sugar, mix 3/4 tsp. granulated sugar and 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon.

Special Extra

Stir additional 1/2 tsp. cinnamon sugar into the COOL WHIP before using as directed.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 250
Total fat 13g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 20mg
Sodium 190mg
Carbohydrate 33g
Sugars 16g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 8 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from We really enjoyed this dessert. We really enjoyed this dessert. The second time I made it, I sweetened the cream cheese with 1/2 tsp of sugar, peeled the apples, mixed apples with sugar/1/2 tsp cinnamon/flour, also sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and baked about 5 minutes longer to brown the crust. It is a fantastic recipe and I will make many more times
Date published: 2008-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EVERYONE LOVES THIS RECIPE! EVERYONE LOVES THIS RECIPE!!! It is sooo easy to make, and a crowd pleaser. I think that you have to adjust the amount of apples you use based on the size of your apples. This last time that I made the tart, I used only 1 large Gala Apple. Previously, I used 2 smaller apples and each time the result was wonderfull.
Date published: 2008-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This apple tart was absolutely delicious! This apple tart was absolutely delicious!! And so easy to make! I took the advice of one of the other "raters" and drizzled a creamy caramel sauce over the cream cheese before I layered in the apples....Mmmm good! I used the low-fat cream cheese and low fat cool whip and even my boyfriend couldn't tell the difference!
Date published: 2008-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would definitly make this again. I would definitly make this again. I enjoyed every bite and wouldn't make any changes to the recipe. I made it early to see if it would be something to take to Thanksgiving dinner. I decided not to make it for the holiday.....I like richer more filling desserts for these type of occassions, but very eye appealing!
Date published: 2009-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love it! Delicious!! I added brown sugar, cinnamon sugar, and vanilla to the cream cheese. I used gala and granny smith apple. I added cinnamon sugar and brown sugar to the sugar/flour mixture. And I added a Carmel sauce on top of the cream cheese and drizzled it over the top.. So yummy. I'm making it right now.
Date published: 2012-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was simple to make and the results looked very professional. This recipe was simple to make and the results looked very professional. Best of all it was such a huge hit with everyone who tried it. I highly recommend this recipe to everyone inasmuch as everyone who tried it asked for the recipe. Expecting last minute company...this is the way to go...very impressive!
Date published: 2008-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves this recipe. My family loves this recipe. I've made it twice and the second time I substituded a 16 oz. can of apple pie filling instead of fresh apples and it was even easier and delicious! I served with vanilla ice cream. It's just as good as traditional apple pie without all the fuss! Love this website and magazine.
Date published: 2008-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe twice. I made this recipe twice. I love the ease of the freestyle crust. I found the tart to not be sweet enough for my taste and the cream cheese to be bland. The second time I made it I added some sugar and vanilla to the cream cheese and a little more sugar with the apples. It was much better.
Date published: 2009-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from all i can say is this is so easy why not add on? all i can say is this is so easy why not add on? i think next time i will add about a handful of fresh raspberrys to liven it up. but it was a wonderful desert i will be making many more of these as they look like you spent hours on it and taste like it too and it only took about 20 mins :O)
Date published: 2008-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made two tarts with extra pie crusts and apples purchased for Thanksgiving. I made two tarts with extra pie crusts and apples purchased for Thanksgiving. Pie plates still being used for Thanksgiving pie plates, so I formed the tarts on two cookie sheets. I made one with Macintosh; very mushy, but tasty. The other was with Granny Smiths; very good. Will make again.
Date published: 2008-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was very easy to make. This recipe was very easy to make. I should have made two since it was quite a hit with a group of ten women. Lucky I made another dessert. Many asked for the tart recipe. The cream cheese always is a good addition which tasted great with the apples. I will make again for the holidays.
Date published: 2008-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this! I loved this! It was so easy and yummmmy. My neighbor has given me a TON of pears...so, I used them instead of the apples. Tonight my husband asked me to make one to take with him to work to share with the guys. WONDERFUL!!!! Now I can't wait to make it with the apples.
Date published: 2008-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe was right up my alley---my friends know me as the queen of cream cheese---this recipe... this recipe was right up my alley---my friends know me as the queen of cream cheese---this recipe was easy,fast,tasty---have made a dozen already and given them to friends --- personal touches were to dot the apples with butter and made a cider sauce for serving yum!yum!
Date published: 2008-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really easy to make especially using the refrigerated pie crust. Really easy to make especially using the refrigerated pie crust. I mixed the apples, cinnamon and sugar together instead of just putting the cinnamon-sugar mixture on top. Both my husband and my daughter loved it. I will be making it again soon! I love apple season!
Date published: 2008-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first time I made it I made 3 and shared it with family and friends and they loved it and asked... The first time I made it I made 3 and shared it with family and friends and they loved it and asked when I planned on making more. I did but this time I made 6 and everyone had a whole or half of the tart. They have requested some for Thanksgiving. THANK YOU!
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good! So good! I used dark brown sugar instead of white and added cinnamon to the apples. I also put a layer of cinnamon and dark brown sugar of the cream cheese before placing the apples down. Used all granny smith apples- peeled them. Very delicious and easy!
Date published: 2008-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The tart was great, but I have never made one before, and in the picture it looks like the apples... The tart was great, but I have never made one before, and in the picture it looks like the apples were not peeled. I will peel them next time as I did not like the taste of apple skin. Also has anyone tried this with cherries? Can you used canned cherries?
Date published: 2008-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good; easier to make than traditional apple pie. Very good; easier to make than traditional apple pie. I mixed the cinnamon into the apples instead of sprinkling on top. Next time, I might add some sugar into the cream cheese to make it a litle sweeter. Looks like it's store bought, not from my kitchen!
Date published: 2008-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely LOVED this! I absolutely LOVED this! I will be making it again. My husband wasn't thrilled with it, but he's a pickier eater than some of our children! lol. As far as the previous entry- I don't think it would have the same zing to it if you omit the cream cheese!
Date published: 2008-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so yummy! This was so yummy! Everyone loved it. It was easy to prepare and it looked just like the picture. The only thing different I did was to add additional cinnamon with the apples and sugar because my family loves cinnamon. This is one of my favorites.
Date published: 2008-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and great tasting. Very easy and great tasting. Wish ready made crusts did not have lard in them - (there is one brand I think, but not available in my grocery store.)I always have to make my own, so that adds a little time since I don't eat lard - but it is worth it
Date published: 2008-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy recipe to make and delicious. Easy recipe to make and delicious. I added cinnamon to the flour/sugar mixture as well as using part brown sugar for the sugar. I then added a bit more cinnamon sugar to the top then is called for. Peeled the apples as I can't digest them well.
Date published: 2011-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe 3 times know and we love it every time. I have made this recipe 3 times know and we love it every time. I would recommend adding powdered sugar to the cream though. It's good either way, but our family doesn't care for the cream cheese plain. I highly recommend this!! So easy too!
Date published: 2008-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe. I love this recipe. I'm diabetic and it doesn't even hurt my sugar too much and it's so easy to put together. I don't even peel the apples. I always keep a refrigerated crust, Philladelphia Cream Cheese and a few apples on hand and make often.
Date published: 2008-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was OK, I must not have done it right. It was OK, I must not have done it right. It wasn't moist and I don't think the cream cheese did much for it even sweetened. My DH asked me if the bottom crust was not cooked. It was, it was just the cream cheese that made it seem mushy.
Date published: 2008-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this tart while visiting my son's family. I made this tart while visiting my son's family. It was so easy! Old and young alike enjoyed the flavors. I cooked all week from that issue of the Kraft recipe magazine. It was fun for me to explore new recipes! Sandy signed me up too!
Date published: 2008-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband made 2 of these tarts for a party I was having and they were amazing! My husband made 2 of these tarts for a party I was having and they were amazing! He said they were easy to make, plus they tasted delicious. He preferred the one made with Braeburn apples and I liked the tart made with Granny Smith.
Date published: 2009-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I brought this to a pot luck. I brought this to a pot luck. It was so easy to make. I made two, as the cream cheese is divided. I over heard people talking about it! Best of all, the pastor was eating and asked me if I knew he brought it! It is really yummy!
Date published: 2008-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bravo! Bravo!!! This was a winner, my husband and son are both picky eaters and they ate this right up. I will probaly cook the apple with a little cinnamon sugar little first, so that they can be soft and sweeter next time next time.
Date published: 2008-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband said this is his new favorite dessert. My husband said this is his new favorite dessert. I doubled the cream cheese and added a bit more sugar & cinnamon than it called for. It baked up so bubbly delicious that I am making it again tomorrow to share with his family.
Date published: 2008-11-09
  • y_2017, m_11, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_172
  • loc_en_US, sid_111230, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557002:111230

>