Fresh Green Beans & Basil - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Fresh Green Beans & Basil

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
17
min.
Servings

8 servings, 1 cup each

Crisp-tender is the perfect way to cook fresh green beans. Sun dried tomato vinaigrette helps their fresh flavor shine in this smart side.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat dressing in large skillet on medium heat. Add beans and onions; cover.
  • Cook 5 min. or until beans are crisp-tender.
  • Top with basil; cook, covered, 1 min.

Special Extra

Prepare using yellow beans.

How to Substitute Dried Herbs for Fresh

In most recipes, a dried herb can be substituted for fresh but some conversions are necessary. As a general rule, you can use 1 tsp. of the dried herb in place of 1 Tbsp. of a fresh herb.

Special Extra

Toast 1 Tbsp. sesame seed in skillet on medium heat 2 min., shaking skillet frequently. Add to cooked beans with basil.

Servings

  • 8 servings, 1 cup each

Healthy Living

  • Generally Nutritious
  • Low sodium
  • Diabetes Center

Diabetes Center

  • Carb Choices: 1/2 Carb Choice

Diet Exchange

  • 1 Vegetable
  • 1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Enjoying vegetables is oh so easy with this flavorful low-sodium side dish. Eating right never tasted so good!

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 50
Total fat 3g
Saturated fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 110mg
Carbohydrate 6g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 3g
Protein 1g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, lite, refreshing and flavorful with Italian dressing. Nice, lite, refreshing and flavorful with Italian dressing. I have made this so many times with Italian dressing and frozen green beans. I always used extra basil. I love bacon bits on it. It is EXCELLENTE'E
Date published: 2006-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband loved this! My husband loved this! He just kept eating and saying "baby these green beans are slamming!". I used less onion and more dressing than what was called for. It turned out great
Date published: 2006-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I did not enjoy the combination or the red onion and basil. I did not enjoy the combination or the red onion and basil. It seemed to fight against each other rather than work together. However, one person at our dinner like it.
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it was great! it was great!! the first i made it as the recipe an loved it, the second time i added mushroom, fresh green and yellow pepper and thinly sliced carrots, yumm yuumy!!
Date published: 2006-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very tasty but the beans were too crispy and I even cooked them longer. Very tasty but the beans were too crispy and I even cooked them longer. I will try this again but will cook the beans til almost done and then follow the recipe.
Date published: 2008-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Do NOT use more than the rcomended amount of dressing. Do NOT use more than the rcomended amount of dressing. Be cautioned that if you do it will make the bean taste sweet. Otherwise I loved this VERY easy recipe!
Date published: 2007-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dish for the first time for a crowd of 20 people. I made this dish for the first time for a crowd of 20 people. It was thankfully so easy and very good. My guests loved it!! I will definitely make it again...
Date published: 2010-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is great. This is great. I actually topped it off with minced garlic and a pinch of crushed red peppers and the presentation looks great and adds a great kick to it.
Date published: 2008-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE GREEN BEANS AND THIS WAS AN EASY RECIPE TO MAKE AND QUITE YUMMY! I LOVE GREEN BEANS AND THIS WAS AN EASY RECIPE TO MAKE AND QUITE YUMMY!! THE BASIL GAVE IT A GREAT FLAVOR, I WOULD NOT HAVE THOUGHT TO USE IT THIS WAY.
Date published: 2006-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can tell we will be delighted with the recipe. I can tell we will be delighted with the recipe. We are always looking for something healthy to put with green beans. Thank you for the offering.
Date published: 2008-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was good and easy. It was good and easy. I cooked the beans way longer than it called for. We like our green beans a lot more cooked than the recipe calls for.
Date published: 2009-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you like green beens this is the one. If you like green beens this is the one. I always thought green beens and mushroom soup was good and it is. This one rates right up there.
Date published: 2006-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious! My family prefers the beans cooked a little softer, so next time I will increase the cooking time. Otherwise, delicious & EASY!
Date published: 2007-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS... FABULOUS... even worked when I subbed in raspberry vinaigrette for sun-dried tomato. Beans were still crispy and flavorful, and SO easy.
Date published: 2007-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty recipe. Very tasty recipe. I cooked the beans a little longer than instructed so that my 2 yr old could chew it better. He ate three servings!
Date published: 2006-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from These were definitely better tasting with the basil instead of your typically salt and pepper... These were definitely better tasting with the basil instead of your typically salt and pepper variety... I'll be making this again!
Date published: 2007-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to make, nice presentation, and it brought a nice flavor to the table. Easy to make, nice presentation, and it brought a nice flavor to the table. (We had it with meatloaf and scalloped potatoes.)
Date published: 2006-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful flavor. Wonderful flavor. I used more garlic and fresh basil- & everyone just HAD to have seconds!!! Have made several times since!
Date published: 2008-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm going to have to make this one as soon as I can get to the supermarket and buy the ingredients. I'm going to have to make this one as soon as I can get to the supermarket and buy the ingredients. This sounds wonderful
Date published: 2008-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was absolutely delicious! This recipe was absolutely delicious!! The beans were nice and crisp and all the other ingredients added so much flavor!!
Date published: 2006-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was quick, easy and very flavorful. It was quick, easy and very flavorful. Our family all said they enjoyed it and want me to make it again. It is a keeper.
Date published: 2006-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I cooked my string beans a little longer. I cooked my string beans a little longer. I like my string beans well done. The taste was very good and very different.
Date published: 2006-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from being a vegitarian I enjoy any and all vegie recepies. being a vegitarian I enjoy any and all vegie recepies. This is quick and easy to prepare and very tasty. thank you
Date published: 2006-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a simple and delicious recipe. This was a simple and delicious recipe. Cook time was 15 minutes though, if you want the beans cooked thoroughly.
Date published: 2008-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a delight. a delight. simple and sensational. i used a pale ale instead of water. a good white wine would do just as well.
Date published: 2006-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good use of fresh green beans. Very good use of fresh green beans. My husband loved it. Quick and easy. We will definately make this again.
Date published: 2008-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I added green pepper and wrapped it in a tortilla for a healthier fajita. I added green pepper and wrapped it in a tortilla for a healthier fajita. You could also wrap it in a pita!
Date published: 2008-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked this recipe even though I'm not an onion eater. I liked this recipe even though I'm not an onion eater. However, I did have to cook the beans MUCH longer.
Date published: 2008-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didn't have tomatoe vinagrette dressing handy - so I used Kraft Balsamic Dressing - it was... Didn't have tomatoe vinagrette dressing handy - so I used Kraft Balsamic Dressing - it was outstanding!
Date published: 2006-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I was really disappointed with this. I was really disappointed with this. I thought the dressing overpowered the fresh taste of the beans
Date published: 2006-07-05
  • y_2017, m_12, d_10, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_91979, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

543342:91979

>