Fruit Salad with Marshmallows - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Fruit Salad with Marshmallows

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
3
hr.
15
min.
Servings

7 servings, 1/2 cup each

Cool off with our sweet Fruit Salad with Marshmallows. Only 5 ingredients and 15 minutes of prep time for one yummy fruit salad with marshmallows today!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Drain pineapple, reserving 1 Tbsp. juice.
  • Mix pineapple with reserved juice and remaining ingredients until blended.
  • Refrigerate several hours or until chilled.

Substitute

Prepare using BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream.

Special Extra

Garnish with maraschino cherries and fresh mint sprigs before serving.

Servings

  • 7 servings, 1/2 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 7 servings, 1/2 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 190
Total fat 12g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 25mg
Sodium 70mg
Carbohydrate 20g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 17g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Five-Cup Salad has been a favorite of mine for many, many years. Five-Cup Salad has been a favorite of mine for many, many years. My family expects it to be included with most all meals served here and I am asked to bring it to all the potlucks. I use fresh oranges though and that's a must. I also use crushed pineapple instead of chunks but do drain it saving juice to add later if needed. It's good with either sour cream or whipped cream or a mix. I also add a few sliced maraschino cherries for color.
Date published: 2004-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is very much like a recipe my grandmother used to make when we visited her at the farm so I... This is very much like a recipe my grandmother used to make when we visited her at the farm so I enjoyed making it --- VERY VERY IMPORTANT HINT: fat-free sour cream will NOT 'break down' the marshmallows so don't try and use it to save calories or you will get a big bowl of messy goop. (We called it 'Hawaiian Dream' --- I recommend eating it with a cute young hunk who has a tan and a nice pair of shorts on!)
Date published: 2003-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My kids aren't too fond of sour cream. My kids aren't too fond of sour cream. I substituted vanilla yogurt (you can use plain yogurt with one pack of Equal plus a little vanilla if you are trying to cut calories) and instead of coconut (they also don't care for it yet) I sue either fresh or canned grapes. For a twist, I'll cut up a banana or an apple and add it. It's a very yummy and quick fruit salad that is very kid-friendly.
Date published: 2004-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had this recipe for over 30 years! I have had this recipe for over 30 years! I add the cherries in with the rest of the salad when mixing the fruits and use the tiny colored marshmellows. It is so pretty and I have never had one complaint from anyone who has eaten it. It was my late father's absolute favorite and I think of him now every time I make it. This is a keeper and one that travels well too.
Date published: 2004-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe at least 100 times but I use fruit cocktail instead of pineapple. I have made this recipe at least 100 times but I use fruit cocktail instead of pineapple. So easy to make that my 7 yr old daughter makes it. I have served it immediately after making it and still get rave reviews. Because the ingredients all last so long, I keep them on hand at all times to stretch a meal in case of unexpected company. Also great for potlucks.
Date published: 2002-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This fruit salad is fantastic. This fruit salad is fantastic. I have never put the pineapple juice in it before but It's a good idea. I you make this the day before you might want to put more marshmellows in because it tends to be a little watery in the bottom. I got recipe from a old Betty Crocker cookbook about 40 years ago. All my kids and grandchildren grew up with this one!
Date published: 2004-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for a few friends and added toasted walnuts, sliced strawberries and blueberries as... I have made this for a few friends and added toasted walnuts, sliced strawberries and blueberries as well as the toasted coconut, using the light sour cream and splenda for a few diabetic people who attended the party. It was a very big hit and everyone has asked fro the recipe, which they have now. I will be making it again for a family yard party.
Date published: 2005-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have drained maraschino cherries and cut them in half and added them directly to the salad mix for... I have drained maraschino cherries and cut them in half and added them directly to the salad mix for more color. I also cut back on the sour creme and added some cool whip for a sweeter taste. We've also added, at the last minute, sliced bananas and chopped walnuts. In any case, it is a very good, quick and tasty receipe. Thank you!!!
Date published: 2004-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This! I see that many are posting things like "old" but I will say that new generations don't know it's "old". This is a delicious recipe and since my mom couldn't find the recipe in her collection, I am grateful for this to be posted. I love it just the way it is. Thank you for posting and sharing. Taking this to a potluck tomorrow!
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great light fruit salad! This is a great light fruit salad! I gave this recipe to my daughter because it was so easy! She does not like to cook too much, so this was perfect for her. She has made it many times now & it has become her go-to dish when she needs to bring something to a potluck or family gathering. We have enjoyed it many times!
Date published: 2009-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made a similar recipe to this in the past but forgot just what all went in it. I have made a similar recipe to this in the past but forgot just what all went in it. I tried this one but it was not the same. Then I remembered. I did not use sour cream, I used a box of instant pistachio pudding. Made it again with pudding and WOW! I also use fruit coctail sometimes instead of pineapple.
Date published: 2004-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this salad and make it anytime I'm invited to a potluck, except I use a larger can of... I love this salad and make it anytime I'm invited to a potluck, except I use a larger can of pineapple and 16 oz of sour cream. I also drain the juice entirely from the both the pineapple and the oranges and let sit overnight in the fridge so the coconut and marshmallows have time to sweeten up the sour cream.
Date published: 2003-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We love this fruit salad. We love this fruit salad. I make it to take to potlucks and picnics. I tried adding cut up fresh strawberries too. It was great. Just add the strawberries just before serving or everything turns pink. Nobody can believe it has sour cream in it. I even use low fat/fat free sour cream and it still tastes great .
Date published: 2002-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like this recipe because most of the ingredients are things I can keep on hand without them... I like this recipe because most of the ingredients are things I can keep on hand without them spoiling. The preparation time is very short, and my family REALLY enjoys it. I't a great recipe to make any time of year, that can be used for brunch, lunch, or dinner. I'm making it this weekend for guests!
Date published: 2004-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although I have not made this particular recipe, I immediately recognized it from my youth. Although I have not made this particular recipe, I immediately recognized it from my youth. We always drained the pineapple (crushed type) and added the maraschino cherries (cut in half) and a little of the cherry juice, as well as the chopped walnuts. HOWEVER, I never had it as a dessert in a dish -- we always used this recipe (with real whipped cream instead of sour cream) as a FROSTING on a cake. It was my personal favorite as a child, especially on an angel cake. Then, later, when Cool Whip became popular, the real whipped cream was replaced by the Cool Whip and it was still awesome. Several years later, I discovered a line jello salad recipe with these same ingredients (the marshmallows go in with the hot water so they get melty and so does the CREAM cheese (not sour)). Then the drained pineapple, cherries, nuts . . . It is served with a dollop of Cool Whip or whipped cream. Oooh, is THAT good! Thanks for the memories . . . I can't believe I forgot about this recipe bec
Date published: 2004-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Mother has made this salad for years. My Mother has made this salad for years. The family loves it! The only change she has made is that my family is not real fond of mandarin oranges, so she substituted a can of pitted cherries, sweet or sour works depending on your taste! It gives the salad a beautiful color and a really good flavor!
Date published: 2004-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for nearly 40 years. I have made this recipe for nearly 40 years. I got the recipe from my mother. I have deleted the coconut from the recipe; and I add chopped pecans. Delicious!! This is my favorite dish to take to 'pot luck' dinners. It looks so pretty with a few mandarin orange slices placed in designs on top.
Date published: 2003-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for many years and still love to make it. I have made this recipe for many years and still love to make it. It is a light dessert after a heavy meal. I sometimes omit the coconut as it is a little hard to digest. Sometimes I put the coconut in the food processor to cut it finer and in that way it is easier to digest. Melba Barinka
Date published: 2003-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old time favorite I am soon to be 64 years old. I remember my grandmother used to make this fruit salad when we were kids. Although this is a simple recipe, I'm so happy I was able to find the exact measurements of the ingredients. I am planning to make it this weekend for a family gathering. Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was around in the 60s. This recipe was around in the 60s. I made it this Christmas - from memory. My daughter-in-law had never had it and really liked it. I added just a few chopped cherries for color, and a couple of tablespoons of finely chopped pecans. No need to be new to be really good and so easy.
Date published: 2004-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My mom made something very similar to this many years ago, but she used fruit cocktail, and I doubt... My mom made something very similar to this many years ago, but she used fruit cocktail, and I doubt that she used sour cream. I added slivered almonds that got lost. Next time I would use chopped walnuts instead, and decrease the the sour cream a bit as it turned out awfully gooey.
Date published: 2005-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for years, but I also drain fruit cocktail and put in it and sometimes... I have made this recipe for years, but I also drain fruit cocktail and put in it and sometimes walnuts. It has always been a hit whenever I've made it. One of the secrets to this recipe is to make it the day before so the marshmallows will dissolve and make the dessert sweeter.
Date published: 2004-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I had cancer and was taking treatments, I had a hard time enjoying food. When I had cancer and was taking treatments, I had a hard time enjoying food. The treatments affected the taste of food. This salad was one of the few things that I could eat. Now I recomment this to others. It is so easy to make- my kids even loved fixing it for me. Enjoy!!!!
Date published: 2004-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As others have said, I have been making this salad for over 30 years. As others have said, I have been making this salad for over 30 years. There is one other ingredient that really adds to the pleasure of your tastebuds is, I add a small container of coolwhip or my own whipcream. Also on occasion a sprinkle of chopped nuts on top.
Date published: 2004-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TO SERVE IMMEDIATELY- Keep all the ingredients in the fridge to start with (as you unpack the... TO SERVE IMMEDIATELY- Keep all the ingredients in the fridge to start with (as you unpack the groceries, long before prep time). I'd add another TBL of juice to begin the marshmallow melting, then assemble and eat! And read on for all the slight variations- good!
Date published: 2003-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family has made this for years. It's one of the main dishes everyone asks for at get togethers. The only difference is we drain the pineapple. I also add a quarter cup chopped pecans and roughly chop a few cherries for color. It will get juicier as it sits.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been a Thanksgiving favorite in our family since the 50's. This has been a Thanksgiving favorite in our family since the 50's. We call it Aunt Lola Salad. Our great aunt served this at Thanksgiving & it's been passed down in our family ever since. I like to use drained crushed pineapple & of course double the recipe.
Date published: 2003-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been a family favorite for years...in fact, when I was little, I thought my mother... This has been a family favorite for years...in fact, when I was little, I thought my mother 'invented' Five Cup Salad :) We enjoy this every holiday. I add a jar of marischino cherries for color, and refrigerate AT LEAST overnight to let the flavor set in.
Date published: 2002-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this several times and it has become a favorite at our house. I have made this several times and it has become a favorite at our house. We like it better with only about half the coconut called for in the recipe. I have also added 1/2 to 1 cup of peach chunks to the original recipe and that works really well too.
Date published: 2003-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mother made this receipe when I was a child & we all loved it. My mother made this receipe when I was a child & we all loved it. I am so glad to see it back. This is one fruit salad that is so light & fluffy especially with the marshmallows. I substitued & used lgith sour cream & it was still great! Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2003-05-25
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_267
  • loc_en_US, sid_51548, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

500773:51548

>