Ghosts in the Graveyard - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Ghosts in the Graveyard

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

18 servings, about 1/2 cup each

Also Known As: GHOSTS IN THE GRAVEYARD
No need to fear this graveyard: It's made with chocolate pudding and crushed cookies! See it all come together in this super-quick video.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Beat pudding mixes and milk in large bowl with whisk 2 min. Let stand 5 min. Stir in 3 cups COOL WHIP and half the cookie crumbs. Spread into 13x9-inch dish; sprinkle with remaining crumbs.
  • Refrigerate 1 hour. Meanwhile, decorate sandwich cookies with decorating gel to resemble tombstones.
  • Insert decorated cookies into top of dessert just before serving. Add candies. Drop large spoonfuls of remaining COOL WHIP onto dessert to resemble ghosts.

Size Wise

Here is an easy dessert for a Halloween crowd. Since it makes 18 servings, you can invite plenty of ghosts and goblins to stop in for some party fun.

How to Make Green Grass

Use snipped pieces of green chewy fruit snack rolls to create grass around the graveyard.

Boo Cups

Prepare pudding mixture as directed. Alternately layer pudding mixture and cookie crumbs in 18 paper or plastic cups. Decorate as desired.

Servings

  • 18 servings, about 1/2 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 18 servings, about 1/2 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 200
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 280mg
Carbohydrate 32g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 22g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 2 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a Halloween party. I made this for a Halloween party. Everyone loved it. It was sooo easy to make and it looks wonderful. I'm making this again this weekend with my daughter so she can have some this time. The detail on it makes it look like you put a whole lot of work into it, but you don't. For the graveyards you can use any vanilla cream cookies. I used snackwells, reduced fat oreo cookies, and fat free cool whip to make it healthier. You sure couldn't tell!
Date published: 2007-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious ! Absolutely delicious !! I've become famous for this recipe...all of my friends and family adore it. -- However, I do it with low fat/sugar free Cool Whip and use the entire tub to make it extra thick [I also used low fat/no sugar pudding and low fat milk]...and an entire package of Reduced Fat Oreos, half in the mix and half for the topping !! -- Tip: Add the topping right before serving or it could get soggy !!!
Date published: 2010-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for the last few years. I have made this recipe for the last few years. Always a big hit with my child ,,,of course now she's saying her new ideas to go with and on it. Like she said to me the other day Halloween just wouldn't be Halloween w/out it. It has become a wonderful addition to a 'continue'ing tradition....... and the addition my daughter added is coloring the ghosts red and yellow. She said they stand out in the moonlight...
Date published: 2003-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I usually make this redipe around Halloween. I usually make this redipe around Halloween. My daughter's b-day is in the middle of Oct. and my middle son's b-day is in the middle of Nov., so every year I make them a Halloween Birthday Party complete with costumes and scary themes. This recipe is, of course, the center of the party. I like to add eyeballs and spiders and anything scary. It's always a hit! By the way, I serve it up in a witch's cauldron.
Date published: 2005-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have given Halloween parties for the last several years for my kids. I have given Halloween parties for the last several years for my kids. We always have about 20-30 kids show up. The biggest hit of the party is when I bring out the Ghosts in the Graveyard dessert. There is never any of it left and my kids, who are now starting on their teen years, still enjoy helping me make it. Thank you so much for the wonderful, tasty and easy-to-make recipes.
Date published: 2003-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love this recipe. i love this recipe. My son whose birthday is in October asks me to make this cake every year for his b'day cake. Sometimes, I'll substitue the little peep ghosts and pumpkins for the decorations. i've seen it done before with the gummi worms also. This receipe is so versatile to fit whatever decorstions you have around. That's what i like the best about this cake!! Thank you
Date published: 2002-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for the last two years for my son to take to school (second and third... I have made this recipe for the last two years for my son to take to school (second and third grade). The kids love it and so do the teachers. My son has the same teacher in 4th grade as he did in 3rd and when they designated who brings what for this Halloween - she mentioned the graveyard cake in front of the entire class!!! I'd say that is a lasting impression!
Date published: 2006-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The first time I made this, I thought it was way too sweet. The first time I made this, I thought it was way too sweet. So this time I used 2 packages of sugar-free pudding and it did NOT set up. I had pudding soup!Luckily I had a 2nd dessert made for my dinner party. I was really disappointed in the results. I used mint oreos so the flavor was good and the idea is cute, but next time I'll just make brownies!
Date published: 2007-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I DON'T GET A CHANCE TO MAKE A WHOLE LOT OF 'FUN' FOOD, BEING A FULL TIME EMPLOYEE. I DON'T GET A CHANCE TO MAKE A WHOLE LOT OF 'FUN' FOOD, BEING A FULL TIME EMPLOYEE. MY 4 1/2 YEAR OLD LOVES OREOS AND PUDDING. I THOUGHT THIS WAS PRECIOUS WHEN I SAW IT ON MY HOME PAGE, AND THOUGHT IT WAS PERFECT FOR THE LITTLE ONES AS WELL AS THE ADULTS--BESIDES EVERYONE IS GOING TO GET CANDY THIS WILL BE DIFFERENT AND FESTIVE. THANKS
Date published: 2002-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've made this twice and it is SO good and simple to make. I've made this twice and it is SO good and simple to make. My only complaint is I cannot make the coolwhip ghosts look like ghosts! I tried freezing the cool whip first so that it was more firm, but it didn't help. I saw another person on here used meringe cookies for ghosts. I might give that a shot next time I make this.
Date published: 2006-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was a great conversation piece when we had our pitch-in at work. This recipe was a great conversation piece when we had our pitch-in at work. No one wanted to eat it. My boss took a picture of it and then at our annual Christmas party they put it with other pictures taken through out the year and made it into a slide show. I felt kind of embarassed but at the same time very proud.Thank you.
Date published: 2002-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is awesome! This recipe is awesome! It looks like you spend a lot of time on the preparation and that is quite the contrary. I have made this for the past several years I always get compliments on how it looks and everyone loves the taste. It is the perfect blend for most people. It is also easy to convert for diabetics
Date published: 2002-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I tried looking for Cameo cookies; nowhere to be found! I tried looking for Cameo cookies; nowhere to be found! Where do I find those things at?! I instead used honey graham crackers. I also bought the Fruit Roll-Ups for the grass and am excited to insert the decorations for a Special Ed students' Halloween party tonight! I think they'll get a kick out of this!
Date published: 2006-10-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was very easy to make and was just okay. This recipe was very easy to make and was just okay. It had too much Cool Whip so it was very light brown and not very chocolatey tasting. If I make this again, I will add 3 boxes of pudding with one tub Cool Whip. It wasn't a very popular dessert at my Halloween party, so I'll probably skip it next year.
Date published: 2005-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I baked 3 of these cakes for 3 grade school class parties last year! I baked 3 of these cakes for 3 grade school class parties last year! They were a big hit and no cake returned home with the kids. I piped the ghost in with a plastic bag with a small hole at the corner. I was looking for the recipe again... the kindergardner wants to take it for their party this year.
Date published: 2006-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dessert twice last Halloween for two different parties. I made this dessert twice last Halloween for two different parties. It was a big hit both times. The first time I did it as directed. The second time,I baked a cake and frosted it with a box of chocolate pudding mixed with one container of Cool Whip, and then decorated as stated in the directions.
Date published: 2005-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had been making this for our Junior and Senior High Youth group at church for about 5 years and... I had been making this for our Junior and Senior High Youth group at church for about 5 years and they loved it. I haven' t made it since my daughter left for college and I was looking for it to make for our company Halloween luncheon. It was easy to make and doubles as a decoration for a party.
Date published: 2002-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my step son's 38th birthday. I made this for my step son's 38th birthday. Everyone loved it, in fact my 39 year old son in law asked for it for his birthday too! I have the same white baking pan so it looked just like the picture. I don't even hve to mention how the grandchildren liked it! Will definetly make this again.
Date published: 2006-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a fun and yummy dessert. This was a fun and yummy dessert. My only problen was that once the cool whip had thawed enough to make the ghosts, my ghosts didnt stand up, they kind of melted over to the side. But my daughter, nephews and my husband all got a kick out of it and ate it all in no time.
Date published: 2002-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dessert a couple of years ago for my daughters daycare. I made this dessert a couple of years ago for my daughters daycare. Every year since they beg me to make it. Not the kids, the teachers. The head of the center brags to all the other mom's that it's the best thing she has ever had. Everyone loves to make it and eat it.
Date published: 2002-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this for our annual halloween party every year and it's always a hit! I make this for our annual halloween party every year and it's always a hit! No leftovers to worry about. I have made a double recipe and put it in a roasting pan. One of my sons always requests this for his birthday cake as well - but I don't do the graveyard design!
Date published: 2002-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe for years! I have made this recipe for years! i keep the candy out and make it plain. My family loves it. When i take it to family get togethers it gets demolished. My neices and nephews always ask me to make this for thanksgiving , christmas, and during summer get togethers.
Date published: 2010-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe is quick easy and fun for all.you can do this and have it chilling while the meal is... this recipe is quick easy and fun for all.you can do this and have it chilling while the meal is being prepared. making the wait til dinner exciting for the children.and you dont hear is it ready yet? its something to look forward to. thank you sara,,,,pattic8ke
Date published: 2003-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this completely sugar free, using sugar free cool whip, sugar free pudding, sugar free oreos,... I made this completely sugar free, using sugar free cool whip, sugar free pudding, sugar free oreos, sugar free cookies, my dad loved it b/c hes diabetic and doesnt eat sugar anymore so i think he enjoyed it more than anyone!! and you couldnt tell the difference
Date published: 2008-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this for my daughter's pre-school halloween party. I made this for my daughter's pre-school halloween party. A lot of the kids were hesitant to try it, but a couple of the moms did say it was a cute idea. It wasn't an overwhelmingly popular dish, but my husband and I did enjoy eating the leftovers at home.
Date published: 2008-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe! I love this recipe! It's so easy. I've made it at least 5 times. My kids beg me every year to make it. I've also taken it as a dish to other places. Everyone thinks it's so cute and tastes wonderful. I always have to pass on the recipe to at least 2 people.
Date published: 2002-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this goolish treat last year for my daughters daycare Halloween bash! I made this goolish treat last year for my daughters daycare Halloween bash! It was a major hit. So, we are at a new school and this recipe is the first to pop into my mind. It is so quick and easy to make. The kids really enjoy helping make it as well =)
Date published: 2005-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it seems easy , I have grandchildren and it seems like something we can make together, and that... it seems easy , I have grandchildren and it seems like something we can make together, and that they would love it for Halloween and it could become a tradition for this holiday , something that they would remember when they got older with fond memories
Date published: 2002-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe many times for my Halloween dinners. I have made this recipe many times for my Halloween dinners. Every one, kids and adults get a kick of how it really replicates a grave yard. I have even done the short cut and made the boo cups. Everyone loved both dishes and always ask for the recipe.
Date published: 2006-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make a couple of these cakes every halloween for my children to take to school. I make a couple of these cakes every halloween for my children to take to school. No matter what age it's loved by everyone!!! It's so easy for the kids to help make and decorate, they really can feel a sense of accomplishment for what they create!!!
Date published: 2002-10-29
  • y_2017, m_12, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_176, tr_408
  • loc_en_US, sid_54472, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

504999:54472

>