Gingerbread People - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Gingerbread People

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
32
min.
Servings

20 servings

Find your new favorite holiday cookie with our Gingerbread People recipe featuring butterscotch pudding. Don't let these tasty Gingerbread People run away!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Combine first 4 ingredients. Beat all remaining ingredients except powdered sugar and water in large bowl with mixer until blended. Gradually add flour mixture, mixing well after each addition. Refrigerate 1 hour.
  • Heat oven to 350°F. Roll out dough on lightly floured surface to 1/4-inch thickness; cut into gingerbread shapes with 4-inch cookie cutter, rerolling trimmings as necessary. Place, 2 inches apart, on baking sheets sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 10 to 12 min. or until edges are lightly browned. Cool on baking sheets 3 min. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Mix powdered sugar and water until blended. Use to decorate cookies as desired.

Size Wise

Sweets can be part of a balanced diet but remember to keep tabs on portions.

How to Decorate Cookies

To easily decorate cooled cookies, spoon icing into resealable plastic bag. Seal bag, then cut small piece off one bottom corner of bag. Use to squeeze icing over cookies to decorate as desired.

Special Extra

Roll out dough and cut into shapes as directed; place on prepared baking sheets. Use straw to make hole near top of each cutout. After cookies are decorated, insert ribbon through holes to hang cookies on tree.

Servings

  • 20 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 20 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 180
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 30mg
Sodium 200mg
Carbohydrate 28g
Sugars 17g
Protein 2g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Having read several comments after making my gingerbread people, I'm glad I wasn't the only one with... Having read several comments after making my gingerbread people, I'm glad I wasn't the only one with dough difficulty. My dough was very crumbly, (I actually re-read the recipe several times, thinking I left out) a "wet" ingredient. I added about a Tbsp of milk just to see if that would work, it seemed to keep the dough together. The cookies were terrific and came out great. I am going to make these again tomorrow and "knead the dough", perhaps that was the secret ingredient!!
Date published: 2005-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from wow...this recipe was really weird. wow...this recipe was really weird. The dough was easy to make and easy to work with. After it sat in the fridge for several days I let it warm a bit and it rolled out beautifully. The big issue I ran into was after taking the time to use the cookie cutters, you could NOT tell what shapes they were supposed to be! No wonder they say to place the cookies 2" apart! This is a scrumptious recipe, but do yourself a favor and just roll it into balls before baking!
Date published: 2008-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my first time making gingerbread men. This was my first time making gingerbread men. This recipe is PERFECT, however -- I highly recommend skipping the refrigeration process. It's useless, as you have to wait for the dough to reach room temperature again to be able to work with it. Use it as is, roll it into a ball and cut out your shapes. If you have issues getting it off the counter, just use a spatula! Overall, this is the best gingerbread cookie I have ever had. Marvelous. And so cute!
Date published: 2006-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I am usually happy with the recipes that I get from this site, but I was very unhappy with this... I am usually happy with the recipes that I get from this site, but I was very unhappy with this one. After following the recipe to the T, my dough was entirely too dry. I added what I could to make it more workable. After kneeding so much, when I cut out the cookies and baked them, they were very tough. I even cooked them for a shorter period of time. Needless to say, while I love gingerbread and gingersnaps, I will not be using this one again.
Date published: 2006-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these cookies last year for a kid's Christmas party. I made these cookies last year for a kid's Christmas party. I took the cookes plain with plenty of things for the kids to decorate their own cookies. It was a big hit! Even kids who don't normally like gingerbread because of the strong flavor loved these cookies. I will be making these again this year for our family as well as some larger ones decorated and with the kid's name on them to give as gifts to my son's preschool friends.
Date published: 2005-11-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The recipe is good. The recipe is good. The dough is really hard to work with. it crumbles a lot. If this happens to you then wet your hands with a tiny bit of water and rub the dough. it works best in smaller portions and just squeeze the dough in your hands for little bit to loosen it up. Goodluck. I really liked the cookies, they came out great, but I think the recipe calls for a little too much flour.
Date published: 2006-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These cookies have become a tradition for my family and friends. These cookies have become a tradition for my family and friends. I use royal icing instead of the regular kind because I take these cookies to a ton of holiday events and the royal icing doesn't get smushed during the trip! These have been nicknamed the Tiffany gingerbread men because of the blue and white! Just be careful not to over cook or they can get really crunchy.
Date published: 2007-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We've made these the last three Christmas seasons and love them. We've made these the last three Christmas seasons and love them. We use a little less ginger than the recipe calls for, just because we don't like a strong ginger taste. My sons love that these gingerbread people have a tendency to "hide" from them a few times before Christmas--they have to find them in order to eat them! We enjoy these as a fun Christmas tradition.
Date published: 2008-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made these gingerbread cookies twice and I love them! I have made these gingerbread cookies twice and I love them! They are super easy to make, and they taste wonderful. The one thing I recommend when it comes time to decorate them is to use white chocolate (melted and poured into a plastic storage bag). The chocolate doesn't smudge and it tastes great with the cookies. I will definitely continue making these!
Date published: 2009-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made these for Christmas and everyone loved them. I made these for Christmas and everyone loved them. I have never made gingerbread men before, but I am pretty sure this is an easier version and it is amazing. I used those little tubes of icing that you would use for cupcakes, that way I could use red and green and make them look cute. Make sure you put AT LEAST 2 inches apart because they do expand.
Date published: 2009-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe adds a delicious twist to the regular gingerbread cookie. This recipe adds a delicious twist to the regular gingerbread cookie. My daughter has an egg allergy, so baking cookies for her is sometimes challenging. In place of the 1 egg, I substituted 1-1/2 T water, 1-1/2 T oil, and 1 tsp baking powder. The cookie turned out great, and my children loved helping roll & cut the gingerbread people.
Date published: 2007-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made these cookies for three years now. I have made these cookies for three years now. My picky five-year-old has loved them since I started making them. My hubby and I also love them. The dough was crumbly and I did knead ALOT but I may try adding the little bit of milk someone mentioned and see how that goes. But that alone won't deter me from making again. :)
Date published: 2006-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these yesterday, and they were delicious AND easy... I made these yesterday, and they were delicious AND easy... my boys are already asking me to make more! My dough, too, was crumbly, but I divided it into quarters and did some major kneading, and with each subsequent rolling, the dough became softer and easier to use! I will definitely make these again (and again and again)!
Date published: 2005-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my goodness - my 7 yr old dau & I made this recipe - followed directions to the letter. Oh my goodness - my 7 yr old dau & I made this recipe - followed directions to the letter. I will be sure that brown sugar is always in my cupboards. And I'm not a sweet-eater; so they were perfect for me/us. Baking cookies together allows me to teach me dau a great life skill of following directions - KUDOS kraftfoods.com
Date published: 2005-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cookies came out awesome. The cookies came out awesome. I love this recipe cuz it called for Butterscotch pudding mix..I also lower the amount ginger and added pumpkin spice mix. That was the ginger was not over powering for my 3 yr old twins. This will be my official X-mas gingerbread cookie recipe for years to come. THANK YOU Kraft foods!
Date published: 2008-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After years of making (or trying to make) gingerbread cookies that stay good after the first day, I... After years of making (or trying to make) gingerbread cookies that stay good after the first day, I found this recipe. These cookies are so moist! After being in a tupperware container for a week, the cookies are still soft! I love this recipe. I was a little weary of the pudding, but the flavor is great!
Date published: 2004-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didn't take a chance and like a previous review I added a bit less than a Tablespoon of milk to... I didn't take a chance and like a previous review I added a bit less than a Tablespoon of milk to the mix before refrigerating----The dough was VERY easy to make and work with. The flavor was not spicey at all. My children, 8 yr old and 3 1/2 yr old helped and it was kid friendly--definitely!
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very nice cookie recipie for gingerbread men! A very nice cookie recipie for gingerbread men! I have never made it with butterscotch pudding mix before so I was a little worried on how they would taste, I was surprized at the result, these cookies are fabulous! I'll definately make these next year for Christmas. Happy holidays to all!
Date published: 2004-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made these with my three year old brother for christmas. I made these with my three year old brother for christmas. The dough was very easy to work with for little hands and the whole family loved them. Also I used fat free sugar free pudding because the store was out of regular. Turned out great! I will definately make these again
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This recipe was okay but was bland and needed more flavor. This recipe was okay but was bland and needed more flavor. The dough took forever and would fall apart and I had to put water in the dough so that it got firm a little sticky. I dont know but this recipe is missing something and needs more flavor. Wont be making this again.
Date published: 2010-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made these cookies for about 6 years now and they have always been a big hit. I have made these cookies for about 6 years now and they have always been a big hit. I don't know what's with these other cooks. Perhaps they're not following the recipe to the "T" like they say they have. I've never changed anything and they always come out GREAT!!!
Date published: 2009-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these cookies using this recipe during the holidays last year and I have already done so this... I made these cookies using this recipe during the holidays last year and I have already done so this year. Everyone that has tried them loves them because they are always soft every time I bake them, which is a real plus. They are pretty fool-proof, hard to mess up!
Date published: 2008-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe isn't as "spicy" as the old fashioned recipe that has been handed down through the... This recipe isn't as "spicy" as the old fashioned recipe that has been handed down through the generations. That is exactly the appeal because it is more mellow in flavor. My kids like this one much better. The dough is also of a good consistancy for rolling out.
Date published: 2005-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these gingerbread men three times over the holidays. I made these gingerbread men three times over the holidays. My kids and family LOVED them. Even people that said they don't like gingerbread enjoyed them. I used to make real gingerbread cookies with molasses and all the mess. Never again! They were so easy!!
Date published: 2006-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never made gingerbread cookies before and I tried these for Christmas and they were a smash... I have never made gingerbread cookies before and I tried these for Christmas and they were a smash everyone liked them some of the family members even asked for the recipe they were great they have a great and are very easy to make these are a must try. Betty
Date published: 2010-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was an awesome recipe. This was an awesome recipe. I didn't have time to chill the dough in the fridge, so I stuck it in the freezer for about 5 minutes. The cookies turned out moist and after a few days are still soft. This will definitely be a new holiday tradition in our house!
Date published: 2008-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from These were ok, they didn't rock my world by my husband and kids really liked them. These were ok, they didn't rock my world by my husband and kids really liked them. I added a couple teaspoons of allspice to this recipe. They were very easy, and made awesome gingerbread men. I personally prefer real gingerbread but these were not bad.
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I love making gingerbread cookies every year and wanted to make an easy batch for my 3 year old. I love making gingerbread cookies every year and wanted to make an easy batch for my 3 year old. This was pretty tasteless although my daughter enjoyed cutting the cookies out and decorating them. We didn't eat them but used them to decorate the tree.
Date published: 2004-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this recipe for gingerbread. Love this recipe for gingerbread. The butterscotch pudding mix makes it 'just right' for flavor and is not to strong. I have made this a couple of times already and will make it again...it's now a 'holiday favorite'! --Machelle from Des Moines
Date published: 2008-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and have a great taste Love the taste of these gingerbread cookies!! Hard to find butterscotch jello for recipe especially during the holidays! I buy off season in advance.
Date published: 2017-12-11
  • y_2017, m_12, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_135
  • loc_en_US, sid_62218, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

544751:62218

>