Gram's Best Brown Sugar Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Gram's Best Brown Sugar Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
15
min.
Servings

16 servings

Bake Gram's Best Brown Sugar Cake for a Mardi Gras treat or to make any Tuesday special! You'll love this moist brown sugar cake with its sugary crust.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Beat first 6 ingredients with mixer until blended. Add brown sugar and nuts; mix well.
  • Pour into 12-cup fluted tube pan or 10-inch tube pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 1 hour or until toothpick inserted near center of cake comes out clean. Cool 15 min. Loosen cake from sides of pan; invert onto wire rack. Remove pan; cool cake completely.
  • Sprinkle with powdered sugar just before serving.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding

Size Wise

You'll know it is a special occasion when this cake is served at a party or family gathering. It's guaranteed to be a crowd pleaser!

Special Extra

Sprinkle pan with combined 2 Tbsp. granulated sugar and 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon after spraying with cooking spray. Then, fill with batter and bake as directed.

Special Extra

Serve topped with cut-up fresh fruit.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 320
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 55mg
Sodium 310mg
Carbohydrate 43g
Sugars 32g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to follow recipe that produces an excellent cake. Easy to follow recipe that produces an excellent cake. I made the cake with light sour cream and substituted the 1/2 c. oil with a combination of 1/4 c. oil and 1/4 c. applesauce. Others who ate the cake had no idea that I "lightened" it up a bit. Next time I try it I will probably omit the oil completely and use 1/2 c. applesauce. I would highly recommend it!!!
Date published: 2009-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this on Sunday for my sons 26th Birthday and it was a huge HIT - he cut family and two... I made this on Sunday for my sons 26th Birthday and it was a huge HIT - he cut family and two friends a slice of the cake a very THIN slice I must add, because he said this is the type of cake you just don't share you eat it all yourself - made me feel great that the cake was a big hit. It was very moist, so good that I plan to make one for my husband this evening.
Date published: 2009-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was worried at first that it might need some sort of frosting (like an easy powdered... I was worried at first that it might need some sort of frosting (like an easy powdered sugar/milk/butter frosting drizzle). I was amazed when I took the first bite at how moist the cake was and how unnecissary the frosting would have been. the dusting of powdered sugar is the perfect pair for this already sweet and moist treat! Great for the holidays!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this amazing cake several times for different occasions and it has always been a hit! I have made this amazing cake several times for different occasions and it has always been a hit! I'm thinking of making this for my aunt and uncle's anniversary and filling the hole with fresh fruit. I would never make this cake without the sugar/cinnamon mixture to sprinkle in the pan - it's that perfect extra special something it needs.
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the BEST and easiest cake I have even made. This is the BEST and easiest cake I have even made. I made it for work and everyone raved about it and wanted the recipe. Gave it to my sister-in-law and she said she hated it. She was kidding of course, said it tasted so good she and my brother could not stop eatting it. I even made it for a cake walk at church- it was big hit.
Date published: 2011-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cake numerous times and everyone devours it. I have made this cake numerous times and everyone devours it. I have passed this recipe on to others because it is easy and failproof. I definitely love the tip to coat pan in cinnamon/sugar combo, along with covering the edges around the pan to keep from getting too done. If you have a pie crust shield, it works great!
Date published: 2009-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I substituted some healthier ingredients such as fat free sour cream, no sugar added cake mix, and... I substituted some healthier ingredients such as fat free sour cream, no sugar added cake mix, and fat free plain Greek yogurt instead of oil, and my family LOVED it! I served it with no sugar added butter pecan ice cream, and that really topped it off! The cake was so moist. I will absolutely be making this again!
Date published: 2009-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my family's all time favorite cake recipe. This is my family's all time favorite cake recipe. It is also my most requested recipe. I made a brown sugar icing to go on top. When my son got married last year, he asked me to make this as his groom's cake. I made six of these for his wedding! People kept coming up to me asking for the recipe. It's great!!
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I followed the directions, watched the video and the cake did not bake through. I followed the directions, watched the video and the cake did not bake through. The toothpick came out clean but after taking it out of the oven, it sunk in the middle and flopped. I wanted it to work. It was for a special club dessert but did not. I wonder if it was because I used a butter type yellow cake mix???
Date published: 2009-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the second time I have made this recipe in a week. This is the second time I have made this recipe in a week. I've made it with out the nuts for my daughter. I have added Rum to it last night with the full recipe and it is wonderful! try it with vanilla ice cream and that is trouble. LOL It's definately my new Holiday Cake this year. Thanks for the recipe Gram...
Date published: 2009-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter made this for my birthday, and it was awesome! My daughter made this for my birthday, and it was awesome! She used a caramel cake mix and added some butterscotch and PB chips to mix. After baking she filled middle with crushed butterfingers and white dipped pretzels and then drizzled with butter cream frosting. RICH... but great for a birthday treat.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW! This cake was so easy to make and it turned out absolutely delicious. I used Betty Crocker (Super Moist Yellow Cake Mix and followed the recipe exactly. I will make this cake again next week for our senior coffee club, which I am hosting. Thank you, big time, Kraft Food People for this recipe! Joan
Date published: 2009-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best cake I have made. This is the best cake I have made. My father said it wouldn't make it through the night and he was right, it sure didn't. After making this version twice I made a remix with chocolate cake mix, chocolate pudding and chocolate chips in place of nuts. It was just as good. One you must add to the recipe box!
Date published: 2009-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very good cake, moist and a wonderful flavor. This is a very good cake, moist and a wonderful flavor. I normally don't like nuts that much but they were wonderful in this cake. The only addition I made was to add a little cinnamon to the powder sugar topping. Will make again and again. Hubby loves it and has almost ate the whole cake by himself!
Date published: 2009-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fabulous cake! A fabulous cake! I had to leave the pecans out (family nut allergy), but I don't think the taste suffered a bit. I did the sugar/cinnamon sprinkle as recommended and made a sour cream glaze to top it. My husband, who claims he doesn't like yellow cake, has eaten almost half of it already!
Date published: 2009-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully moist inside, crisp-like crust! Wonderfully moist inside, crisp-like crust! Omitted the nuts and substituted chocolate chips. Also used a French Vanilla pudding because that is what I had on hand. An all-around delicious cake for breakfast or dessert. My husband couldn't get over just how moist it was. A keeper!
Date published: 2009-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for our family Thanksgiving and it was the most delicious pound cake I have ever made. Made this for our family Thanksgiving and it was the most delicious pound cake I have ever made. I have made quite a few from scratch and this was easier and tastier. Absolutely the best, even without the nuts due to aleriges in my family. Wonderful recipe "thank you very much."
Date published: 2009-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I normally don't use mixes,so had to send my daughters to the market for them. I normally don't use mixes,so had to send my daughters to the market for them. OMG!!! They said they would have walked a hundred miles for the ingredients!!! Loved,loved, loved this cake.And definitely use the cinnamon sugar for the cakepan, well worth the effort. It's a KEEPER!!
Date published: 2009-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I first found this recipe about 2 months ago and since I've made it about 10 times or more. I first found this recipe about 2 months ago and since I've made it about 10 times or more. I have made several of them for church gatherings and numerous ones for home. There is never any left and it is one of my husbands favorites. Very good, very easy and very inexpensive.
Date published: 2009-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thought I rated this cake, but it doens't seem to appear anywhere. I thought I rated this cake, but it doens't seem to appear anywhere. Well, I baked it and it was a hit. I am baking it for xmas. It taste great with my almond milk. Mine turn out shorter than the picture. I think it is my little bundt pan. Perhaps I need to find a taller pan.
Date published: 2009-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good moist cake. Very good moist cake. Easy to make. I made this for a church dinner. I used the sugar/cinnamon tip before adding the batter to the bundt pan. Everyone really liked it. Gave out several recipes, even my 13 year old niece wanted the recipe so she could make it again that day.
Date published: 2009-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Usually my son refuses to eat any cake if it's not some form of chocolate! Usually my son refuses to eat any cake if it's not some form of chocolate! He finally tried a piece of this and it is his new favorite. I couldn't believe it. This cake is absolutely delicious! So moist and yummy. The brown sugar adds a nice little "crunch" around the edges.
Date published: 2009-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My son and my grandkids all loved it. My son and my grandkids all loved it. My husband,brother in law and sister in law and myself loved it too. It was very easy to make and looked beautiful. Very moist and the cinnamon and sugar sprinkled on outside was pretty plus enough sweetness you didn't need any icing.
Date published: 2009-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent pound cake. Excellent pound cake. I too lightened it up but used nutmeg instead of the cinnamon for a different take on it. I toasted the pound cake slices the next day and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream dusted with nugmeg and a few chopped pecans for garnish. Excellent
Date published: 2009-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this cake for work twice and everyone loves it. I've made this cake for work twice and everyone loves it. Several people asked for the recipe. It is very moist and holds together well. I leave out the nuts. I have also made it using the Splenda blend cake mix and sugar free instant pudding. It is still delicious.
Date published: 2009-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was so yummy! This cake was so yummy! I promise I'll make it again. I omitted the nuts, it would totally ruin the melt-in-your mouth yum deliciousness. I also sprinkled the cinnamon and sugar in the greased pan. What's a few more calories? It was so GOOD! Non-Nut Lover of Food
Date published: 2009-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I make this recipe all the time and everyone loves it! I make this recipe all the time and everyone loves it!! Sometimes I use white cake mix just to change it up a bit.. I do not add the nuts.. It is a very moist cake.. Dusting the bundt pan with the sugar/cinnamon mix is a great touch.. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I broke my cardinal cooking rule of never trying out new recipes on holidays BUT this looked so... I broke my cardinal cooking rule of never trying out new recipes on holidays BUT this looked so delish I made it for my boyfriend's family Labor Day get together. The cake was super easy to make and totally wondeful to eat. No leftovers, lots of recipe requests !!!!
Date published: 2009-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake was very good and very easy to make. This cake was very good and very easy to make. I used light brown sugar since that was what I had on hand so the cake was of course lighter in color than the picture. I'll be making it again for a family function and will use dark brown sugar. This one is a winner!
Date published: 2009-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Since I found this recipe I make it several times during the fall and winter (no baking in the... Since I found this recipe I make it several times during the fall and winter (no baking in the summer.) Instead of nuts, I add a cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and also coat the pan with the cinnamon and sugar mixture. A favorite with family and friends.
Date published: 2013-09-25
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_219
  • loc_en_US, sid_114122, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

561841:114122

>