Gram's Chicken Pot Pie Updated - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Gram's Chicken Pot Pie Updated

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
45
min.
Servings

6 servings

Make a chicken pot pie that's as delicious as Grandma's! Luckily our Gram's Chicken Pot Pie Updated recipe is much easier to put together and just as tasty.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Cook and stir chicken in dressing in large skillet on medium heat 5 min. or until done. Stir in vegetables and soup. Spoon into 9-inch square baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; top with VELVEETA.
  • Unfold pastry sheet; place over chicken mixture. Fold under edges of pastry; press onto top of baking dish to seal. Brush with egg. Cut several slits in pastry to permit steam to escape. Place dish on baking sheet.
  • Bake 30 min. or until crust is deep golden brown. Let stand 5 min. before serving.

Healthy Living

Save 30 calories and 5g of fat, including 3g of sat fat, per serving by preparing with KRAFT Lite Zesty Italian Dressing, fat-free reduced-sodium condensed cream of chicken soup and 2% Milk VELVEETA.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a mixed green salad tossed with apple slices.

How to Thaw the Frozen Puff Pastry Sheet

Remove pastry sheet from freezer; cover with plastic wrap. Thaw at room temperature 30 min., or in refrigerator 4 hours. Thawed wrapped pastry sheets can be stored up to 2 days in refrigerator.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 460
Total fat 26g
Saturated fat 8g
Cholesterol 90mg
Sodium 820mg
Carbohydrate 30g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 4g
Protein 25g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 20 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have not made it yet, but I'm definitely going to. I have not made it yet, but I'm definitely going to. After reading all the reviews, I will probably make a few small changes, more than likely a few additions. I don't like crust made out of anything but I have been looking for a recipe to serve over rice or noodles that is good and tasty. This sounds like the one. It also sounds good the way the person made it who said they put mashed potatoes on top and browned them. I can't wait to try it one of these 3 ways.
Date published: 2010-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was never a pot-pie lover, until this recipe. I was never a pot-pie lover, until this recipe. I increased the dressing to 3 tbspns as I added crushed fresh garlic, chopped onions, mushrooms and refrigerated diced potatoes when cooking the chicken.I also increased the soup to 1-1/2 cans and used Kraft 2% shredded cheese rather than the velveeta. One note, ensure EVERYTHING is heated thru (about 5mins) and cheese melts before turning into the casserole dish. It basically pre-cooks the frozen veggies.
Date published: 2008-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! The only thing I did differently was use 1/4 cup of the dressing since 2 TB didn't seem like enough. Once the chicken was cooked, I added the other ingredients and cooked on the stove until it was all melty, hot and bubbly. I immediately put the super-hot chicken mixture into my pan, then covered with the puff pastry. I think the fact that I kept the filling so hot kept the pastry from being "doughy". Excellent dish!
Date published: 2008-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I LOVE this recipe, especially on a cold fall/winter day! My husband and I LOVE this recipe, especially on a cold fall/winter day! It's very rich and comforting. The crust is nice and flaky, the filling creamy and warm, and with the frozen veggies and canned soup, it comes together in a snap! We both agree it needs a bottom crust in addition to the top to make a better filling-to-crust ratio, and I add a bit more Velveeta than it calls for. This is definitely one of my go-to recipes!
Date published: 2011-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this over and over after seeing it on the cover a few months ago. I have made this over and over after seeing it on the cover a few months ago. My husband loves it and is never disappointed when he comes home to work for this meal. I have given this receipe to many friends. Love it and hope to find more that I love as much as this one. An added bonus from this receipe is that now I always cook my chicken as directed by the receipe to add to salads. Always tender and delicious. Cathy
Date published: 2009-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I did make this recipe however I thought the flavor was not good enough for me. I did make this recipe however I thought the flavor was not good enough for me. Next time I will add a little more dressing for the chicken, a can and half of the soup. Also maybe a little more cheese (6oz). My chicken tasted a little dry so I may soak in buttermilk the next time around. The family has not tasted yet so I may the worst critic. I love the puffed pastry idea - this was one less step of making pie crust.
Date published: 2008-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was very easy to make and tasted delicious. This recipe was very easy to make and tasted delicious. We will definitely make it again. However, we eliminated the puff pastry since the pepridge farm brand I brought home had TRANS FATS in it. Had I seen that at the store I would never bought it. I substituted a ready made pie crust for the top and was pleased. Thanks for a great recipe! I have shared it with my sister and daughter.
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so yummy! This was so yummy!! I used pepridge farms pastry puff for the crust. My whole family loves this, I also use the steamfresh veggies, and cook them in the microwave before adding them. My husband doesn't like anything crunchy, so I wanted to make sure the veggies were done. I thought this would be strange due to the velvetta cheese, but it was so great! I will be making this a lot!
Date published: 2008-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious. This was delicious. I used turkey that I had already roasted. Just put the dressing on it to marinate for a few minutes while I prepared the rest. I would use Cheddar Cheese soup next time instead of the Cream of Chicken and Velveeta. I have a similar recipe that uses it. I didn't have puff pastry, but think it would have been better than the pie crust I used, although it was good.
Date published: 2008-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe, but took the suggestions by others to: 1) Don't use Velveeta- use Cheddar... I love this recipe, but took the suggestions by others to: 1) Don't use Velveeta- use Cheddar Cheese Soup-I spread it on top of the chicken and veggie and cream of chicken soup mixture. 2) Use Pillsbury Recipe Creations Crescent Roll Topping- Great crust and much better tthan phyllo dough Makes the recipe much easier and yummy- give out this recipe all the time. Thanks Kraft!
Date published: 2009-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy recipe and even my picky husband gave it a "thumbs up". Very easy recipe and even my picky husband gave it a "thumbs up". I used peas and carrots instead of mixed vegetables, and added diced left-over potatoes. I used a rolled out pie crust instead of the puff pastry. The ONLY thing I would do differently is to substitute low sodium soup instead of regular, was too salty for my taste. I would definitely make this again and again!
Date published: 2008-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I marinated the chicken in Italian dressing overnight; drained the chicken and added a little... I marinated the chicken in Italian dressing overnight; drained the chicken and added a little dressing to pan for cooking; drained off excess after cooking.I used peas & carrots instead of mixed vegetables. Next time will use my own pie crust on top vs. the puff pastry. My boyfriend who is not a chicken fan liked it and suggested the pie crust vs. puff pastry.
Date published: 2008-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious!! Unlike some others, I didn't think it was too cheesy. Only complaint was I thought the puff pastry was hard to work with because it was thin and kept breaking when I tried unrolling it then placing on top of the dish-- it didn't cover the top very neatly however it didn't mess up the dish at all. Might try crescents as others have suggested.
Date published: 2009-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go to pot pie. Go to pot pie. I use a little melted butter to brush crust instead of egg and it comes out great. Also good with*****rust. Found this out when I got half way through process and realized I didn't have any puff pastry. So if short on time, you can just cook it on the stove top without lighting oven. Handy in the summer. Everyone liked it anyway.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would def cut back on the cheese, it was very rich. I would def cut back on the cheese, it was very rich. I wasn't impressed with the puff pastry shell, seemed hard to cut through, although the very top of it seemed flaky and brown. It looked pretty. I think next time I'll use the crescent rolls that someone else said they used. Even my picky stepdaughter ate it all. A definite repeat dish!!!
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was a little bit weirded out by the thought of Velveeta cheese in chicken pot pie.. I was a little bit weirded out by the thought of Velveeta cheese in chicken pot pie.. But it had such great reviews, I decided to try it. This is an awesome recipe - I was told it's the best CPP I've ever made - and I usually make it from scratch! What a time saver. Next time I'm doubling the recipe - we didn't have any leftovers!
Date published: 2009-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very good. This was very good. I think next time I would add some roasted red peppers. I also think the idea of the potatoes is great. Also, do remember to THAW the pastry because I forgot so I think it got a little too soggy on the bottom because it wasn't thawed all the way. It was still great but a crunchier crust would have been better!
Date published: 2008-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband & I loved this recipe. My husband & I loved this recipe. I altered just a few things by using shredded cheddar cheese in place of the Velveet & used a frozen pizza crust instead of the pastry. It was delicious. My husband who isn't normally a fan of chicken pot pie asked me to make this for dinner the very night after we first had it. Definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2009-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has been a fantastic addition to our family dinners. This has been a fantastic addition to our family dinners. I even modified this recipe to create a home-made version of one of our favorite frozen dinners. To make a great cheesy chicken and vegetable bake, I added rice to the chicken/veggie/soup mix and substituted a cracker crust for the puff pastry. Two recipes in one!
Date published: 2008-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I LOVE THIS RECIPE! My family & I could eat this dish every night of the week. It is sooo delicious and sooo easy! We used the extra pastry puff to line the bottom of the dish and it was really good, we do recommend not using the baking sheet and letting it bake an extra 5-10 minutes if you use the extra pastry puff.
Date published: 2008-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is easy to make. This is easy to make. I did make a change to it as I used EVOO to cook the chicken instead of the dressing. I also used canned diced potatoes in it to give it more texture. Where I couldn't find the pastry for this, I used pie crust for the top. Husband put this on his "A" list. I will make this one again.
Date published: 2008-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was awesome & so easy to make! This recipe was awesome & so easy to make!! I plan to make it again, again & again!! My two kids are picky with veggies & they ate all the veggies in this pot pie. I have found another way for them to eat their veggies!! Thanks, Kraft! Instead of puff pastry, I used cresent rolls. Still very yummy!! :-)
Date published: 2009-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe several times and the recipe is always requested. I have made this recipe several times and the recipe is always requested. It is a great dish to pass.I change up veggies depending on who is eating.Sauteed mushrooms are a good adult addition. Smoked frozen vegetables are good. The Velveeta,of which I add a tad more, and puff pastry make it outstanding.
Date published: 2010-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a keeper. It's a keeper. I used shredded cheddar cheese instead of velveta. I also used dried parsley instead of fresh and onion powder instead of green onions. Next time I will add another can of cream of chicken soup because I like more gravy. I also used a refrigerated pie crust. Very good pot pie recipe!
Date published: 2011-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from we absolutely love this recipe-it has become a "go to" in our house...i sometimes add a bit more... we absolutely love this recipe-it has become a "go to" in our house...i sometimes add a bit more italian dressing and a bit more velveeta because i love it cheesy and the tast of italian! i also love the fact you can swith it up a bit with what frozen veggies you add! you can't go wrong with this one!
Date published: 2008-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Loved it! It was so easy to make. I made it for my parents and my dad loved it so much my mom is making it again this week for him. My puff pastry contained 2 pastries in it and next time I am going to put one on the bottom of the dish and one on the top to see if this would make it even better.
Date published: 2008-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe! I love this recipe! This chicken pie is so easy to make a VERY delicious! I would recommend this to anyone. The puff pastry topping makes it so much easier to make and adds such a wonderful flavor. I use 2% milk velveeta cheese to cut down on the calories and you can't even taste a difference.
Date published: 2008-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have to tell you, this has become one of my faves! I have to tell you, this has become one of my faves! It is so tasty, creamy, cheesy, ooey gooey goodness! I omit the frozen mixed veggies as hubby and children don't like them and just throw in a can of peas or even shelled edemame. But yes, definitely try this one, you'll love it!! Yum!
Date published: 2010-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My brother-in-law ate more than half the casserole,and my husband was mad because there was no... My brother-in-law ate more than half the casserole,and my husband was mad because there was no left-overs. Overall everyone liked the dish, however I did add a little onion. I think you could make several variations, different veggies or even add bacon, chicken or ?? for a complete meal.
Date published: 2007-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I omitted the VELVEETA and used a boxed pie crust mix . I omitted the VELVEETA and used a boxed pie crust mix . I added 7 minutes on to the amount of time specified to bake the pie (37 minutes total bake time). I seasoned the mixture with some onion, basil, and garlic. The taste was outstanding and everyone including me went back for more !
Date published: 2009-02-07
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_51, tr_295
  • loc_en_US, sid_108692, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

558449:108692

>