Grandma's Pound Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Grandma's Pound Cake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

12 servings

The PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese adds flavor and texture to this old fashioned dessert!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Mix flour and baking powder; set aside. Beat cream cheese, butter, sugar and vanilla in large bowl with mixer until blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each until blended. Gradually beat in flour mixture on low speed until blended.
  • Pour into 12-cup fluted tube or 10-inch tube pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Bake 1 hour or until toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 min. Loosen cake from sides of pan with knife. Invert cake onto wire rack; gently remove pan. Cool cake completely.

Size-Wise

This indulgent special-occasion cake is a perfect dessert to serve at your next party. One cake makes enough for 12 servings.

Special Extra

Serve the pound cake with fresh berries (strawberries, raspberries or blueberries); top with a dollop of thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping or your favorite ice cream.

Servings

  • 12 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 12 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 440
Total fat 24g
Saturated fat 14g
Cholesterol 160mg
Sodium 360mg
Carbohydrate 50g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 33g
Protein 7g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had all the ingredients on hand (which is odd! I had all the ingredients on hand (which is odd!) so I made this cake. WOW my family loved it! I have since made it 3 more times and plan on this cake for a party with my friends! Thank you for a cake that is simple and very rich in flavor. I love having the ingredients in my cabient and not having to wait to make things!
Date published: 2007-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe yesterday but I'm not totally happy with the outcome. I made this recipe yesterday but I'm not totally happy with the outcome. I've had this before (baked by someone) and it was great. I tried it yesterday but it did not come out that good but it did not look and taste the same. What did I do wrong? I know I followed the directions. I will definitely try it again.
Date published: 2007-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My Mom was looking forward to making this recipe with her new Kitchen Aid. My Mom was looking forward to making this recipe with her new Kitchen Aid. However, it came out terrible. It was dense and flat. Why did this happen ? The middle of the cake was raw. She tried to re-cook it , but it was worse. I have to add that my Mom is an excellent cook. I thought there was an error with the recipe. I see that there are excellent reviews for this Pound Cake. We know that we will not keep this in our recipe file. Next recipe we'll try is the Pull-Apart Maple Sticky Buns Cake. Yummy......I hope .
Date published: 2007-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ALTHOUGH THIS CAKE TASTED VERY NICE, WAS QUICK & EASY TO PREP, & CAME OUT WELL IN MY BUNDT PAN, IT... ALTHOUGH THIS CAKE TASTED VERY NICE, WAS QUICK & EASY TO PREP, & CAME OUT WELL IN MY BUNDT PAN, IT DID NOT HAVE THE DENSITY OF MOST POUND CAKE I'VE HAD IN THE PAST. TO ME, POUND CAKE SHOULD NOT NEED ANY ACCOUTRAMENTS ADDED TO IT, SUCH AS FRUIT, ICING, WHIPPED CREAM..........IT SHOULD STAND ON IT'S OWN. SO WITH THAT IN MIND, I GAVE 4 STARS. I WILL PROBABLY MAKE IT IN THE FUTURE FOR SHORT CAKE, BUT ON IT'S OWN, I'LL TRY SOMEONE ELSE'S RECIPE.
Date published: 2007-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would and have made this recipe again and again. I would and have made this recipe again and again. It has a very good homemade flavor. My aunt has made a cake simular to this for years. I have asked several times for the recipe, to no avail. So when I found this one, I figured 'What the heck, give it a whirl'. It is awesome. Be careful not to over bake, it will dry out fast. And be sure to use a large tube pan, it makes alot of batter. What a great flavor. YUMMO...
Date published: 2008-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved this cake! My family loved this cake! I have been married almost ten years and my husband said this is my best pound cake ever! I gave some to a friend who said it was very moist and one of my daughter's teacher's who wants me to make another one. We have about two more slices left and there are three of us in my family somebody is going to be upset :)
Date published: 2007-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for a special dinner with several dieters attending. I made this for a special dinner with several dieters attending. It is so light tasting and not sugary sweet------served with a good coffee, it was perfect. The group was very happy with the delicious taste. Several requests for the recipe. I will definitely make it again & again. thanks for sharing the recipe!
Date published: 2007-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake with 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it was good. I made this cake with 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it was good. I did find that mine baked in about 35-40 minutes (I checked it at 40 minutes and it was probably done a few minutes before that). I used a dark pan and those tend to bake faster. It was very moist and rich. I would make this again.
Date published: 2007-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this is the best its my first time making a cake from scrach without using a cake mix i love it, and... this is the best its my first time making a cake from scrach without using a cake mix i love it, and its very easy to make. it was a little sweet on the outside but its was delicuos next time im going to try it with pinaaple juice and then lemon and it wasnt dry for whoever it said it was.
Date published: 2007-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made old fashioned pound cakes for years. I have made old fashioned pound cakes for years. Most of them came out so dry that you had to add berry juice when you used it for strawberry shortcake. My husband says this is the best pound cake he's ever tasted! I am making it as a request from a friend at work for Father's day.
Date published: 2009-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was a very light pound cake. This cake was a very light pound cake. My friend is a pastry chef and she loved it!!! It even tasted better the next day. I certainly would make it again. It traveled well and I just added a light glaze for sweetness, however, it stands alone as a all time family favorite...
Date published: 2010-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best pound cake I've ever made, bar none! This is the best pound cake I've ever made, bar none! My whole family agreed that the taste and texture is wonderful. I make it exactly as the recipe called for but will try lemon extract on my next bake. I even bought a beautiful new Nordic Ware Bundt pan just for this cake!
Date published: 2007-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i just took the cake out of the oven. i just took the cake out of the oven. it smells delicious and tastes great. i added a couple drops of butter flavoring as well as 1/4 cup of buttermilk. i havent had success with any other pound cakes so i was a bit nervous. however, this cake has exceeded my expectations.
Date published: 2007-04-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This definetly was not "MY" Grandma's pound cake. This definetly was not "MY" Grandma's pound cake. Although, this cake was very moist, it did not have as good as good a taste as the other made from scratch pound cakes I have made. None of the people that ate this cake thought it was as good as the ones I usually make.
Date published: 2007-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just had my first piece and it was just DELICIOUS. Just had my first piece and it was just DELICIOUS. It was soooooo moist. All I did was sift on some powdered sugar. Only because I am a big vanilla lover, I may add an extra teaspoon next time. Thank you sooo much for this recipe!!! I will make this again for sure!
Date published: 2007-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my sister's birthday (10 women went out for dinner) and it was a hit. I made this for my sister's birthday (10 women went out for dinner) and it was a hit. Very moist and flavorful. I added one teaspoon of almond extract along with the vanilla. I made a raspberry and strawberry puree/syrup and fresh whipped cream to serve with it.
Date published: 2007-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i've always tried to make a pound cake but messed up bad in the past, but when i found this one it... i've always tried to make a pound cake but messed up bad in the past, but when i found this one it is a real winner, my husband complimented me on this one, he loved it !!!!, i had to make another it was eaten by family quicker than the first one, thanks !!!!
Date published: 2006-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is very simple and easy to follow. This recipe is very simple and easy to follow. It is great for a last minute, quick dessert when you don't have the time to go out and buy extra ingredients. Most of the ingredients are already in most household's kitchens. Thanks a bunch, kraftfoods.com!
Date published: 2006-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe! This Grandma's Pound Cake is just delicious. I have made it about 7 times for friends and holidays over last couple years. Everyone loves it! It is great with strawberries and whip cream or just by itself on a rainy day!
Date published: 2007-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OH MY GOODNESS! OH MY GOODNESS!! This was such a pleasant surprise! The cake came out so moist and so good. My husband finished the cake in two days!!!!! I am about to make another one so family and friuends can enjoy it for Christmas! Please try this recipe.
Date published: 2006-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I saw this recipe and went right out and bought a fluted pan and some cream cheese and made the cake... I saw this recipe and went right out and bought a fluted pan and some cream cheese and made the cake right away. It was so moist and delicious that it was worth the trouble! I served it with fresh Florida strawberries and we all loved it.
Date published: 2007-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe in 2 - 9 inch round pans. I made this recipe in 2 - 9 inch round pans. I sliced and stacked to make 4 layers. Each layer had fresh sliced strawberries, a little bit of strawberry jam, and my butter cream icing. The entire cake was gone in no time! Thank You!
Date published: 2007-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very cold glass of milk and a slice of this cake, a wonderfully delicious dessert. A very cold glass of milk and a slice of this cake, a wonderfully delicious dessert. I used only 5 eggs instead of 6 since I used extra large eggs. It was perfect. Great with a cup of coffee also. I will make this recipe again.
Date published: 2007-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've never made pound cake before, and this turned out amazing. I've never made pound cake before, and this turned out amazing. I do wish I had looked at the nutritional facts before I indulged. I didn't have regular cream cheese though, so I used neufchatel cheese, and it still came out great.
Date published: 2007-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a delicious "old-fashioned" pound cake recipe. This was a delicious "old-fashioned" pound cake recipe. It rises up very nicely in the pan and is great with berries or peaches with whipped cream, or just plain with a cup of coffee or tea. This is one of my new favorites.
Date published: 2009-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very good pound cake. A very good pound cake. I was looking for a recipe like Mom's and it is very close. I have made it 3 times for family gatherings. The recipe is easy to follow and the cake bakes up evenly every time. This is a keeper.
Date published: 2007-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The picture looks very good, so I tried the receipe, but it didn't turn out like the one in the... The picture looks very good, so I tried the receipe, but it didn't turn out like the one in the picture. I think, I didn't get it right. It is rather an unual receipe for the cheese to added to a butter cake. Thanks.
Date published: 2007-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was super moist and delicious. This cake was super moist and delicious. Best pound cake I have ever made. I topped it off with strawberry preserves and a dallop of Cool Whip. I served it at my weekly girl get- together and everyone loved it. Thanks
Date published: 2007-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an absolute staple in my "I'm bringing dessert" lineup. This is an absolute staple in my "I'm bringing dessert" lineup. It is so easy to dump everything in the mixer, pour into pan and voila...instant yum! It's even great for breakfast with coffee (don't tell anyone)!!
Date published: 2008-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added more butter and I used Swan's Down Cake Flour, my mom swears by it because my great... I added more butter and I used Swan's Down Cake Flour, my mom swears by it because my great grandmother used it. It made this cake turn out wonderful, it was a really big hit with my family and it was gone in a day!
Date published: 2007-07-16
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_154
  • loc_en_US, sid_104511, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

556546:104511

>