Greek-Style Lemon Roast Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Greek-Style Lemon Roast Chicken

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
55
min.
Servings

8 servings

Inspired by Greek island fare, this juicy, showstopping roast chicken features the bright flavor of fresh lemon. Check out the tip for getting the most juice from yours.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Place chicken in 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Squeeze juice from lemon halves into small bowl; place squeezed halves in chicken cavity. Add dressing to lemon juice; mix well. Drizzle over chicken.
  • Bake 1-1/2 to 1-3/4 hours or until chicken is done (165°F), basting occasionally with pan juices.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with a mixed green salad.

Gluten Aware

This recipe is made with ingredients that contain no labeled sources of gluten. However, if your personal dietary goal is to strictly avoid gluten, be vigilant. Always read ingredient statements on food labels for the most current and accurate information for every recipe ingredient. And when working in the kitchen, use gluten-free preparation methods and utensils. For individualized advice, check with a certified health professional or credible source. Click here for more information.

Variation

Prepare using 4 large boneless skinless chicken breasts (2 lb.). Cut each breast crosswise in half; place in shallow baking dish. Prepare dressing mixture as directed; drizzle over chicken. Discard squeezed lemon halves. Bake chicken 45 to 55 min. or until done (165°F), turning occasionally. Makes 8 servings.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 270
Total fat 18g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 210mg
Carbohydrate 2g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 1g
Protein 25g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 15 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from I used leg quarters instead of a whole chicken since that is what I had on hand. I used leg quarters instead of a whole chicken since that is what I had on hand. I sliced up the lemon and placed it in the pan with the chicken to bake. It was rather plain. Needed some extra salt -- and I'm not big on salt! Something else is needed to make it more tastey -- just not sure what.
Date published: 2005-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a easy recipe. This was a easy recipe. Marinated in fridge for a few hours before cooking. Added a little bit of water to the pan when cooking. When cooked I carved chicken and had the pieces marinate in the drippping for extra flavor. Hubby enjoyed and my picky children had second helpings.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a easy recipe to cook but I thought it lacked flavor. This was a easy recipe to cook but I thought it lacked flavor. It was very juicy and moist. I marinated this in the dressing for five hours and followed the cooking instructions but it still didn't have much flavor in the meat only the skin. Don't think I'll fix this again.
Date published: 2006-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe at home and then I made it for an international dinner fund raiser at our... I made this recipe at home and then I made it for an international dinner fund raiser at our church. It was a big hit. The recipe even appeared in our newspaper with my picture and helped sell tickets for raising funds to help the kids at CCCS in Heber Springs, Arkansas.
Date published: 2007-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for many family functions, I get more requests for this than anything else. I have made this for many family functions, I get more requests for this than anything else. I told them where to get the recipe, but they think I am some kind of roasted chicken goddess! I get calls all the time from people to ask for this recipe...as easy as it is!
Date published: 2008-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was very juicy and flavorful! It was very juicy and flavorful! I was surprised how easy it was to fix and bake. I have recommended this recipe to my daughter-in-law and a friend. And will definitely make it again very soon!! I really like the tips and substitutes at the end of each recipe.
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used an oven stuffer, the meat was extremely tender! I used an oven stuffer, the meat was extremely tender! My guests were astounded. I served it with a simple salad made with romaine, chopped tomateos, cucumbers, and gorgonzola cheese, with a Balsamic Vinegarette dressing. Garlic breadsticks rounded out the meal.
Date published: 2005-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm making this recipe for the second time tonight. I'm making this recipe for the second time tonight. The skin is very flavorful, and the chicken is moist. Last time I sliced some potatoes and roasted them along with the chicken, and my husband loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Date published: 2006-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS! DELICIOUS! Even though it's simple, it's so delicious. LOVE the hint of lemon - it really adds something. I threw a few tosses of rosemary on top for the last half hour, but it didn't even need it. I will definitely make this again!!
Date published: 2009-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We used the same marinade, but tried chicken breasts instead. We used the same marinade, but tried chicken breasts instead. We cooked it with lemon slices on top, and when we were ready to serve...a little crumbled feta really made the difference. Absolutely delicious and our guests loved it!
Date published: 2009-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a very easy and delicious recipe. This was a very easy and delicious recipe. The skin tasted fabulous, and the lemon really added a bit of zip. This is definitely my new "go to" recipe for roast chicken. Can't wait to try it with regular chicken breasts. YUMMY!
Date published: 2006-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This chicken is absolutely fabulous! This chicken is absolutely fabulous! The first time I made this I prepared it as directed in the recipe. The second time I added a half an onion and fresh rosemary to the cavity with the lemon. Great, easy roasted chicken.
Date published: 2006-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It smelled absolutely divine while cooking but the greek dressing flavor didn't impart to the meat... It smelled absolutely divine while cooking but the greek dressing flavor didn't impart to the meat as I had hoped. Next time, I plan to marinate the chicken prior to cooking to get more of that fabulous flavor in the meat.
Date published: 2006-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is AWESOME! This is AWESOME!!You have to try it. It is delicious. And so easy to make. My family loved it. I love this website. Easy to get on here and get the recipe and cook. Thanks Kraft for making life a little easier! God Bless.
Date published: 2009-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! Made it for a friend's dinner and everyone loved it! I marinated it overnight which added extra flavor and I added an extra 1/4 cup of dressing mixture about an hour into cooking. Very moist and delicious!!
Date published: 2010-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a good light recipe. This was a good light recipe. I actually used chicken breasts and it still tasted good. You do have to add a little more dressing to it because the breasts don't soak it up as much as the whole chicken, but it is good.
Date published: 2008-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really good baked chicken recipe. A really good baked chicken recipe. Lemony & moist! I also stuffed the chicken with more lemon wedges. And covered it with foil because it took twice as long to bake as the recipe called for (I live at 7,500 feet).
Date published: 2007-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great recip, wiil make again. Great recip, wiil make again. But did think that it was too much lemon first time out. But after cutting back on lemon a little. I found it to be great. thank you much for my added cooking and eating delight :_)
Date published: 2006-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe- it was easy and the lemon was perfect with it! I love this recipe- it was easy and the lemon was perfect with it! Putting the lemons inside after squeezing them over the top made it even juicier. I also tried this on the grill, but I thought it was too dry.
Date published: 2006-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe have made this more then once and going to make it again for tonites... This is a great recipe have made this more then once and going to make it again for tonites dinner. I made it on the grill also but I cut the whole chicken in half and placed lemon slices under the chicken.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was so easy and the flavors were amazing! This recipe was so easy and the flavors were amazing! The chicken is very moist and tender and the aroma is wonderful while it is cooking. I would defenitely recommend trying this, absolutely delicious!!
Date published: 2005-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i loved it my fam loved it my husband loved it the taste was so soft and tender and also very quick... i loved it my fam loved it my husband loved it the taste was so soft and tender and also very quick to make and the aroma that it left in my kicthen was heavenley. i feel every one should try this recipe.
Date published: 2005-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS WAS SO EASY. THIS WAS SO EASY. I MADE STOVE TOP STUFFING WITH IT AND OPENED A CAN OF CRANBERRY SAUCE. IT TOOK A LITTLE LONGER TO ROAST THEN I THOUGHT, BUT IT WAS WORTH THE WAIT. I WILL DEFINITLY MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Date published: 2006-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband who is a chef and he loved it. I made this for my husband who is a chef and he loved it. Then I made it for my mom and dad who are very plain eaters and they loved it. It is very versatile and a good alternative to chicken breast.
Date published: 2006-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great way to make chicken. This was a great way to make chicken. The taste was great. The chicken was moist we even had some for leftovers and the chicken was still moist. The taste was wonderful. I will make this again.
Date published: 2007-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is really good. This recipe is really good. The first time I made it my mother (who is such a picky eater) ate and loved it. Any time I can get her approval on a meal is confirmation that it's really good.
Date published: 2006-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was such a hit with my family - I have even done it with a turkey breast instead of a chicken. This was such a hit with my family - I have even done it with a turkey breast instead of a chicken. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wants an easy to prepare yet delicious dinner.
Date published: 2006-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I grew up next door to a Greek family, and when I saw this receipe, I knew that I had to try it. I grew up next door to a Greek family, and when I saw this receipe, I knew that I had to try it. It brought back lots of memories. The lemons make the meat extremely moist. Thank you.
Date published: 2006-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love the original! I love the original! but I also made it again with italian dressing instead of greek and added a srpig of rosemary, thyme, and sage inside with the squeezed lemon to add some aromatics.
Date published: 2011-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a very good recipe and I will be making this again. This is a very good recipe and I will be making this again. And I have never been big on chicken. I forgot the fresh lemon and I used lemon juice instead. It still was very good.
Date published: 2005-03-31
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_41, tr_152
  • loc_en_US, sid_63162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

508541:63162

>