Ham & Cheddar in a Loaf - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Ham & Cheddar in a Loaf

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
5
min.
Servings

8 servings

Impress the kids by baking ham and melty cheese inside bread dough for a warm, delicious sandwich that clearly conveys your awesomeness as a mom.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Flatten dough on lightly floured surface. Roll into 12x8-inch rectangle with rolling pin. Top with ham to within 1/2 inch of edges. Mix cheddar and dressing; spread over ham.
  • Moisten edges of dough with water. Fold lengthwise into thirds; pinch seams together to seal. Place, seam side down, on baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Cut several slits in top. Brush with egg; sprinkle with Parmesan.
  • Bake 35 to 40 min. or until golden brown. Cool 10 min. before slicing.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Healthy Living

Cut 30 calories and 4 grams of fat per serving by preparing with KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Cheddar Cheese and MIRACLE WHIP Light Dressing.

Substitute

Prepare using frozen pizza dough.

Variations

Omit Parmesan Cheese. Prepare as directed, using one of the following flavor options: Tex-Mex: Use OSCAR MAYER Deli Fresh Smoked Turkey Breast and substitute TACO BELL® Thick & Chunky Salsa for the dressing. Pizza: Substitute 16 slices OSCAR MAYER Pepperoni for the ham, KRAFT Shredded Mozzarella Cheese for the Cheddar cheese and 1/3 cup pizza sauce for the 1/4 cup dressing. Veggie Lover's: Use OSCAR MAYER Deli Fresh Smoked Turkey Breast, substitute PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese Spread for the dressing and add 1/2 cup shredded carrots to the filling.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 280
Total fat 11g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 55mg
Sodium 870mg
Carbohydrate 33g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 6g
Protein 15g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 4 %DV
Vitamin C 10 %DV
Calcium 15 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family of 5 enjoyed this. My family of 5 enjoyed this. I have three small children, and they all ate this well too. I actually made this, baked for approximately 10 minutes, let it cool, wrapped in foil and froze. When ready to serve, I thawed it in refrigerator, and continued baking for maybe 40 minutes. I had to check and make sure it was not doughy in the center.
Date published: 2006-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made 4 of these for Super Bowl Sunday. I made 4 of these for Super Bowl Sunday. Ham & Baby Swiss / Philly / Turkey Bacon Club / and Italian Style as the main dish to our potluck feast. All were a huge success! Everyone kept asking what restaurant I bought them from! I offered a side tray of lettuce, onions, and tomatoes for fans to fix a slice (or two or three) how they wanted.
Date published: 2006-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & very good. Easy & very good. I used store bought rosemary frocaccia dough instead of frozen bread dough. I also added about 1 Tbsp of Dijon mustard, which I spread over the ham before putting the cheese mixture on. I made this when my daughters had several friends over. Everyone liked it, including the adults, teenagers, and the younger kids.
Date published: 2009-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is very easy and so good! This is very easy and so good!! My own "Pizza Version" is: take 2 Italian sausage links out of their casings and brown like you would ground beef. Drain. Mix in about 1/2 cup pizza sauce and other toppings, we like mushrooms and sliced black olives. Sprinkle the filling with mozzarella before sealing up the dough. It's yummy!
Date published: 2006-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is an easy to make version of a calzone! This is an easy to make version of a calzone! I made my own dough because I found it cheaper than purchasing some. My family liked both the ham and the pizza version - though I think that some canned diced tomatoes in the ham and cheddar loaf would be very tasty. I also added some garlic powder to the egg wash. Good stuff!
Date published: 2008-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think I would rather just have the ham and cheese. I think I would rather just have the ham and cheese. Keep it simple, I think that the mayo made the cheese take on a funny texture, it became kind of oily. I would leave the mayo out and if you really want to put mayo with it do it when you are going to eat it. This recipe was quick and easy, I will definitly make it again.
Date published: 2006-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very easy and delicious. This was very easy and delicious. Actually, my husband was the one who ended up putting it together. He accidentally used sharp cheddar, but it was great (probably either way). We may leave the Miracle Whip off next time (our kid's request) and just let everyone pick their own condiment when it is done.
Date published: 2008-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 10 year-old son made this for the 4-H Food Show this December. My 10 year-old son made this for the 4-H Food Show this December. He took it to Foods and Nutrition meeting and all the kids loved it. At the Food Show he earned a BLUE Ribbon. And placed 1st in the main dish division. Because he loved this dish he was more interested in cooking and determined to do well.
Date published: 2005-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe has so many possibilities! This recipe has so many possibilities! I tried one reader's suggestion for a breakfast version with scrambled eggs, bacon and cheese and I also tried a pizza version. Cheaper than hot pockets and much tastier!! Can even be made in advance and kept refrigerated until your ready to pop them in the oven!
Date published: 2009-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this with pizza ingredients instead of the ham & cheddar. I made this with pizza ingredients instead of the ham & cheddar. It was good...but don't put too much of each ingredient. It is hard to cut without the filling oozing out, even after letting it "sit" for a few minutes after taking out of the oven. Will probably try again, with some modifications.
Date published: 2009-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I couldn't believe how good this recipe was and how easy it was to make. I couldn't believe how good this recipe was and how easy it was to make. My 4 year had fun helping me too. I substituted real mayo (not light) because I didn't have any Miracle Whip. I also used wholewheat pizza dough. If it wasn't brown, you wouldn't have known. I can't wait to make it again.
Date published: 2005-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added onions, hot mustard, and Italian dressing. I added onions, hot mustard, and Italian dressing. I did not use the Miracle Whip. I also substitued refrigerated pizza crust instead of frozen dough. It tasted just like a hot sub! I think that I will put olives and other sandwich toppings in next time. Very easy to make, especially with kids!
Date published: 2006-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recipe is good but we like this variation- Shaved ham, mozzerella cheese, mushrooms and spaghetti... Recipe is good but we like this variation- Shaved ham, mozzerella cheese, mushrooms and spaghetti sauce. On this variation we do not use the parmesan on top and use a thin layer of sauce and a little extra on the side for dipping. We also like to make it with pepperoni, mozzerella and sauce.
Date published: 2006-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe many times, and it is always a hit. I've made this recipe many times, and it is always a hit. I've used other combinations of ingredients too - pepperoni, spaghetti sauce, mushrooms, and mozzarella cheese; turkey, green peppers, mushrooms, ranch dressing, mozzarella cheese, and bacon. It's delicious any way that I make it!
Date published: 2006-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have a picky 10yo but tried this recipe and had him helped and it was a hit! I have a picky 10yo but tried this recipe and had him helped and it was a hit! We couldn't find frozen bread dough but used thin pizza crust instead and it came out nicely. I will add some chopped spinach next time with the cheese mixture just to satisfy the mom in me. Overall..great dish!
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Make sure you bake this on the middle rack of the oven....if not the bottom will be underbaked. Make sure you bake this on the middle rack of the oven....if not the bottom will be underbaked. Check the bottom for "doneness" before you take it out. Ours was under done but I will correct that mistake next time. The taste was delicious and it is a quick and easy casual lunch or meal.
Date published: 2007-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw this recipe, but was in the mood for Italian --saw the alternate ideas, but added some of my own... Saw this recipe, but was in the mood for Italian --saw the alternate ideas, but added some of my own ingredients! I used the frozen bread dough, capicola, salami, pepperoni, mozzarella, and red sauce...in rolled up the dough, did an egg wash and sprinkled parmesan -- DELICIOUS!
Date published: 2010-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! Outstanding!!! I made this recipe about 3yrs ago for lunch for my husband. He shared it with co-workers and they loved it as much as he did!!! It was a great winter warm up. The only thing I did differently was substitute the miracle whip for Kraft mayo. It was delicious!!!!!
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe! This was a great recipe! It really did come out just like it looks. I like the idea of adding garlic salt for a little extra tast. My husband loved it! It had too much ham in it for me to love it, but it was okay. If you eat it as your meal it really only feeds two adults.
Date published: 2007-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made a variation of this recipe using alfredo sauce, broccoli and chicken. I made a variation of this recipe using alfredo sauce, broccoli and chicken. I cooked up some chicken, cut up broccoli (uncooked) and added about a 1/4cup of alfredo sauce. Then, to make it look a little more fesitve, I made the dough into a rectangle and braided it.
Date published: 2009-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is so good so many ways. This recipe is so good so many ways. It works if you don't add any sauces or spreads inside the roll. Just use them as toppings later. My favorite so far is cooked chicken, broccoli and mozzerella cheese. The broccoli cooks pefectly. Even my three year old eats it!
Date published: 2008-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe, My husband picked out, thought my girls will love it, since they are very very picky... This recipe, My husband picked out, thought my girls will love it, since they are very very picky with foods... They love it, except I didn't use frozen pizza dough.. I use fresh pizza dough, roll it out and also I used more cheese. Definitly will use recipe again.
Date published: 2009-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i used reg mayo and it was sooooooooooo amzingly delicious! i used reg mayo and it was sooooooooooo amzingly delicious! i made it twice in a week! so easy and sooo good! it tastes similar to a hotpocket but way better. highly recommend this~! the cheese and mayo liek melted cooked into bread sooo good. now i want it again!
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was really neat and my kiddo loved it. This was really neat and my kiddo loved it. I would try to cook the juice out of the ham when I make it again because when the juices are released from the ham in the oven it made the pizza crust a little soggy on the inside even though it was done on the outside
Date published: 2008-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We love this recipe, though we have made a few changes. We love this recipe, though we have made a few changes. I use turkey most of the time and I like the different blends of shredded white and yellow cheeses. Also I found it easier to spread the mayo on the loaf then sprinkle the cheese then top with the turkey.
Date published: 2009-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is delicious, and I have made it on several occasions! This recipe is delicious, and I have made it on several occasions! However, I substitute turkey for ham and mozzarella cheese for cheddar cheese. It shaves a few calories, and my girls love it. I have made it for nearly everyone I know, and they love it too!
Date published: 2010-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family LOVED this recipe! My family LOVED this recipe! My 4 year old is going through a picky-eating stage and she had 2 helpings! I used real mayo, and about 1 1/2 cups of cheddar cheese. It was delicious with the ham, and I have also decided to try this next time with roast beef.
Date published: 2010-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made it as the recipe stated--my kids loved it. I made it as the recipe stated--my kids loved it. I did it another time using ricotta and mozzarella cheese with the ham. This was a big hit also. These are great to make after I get home from work since the prep time is short and a short baking time.
Date published: 2008-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We call this stromboli. We call this stromboli. Froz. bread comes 3 in pkg. We make all 3. Everyone has their own fav. Mine is spinach. Chees but no Mayo used with dips on the side. Pizza sauce, blue cheese or ranch dressing,etc. Any left are gone the next day for lunch.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is very good. This is very good. My husband loves it! I made it with barbecue sauce as the sauce (not as much as it calls for, as the flavor is powerful) and ham and cheese. I found I have to slash the top, or the side will crack and the insides will come out.
Date published: 2008-06-27
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_83, tr_261
  • loc_en_US, sid_65544, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

520750:65544

>