Homemade Apple Pie - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Homemade Apple Pie

Prep Time
35
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
25
min.
Servings

Makes 10 servings.

Looking for the perfect Homemade Apple Pie? Our Homemade Apple Pie has a flaky crust and a pile of tart-sweet spiced apples. Kind of an easy choice!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Preheat oven to 400°F. Mix flour and salt in large bowl. Cut in shortening using a pastry blender or two knives until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  • Add water, 1 Tbsp. at a time, mixing lightly with fork until flour mixture is evenly moistened and clings together when pressed into a ball. Divide dough in half; shape each half into 1/2-inch-thick round. Wrap each dough round in plastic wrap; refrigerate 15 min.
  • Meanwhile, toss apples with sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, nutmeg and lemon juice in large bowl; set aside. Place 1 dough round between two large sheets of plastic wrap; roll out dough with rolling pin to flatten slightly, working from center of dough to the edge. Turn over; continue rolling until dough round is about 2 inches larger than diameter of inverted 9-inch pie plate.
  • Peel off top piece of plastic wrap; invert dough into pie plate. Peel off remaining piece of plastic wrap; press dough evenly onto bottom and up side of pie plate, being careful not to stretch the dough. Trim any dough hanging over edge of pie plate with sharp knife or kitchen shears; reserve trimmings.
  • Fill with apple mixture; set aside. Roll out remaining dough as directed; place over filling. Trim top crust about 1/2 inch beyond edge of pie plate. Fold edge of top crust under edge of bottom crust; pinch edges together to form a ridge. Flute edge (see Tip). Cut several slits near center of pie to allow steam to escape.
  • Bake 45 to 50 min. or until juices form bubbles that burst slowly. Cool.

Size Wise

Savor one serving of this classic, crowd-pleasing dessert on special occasions.

Foil Tip Pie

Cover edge of pie crust with strip of foil for the last 15 min. of the baking time to prevent it from browning too much.

How to Flute Edge of Crust

Flute (to finish) edge by using two fingers to press a V-shape into the crust edge. This will look like a wave or ruffle design when finished. Or, pinch and slightly twist the pastry as you move around the pie to create a rope design.

Special Extra

Decorative Crust: Use small cookie cutters to cut out decorative shapes from the top crust or the leftover pastry trimmings. Arrange on top of crust. Finishing Touches: Brush top of crust with lightly beaten egg white before baking (for shiny top), a whole egg (for golden brown top) or brush with beaten egg and sprinkle with 1 Tbsp. granulated sugar (for a sparkling top).

Decorative Crust

Use small cookie cutters to cut out decorative shapes from the top crust or the leftover pastry trimmings. Arrange on top of pie before baking.

Finishing Touches

Brush top of crust with lightly beaten egg white before baking (for shiny top), a whole egg (for golden brown top) or brush with beaten egg and sprinkle with 1 Tbsp. granulated sugar (for a sparkling top).

Special Extra

Top each serving with 2 Tbsp. thawed COOL WHIP Whipped Topping, or a slice of KRAFT Cheddar Cheese or CRACKER BARREL Cheddar Cheese.

Variation

Prepare apple filling as directed, substituting 2 Tbsp. uncooked MINUTE Tapioca for the cornstarch. Let stand 15 min. in bowl, then mix lightly. Spoon into pie crust and continue as directed.

Servings

  • Makes 10 servings.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 10 servings.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 370
Total fat 20g
Saturated fat 5g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 240mg
Carbohydrate 46g
Sugars 24g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 8 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from This pie will be better if you sprinkle one teaspoon of pure vanilla extract over the mixture in the... This pie will be better if you sprinkle one teaspoon of pure vanilla extract over the mixture in the crust. Don't forget to make steam vents in the top crust. I always make a drawing of a flower in the crust. Only cut through a few petals or the center of the flower. For the stem, just score the crust lightly. Sprinkle with sugar, no egg, white or yolk. A very original, sparkly dessert.
Date published: 2005-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The crust turned out flaky and delicious. The crust turned out flaky and delicious. Took the advice of the pie crust tips to make a golden, sugary finish on the top and used home-grown apples. Also, added about a 1/2 teaspoon more cornstarch to thicken up the filling. The pie was a big hit with the family! I also used the crust recipe to make a pecan and a sour cream raisin meringue, and it complimented those flavors well.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe although next time I won't use Granny Smith apples. I loved this recipe although next time I won't use Granny Smith apples. They were too tart even with the sugar and once you add the lemon juice it becomes more tart. Next time I will use Golden Delicious apples. I also used brown sugar instead of regular sugar. Awesome! If you don't have time to do your own crust buy the Pillsbury one that you roll out. Easy as pie!
Date published: 2006-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never baked a filled, 2 crust pie before in my life, but apple is my husband's favorite and... I have never baked a filled, 2 crust pie before in my life, but apple is my husband's favorite and this recipe looked easy so I tried it...and WOW! I was so impressed by how easy it was, and it is delicious as well. Just remember to cover the edges of the crust during baking so that you don't overbrown them like it did. Other than that, this is an excellent, easy recipe!
Date published: 2005-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used Braeburn apples. I used Braeburn apples. This recipe turned out great! I tried it using the 1/4 cup of brown sugar and it was so tasty! I put apples in lemon juice first. I think the lemon juice is included in the recipe to keep the apples from browning while you roll out the dough. It doesn't really matter what you put it in first, as long as the lemon juice gets on the apples somehow.
Date published: 2007-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this pie for our christmas dinner, and the entire family loved it. I made this pie for our christmas dinner, and the entire family loved it. You could smell it baking throughout the entire house, and it tasted better then it smelled! I managed to spill a little of the filling but still turned out great! I was even complemented for the leaves I made on top of the pie with the leftover crust. Will definetly make again!
Date published: 2007-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This was the most difficult crust I have ever worked with. This was the most difficult crust I have ever worked with. Even with the plastic wrap, it fell apart every time I touched it or tried to move it. The end result tasted great, but looked terrible. And forget about getting a slice out in one piece. It looked more like cobbler once it was on a plate. I will use the filling again, but will nix the crust.
Date published: 2008-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought the crust (Pillsbury roll-out crust) and made the filling. I bought the crust (Pillsbury roll-out crust) and made the filling. I use 2 different kinds of apples for more of a unique taste. Instead of 3/4 sugar I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I make it this way all the time and everyone loves it. There's never a piece left over. I will be making it again for Thanksgiving dinner.
Date published: 2007-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used pre made Pillsbury Pie Crust "Just Roll" for the crust instead of making the dough. I used pre made Pillsbury Pie Crust "Just Roll" for the crust instead of making the dough. The apple flavor just pops with the spices and the crust is so crisp and flaky. I used Red Delious, Golden Delious, and Jonathan apples in this pie. The more variety of apple, the better the pie! EXCELLENT AND EASY RECIPE, VERY CHILD FRIENDLY!!
Date published: 2006-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've never made an apple pie before, but i wanted to try to make on to take to my grandparents. I've never made an apple pie before, but i wanted to try to make on to take to my grandparents. It was so easy, and it turned out great! The crust was really flakey and inside was great to! They loved it! before long i had all of my family members wanting me to make them a pie. My grandma even told me that i had to make it for christmas!
Date published: 2005-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm not a fan of apple pie, so I didn't eat any but everyone I talked to loved it! I'm not a fan of apple pie, so I didn't eat any but everyone I talked to loved it!!!! This is the 1st time I've ever made an apple pie, and I kind of thought the crust was hard to make look good. I made this for my brother's grad. party and he likes tractors so I put a tractor shape in the middle. I got a lot of good reviews!
Date published: 2007-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I thought this recipe looked great and I loved the simplicity of the ingredients, but when I tried... I thought this recipe looked great and I loved the simplicity of the ingredients, but when I tried to roll out the crust it was a disaster! I followed the directions but the crust would not roll out. After several attempts, I ended up going to the store and buying a crust! Hope you have better luck than I did!
Date published: 2007-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've used alot of recipes from this website and my husband really hasn't raved over any of them but... I've used alot of recipes from this website and my husband really hasn't raved over any of them but this one! He called me from work to let me know that this pie was FANTASTIC! He said it was the best pie he had ever eaten! (and his mom made alot of pies) definately will make this again it was yummy!!
Date published: 2006-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I varied it just a little by doubling the spices asked for (cinnamon & nutmeg) and dotting the... I varied it just a little by doubling the spices asked for (cinnamon & nutmeg) and dotting the filling mixture with butter before baking it. It smelled heavenly when it was baking and my husband, the apple pie expert said I should toss out all my other recipes for apple pie :) Thumbs up on this one.
Date published: 2009-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best apple pie I have ever had. This is the best apple pie I have ever had. I have been trying for awhile to make an apple pie that my husband will eat and I finally did it with the recipe. Thank-you so much! *A little hint or suggestion- i added a capful of vanilla extract t othe apple mixture and it made it a little sweeter.
Date published: 2007-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wanted to make a delicious supper for my family. I wanted to make a delicious supper for my family. I got all of my recipes from Kraft Foods Magazine. For dessert I made this pie, my first pie I ever made (I am in my teens). The pie came out excellent and everybody loved it. Then, I ended up making it again for Thanksgiving, which was a big hit.
Date published: 2005-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If I ever make this recipe again, I would leave out the nutmeg. If I ever make this recipe again, I would leave out the nutmeg. It's too strong a spice to use with fruit. It's okay with vegtable fillings like pumpkin pie but never use it with fruit filling. Brush the crust with milk, then sprinkle with sugar to get a great looking and tasting crust.
Date published: 2006-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the apple pie recipe that use. This is the apple pie recipe that use. I love the flavor, and the easy crust. I love the plastic wrap technique to roll out the crust. It is so easy and clean! I used to be intimidated by the thought of making an apple pie from scratch, but this recipe makes it very doable.
Date published: 2009-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from this was my first time baking a pie, and I was surprised how it came out, I was proud of myself. this was my first time baking a pie, and I was surprised how it came out, I was proud of myself. The only thing that I would do diffrently when I make it again is to add a litte sugar to the crust. the crust was flaky but not a lot of taste to it, sugar may do the trick
Date published: 2007-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have not made a pie from scratch since I was a little girl because I've been afraid of the crust. I have not made a pie from scratch since I was a little girl because I've been afraid of the crust. This pie was super simple and super delicious! It was the hit at my Thanksgiving dinner. I brushed the top with a beaten egg & sprinkled with sugar...it looked beautiful!
Date published: 2005-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great recipe! This is a great recipe! i'd never baked any kind of pie before and on my first try i used this recipe, even added a little of my own twist and it turned out great. ive gotten so many compliments on my apple pie and no one beleives me when i tell them how easy it is.
Date published: 2009-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! WOW! This was the first pie i ever did from scratch. I thought i was going to mess it up but it was so simple. Not only that but It couldnt get any easier I did the decorations and it was faboulous. I will definetly do this recipe again and again> Thank you Kraft..
Date published: 2005-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This the ONLY crust recipe that I use and it is the BEST! This the ONLY crust recipe that I use and it is the BEST!!!! My family loves it and all my friends are like "wow Faith your a GREAT cook" and I have to tell them isn't me for sure but the recipe!!! It NEVER fails!!! Thank thank thank you for it!!!!!! ~4everCalebz
Date published: 2007-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe and everyone I serve it to thinks it is the best pie they have ever had. I love this recipe and everyone I serve it to thinks it is the best pie they have ever had. The crust is very flaky and exactly the way a pie crust should be. Everyone thinks it would be too difficult but it is actually quite easy to make this homemade crust.
Date published: 2010-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was very good! This recipe was very good! The crust was so easy and delicious. The only thing that I didn't like was that it was a little runny for my taste, but a little flour will thicken that up nicely.... my husband doesn't like pies very much but he ate 3 pieces of it!
Date published: 2007-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my father's birthday. I made this for my father's birthday. My grandmother is always baking. So I thought I would remind him a little bit of home. One word: PERFECTION!!! Served warm and topped with vanilla icecream it is DELICIOUS!! Already I've been asked to make this again!
Date published: 2009-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love making pies. I love making pies. I am the one who makes the pies for the office parties. This apple pie is always requested at every social gathering. Even people who have not liked apple pies in the past look forward to "my" apple pie. Thankyou, we love it!!!
Date published: 2006-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was an excellent easy recipe! It was an excellent easy recipe! Delicious!! I added the Vanilla extract too and i had a deep dish pie plate and after it was finished i think an extra apple or two would have bulked it up but only because it was a deep dish...Awesome recipe!
Date published: 2005-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was excellent! This recipe was excellent! I have always been intimidated by making my own pie crust but this was so simple and came out perfect. It was so easy my 3 year old practically made it herself! I will definitely make this over and over again!
Date published: 2006-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe, best apple pie I've ever made. Great recipe, best apple pie I've ever made. I also added 1 tbs vanilla to the apple mixture and used butter instead of shortning for the crust (at my husbands request). It was great!! He took it to work and it only lasted one day!
Date published: 2006-06-30
  • y_2017, m_10, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_157
  • loc_en_US, sid_65926, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

547340:65926

>