JELL-O Easy Patriotic Pie - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

JELL-O Easy Patriotic Pie

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
2
hr.
35
min.
Servings

8 servings

Looking for something other than the ol' strawberries and blueberries on pound cake? Check out our easy layered pie for a new take on patriotic desserts.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Add 3/4 cup boiling water to blue gelatin mix; stir 2 min. until completely dissolved. Add 1/2 cup ice cubes; stir until melted. Pour into crust; refrigerate 5 to 10 min. or until set but not firm.
  • Meanwhile, repeat to dissolve red gelatin mix in separate bowl; stir in remaining ice cubes. Cool 5 min. or until slightly thickened.
  • Spread COOL WHIP over blue gelatin layer; cover with red gelatin. Refrigerate 2 hours or until firm.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Strawberry Flavor Gelatin.

Best of Season

Garnish with fresh seasonal berries just before serving. Or, arrange 1/2 cup berries on bottom of crust before covering with the blue gelatin.

Variation

Prepare using your favorite 2 flavors of JELL-O Gelatin.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 220
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 4.5g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 180mg
Carbohydrate 36g
Sugars 27g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 0 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from There is something seriously the matter with this recipe... There is something seriously the matter with this recipe... although the dessert tasted fine (how can you go wrong with fresh berries and Jello?) it was an absolute eyesore... no eye appeal at all. I might try it again sometime but let the blue layer completely set before adding the Cool Whip and letting the red layer cool right off and spoon it on so as not to penetrate the Cool Whip... perhaps freezing the Cool Whip but that may jeopardize the entire thing. Lovely idea that didn't work at all and I followed instructions completely because that is what I do.
Date published: 2008-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe last year for the 4th and am planning on making it again this year. I made this recipe last year for the 4th and am planning on making it again this year. It turned out great and tasted wonderful! I made a cheesecake filling for the white part instead of using just the Cool Whip. I also accidently let the red jello sit longer, so it didn't pour onto the pie. I stirred it up so it was little chunks and then spooned it on. I think the "cracked" effect looked better than the smooth top it was supposed to have! This also solved the problem of the red jello overflowing, since it was already set and stayed in place.
Date published: 2008-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this today for a picnic, I haven't tasted it yet but it was really easy to make. I made this today for a picnic, I haven't tasted it yet but it was really easy to make. It looks good and I didn't have the problem with the cool whip and red jello mixing. I actually watched the video first then made it. I made my own whipped cream and and let the blue layer sit in the fridge for maybe 15 min(the time it took to make the red layer and the whipped cream) and probably left the red jello on the counter for maybe 5-8min (the time it took to make the whipped cream) I used a spoon to spoon the red jello on the whipped cream.
Date published: 2006-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple as pie - No pun intended - It did take the blue section longer to set up - BUT every ones... Simple as pie - No pun intended - It did take the blue section longer to set up - BUT every ones fridge is different some are colder then others, So this could be why people are having such a hard time with it. the cool whip went on like a dream, and the red jello poured on with out issue. it looks great, I added some blueberries, and cut up some straw berries and put it on top, and then took a teaspoon of cool whip and put that in the center - and of course I took a picture but can't add it to this :-( i'll find out in about a hour how well it tastes, I'm taking it to my boyfriends parents house for their cook out. Honestly it couldn't of been any easier and I'm not a baker, if it doesn't come out of a box pretty much pre maid I don't mess it.
Date published: 2008-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely give yourself enough time to let each layer set. Definitely give yourself enough time to let each layer set. I gave the blue jello about 45 minutes to set, then i let the whipped cream layer set in the fridge for another half hour or so. I found the red jello didn't really need to be set. The whipped cream was solid enough just pouring the gelatin liquid on top---slowly, and by spoonfuls--it worked just fine. I let it sit in the fridge over night, decorated with berries and whipped cream before our bbq and it served great! So, definitely give yourself enough time to let each layer set.
Date published: 2009-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although my family and I really enjoyed this recipe, I had a difficult time getting started. Although my family and I really enjoyed this recipe, I had a difficult time getting started. There were a few lose crumbs on the crust, which I tried to remove by brushing them off into the sink. I got the crumbs off, but unfortunatly the whole crust went with them. In my delima I decided to make a graham craker crust(one that you bake).All was fine untill I poured the blue jello into the crust and my brother nonchalantly asked "Did you bake it?" After realizing I hadn't, I imediatly stared to scrape the jello off of the crust. The crust was baked and all the jello was in its proper place by the 4th, and we had a wonderful pie for dessert.I put a few strawberries on the top, and the presentation was great. I look forward to making this pie again next year.
Date published: 2005-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I followed directions and suggestions and still have a terriable mess! I followed directions and suggestions and still have a terriable mess! First, the crust was flaking off so its in every layer. I won't use a store bought crust again, I'll make my own! Then the time frame is way off, unless you have your house at 40*, room temp in July is not a good suggestion. I suggest refrigerate (or freeze) between layers for a min of 15 minutes. There is really no reason the blue layer shouldn't be semi-set. I hope its good, but I won't be taking it to my party, it will stay home I'll take something else.
Date published: 2011-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The instructions didn't give enough time for the blue jello to set firmly enough. The instructions didn't give enough time for the blue jello to set firmly enough. I had already made the red jello (per instructions) and that was not firm enough. It fell through part of the cool whip. Just give more time for the layers to set up. The 6 oz. pie crust wasn't big enough to hold all the ingredients so I had to lift the foil around the edge to help keep the jello from running over the pie tin edge. When we ate it, the crust was soggy. I will make the three layer jello again in a glass dish with out the crust!
Date published: 2005-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great pie to make! This is a great pie to make! Some readers did give some helpful advice though. After making the red jello, I put it in the fridge for about 3-4 minutes, then SPOONED it onto the whipped cream very gently to avoid the "seep through" into the whipped cream. Don't pour it right from the bowl. After 2 hours, you have a great 3 color tier pie PERFECT for any patriotic celebration. It's a very light dessert that doesn't make you feel like you over-ate! Plus change the jello colors for different holidays!
Date published: 2011-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this yesterday with great success! I made this yesterday with great success! I used the 9oz pie crust instead of the 6oz, which left a little too much room (but better than not enough!) so I had room for another layer of Cool Whip on top. I allowed both of the jell-o layers to set at least 20 - 25 minutes, and spooned the red layer on to prevent the coolwhip from floating. I also placed raspberries in the blue layer and blueberries in the red layer for a neat contrast. I am a total novice and this was very easy to make!
Date published: 2008-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from East but need to practice Although the recipe is easy to follow, it does not include tips, such as to wait until the blue jello settles a bit in the frig, before topping with cool whip. Also the cool whip needs to be plyable to spread, otherwise you get clumps. Lastly, you need to gauge not adding too much of the blue jello to the crust, otherwise you run out of space for the cool whip and red jello on top. A deep dish crust may work better. My jello pie doesn't look that great but it did pass the taste test.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this pie today and so far it looks great! I made this pie today and so far it looks great! I was very cautious with putting my red layer on and ending up spooning it in instead of pouring it. It took more time but it was worth it to have the three defined layers. I also let the blue Jello sit longer than suggested and after I put the cool whip layer on I let that sit in the fridge for a bit too. In the end there were a few small spots of lifted whip cream and I just scooped those out with a knife. Hope my guests love it!!
Date published: 2008-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this recipe a lot. I like this recipe a lot. But definitely did not take me twenty minutes. It almost took an hour. I wanted to make sure that each layer was defined. I let them set longer in the fridge, and that worked much better for me. I did, though, let the red Jello set too long on the sideboard, so it was a little chunky, but still came out okay. I am going to add a little cool whip to the top for decoration, because it is a little plain. Have fun making it!
Date published: 2008-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe after seeing the picture, I just had to try it. I made this recipe after seeing the picture, I just had to try it. It turned out great, I scared about the layers staying seperate, but they did. I had to wait atleat double the time of the recipe in order for the blue layer to stiffin and then I ended up putting the red in the freezer also to stiffin it up some. It looked pretty much just like the picture and everyone thought it was really cool. I added cool whip to the top layer as well.
Date published: 2005-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe twice. I have made this recipe twice. The first time the layers did not turn out. The red Jello fell through the whipped topping and onto the blue layer, however, the pie was DELICIOUS. The second time I attempted this pie with sugar free Jello and the Jello hardened before I could pour it into the pie, but yet again, it was delicious. I will try this again for July 4th and hopefully the presentation will turn out right this time.
Date published: 2005-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is a shame that people have bad luck with this and the cool easy pie.It just takes common sense... It is a shame that people have bad luck with this and the cool easy pie.It just takes common sense more than to the letter.You must let the blue SET then add cool whip.As for the red making the whip float to the top.Here is where common sense comes in.You must let it partially set in the bowl.I would say till slightly thicker than egg whites and either spoon or very gently pour.If its thick enough the whip will not float.
Date published: 2010-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This pie is sitting in my fridge now. This pie is sitting in my fridge now. Yes it does take 20 minutes for the blue jello to sit! I did let the red jello sit a little too long but it was easier to pour on and there were no cool whip floaties! I'm sure it will turn out great...it looks delicious already. This is a great idead for any occasion, neat thing is you can mix up the colors. This is definetely one that requires patience...but in the end will pay off!
Date published: 2008-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading the reviews I was concerned that the layers wouldn't work out. After reading the reviews I was concerned that the layers wouldn't work out. I cooled the blue for about 5 minutes before pouring in, so the graham cracker crust wouldn't get soggy like some reviewers mentioned. I also put the pie (blue layer and cool whip layer) in the freezer for about 10 minutes while I prepared and cooled the red layer. It not only looked GREAT, but it was delicious...the talk of the party!
Date published: 2011-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I too made this "easy" pie for our 4th celebration and it was just a complete mess. I too made this "easy" pie for our 4th celebration and it was just a complete mess. Not even my children who eat anything wanted to eat this. I spent over an hour trying to get the layers to set right. Also my crust was very soggy. I have made alot of recipes from this site and have love most of them. This one however was a huge disappointment and I would not recommend wasting time on it.
Date published: 2008-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this in a trifle bowl instead of pie crust, using 3 packages each flavor. I made this in a trifle bowl instead of pie crust, using 3 packages each flavor. I think the key to red layer is watching video, as you can see what consistancy they are using at that stage, it is definitely thicker, which helps it not gush out. I found that spreading the coolwhip onto bottom layer and making sure it was really "tamped" down, prevented it floating. My Family loved this recipe!
Date published: 2008-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this pie for the 4th as well. I made this pie for the 4th as well. It came out really good. It was pretty & my husband ate more than 1/2 by himself. He keeps asking when am I going to make another. We were very satisfied with the recipe. Although other colors would be great for other holidays, you have to keep in mind the different flavors and whether they would taste good together. This is one I'd definately make again!!
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this pie 3 years in a row. I've made this pie 3 years in a row. It never lasts long when company is around. I've found the best way to keep the cool whip from floating up is to spoon the jell-o layer over the cool whip using a tablespoon. It also helps if the jell-o has cooled slightly before you add it over the coolwhip. This recipe is great with just a little patience and practice. Have fun and enjoy.
Date published: 2006-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick, Easy & Unexpected surprise inside. Quick, Easy & Unexpected surprise inside. Yep, no one expected the red, white & blue layers. I added chopped strawberries to the red Jell-O and chopped blueberries to the blue Jell-O for more flavor & texture. By using sugar-free Jell-O, light Cool Whip & low fat Honey Maid graham cracker crust, I made this into a Weight Watcher-friendly dessert with only 5 ppv for 1/6 pie.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I had a difficult time with the red layer. I had a difficult time with the red layer. It ran over the top of the crust and looked like a terrible mess. If I were to attempt this again, I would try and spoon the top layer on to see if that worked better. I also may just use this recipe in a square pan to see if that works better. Does anyone have a suggestion for how they put the red layer on???? KT Pennsylvania
Date published: 2008-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The recipe is good, but then again it is Jello-O, how could it not be good. The recipe is good, but then again it is Jello-O, how could it not be good. Two major problems with the receipe. First, it DOES NOT take 5-10 minutes for the blue layer of Jello-O to firm up. It is more like 20-25 minutes! Second, the Cool Whip floats up to the top of the red layer so the pie does not look nearly as good as the picture, in fact it looks pretty gross.
Date published: 2006-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was easy to make! This was easy to make! I let the blue layer set for about an hour, then I put in the cool whip and put it in the freezer for about half an hour, then after letting the red layer sit at room temp for about half an hour, I poured it on slowly... the trick is not to pour it over one spot, or it will eat through the cool whip, pour it with a spoon better. Everyone loved it!
Date published: 2009-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from First of all it takes much longer than the video says, but that was no big deal. First of all it takes much longer than the video says, but that was no big deal. But after spending my whole morning making sure the JELL-O was just right, I poured the red jello in and the whipped cream soaked it up and floated to the top. It is so ugly I'm not bringing it to our 4th of July cook out and now I don't have time to make anything else.
Date published: 2009-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe 3 years running for the family 4th of July BBQ & always have rave reviews! I have made this recipe 3 years running for the family 4th of July BBQ & always have rave reviews! Once it hits the table it's usually gone within 15 minutes, so I have learned to bring more than one! It is so easy & inexpensive. Make sure to pie the deepest dish crust you can find & have plenty of room in your fridge for cooling the pies.
Date published: 2006-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I would have been better off just layering this in a bowl! I would have been better off just layering this in a bowl! What a mess I made... by the time I got to the last layer, the pie was overflowing, and I didn't have a steady hand when putting it in the fridge... red Jell-O everywhere. Still, I put it on the dessert table last 4th of July, and only one slice was sampled. Not hardly worth it.
Date published: 2006-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My first successful attempt at making a Jello dessert. My first successful attempt at making a Jello dessert. Had rave reviews! Will make this again, however I'll probably use a 13 x 9 pan and different flavored Jello since this is for a luau. Thanks again for having the recipe on your 1-800 phone center. I lost the recipe and didn't have computer access at preparation time.
Date published: 2005-07-15
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_40, tr_151
  • loc_en_US, sid_60613, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

543556:60613

>