Key Lime Margarita Pie - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Key Lime Margarita Pie

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
6
hr.
15
min.
Servings

10 servings

Enjoy our Key Lime Margarita Pie, but don't worry about alcohol! This Key Lime Margarita Pie's taste is from a salty pretzel crust and citrusy filling.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Combine pretzel crumbs, sugar and butter; press onto bottom and up side of 9-inch pie plate. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  • Whisk next 3 ingredients in large bowl until blended. Stir in 2-1/2 cups COOL WHIP; pour into crust.
  • Freeze 6 hours or until firm. Let stand at room temperature 15 min. before serving to soften slightly. Top with remaining COOL WHIP.

Size Wise

Balance your food choices throughout the day so you can enjoy a serving of this sweet summer treat.

Make it Easy

For easier serving, dip pie plate in warm water, just to rim, for 30 sec. before removing pie slices.

Special Extra

For stronger lime flavor, stir in 2 Tbsp. lime zest along with the lime juice.

Special Extra

Garnish with lime zest before serving.

Servings

  • 10 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 10 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 330
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 11g
Cholesterol 30mg
Sodium 220mg
Carbohydrate 43g
Sugars 34g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 2 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has been so warm lately, that when I saw this recipe it looked nice and cool. It has been so warm lately, that when I saw this recipe it looked nice and cool. Thinking my husband would probably not like it, but made it anyway for a neighbor. Did my husband really like it! I've made three in the past 2 weeks. We liked the salty taste of the pretzels and it cut the tartness of the lime. The only thing I would change; is a little less of the pretzels and I think the crust would stay together better.
Date published: 2006-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my family and another couple. I made this recipe for my family and another couple. It was delicious and refreshing. I made it for desert after we had the mouthwatering chicken Sandwich with grilled green pepper, onion and melted cheese on a toasted kaiser roll from kraftfoods recipe. It was easy to make and she wanted the recipe to bring next weekend at a gathering she was going to. Thanks you so much for these great recipes. Keep them coming!
Date published: 2006-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe...the only thing missing is the tequila! I love this recipe...the only thing missing is the tequila! It's easy and great for BBQ's. I'm often asked to bring it and my friends and family have asked for the recipe. I do have trouble finding Lemon-Lime Kool-Aid but I think it tastes great with the plain lemon one as well! And I definitely would not substitute anything for the pretzel crust...guys that's the whole idea and is what makes this dessert unique!
Date published: 2008-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have made this a few times already and we love it every time. Have made this a few times already and we love it every time. Have not been able to find the lemon-lime Kool-aid so I have used regular lemonade flavor and even pink lemonade once. Still was delicious and refreshing. It is the BEST for a hot summer day. Have only used grahm cracker premade crust so far but after all of the comments about the pretzel crust, I will be trying that next. Seems to be worth the effort.
Date published: 2006-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I started making one similar to this recipe ten years ago, only instead of kool-aid, it calls for... I started making one similar to this recipe ten years ago, only instead of kool-aid, it calls for 1/4 cup orange juice. The pretzel crust is baked. I'm not allowed to show up to the neighborhood July 4th gathering unless I bring one of these, when I double the recipe and put it in a 9x13 for easier group serving. One neighbor sticks a plastic fork in a square of it and eats like a popsicle. We love it!
Date published: 2006-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe twice and it was delish both times! I have made this recipe twice and it was delish both times! The first time I squeesed my own KEY limes (next to normal limes, usually in a mesh bag and 1/2 the size) and the second time I bought KEY lime juice, in the juice isle right next to the lime juice! I could not find lime Kool-aid so I just didn't use it and it was not missed! I also used grahm cracker crumbs. A permanent dessert in my family!
Date published: 2006-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my most favorite desserts - both to serve and to eat. This is one of my most favorite desserts - both to serve and to eat. It is so yummy and makes an impressive presentation. The pretzel crust is distinctive with the lime - sweet and salty , thus the name "margarita". However, and I have to do this, it is great with a crust of graham cracker or oreo crumbs or I can't wait to try it with a coconut macaroon pie shell that I just discovered in the store.
Date published: 2011-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! Fabulous! My husband and I love it! We have made two alternates of it for variance. One with Lemonade Kool-aid and lemon juice and one with Orange Kool-aid and orange juice. Everything about the recipe is delicious, fun and easy. I use a few of the crumbs from the pan after serving to sprinkle on top of the whipped cream to make it look 'professional'. :) Will continue to make this pie!
Date published: 2007-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from While I did not make this recipe, it looks very good. While I did not make this recipe, it looks very good. However, I don't understand why people call a recipe "Key Lime..." when it contains no key limes or key lime juice. Key limes have a very distinctive flavor that you either love or hate, and most importantly, key lime juice is not GREEN, it is YELLOW. I wish that the recipe was not called Key Lime, since that is a misrepresentation.
Date published: 2006-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an awesome and very easy recipe! This is an awesome and very easy recipe! A great summer treat that everyone loves, everytime I make it. Someone said "forget the silly pretzel crust and buy a graham cracker crust"----DO NOT DO THAT! The salt from the pretzels is the whole reason that it's a MARGARITA pie! You know, the salt on the rim...? Please, don't forego the pretzel crust, it's one of the best parts!!! Enjoy!
Date published: 2007-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Though a very tasty, quick, and easy recipe, I, too, agree that real key limes and juice should be... Though a very tasty, quick, and easy recipe, I, too, agree that real key limes and juice should be used. Much tastier and authentic when done properly. Also.......where did you come up with "Margarita" in the tile when there is no "Margarita" in the recipe? Try adding some Margarita, then you can say you have made "Key Lime Margarita Pie". More compliments that way, too!!!
Date published: 2006-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely the perfect 'serve' dessert. Absolutely the perfect 'serve' dessert. Forget the silly pretzel crust and get a regular graham cracker crust for 2 dollars. Everyone thought it was special-ordered. Terribly easy to make. Garnish with lime slices on top before freezing (initial freezer time for us was 3 hours) and it just looks professional and tastes every bit as much. VERY special dessert.
Date published: 2007-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a perfect dessert! This was a perfect dessert!! light, airy and flavorfull. Cooks should comment on the dessert not petty things. I made it with both key lime & kool-aid, the colour it was fine. Techinically Key Lime pie isnt made with cool-whip either, doesn't mean it doesn't tast good. Not everyone can be in the kitchen baking an authentic key lime or has access to key limes.
Date published: 2006-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe a few times already with fat free prezels and sugar free and fat free... I have made this recipe a few times already with fat free prezels and sugar free and fat free whipped cream and no one noticed the difference. I used real table sugar instead of a sweetener, but aside from that - everything else was low cal and still tasted fabulous! Highly recommend it for a warm summer night or to go along with almost any alcoholic drink.
Date published: 2006-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I HAVE 13 RECIPES FOR KEY LIME PIE AND HAVE MADE THEM ALL AS KEY LIME IS MY FAMILY'S FAVORITE AND... I HAVE 13 RECIPES FOR KEY LIME PIE AND HAVE MADE THEM ALL AS KEY LIME IS MY FAMILY'S FAVORITE AND THIS RECIPE IS BY FAR THE ALL TIME WINNER AND I HAVE MADE IT 35 TIMES SO FAR AND HAVE GOTTEN VERY RAVE REVIEWS . THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS TO BAKE THE CRUST FOR 8 OR 10 MINUTES THEN IT DOES NOT CTRUMBLE WHEN YOU CUT IT. THANKS FOR THIS KEEPER!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2007-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked it, but ... I liked it, but ... everyone else who tried it said the lime flavor was too strong. The crust was crumbling apart all over the place, and too hard. I think if I make it again, I'll grind the crust up finer, use more butter, and try to tone down the lime just a hair so that I'm not the only one who can eat it. Hmm, on second thought, maybe not.
Date published: 2006-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use basically the same recipe but use 1 pkg. I use basically the same recipe but use 1 pkg. pink lemonade Kool-Aid, no juice, and a graham cracker crust. I know it isn't called Key Lime pie if there isn't any lime, but I am asked over and over for the recipe whenever I take this to a potluck. Super quick, super easy, super yummy! I definitely will continue to make this again and again!
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY GOOD. VERY GOOD. I DIDN'T DO THE PIE CRUST IN THE RECIPE. I JUST USED A GRAHAM CRACKER PRE-MADE. VERY GOOD. I ALSO USED MY BAKE-N-FILL PANS AND USE CAKE BATTER. IN THE MIDDLE WAS THE KEY LIME MIX AND THE REST OF THE KEY LIME MIX I PUT SOME ON TOP. JUST LETTING IT HANG OVER THE SIDES. THE APPEARANCE LOOKS GREAT. EVERYONE THOUGHT IT WAS A FANCY CAKE.
Date published: 2006-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe in Lemon, Lime and Orange. I have made this recipe in Lemon, Lime and Orange. Each time it has been a tremendous hit with friends and family alike. This is a no fail recipe. Next time I make what we call the Kool-Aid pie, I am going to try a chocolate cookie crust and a cherry or strawberry filling. Who doesn't like chocolate covered cherries and strawberries ....
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've changed this recipe couple of times for variety I used Crystal Lite Pink Lemonade instead of... I've changed this recipe couple of times for variety I used Crystal Lite Pink Lemonade instead of lime koolaid also I used the low fat condensed milk and low fat Cool Whip for those counting calories all were perfect and requests are non stop!!! I think you could even do this with an orange flavored drink mix for a creamsicle flavor!!
Date published: 2006-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious! Delicious!! Made this for Mother's Day with a premade graham cracker crust and added a dallop of whipped cream on top of each slice with a lime to garnish!! Everyone couldn't believe that I made it and didn't buy it at some fancy restaurant! Be sure to use fresh limes, I don't think it would have the same taste with the bottled kind!
Date published: 2008-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ooh, had the sharp tartness of a margarita; not overly sweet. Ooh, had the sharp tartness of a margarita; not overly sweet. I'm not a dessert fan or maker so this was a little different for me. I followed the recipe exactly and lucked into finding some real Key limes. Ha, ha I had to squeeze about 20 to get 1/2 cup of juice so don't know if I was lucky or not! Really good recipe, thanks!
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe as a refreshing dessert for a crab feast. I made this recipe as a refreshing dessert for a crab feast. The fact that it was frozen helped to cool everyone in the summer heat. EVERYONE loved the flavor, texture, and I heard the most compliments about the unique crust. I definately WOULD NOT substitute any other crust recipe. Hands down the best dessert I've ever made.
Date published: 2005-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am not a pie person at all and absolutely loved this pie! I am not a pie person at all and absolutely loved this pie! The combination of the salty pretzels and the tart lime is a taste bud delight! It was so easy to make! Definitely a great pie for a warm summer night. I made this for my mom's group recipe swap for our Cinco de Mayo celebration and everyone loved it!
Date published: 2008-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy to make...even my 3 year old helped. Very Easy to make...even my 3 year old helped. He loved crushing the pretzles then mixing in the sugar and butter to the Ziploc and mixing it all up. For an easier version, I might use a pre-made graham cracker crust, but I wouldn't change a thing in the filling...so very yummy, even with fat free whip cream.
Date published: 2006-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This IS one of the tastiest, easiest desserts ever! This IS one of the tastiest, easiest desserts ever! I've made this SO many times and it ALWAYS get rave reviews! The pretzel crust is delicious, (and I don't even like pretzels) as is the mouth-watering smooth, cool lime filling. Is your mouth watering yet? Trust me ... Try it! You'll LOVE it! Linleigh
Date published: 2007-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I served this pie when my in-laws came over for game nite & it was a hit! I served this pie when my in-laws came over for game nite & it was a hit!! Everyone loved the combination of the salty crust and the tart filling. The flavor was so close to a frozen margarita. The consistency was great for a warm summer nite, cold and creamy. Was a delicous end to a wonderful bbq meal.
Date published: 2008-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pucker up--this is one tart pie! Pucker up--this is one tart pie! My husband could only eat one piece, but my coworkers truly enjoyed it. My boss recommended a graham cracker or oreo crust the next time I make it. Personally, I want to make a low fat/low sugar version and see how that tastes. I'm definitely keeping this one in my box!
Date published: 2010-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I put those tiny um, fish shaped pretzel crackers(dunno if I can use the brand name here) in my food... I put those tiny um, fish shaped pretzel crackers(dunno if I can use the brand name here) in my food processor, and that made the crust so easy. Baking the crust adds more dimension to the flavor and helps it hold up better. Can use muffin tins with foil cups with crust just pressed into the bottom, or dessert cups, in the same fashion. I used real key lime juice (you have to squeeze a lot of those little puppies to get enough juice! :) ) and a teeny amount of rind. Just a little bit of the lemon lime kool-aid mix (I eyeballed it, but it was maybe 1/4 - 1/2 a teaspoon or so) was used for a touch of color and a little added tartness and flavor. That little bit of green tint to it tells you it's not JUST an ordinary key lime pie. It's very tasty, and I can see how it gets a "margarita-esque" taste to it, because of the sweetened lime, and the salt in the crust. I always like my margaritas in a salt rimmed glass, so I thought using pretzels for the crust was a great pairing fo
Date published: 2006-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instead of using a crust at all, I have simply spooned the filing into dessert dishes. Instead of using a crust at all, I have simply spooned the filing into dessert dishes. It makes a wonderfully refreshing pudding-type dessert that all who have eaten it rave about. ~~~A note for those who think the recipe is too tart, cut down on the lemon-lime cool aid, using only 1/2 package=1/2 tsp.
Date published: 2006-07-16
  • y_2017, m_10, d_23, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_37, tr_287
  • loc_en_US, sid_75164, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

548934:75164

>