Layered Enchilada Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Layered Enchilada Bake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
Servings

8 servings

Watch now to learn how to layer the ingredients for this Enchilada Bake! Layering is the key in this recipe to get the delicious enchilada flavor you want.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Brown meat with onions in large skillet on medium-high heat; drain. Return meat mixture to skillet; stir in next 4 ingredients.
  • Arrange 3 tortillas in single layer on bottom of 13x9-inch baking dish. Cover with layers of half each of the meat mixture, sour cream and cheese. Repeat layers; cover.
  • Bake 40 min. or until casserole is heated through and cheese is melted, uncovering after 30 min. Let stand 5 min. before cutting to serve.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Healthy Living

Save 70 calories and 8g fat, including 4g of sat fat, per serving by preparing with extra-lean ground beef, KRAFT Lite Zesty Italian Dressing, BREAKSTONE'S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream, and KRAFT Mexican Style 2% Milk Finely Shredded Four Cheese.

Make Ahead

Line 13x9-inch baking dish with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides of dish. Assemble recipe in prepared dish as directed. Cover with additional foil. Freeze up to 3 months. When ready to serve, bake casserole (covered) in 400ºF oven 1 hour. Remove foil. Bake an additional 15 to 20 min. or until casserole is heated through and cheese is melted. Let stand 5 min. before cutting to serve. To decrease the baking time, thaw frozen casserole in refrigerator overnight, then bake, uncovered, 45 min. or until casserole is heated through and cheese is melted.

Special Extra

Top with chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce and chopped fresh cilantro before serving.

Substitute

Substitute canned kidney beans for the black beans.

Servings

  • 8 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 470
Total fat 23g
Saturated fat 11g
Cholesterol 80mg
Sodium 1160mg
Carbohydrate 39g
Dietary fiber 6g
Sugars 6g
Protein 26g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 20 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this last week and it was excellent. I made this last week and it was excellent. My husband loved it so I will be making it again. Although it didn't look too good, the leftovers were great as well. I did not use foil when I made the recipe but I did spray the bottom of the pan with cooking spray before I assembled it. I also used larger tortillas because that is all that the store had and they actually covered the entire pan and the sides which helped keep the filling in when cutting.
Date published: 2007-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I needed to be able to throw something together fast on a hot evening, and wanted it to heat up in... I needed to be able to throw something together fast on a hot evening, and wanted it to heat up in the oven without too much cooking on the stove. This recipe fulfilled that requirement easily. Quickly came together, with minimal fuss on the stove-top and then placed in the oven to heat through. I literally had every ingredient on hand in the pantry and freezer. Good flavor, the kids were willing to eat, easy to serve with tortilla chips.
Date published: 2010-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this was very good! this was very good! I skipped the foil & used Pam, ground turkey, added fresh garlic & other spices. Black beans were good, might try the small red kidney beans next time, just to compare. Went heavier on the cheese. I noticed someone mentioned their sour cream curdled. I've had that happen with low/nonfat products before. I had luck with the regular sour cream here. Would definitely make this again.
Date published: 2008-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made this for a church dinner. I just made this for a church dinner. I doubled the recipe, and everyone loved it. I was a little worried about taking something that I had never tried, but this was absolutely delicious. I will be making it again this coming weekend because my children are coming from Ohio. I'm positive they will love it! Thank you for this great recipe. Oh, and I just sent the recipe to a missionary friend who wants to try it. Thanks so much.
Date published: 2007-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy recipe to follow. Easy recipe to follow. But didn't mention the garnish of lettuce and tomato as in the photo. I would recommend increasing the ground beef to 1 1/2 lb., using the whole package of taco seasoning, using the whole container of sour cream, and using 16 oz. of shredded cheese. Also, you could brown a green pepper with beef and onion, and add black olives. I will definitely make it again. It will become a regular at our dinner table.
Date published: 2007-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe...I am trying to eat healthy so I made some adjustments and let me tell you it... I loved this recipe...I am trying to eat healthy so I made some adjustments and let me tell you it was just as good. I used Boca Ground Meat, lite sour cream, lite shredded cheese, and added some black olives on top. I also did NOT use the italian dressing...did not see the need for it. I had family over and did not tell them that it was soy meat and then after dinner I told my fiance and he was very surprised!!! YUMMY!!!
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the freeze ahead option with directions included. I love the freeze ahead option with directions included. I made this in preparation for the birth of our second child and it was a snap to pull this dish out of the freezer and bake for relative visits. I've also made for immediate serving and it's delicious! My only complaint is that the bottom layer of tortillas sticks to the foil. Next time I make, I'm going to eliminate the foil and just spray the pan.
Date published: 2008-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I told my husband I was going to make a layered enchilada dish he made an unhappy face and went... When I told my husband I was going to make a layered enchilada dish he made an unhappy face and went "ugh." I made the dish this evening and it was super easy to prepare. I know my husband likes his Mexican food spicey so I used hot chunky salsa. He loved it, he's taking the leftovers to work tomorrow to eat at lunchtime! I watched the video on how to prepare this dish and it helped tremendously.
Date published: 2009-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is absolutely delicious! This recipe is absolutely delicious! I left out the Italian dressing, used an entire packet of taco seasoning (the brand really doesn't matter, same with the salsa), and added some fajita seasoning to spice it up a bit. I made it for my fiance & I, so a 9x13 pan is enough for dinner, and lunch for at least the next 2 days! I will definitely make this again, and may try using chicken instead of beef.
Date published: 2007-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i would definately rate this a 10! i would definately rate this a 10!! i doubled this recipe for a just because @ work today. instead of black beans i used 1-16 oz can bush's hot chili & 1-20 oz can bush's reg chili beans,used 2 bottles of medium chunky salsa and whole wheat tortills,also no fat sour cream==got total raves from everyone.made it as diabetic and even lower fat for those of us who needed it to be==thanks once again kraft
Date published: 2007-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love this recipe. We love this recipe. The only things I did differently were to add corn, use corn tortillas that I break up for easy slicing, and top with chopped tomatoes, sliced lettuce, black olives cut in half, fresh cilantro and sliced avocado. There is absolutely no need for the tin (aluminum) foil. All you need to do is spray Pam on your casserole dish and your servings can be easily removed with no problems.
Date published: 2010-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe! I love this recipe! It is so easy and so very good. Have made it a few times and it is just as good with the less fat sour cream and shredded cheese. It turns out better when you use a thicker tortilla layer. I use a package of 12 of the 8''. 6 for the bottom layer and 6 for the second layer (just over-lap them a little to fit in the dish). Be sure to spray your dish with non-stick cooking spray!
Date published: 2008-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used the recipe from Food & Family mag.NOT the same.There were a few discrepancies that had me VERY... Used the recipe from Food & Family mag.NOT the same.There were a few discrepancies that had me VERY frustrated when it came time to make it.Ingredients say nothing abt chili powder yet the directions say add salsa, dressing & chili powder.Also didn't say how big the bag of cheese should be.There's 2 sizes at our store.I prob would've used more sour cream.It turned out great&tasted great though!!
Date published: 2009-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great versatile recipe. What a great versatile recipe. I made it as the recipe, spraying the pan first and covered with foil. Yum! was my picky grandson's comment. Will try it with corn, corn tortillas, chili beans, different cheeses at different times. This is good for me as I usually cook for two and this has been quick and delicious for family dropping by. I cook it in a pyrex casserole and serve at the table.
Date published: 2007-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family loved it 3 of us and there was only a very small square left after we were done. Family loved it 3 of us and there was only a very small square left after we were done. :) Served with tortilla chips and EXTRA sour cream on the side. Used taco lettuce shreds and a chopped roma tomatoe. Also I did not have the Taco Bell Home Originals thick and chunky salsa so I used a can of diced tomatoe instead. Delicious! It has already been requested again and put in the keeper file.
Date published: 2010-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used ground turkey and added a 1/2 a package of the taco seasoning to the meat. I used ground turkey and added a 1/2 a package of the taco seasoning to the meat. I rinsed and drained the beans really well. Used Fat Free Kraft Italian Dressing and the low Fat Sour Cream. Mixed the Mexican cheese with the sour cream together for the other layer. When finished baking we topped with Corn chips and more Salsa. It was a huge hit and tasted even better the next night. Yum
Date published: 2007-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Yummy! Very Yummy!I made this for supper last night. I did not add the onion as there was enough in the salsa and used reduced fat sour cream. I also used authentic corn tortillas from Mexico - awesome! Unfortunately, the sour cream curdled (did I do something incorrect?) and it didn't come out in neat squares but it still tasted great. I'll be making this for friends as they just had a baby.
Date published: 2008-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very tasty. Very tasty. Be very careful if you line the pan with foil though....the tortillas stick to the foil and you end up without a bottom layer, or you have to peel bits of foil off of the tortillas. I ended up scraping the foil to try to salvage the tortillas. I would make this again without the foil lining. If you choose to line, you might want to spray the foil with cooking spray first.
Date published: 2007-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and tastey. Very easy and tastey. My husband and I both enjoyed, in fact I know we both ate more then we should have! I was surprised when I read the comments, i did not use foil because we did not freeze it, we just made it and ate it and had NO sticking. We used venison and no one would ever have guessed!
Date published: 2007-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, i only gave 3 stars because i made this and ate it right after it was "done" and it was NOT very... OK, i only gave 3 stars because i made this and ate it right after it was "done" and it was NOT very good... not enough flavor at all... but the weird thing is, we had a ton of leftovers so I refrigerated it and brought some for lunch the next day, and it was AWESOME! I don't know what it was, i think this is definitely a "make ahead" meal. I also brought some to my in-laws the next day and they loved it too. Used ground turkey instead of beef. Really good the next day, not so good the day of.
Date published: 2007-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It was one big gooey mess. It was one big gooey mess. Could not cut into serving squares. Too many tortillas overlapping. Tortillas on bottom were hard, layer on top was mush. Do not put tin foil on bottom of dish...served no purpose. Just make the filling - put sour cream on each tortilla FIRST then meat and bean filling. Roll up individual tortillas and heat in dish until cheese is melted. Garnish with lettuce, tomatoes and more grated cheese.
Date published: 2007-09-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I recommend using Corn Tortillas instead, but first fry them slightly on each side, using hot oil,... I recommend using Corn Tortillas instead, but first fry them slightly on each side, using hot oil, for only a few sec. on each side. The flour tortillas came out soggy, and corn holds a little better, frying it makes them a little tougher as well. I will not be using beans next time either or salsa or the dressing, it gave it such an odd flavor and I will use the whole packet of seasoning next time
Date published: 2007-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made the following changes: added a clove of garlic when browning and seasoned ground beef with... Made the following changes: added a clove of garlic when browning and seasoned ground beef with salt, pepper, 1 tbsp taco seasoning, omitted salsa and dressing and instead added 1 large can of red enchilada sauce. Used corn tortillas instead of flour and applied a thin layer of sauce/meat mixture to bottom of pan prior to layering, layer sour cream and then meat mixture as it's easier to spread.
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe with ground turkey instead of beef, left out the Italian dressing, and used low... I made this recipe with ground turkey instead of beef, left out the Italian dressing, and used low fat sour cream and cheese, it took 8 tortillas instead of 6, I cut one in half to fill in all the spaces.I did line my pan with foil (sprayed)but needed a sharp knife to cut through the tortillas, and that cut the foil. If you are not planning on freezing the dish, do not line with the foil, but make sure to spray the pan. This is an excellent recipe!
Date published: 2009-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't made this dish yet. I haven't made this dish yet. My son can be very hard to please sometimes, so I'm going to change it a bit. He doesn't like black beans and was thinking pinto may be the right choice. Also adding a little more taco seasoning instead of italian dressing. It looks great in the picture and sounds very good. Will let you know what a fussy 14yr old thinks! Forever looking for new recipes to try...
Date published: 2009-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had several different tortilla casseroles, but this is by far the best I've ever tasted! I have had several different tortilla casseroles, but this is by far the best I've ever tasted! The italian dressing and taco seasoning really gave it excellent flavor. I also did not use the foil, but I sprayed the pan well. I let it set for a little over five minutes, and the pieces came out perfectly without running everywhere. You need to try this recipe if you haven't already!
Date published: 2007-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is greta but i did revamp the recipe and it turned out better than the original. This is greta but i did revamp the recipe and it turned out better than the original. I used boiled chicken instead of ground beef and used only 1 cup of salsa with i cup of mild enchilada sauce mixed together. Omitted Italian dressing also. This tasted just like when I take the time to make from scratch. Feel free to add your own variations like mushrooms or corn. A MUST TRY !!!
Date published: 2008-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really good. This was really good. I didn't add the italitan dressing because I have added it in previous recipes from Kraft and didn't always like it. I thought that this one would be better without it. With the beans and topped with lettuce and tomato it makes it somewhat healthy. I also used very lean beef and lowfat sourcream (and half of what the recipe called for). It was still very good.
Date published: 2007-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was great and the family loved it. This was great and the family loved it. Made a few slight adjustments, changed the black beans to pinto beans just because my family doesnt like the black beans. I also didnt put the sour cream in the mixture. Added it as a condiment with quacamole. I also added jalepenos. Next time I make this dish I will put cooking spray on the cooking dish before I put the tortillas down.
Date published: 2007-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is tasty. This is tasty. I used the whole packet of taco seasoning and omitted the italian dressing. My only concern was that the bottom layer of tortillas got hard and were difficult to cut which made portioning and eating the dish a little more difficult, but regardless it was still very good, hearty, and we enjoyed it. I sprinkled green onion and jalapenos on each piece before serving.
Date published: 2009-05-03
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_147, tr_687
  • loc_en_US, sid_107317, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557712:107317

>