Layered Fiesta Casserole - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Layered Fiesta Casserole

Prep Time
25
min.
Total Time
55
min.
Servings

6 servings

Say hola to your new favorite Mexican-inspired fiesta casserole. This Layered Fiesta Casserole has ground beef, salsa, tortillas & melted cheddar cheese.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • Brown meat with peppers in large skillet; drain. Return to skillet. Stir in salsa, tomatoes and corn.
  • Spread 1 cup meat mixture onto bottom of 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; top with 6 tortillas, overlapping as necessary. Cover with layers of half each of the remaining meat mixture and cheese; top with remaining tortillas and meat mixture. Cover.
  • Bake 25 to 30 min. or until heated through. Top with remaining cheese; let stand, uncovered, 5 min. or until melted.
TACO BELL® and Logo are trademarks owned and licensed by Taco Bell Corp.

Gluten Aware

This recipe is made with ingredients that contain no labeled sources of gluten. However, if your personal dietary goal is to strictly avoid gluten, be vigilant. Always read ingredient statements on food labels for the most current and accurate information for every recipe ingredient. And when working in the kitchen, use gluten-free preparation methods and utensils. For individualized advice, check with a certified health professional or credible source. Click here for more information.

Make Ahead

Assemble casserole as directed. Refrigerate up to 24 hours. When ready to serve, bake in 375°F oven 40 to 45 min. or until heated through. Top with cheese; continue as directed.

Serving Suggestion

For added color and texture, serve with a mixed green salad tossed with your favorite KRAFT Lite Dressing.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 430
Total fat 15g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 1340mg
Carbohydrate 50g
Dietary fiber 6g
Sugars 8g
Protein 28g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 30 %DV
Vitamin C 60 %DV
Calcium 50 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh man! Oh man! We LOVE this dish! I make it all the time. It's mild enough for the kids but spicy enough for the grown-ups. We like to top it with sour cream too. I make it different depending on what I have on hand. I've used ground turkey and canned chicken in addition to the ground beef. Sometimes instead of using the peppers, I will add a can of diced green chilies. I have also substitutedd fresh tomatoes for the canned. No matter how you make it, it will be eaten till it's gone!
Date published: 2009-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Next time I would add onions and maybe jalapenos. Next time I would add onions and maybe jalapenos. I did buy the diced tomatoes with jalapenos. We like it spicy, so I would probably use hot salsa vs. the regular salsa. I used a non-Taco Bell brand and it was fine. I also used 8" tortillas (low carb) and only used 2 1/2 per layer but did 3 layers instead of 2. I also used a Mexican cheese instead of sharp cheddar. Easy recipe to make to your liking. Very good & would be easy to double and/or make ahead of time.
Date published: 2009-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was brilliant! This recipe was brilliant! My boyfriend and I love spicy/mexican food. I read the reviews before hand and lots of you said it needed more kick, so I used medium salsa and when I was browning my meat I added in some mexican chili seasoning. I used mixed veggies as I didn't have just corn laying around. I have to say this is our new favourite dish!! So easy to make. The flavour combo is amazing. Great for leftovers the next day too! This is a sure hit in our household!
Date published: 2005-12-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Here is what you doto make this taste better - when cooking the meat, add any or all of the... Here is what you doto make this taste better - when cooking the meat, add any or all of the following: Cominos, Sage, Garlic, Oregano, & Chili Powder. Also putting in diced chili peppers or chopped Jalapenos (remove the seeds from the peppers before chopping to make them less hot) can make a difference. I know that Taco Bell Salsa is a Kraft brand, but a homemade Salsa will have much better taste and texture - which adds to the flavor and presentation of the dish.
Date published: 2005-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am gluten free and this dish really hit the spot! I found some corn tortillas and set about to find a recipe to use with them. I read all of the reviews for this recipe and incorporated many of the suggestions: I added a chopped up onion to the ground beef when I browned it. I also added 1 T. of chili powder and a can of rinsed black beans to the mixture after it cooked. I made three layers with the tortillas, filling and cheese. I felt no guilt, as this casserole is filled with healthy vegetables! Enjoy!
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made a few tweaks, #1 I used ground turkey and 2% reduced fat cheese to make healthier. I made a few tweaks, #1 I used ground turkey and 2% reduced fat cheese to make healthier. #2, recipe calls to put meat mixture as first layer on bottom, I put tortillas first, comes out like a lasagna in a way, less messy! #3 used mexi-corn so you have have the chopped peppers already- much faster(plus onions which recipe doesn't call for but a good additive) and I topped my slice with some sour cream-Yummy and nice quick dinner! Will def make again :)
Date published: 2009-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is delic very tasty i added taco seasoning garlic and onion along with the peppers... this is delic very tasty i added taco seasoning garlic and onion along with the peppers then stirred in the tomatoes and the salsa then added the corn i also added sliced black olives i let this cook for a while then layered the ingredients the only difference is that i added the cheese on each layer i baked this for about 40 minutes at 350 my family says that this is a keeper i will be making this again and again
Date published: 2005-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the shape and size of my 13x9 pan, I wondered if 12 tortillas were too much and 6 would be... For the shape and size of my 13x9 pan, I wondered if 12 tortillas were too much and 6 would be better. Sometimes there were 3 on top of each other in one layer (for a total of 6 on top of each other), and it was almost too much. It made the dish very dense. I liked the edges, where I couldn't fit as many tortillas, and so there weren't as many layers. Otherwise, it was really good. It tasted better the second day, after all the flavors mixed.
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty decent and easy meal! Pretty decent and easy meal! I did make some minor changes; I added cumin to the meat and pepper mixture as it was cooking. I added canned corn and black beans to the skillet as well and the diced tomatoes I used had green chilies in it, I also did drain the canned tomatoes. I used flour tortillas and I spooned the mixture into the 9 x 13 with a slotted spoon so that the mixture was not so mushy in the end. My husband really loved it.
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neighbor came home and gave me a dish and told me what it was, I said get me recipe..when I got I... Neighbor came home and gave me a dish and told me what it was, I said get me recipe..when I got I said that was in my Kraft Food & Family Mag.. got it out and away I went. I made to recipe and then I adjusted some. Still same concept. I stir fry chicken, corn,salsa, and a commercial can product of spicy beans,corn, etc and do same thing. Just as great. This is a big hit at office. Make a pan of this for snacking, gone.
Date published: 2006-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used Ground Turkey instead, and also added some onion and black beans to the mixture. I used Ground Turkey instead, and also added some onion and black beans to the mixture. Then I tasted and added some taco seasoning. After cooking, you can add some additional salsa and sour cream as a garnish. When reheating the next day, heat covered, then remove the foil and heat uncovered for 10 to 15 mins. it dries up some and adds a little crunch. This is one of those meals where left overs taste even better.
Date published: 2005-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are Texans, love spicy Mexican food, and are on a low cal-low fat diet. We are Texans, love spicy Mexican food, and are on a low cal-low fat diet. This fit in SUPER!!! The flavor is the best!!! I added 1 large chopped onion, 3 cloves of minced garlic, and used "rotel" tomatoes instead of just plain diced tomatoes. I also used 1 chopped and seeded Jalepeno Pepper. You can leave out all the spicer items I used - but by all means use the onion and garlic - it adds so much more flavor.
Date published: 2006-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am the mother of 5 kids, 3 of which are all over 6'0 tall and very big eaters. I am the mother of 5 kids, 3 of which are all over 6'0 tall and very big eaters. I double this recipe so that there is enough for everyone. What I like most about this casserole is that I don't have to go over my budget to feed my family a hearty meal. The colors that come from this dish also make it very appealing and it's so easy to make. I add a dallop of sour cream and presto!!! Thanks Kraft Foods!!!
Date published: 2006-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like many other reviewers, I must say that this recipe was far better on the SECOND day. Like many other reviewers, I must say that this recipe was far better on the SECOND day. That said, it was very easy to prepare and very tasty. I added a can of chopped green chiles for a little extra flavor, and also used a packet of taco seasoning. As suggested by others, I used flour tortillas and it turned out very well. I'm sure that corn would be ver good, as well. We'll definitely make this again.
Date published: 2006-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this with a few changes. I made this with a few changes. I used 93% ground turkey in place of beef which I seasoned with garlic pepper as I cooked it, and I added chopped onions. I waas taking it to a covered dish supper so I also cut the corn tortillas each in about 8 pieces so it would be easier to get out of the dish. Very good and what little I had left over I microwaved for dinner the next night. I will be making it again.
Date published: 2009-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was very good, and even my teenagers went back for more! This was very good, and even my teenagers went back for more! However, I seasoned the beef with taco seasoning, added chopped onion and fresh pressed garlic to the hamburger while it was cooking in addition to the green peppers, used 1 can of corn instead of frozen and added black beans. Will definitely make again! It makes a lot and is easy to make and serve! Thanks Kraft for another great recipe!
Date published: 2008-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my family and they loved it. I made this recipe for my family and they loved it. My husband ate 3 servings:) I used black beans instead of the tomatoes since there was already tomatoes in the salsa. I also added garlic and onions to the ground beef. I used one of the layers of tortillas on the bottom so it was more like a sandwich. Yummy!!!!! Since I put all the ingredients in already hot it didn't take as long to bake.
Date published: 2005-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband and I liked this recipe and will definitely have it again. My husband and I liked this recipe and will definitely have it again. I had expected it to be a little spicy and was a bit disappointed that it wasn't. I added half of a large onion (sautéed) to the meat mixture and in the future, I will also add a packet of taco seasoning, just for a kick. Other than the expectation of spice, it was a good recipe and I recommend it to everyone! :) Enjoy.
Date published: 2010-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this with a few changes. I made this with a few changes. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also used onions, taco seasoning, black beans, green chilies, and only used 6 corn tortillas. I finished it off with jalepenos and sour cream and this was to die for. It was so good that I will be giving this recipe out to my friends and family. Thank you so much for this recipe. Keep them coming.
Date published: 2006-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply put, this is one of those recipes that is good for you AND it tastes really great! Simply put, this is one of those recipes that is good for you AND it tastes really great! Our kids, 4 and 2, gobbled it up! They didn't even catch the green and red pepper. I felt good serving a healthy meal - but I will admit that I used more cheese than the recipe called for (2 cups). Simple, quick, healthy, and delicious - everything us moms are looking for in a recipe! :)
Date published: 2009-04-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I love casserole and one-dish meals but I wouldn't make this particular dish because of the amount... I love casserole and one-dish meals but I wouldn't make this particular dish because of the amount of sodium in the dish; however, I will try it using a fresher, healthier alternative to the Taco Bell salsa as I'm sure this is the ingredient that contributes to the high sodium content in the recipe. I will also use less cheese as the dish looks really easy to make.
Date published: 2006-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was GREAT! This recipe was GREAT! Tons of flavor, pretty colors, and very impressive! We couldn't find the Taco Bell chunky salsa so we used another chunky salsa - a medium hotness which was perfect (for us anyway). We also added a dollup of sour cream on top of our individual servings which was a great addition!!! We also left out the corn. It made a lot more than 6 servings!
Date published: 2005-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really liked the combination of flavors - the tang of the tomatoes, the crunch of the peppers,... I really liked the combination of flavors - the tang of the tomatoes, the crunch of the peppers, and the snap of the corn. However, I felt it needed a "kick" in the spice dept., so after-the-fact, I added some chipotle spices (no-salt). I'll consider the suggestions of black beans and/or chiles and sour cream as well. Very good! I'll make it again and again.
Date published: 2009-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mmmmm good! Mmmmm good! I omitted the green peppers,and used flour tortillas cut into little squares instead of the whole corn tortillas. I never liked corn tortillas. I would double the meat next time, didn't seem like enough to get the layers all even. I am thinking of making this for my sister and her children when we go visit over spring break. Very kid friendly meal!!
Date published: 2008-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made a few changes and my daughter loved it. I made a few changes and my daughter loved it. I added onions along with the peppers, green chilis & a can of FF cream of chicken soup, use a small can of tomato sauce instead of diced tom. I cut up the corn tortillas and mixed in instead of layering. My daughter works in group home for developmentally disabled adults and she is going to make it for them.
Date published: 2009-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The recipe was great. The recipe was great. My husband couldn't stop raving and wanted to make sure it was added to the dinner rotation. I changed the recipe a little, I used seasoned ground turkey breast and whole wheat tortillas in place of the corn tortillas and ground beef. I made it the night before and through it in the oven, it cooked perfectly. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2008-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so easy. This was so easy. I don't eat meat, so I used 2 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed. I also added nearly a full packet of Taco Bell taco seasoning and used Hot Rotel instead of regular diced tomatoes. I used crunchy corn tortillas (taco shells). I wasn't sure which to use, but from prior reviews, I made these adjustments and it's fabulous!
Date published: 2010-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this last night and my family loved it! Made this last night and my family loved it! I did add the black beans (drained and rinsed) as others suggested. I also used the flour tortillas instead of the corn. We used scoops chips to eat ours with and i think we all went back for 2nd's and some for 3rd's. Plenty of left over for tonight, which i know that my family will not mind!
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this last night and my family loved it! Made this last night and my family loved it! I did add the black beans (drained and rinsed) as others suggested. I also used the flour tortillas instead of the corn. We used scoops chips to eat ours with and i think we all went back for 2nd's and some for 3rd's. Plenty of left over for tonight, which i know that my family will not mind!
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this last night and my family loved it! Made this last night and my family loved it! I did add the black beans (drained and rinsed) as others suggested. I also used the flour tortillas instead of the corn. We used scoops chips to eat ours with and i think we all went back for 2nd's and some for 3rd's. Plenty of left over for tonight, which i know that my family will not mind!
Date published: 2016-01-14
  • y_2017, m_10, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_127, tr_587
  • loc_en_US, sid_75579, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

550994:75579

>