Layered Meatball Bake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Layered Meatball Bake

Prep Time
10
min.
Total Time
35
min.
Servings

6 servings

Meatballs and peas bake in a casserole topped with savory stuffing and melted cheddar. It's exactly as crowd-pleasing as it sounds.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 400ºF.
  • Prepare stuffing as directed on package, using the Light Prep directions.
  • Mix soup and milk in 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray. Stir in meatballs and peas; top with cheese and stuffing.
  • Bake 20 to 25 min. or until heated through.

Make Ahead

Prepare and bake casserole as directed; cool completely. Wrap tightly; freeze up to 1 month. When ready to serve, thaw frozen casserole overnight in refrigerator, then bake (covered) 25 min. or until heated through.

Variation

Prepare as directed, omitting the milk, using Italian-flavored meatballs, and substituting 1 can (14-1/2 oz.) diced tomatoes for the soup and KRAFT Shredded Low-Moisture Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese for the cheddar.

Substitute

Prepare using STOVE TOP Lower Sodium Stuffing Mix for Chicken.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 470
Total fat 28g
Saturated fat 10g
Cholesterol 40mg
Sodium 1360mg
Carbohydrate 36g
Dietary fiber 5g
Sugars 6g
Protein 20g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 30 %DV
Vitamin C 8 %DV
Calcium 35 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family really loved this! My family really loved this!! I did allter the recipe a little bit...I used Monterray Style Stove Top stuffing(instead of chicken), Italian style meatballs (all I had on hand), Velvetta shredded cheese (instead of the cheddar), and added mushrooms on top. I was a bit worried that the Italian Meatballs would make it taste funny, but it was really a big hit with my family, so I definitely will be making this again in the future.
Date published: 2007-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I was really dissapointed with this recipe. I was really dissapointed with this recipe. I used Italian meatballs (nicer then the regular frozen bag) and it didn't even fill a 9x13 pan. I had to transfer to a smaller pan before putting it in the oven. Overall, having the meatballs with the suffing was just weird. I think that chicken would be a much better match to the StoveTop and cream of whatever soup. I will NOT be making this again.
Date published: 2007-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i've made this meatball bake a few times now..and it just keeps getting better! i've made this meatball bake a few times now..and it just keeps getting better! this is great for a night you don't have a lot of time to prepare. i changed mine up a little bit though. i used broccoli instead of peas. i also buy honeysuckle's italian turkey meatballs. 12 come in a package and its the perfect amount! i also use an 8x8 casserole dish so the layers are more thick. excellent!!
Date published: 2008-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was easy to make! This was easy to make! Instead of simple peas, I used frozen mixed veggies which gave it variety (corn, carrots, peas, etc.). In addition, we used frozen Italian flavored turkey meatballs and didn't use stuffing, which sounded too dry. Instead, we crushed 2 cups of Ritz crackers mixed with 1/4 cup of parmasean cheese. For extra flavor, I added Tobasco to my own serving. Yum!
Date published: 2007-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really good and very easy to make, though I did make a few changes. This was really good and very easy to make, though I did make a few changes. Sizing up the meatballs, I used a 9x9 pan to keep the sauce concentrated around the meat. I added 1/4C lowfat sour cream, a drained can of mushrooms and several grinds of pepper to the sauce, and used Italian blend cheese as it was already open in my fridge. Nice on a chilly night.
Date published: 2007-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this recipe! Loved this recipe! I am single so I cut it in half. I used frozen green beans added a little onion powder and steak seasoning . I also used the whole package of stuffing cuz I love stuffing and baked it longer to allow the stuffing to get nice and crunchy on top. I have made this recipe twice it’s even good left over. This one is defiantly a keeper.
Date published: 2008-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family says, "this one's a KEEPER! My family says, "this one's a KEEPER!" I can put it together after coming home from work and we can still sit down to dinner at a reasonable time. I would suggest putting the frozen meatballs in the microwave to defrost some while mixing the stuffing; otherwise it takes somewhat longer for the casserole to be hot throughout the middle.
Date published: 2008-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The timing was off. The timing was off. After 30 minutes in the oven the meatballs were still cold. I did not check the label on the frozen meatballs and bought some that were not pure beef. Awful, but even if the meatballs had been better quality the dish would not have made the cut. Husband ate around the meatballs and requested that I not make again.
Date published: 2008-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was a winner at my house. This recipe was a winner at my house. My grandaughter loved it! I used alfredo sauce instead of the soup and I still added the 1/4 cup milk. I made my own meatballs and I also used frozen mixed veggie instead of just frozen peas and a few more spices. One of my girlfiends passed it to me and I will share it too. A winner and easy too!
Date published: 2010-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My fiance and I both enjoyed this recipe but think that next time we'll try a different cream-based... My fiance and I both enjoyed this recipe but think that next time we'll try a different cream-based soup and a more flavorful cheese than cheddar. This time around, for a little extra flavor we used garlic powder, onion salt, and some seasoning salt prior to baking. We also baked for closer to 30 minutes to fully cook the meatballs.
Date published: 2007-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did a lot of substitutions and basically made my own meatballs instead of the prepared ones in a... I did a lot of substitutions and basically made my own meatballs instead of the prepared ones in a package, made my own dressing with some extra seasoning that my family likes. That way I could control the sodium a bit and put in some extras. It took more time but I like the recipe idea. I would have never thought about this.
Date published: 2007-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We really liked this recipe. We really liked this recipe. It was simple to make. Used a frozen summer veggies mix and that worked fine. I also added some minced onions. BF loved it, but said he wouldl ike more of the stuffing/veggie mixture because there are a lot of meatballs. So next time I may double the stuffing and veggies. Def a great dinner!
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was concerned ingrediants were not going to be enough to fill a 13 x 9 plan, but still followed... Was concerned ingrediants were not going to be enough to fill a 13 x 9 plan, but still followed directions. Only had the smaller meatballs on hand.Did not use frozen peas, used canned instead. Have a request to put less peas in next time. Turned out wonderful. Will make again and again. Very simple and very quick.
Date published: 2007-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband and I loved this recipe. My husband and I loved this recipe. I used golden mushroom soup instead and then used velveta shredded cheese too. I also added 1 1/2 cups cooked shell pasta to it also which really made it more hearty and better tasting. add the cooked pasta when you add the meatballs. We definatly loved it and will make it again.
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was very easy to make and tastes good! Was very easy to make and tastes good! I do recommend thawing the meatballs like others have suggested. I cut the recipe in half except for the stuffing since I was making it for two. Instead of peas I used frozen mixed veggies and since I didn't have milk, I used half&half with water. Will definitely make again.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I changed mine up a bit! I changed mine up a bit! I used the new Italian Style Roasted Garlic Stove top and Italian Meatballs. Substituted 2 8oz cans of tomato sauce for soup and milk, and topped with 2 cups of mozzarella cheese. I also added basil and garlic powder with a little salt & pepper. It was great! Will definatley make again.
Date published: 2007-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used cream of chicken soup instead. I used cream of chicken soup instead. I also made in a 1 1/2 quart dish as I didn't think it adequately filled the 9x13. I'll have to find a different veggie to use next time as my pea-disliking husband admitted he swallowed them whole! :) The kids ate it though. We didn't have any left overs!
Date published: 2008-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I improvised as I didnt have the exact ingredients and my husband said "Definitely make this again -... I improvised as I didnt have the exact ingredients and my husband said "Definitely make this again - its a winner" I had Italian meatballs and used a can of stewed tomatoes and instead of the frozen peas used frozen mixed vegetables. Otherwise I used the ingredients as they were listed.
Date published: 2007-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this with two 14.5 oz cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes, a small can of mushrooms, and one... Made this with two 14.5 oz cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes, a small can of mushrooms, and one green pepper. I also used two cups of Italian cheese and added oregano, garlic, and basil to the stuffing mix. It was fantastic! Tasted like a deep dish pizza. Will certainly make again.
Date published: 2011-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a very good and easy recipe. This was a very good and easy recipe. I made a few changes. I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom soup and I added garlic to the recipe as well as Worcestershire Sauce as I thought it might be a little bland. It turned out really well and I will make again.
Date published: 2007-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I doubled the recipe, using spicy meatballs on one side and traditional on the other side. I doubled the recipe, using spicy meatballs on one side and traditional on the other side. I also used mixed veggies instead of just peas. This got rave reviews. I am making a few ahead for my sister-in-law to freeze, she is expecting a baby and I think this will be an easy meal.
Date published: 2007-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really good - especially since it was so quick and easy! This was really good - especially since it was so quick and easy! Made some chages: used a smaller dish, turkey meatballs (a few more than called for to fill dish), 2 cans of green beans instead of peas and doubled the cheese. We loved it and will definitely have it again!
Date published: 2007-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Came out pretty good. Came out pretty good. I did have to cook it for about 30 minutes as the meatballs were not done after 20 minutes. I used italian style meatballs and I think that gave it a little extra flavor. My 4 year old daughter had a great time helping me assemble the casserole.
Date published: 2007-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent! I used cream of chicken soup and let the turkey meatballs defrost prior to cooking. Baked for 30 minutes 'til sauce was bubbling around edges. Used half frozen peas and half frozen edamame. Will definitely make this one again as we both loved it . . . .
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Wonderful! So easy, but the timing is definitely off - I cook for an hour and it's perfect. I've done variations using cream of chicken soup, velveeta cheese, mozzerella and tomato soup, and other kinds of stuffing like cornbread - they all turn out scrumptious!!!
Date published: 2008-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was wonderful. This was wonderful. My 3 year old loved it. As always Food and Family have a great way of disguising vegetables in dishes. I always feel like a good parent when my son eats a recipe from F&F. This was flavorful, easy, and fulfilling. Will make this again.
Date published: 2008-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was super-easy to make and very good! This recipe was super-easy to make and very good! It's a great way to fix frozen meatballs and removes some of their "yuck" factor. Both my husband & I liked this recipe but my son did not. However, due to its ease, I will make again. Definitely a keeper!
Date published: 2011-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family really liked this meal. My family really liked this meal. My husband suggested we use sausage meatballs next time. We think that would taste better with the stuffing. I also doubled the stuffing, milk and soup and added a few more meatballs in the same pan. Turned out great!
Date published: 2007-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe is pretty tasty and easy to make. This recipe is pretty tasty and easy to make. I really liked the soup as the "sauce" the meatballs cooked in. We did not care very much for the stovetop stuffing on top. Next time, I might try frozen hashbrowns or potatoes o'brien instead of stuffing.
Date published: 2009-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was pretty hesitant about this at first, but now I am glad I made it. I was pretty hesitant about this at first, but now I am glad I made it. My husband went back for seconds, which is amazing! I used frozen peas and corn, added diced onion and a little pepper and garlic powder. Thanks for a surprisingly delightful dinner!
Date published: 2007-11-18
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_181
  • loc_en_US, sid_107800, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

558080:107800

>