Layered Pumpkin Loaf - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Layered Pumpkin Loaf

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
25
min.
Servings

16 servings

Just when you thought pumpkin bread couldn’t get any better, we added a creamy layer of Neufchatel cheese.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350ºF.
  • Combine first 4 ingredients. Mix pumpkin, 1 cup granulated sugar, brown sugar, 3 egg whites, milk and oil in large bowl until blended. Add flour mixture; stir just until moistened. Set aside. Beat Neufchatel, remaining granulated sugar and remaining egg white with whisk until blended.
  • Pour half the pumpkin batter into greased and floured 9x5-inch loaf pan; cover with layers of Neufchatel mixture and remaining pumpkin batter.
  • Bake 1 hour to 1 hour 5 min. or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Loosen bread from sides of pan; cool in pan 10 min. Remove from pan to wire rack; cool completely.

How to Store Bread

Wrap cooled bread in foil or plastic wrap. Store in refrigerator up to 4 days before serving.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Healthy Living

  • Good source of vitamin A or C
  • Generally Nutritious
  • Diabetes Center

Diet Exchange

  • 2 Starch
  • 1-1/2 Fat

Nutrition Bonus

Celebrate fall with this delightful pumpkin bread that's rich in vitamin A from the canned pumpkin.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 220
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 2.5g
Cholesterol 10mg
Sodium 190mg
Carbohydrate 35g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 21g
Protein 4g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 50 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 8 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from This bread tasted very good, but because the cream cheese is so compacted you kind of have to spread... This bread tasted very good, but because the cream cheese is so compacted you kind of have to spread it around before you eat a slice. I think the pumpkin roll better distributes the cream cheese. I probably won't make this again. It did make my whole house smell amazing though!
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The pumpkin bread was delicious! The pumpkin bread was delicious! But the cream cheese filling just had an odd consistency, almost like cottage cheese. And it was somewhat grainy. But I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese so maybe that's why. I will definitely make this bread again but omit the cream cheeese filling!
Date published: 2009-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this exactly as it says and it was wonderful. I made this exactly as it says and it was wonderful. I will say it took more like an hour and a half to cook but it turned out just like the picture! Even my husband ate it and he won't eat anything that has pumpkin! I will for sure make it again for my weekend guests!
Date published: 2007-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My first mistake was using too much pumpkin (whoops! My first mistake was using too much pumpkin (whoops!), but I will definitely try this one again. I did find like someone else here that the top browned pretty quickly & it is sort of bland - I will try adding some cinnamon & nutmeg next time for a little more flavor.
Date published: 2007-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this bread several times. I've made this bread several times. I've made it the low fat version with skim milk, egg whites and low fat cream cheese and I've made it using regular milk, whole eggs and regular cream cheese. Both are delicious. I got rave comments and requests for the recipe.
Date published: 2009-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made three loaves, two with the cream cheese and one without - they were all wonderful! I made three loaves, two with the cream cheese and one without - they were all wonderful! everyone who tasted them loved it. I think its even better the second day, cold from the fridge! I'm making it again tonight for my co-workers and more for Thanksgiving!
Date published: 2007-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Fantastic! I've made it twice in the past 3 weeks out of request by friends and family. My mother likes it more than pumpkin pie! I use a whole can of pumpkin and simply double everything else in the recipe to make 2 loaves. They disappear VERY quickly!!!
Date published: 2007-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This wasn't very good at all! This wasn't very good at all! I thought this would be an easy pumpkin roll..NOT! First, it overflowed while baking (and I used a larger pan than it called for) and the center, right below the cream cheese didn't get done! Not impressed with this one at all!
Date published: 2007-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made the pumpkin loaf for the family at Thanksgiving. I made the pumpkin loaf for the family at Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it. I baked it in a 9.5 x 5.0, which is slightly larger and it filled the loaf pan. I had to bake it 65 minutes and at that it barely got done,but when it was done it was very good!
Date published: 2010-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This smelled fantastic while baking, I could not wait to eat some. This smelled fantastic while baking, I could not wait to eat some. I was so disappointed...it's very spongy and frankly icky tasting with the cream cheese in the center. Husband did not like it either and he eats just about anything. Won't make again.
Date published: 2007-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this 3 times already. I have made this 3 times already. The 1st time, I made it to take to work and my husband tried it. He told me I could make him one to take to work too. Everyone just loved it at both places. I will definately be making it lots in the future also.
Date published: 2007-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delicious recipe! Delicious recipe! I used some of the other recommendations and added an extra teaspoon of the pumpkin pie spice to the bread mixture. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. I had to cook mine for 1 1/2 hrs. It was great!
Date published: 2007-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a perfect dessert or breakfast recipe. This is a perfect dessert or breakfast recipe. I did what someone else recommended and put some cinnamon in the cream chese just to add a bit of color. This bread won't last long and your family will ask for it again after trying it the first time!
Date published: 2008-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My family did not care for this recipe. My family did not care for this recipe. The cream cheese just did not seem to work well "stuck" in the top. We love most of the kraft recipes but won't be making this again. (Their pumpkin/spice cake in the back of the magazine is much better!)
Date published: 2007-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe twice ,once in the loaf pan . I made this recipe twice ,once in the loaf pan . It was a little to messie for us but the smell and flavor was out of this world .So i turned it into a muffin with the filling and it was outstanding. Try it that way and you may like it better.
Date published: 2007-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Husband and kids loved it and asked me to make it again--but I thought it needed a little more... Husband and kids loved it and asked me to make it again--but I thought it needed a little more spice--just a little bland. One thing we all agree on, though, the cream cheese ribbon was a great addition--kind of like a cheese danish in a loaf.
Date published: 2007-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I actually changed the recipe for my convenience. I actually changed the recipe for my convenience. Since I like a short-cut, I utilized a box of pound cake mix. Instead of pumpkin pie spice, I used cinnamon powder. The cake was so easy and yummy. My husband loved it too! Will make it again.
Date published: 2007-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is AWESOME ! This is AWESOME !!!!! I made this to bring to work for breakfast for my group. I tried it at home first. The loaf was gone by the end of the morning. It does taste like a pumpkin roll with out all that work. I will be making this a lot.
Date published: 2007-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is great! This recipe is great! I love cooking with pumpkin, especially around this time of year. I would recommend that you wrap the bread tightly (after completely cooling) & let it "rest" over night. In the morning, it will be moist & tasty.
Date published: 2007-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this, as did my family, the only thing I would do differently is add a little... I really enjoyed this, as did my family, the only thing I would do differently is add a little something to the cream cheese filling, maybe a little cinnamon or nutmeg? It was just a little stark in the middle of such a flavorful bread.
Date published: 2007-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was not pleased at all with this recipe, it calls for 1 hour to 1 hour and 5 mins and I only kept... I was not pleased at all with this recipe, it calls for 1 hour to 1 hour and 5 mins and I only kept in my oven for 56 mins and it was hard on top and the inside was a little mixture of moist and dry and did not have a good taste at all.
Date published: 2007-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not very good. Not very good. Flavor is laking, texture is rubbery and soggy. I made no changes and followed directions exactly as described. This does make the house smeel good, but it lacks in taste and "bread" texture. I won't make this again.
Date published: 2007-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and my family devoured it. I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and my family devoured it. There weren't even any crumbs left on the plate. It is very simple and quick to make. I plan to make it again for Christmas dinner.It is definately a new family favorite!
Date published: 2007-11-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I followed the directions exactly and even cooked it longer than it said and the bottom layer is... I followed the directions exactly and even cooked it longer than it said and the bottom layer is like wet pumpkin. I think the flavor is rather bland tasting. Be sure to cook thoroughly if you make it - longer than recipe states.
Date published: 2007-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made different pumpkin bread recipe but put the cream cheese layer in. Made different pumpkin bread recipe but put the cream cheese layer in. Added little more sugar to the cream cheese mixture. Very good and keeps the bread very moist. Of course I will make pumpkin bread again. -A cook in St. L, MO.
Date published: 2008-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really loved this, yum! I really loved this, yum! I did bake it in a glass loaf dish, and for 10-15 min. longer then called for. My filling looked like a smiley face when we cut it. I also would mix the filling with a mixer, to blend better. Granna
Date published: 2007-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I made this three times and had a problem each time.Changed the oil second time,then third,changed... I made this three times and had a problem each time.Changed the oil second time,then third,changed from splenda to sugar and bought newrer baking powder.Each time did not rise properly. Very disappointed. what is wrong?
Date published: 2008-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i made this pumpkin loaf for thanksgiving it was well liked by all even my husband who really... i made this pumpkin loaf for thanksgiving it was well liked by all even my husband who really doesnt care for pumpkin. the good thing is you can make two loaf's with a small can of pumpkin a hit in my house for sure
Date published: 2009-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a great recipe I added a tsp of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture the second time i made... This was a great recipe I added a tsp of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture the second time i made it. That seemed to add more flavor. It's a very moist pumpkin loaf. Some recipes that I've tried have been too dry.
Date published: 2007-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my family and everyone enjoyed it very much! I made this for my family and everyone enjoyed it very much!!! I altered it a tad and put two teaspoons of the pumpkin spice into the cream cheese mixture. You can never have too much pumpkin spice flavor. Enjoy!!!
Date published: 2007-10-06
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_233
  • loc_en_US, sid_107300, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

557519:107300

>