Loaded Potato Soup - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Loaded Potato Soup

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
30
min.
Servings

4 servings, about 1 cup each

All the flavors of a baked potato topped with the works in one quick and easy Loaded Potato Soup recipe. You have just got to try this one today!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Microwave potatoes in large microwaveable bowl on HIGH 5 min., stirring after 2-1/2 min. Stir in broth and milk. Microwave 10 min., stirring after 5 min. Carefully smash potatoes with potato masher.
  • Reserve 2 Tbsp. each bacon and cheese, and 1 Tbsp. onions for topping. Stir remaining bacon, cheese and onions into soup.
  • Serve topped with sour cream and reserved ingredients.

Serving Suggestion

Serve this hearty soup with a whole wheat roll and bagged green salad tossed with your favorite KRAFT Dressing.

Variation

Peel potatoes before cubing.

Servings

  • 4 servings, about 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings, about 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 290
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 9g
Cholesterol 50mg
Sodium 530mg
Carbohydrate 25g
Dietary fiber 3g
Sugars 4g
Protein 13g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 10 %DV
Vitamin C 20 %DV
Calcium 30 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love shsaring your recipes with my nieecs and nephews who don't have computers. I love shsaring your recipes with my nieecs and nephews who don't have computers. The ones who do have surely signed up.. All the young men in my family love to eat and most are very good cooks too. They are much more creative in the kitchen than I am. They bring wonderful hearty soups they create for us to try. Slow Cooker recipes are their favorites. But they like anything quick and easy. Thanks Alice
Date published: 2007-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super yummy with some tweeks....I didn't see the need to cook it in the microwave, I cooked the... Super yummy with some tweeks....I didn't see the need to cook it in the microwave, I cooked the potatoes in the chicken broth (boiled them like making mashed potatoes) until they forked easily and mashed (not as much as mashed potatoes, left it real chunky), then added the milk and other ingredients. This soup isn't very thick so I added just a little bit of potato flakes to thicken it up. It also is a little blah in flavor so I added salt and pepper to taste, 2 tablespoons of butter and a little more cheese. My husband and I both loved it, we've already made it again. I loved just basically throwing all the ingredients in at once after the potatoes are cooked. Oh, we also didn't quite like all of the potato skins the first time, so the second time I peeled some of the potato so there wouldn't be as much skin and we liked it even more. We're definitely keeping this recipe
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to make, and pretty tasty! Easy to make, and pretty tasty! Followed the advice in the reviews and added a can of 98% fat-free cream of chicken to help thicken the soup -- I can imagine it would be VERY thin without that. Also subbed turkey bacon, skim milk, and fat-free cheddar and omitted the sour cream for a healthier dish. I made mine on the stove, and added all the bacon and cheese into the soup, completely melting the cheese.
Date published: 2009-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This soup was delicious! This soup was delicious! I'm not a big potato soup fan, but it looked so good in the magazine. I found that the potatoes did not get done enough in the microwave. I had to simmer the soup on the stovetop for awhile to get them soft enough to begin mashing them. I agree with the other person who suggested mashing more of the potatoes. The thicker the better! I will make this aagin this fall/winter.
Date published: 2006-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good, but it was a little bland. Pretty good, but it was a little bland. It's a good option for something quick. I cooked it over the stove, but did put the potatoes in the microwave for the first 6-7 minutes to speed up the process a little. I didn't have any problem with it being runny. It was a very thick soup. For a little lengthier, but far tastier version, try the Bacon & Baked Potato Soup recipe on this website. Yum!
Date published: 2007-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and it was sooo good! I made this recipe and it was sooo good! I changed it a little though. (I tripled the recipe) I peeled the potatoes, cooked them in the oven for 30 Minutes with a little water and aluminum foil covering them in a baking dish. Then I cubed the potatoes and put them in a pot on the stove with the broth & milk and then mashed the potatoes. I also added sour cream & butter while it was cooking. Yum!
Date published: 2009-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It definitely did not cook in 15 minutes...after the 10 minute time period, I had to continue to... It definitely did not cook in 15 minutes...after the 10 minute time period, I had to continue to cook it for 10-15 more minutes (5 minute intervals). When it finally did thicken up and the potatoes would mash. I used a half pack of bacon, would have added more if I had it. Also, I would add some spices and seasoning, like oregano and such. Other than that it was good and I will try it again.
Date published: 2006-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this last night. I made this last night. I wasn't that impressed with the flavor. I had to add some extra seasoning to it. The thing that is good about this recipe is that the ingredients are simple things you will probably have around the kitchen on any given day and if you need to make a filling meal when you are strapped for time this would be a good choice along with a sandwich or salad and a roll.
Date published: 2007-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As mentioned, this recipe is a bit thin, I added a can of cream of chicken soup to thicken it up. As mentioned, this recipe is a bit thin, I added a can of cream of chicken soup to thicken it up. Adds great flavor as well. I also added half a package of ranch seasoning. This absolutely makes the recipe. It's amazing. (I also added dried minced onion to the potatoes as I boiled them, but that was mostly due to laziness.) Am making this recipe again tomorrow for friends! Enjoy!
Date published: 2009-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious! This was delicious! I made it up ahead of time then put it in my crock pot to stay warm until supper time. Next time, I'll remove the potato peelings before mashing--my family didn't care for the peelings in the soup. My 18 year old son wasn't home to eat with us so he had leftovers the next day. His comment--"That soup--it was awesome!" I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2006-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY, FAST, DELICIOUS! EASY, FAST, DELICIOUS! Like other reviewers, I used what was on hand--microwavable bacon (super fast, no pan to clean up) and sauteed onions instead of green. I also added 3 TBS of cream cheese and some spices (garlic salt & powder, pepper, etc) to taste. Make sure you use a large enough microwavable bowl. My first 4c bowl overflowed and i had to transfer to a larger dish.
Date published: 2009-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this recipe. I really enjoyed this recipe. However, it did take longer than listed. After cooking the potatoes/milk/broth for 10 minutes, I mashed the potatoes which weren't fully cooked and stuck them back in the microwave for about 7 minutes and that really thickened the soup up. I then added seasoned salt and kosher salt when I added the cheese, onions and bacon. Very good.
Date published: 2007-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made the recipe tonight. I made the recipe tonight. I had 3 fairly good size potatoes so I don't know if this made it so the pototoes didn't cook well in the microwave? I ended up putting it on the stove to simmer. It softened up the potatoes. I added in some pepper and regular onion instead of green onion. Make sure you have a potato masher on hand....i was short one of those too!
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I completely took this recipe and did my own thing with it! I completely took this recipe and did my own thing with it! I started out boiling the cubed potatoes(of which I used 2) in the chicken stock. I then added 1 cup of milk and 1/4lb. velveeta. To thicken the soup I added about a tblsp. of sour cream. top with bacon! This is the best soup to make quickly on a cold day when you just want to curl up with a book!
Date published: 2009-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This recipe is awful! This recipe is awful! I just made this for dinner and we dont even want to eat it... it looks gross and its way to thin, its like water. Not like the picture at all. I'm very disappointed that I have to feed my family this tonight. Actually I think the chickens are getting it and we have to eat ramen noodles. Since theres nothing else cooked for dinner.
Date published: 2010-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a really good base for the soup. This was a really good base for the soup. Although I didn't have green onions, I used regular onions and that seemed to help. Some modifications I made were adding spices and cooking it on the stove top rather than the microwave. I added some garlic and onion powder as well as pepper and salt. I also used turkey bacon which tasted just as good!
Date published: 2010-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SO easy to make & yummy -- although the color was a little off-putting (it looked gray to me). SO easy to make & yummy -- although the color was a little off-putting (it looked gray to me). I substituted veg broth & organic dry-cured bacon & sauteed the onion in a little bacon grease (since I can't eat raw onions) & it turned out fine. The texture was a little coarse, but that's OK by me -- I prefer a homemade "feel" to canned soup any day!
Date published: 2007-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this recipe as a base and added from there. I used this recipe as a base and added from there. I boiled potatos till tender, removed most of the water, leaving just enought and then added 1c milk and two tbsp of Chicken flavor Bouillon, then mashed. It was delicious with sour cream, green onions, bacon and cheese toppings! Will make again soon and I will be adding to our favorates!
Date published: 2009-12-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This was OK. This was OK. Next time I will use cream and do it on the stove top. It was runny and not thick and hearty. I think simmering it on the stove will allow the flavors to soak in to the potatoes and for the potatos to break down a little more and making the soup thicker. It does have good potential, just needs a little tweaking. Also, no skins!!
Date published: 2006-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very good! I used heavy cream the last time I made it... yummy! The cream made it thicker. I have never peeled the potatoes (more nutrients that way) and it turns out great. For those of you whose potatoes are not done... just cook the whole potatoe longer in the microwave. I have to because of high altitude, which affects everything!
Date published: 2006-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I doubled the recipe because we love soups. I doubled the recipe because we love soups. I cooked it on the topstove instead of the microwave. Next time, I will omit the cheese and just have on the table if someone wants cheese in their soup. The cheese appeared to separate when cooking in the soup. It didn't look too well but it was a very good soup. Even better the next day!
Date published: 2007-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just made this for dinner, and thought it was pretty good. I just made this for dinner, and thought it was pretty good. The inital cook time for the potatos should be a little longer, but once all the ingredients were added, it thickened up nicely. We needed to add a little salt and pepper. Perfect for what it is....a very simple to make tasty soup that doesn't come from a can. Will make again.
Date published: 2007-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this a number of time for my side job....cooking and selling food at softball games. I have made this a number of time for my side job....cooking and selling food at softball games. The guys and my family absolutely love it and I get repeated requests for it. I usually use Velveeta cheese in addition to the shredded cheese, add extra bacon and also added cornstarch to thicken it up more along the lines of a chowder.
Date published: 2008-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best soup recipe ever! This is the best soup recipe ever!!! I changed a few things to suit my tastes ..... such as Two types of cheeses, more bacon, green peppers and half & half instead of the milk.I am not a big fan of microwave cooking so I cooked it on the stove. It was thick and creamy and absolutly delicious. I would recomend this recipe to everyone.
Date published: 2007-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good, I did everything on the stove and it turned out great. Very good, I did everything on the stove and it turned out great. I added a little more cheese to it, and a little more potato then called for. I also peeled the potatoes, chopped them and then boiled them instead of cooking in microwave. Mine did not come out thin like others did, which could be because of the extra cheese.
Date published: 2010-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe a total of 2 times and am about to make it again for the 3rd. I have made this recipe a total of 2 times and am about to make it again for the 3rd. My family and I love this so much! It is easy to make and always seems to turn out perfect! I like that it's also easy to double when you need more. (I have always doubled the recipe for my family of 5, and we eat it for about 2 days.) Thanks!
Date published: 2006-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used the ingredients, but used the oven. I used the ingredients, but used the oven. I also used some small red potatoes to add more flavor. I even used 2% milk and it was yummy. I had some ham and used it - wow - my Mother and I really enjoyed it. Thank you Kraft - you're always sending me great recipes to try for my senior Mother and myself. Please keep it up.
Date published: 2006-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I doubled the recipe and did the first part in the microwave and finished it on the stove. I doubled the recipe and did the first part in the microwave and finished it on the stove. It is a great meal. we had it for lunch the next day. It is a quick easy meal for my family. We had everything in the house and did not have to go to the store. This will be a staple in our home because we are on a tight budget.
Date published: 2009-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good. Very good. But, it took longer than it said. Instead of microwaving the potatoes for 5 min, I would do 10 minutes and make sure they are fairly soft when cutting. It thickened up a little after it sat for a little while. Even with the added time, it was quick to make. Great with grilled ham and cheese sandwiches!
Date published: 2007-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not sure what went wrong, but there was alot of liquid for not much potato. Not sure what went wrong, but there was alot of liquid for not much potato. The potatoes never cooked enough to make soup and I gave up. I may have used potatoes that were too big, but after an hour of trying, I gave up. Will give it another shot at some point, but am wondering if the liquid amounts are correct.
Date published: 2006-11-20
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_70, tr_373
  • loc_en_US, sid_94649, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505709:94649

>