Low-Fat Orange Dream Cheesecake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Low-Fat Orange Dream Cheesecake

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
15
min.
Servings

Makes 8 servings.

Low-fat cheesecake? Oh, you betcha—and this orange-y treat calls up memories of a favorite ice cream truck treat for extra yum.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Sprinkle crumbs onto bottom of 8- or 9-inch springform pan sprayed with cooking spray.
  • Add boiling water to gelatin mix; stir 2 min. until completely dissolved. Cool 5 min.; pour into blender. Add cottage cheese and cream cheese; blend well. Pour into large bowl. Whisk in COOL WHIP. Pour into prepared pan; smooth top.
  • Refrigerate 4 hours or until firm. When ready to serve, run knife around rim of pan to loosen cake; remove rim.

Substitute

Substitute 9-inch pie plate for the springform pan.

Special Extra

Garnish with fresh mint sprigs and thin orange slices just before serving.

Servings

  • Makes 8 servings.

Healthy Living

Nutrition Bonus

Think you can't enjoy dessert while trying to make smart choices? Think again. At 90 calories per serving, this creamy orange cheesecake is a dream come true. Plus, it's low-fat and a good source of calcium from the cream cheese.

Nutritional Information

Serving Size Makes 8 servings.
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 90
Total fat 1.5g
Saturated fat 1g
Cholesterol 10mg
Sodium 300mg
Carbohydrate 11g
Sugars 4g
Protein 8g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 15 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cheesecake was awesome! This cheesecake was awesome! I used fat free ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese (which will give you about the same amount of calories), lemon gelatin instead of orange, added some splenda, and topped each slice with a little more cool whip. This made for a refreshing end to dinner, and perfect dessert for summer! I'll be making this again, and again, and again!
Date published: 2006-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely delicious and low-fat! Absolutely delicious and low-fat! Can the low fat be true with such a wonderful taste and texture? The sprinkle of crumbs on the bottom of the pan instead of a buttery graham cracker crust is a great idea. Using one package of cream cheese, low-fat cottage cheese and Cool Whip instead of three packages is another brilliant idea. Kiss the cook for this recipe!
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS! FABULOUS!!!! I'm giving a brunch for some lady friends soon, and I'm going to feature this recipe, in three different flavors, all pastel. I'm making one in orange flavor, one in lime flavor and one in lemon flavor. I served this to both persons watching their caloric intake and not caring how many calories there were. The result was the same: FABULOUS!!!
Date published: 2006-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This was good enough for a casual dessert. This was good enough for a casual dessert. I wouldn't serve it to guests and wasn't that impressed by the flavor and texture the cottage cheese imparted. It's possible I needed to process it longer to get a more creamy consistency. If I made it again I would add a tablespoon or so of Splenda to sweeten a bit and more of a crust to balance the texture.
Date published: 2006-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This recipe was okay. This recipe was okay. I made the mistake of calling it cheesecake and my husband was disappointed when he tried it. It is more like a gelatin salad. I didn't have the problem of it mixing together well. When I used the blender it all blended just fine. There were no cottage cheese chunks. I might cut it into bars next time as a salad dish.
Date published: 2006-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this with lemon jello and I loved it. I made this with lemon jello and I loved it. I follow weight watchers and for 2pts a slice, I can indulge. If you are expecting a dense cheesecake, then don't make this one, but this is a GREAT fluffy pie for those watching their calories and fat! At a b-day party, I was able to forgo the fattening cake and eat a slice OR TWO of this baby!
Date published: 2005-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made two--one orange and one lime. I made two--one orange and one lime. They both turned out excellent. The orange flavored one I used cottage cheese--put in food processor first so it was not lumpy. The second one I omitted the cottage cheese. I thought the flavor was stronger in the lime one when i left out the cottage cheese. However they were both very good!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2006-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can imagine in Hawaii it's very expensive, but in Mi. I can imagine in Hawaii it's very expensive, but in Mi. my Kroger's had FF cream cheese and FF cottage cheese on sale 10 for $10. I already have a cupboard full of sugar free Jello, so we'll be taking this to all the holiday get togethers. That way we know we have something healthier to eat while everyone else is eating fudge. :-)
Date published: 2011-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is very good and easy to make. This recipe is very good and easy to make. This is a great recipe for diabetics or anyone trying to control their weight without giving up sweets. The pie is very soft, however, so I would recommend portioning into individual serving cups before refrigerating. It is difficult to cut into wedges while maintaining good presentation.
Date published: 2007-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe should be titled "OH MY GOSH" CHEESECAKE! This recipe should be titled "OH MY GOSH" CHEESECAKE!!! Absolutely awesome and will make over and over. Maybe next time I'll fold a little less cool whip in to prevent it from overpowering the creamy cream cheese / cottage cheese flavor. I couldn't believe how creamy mixture became after blending. Yall have to try this one!
Date published: 2006-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All the ingredients together was great, but I couldn't get the cottage cheese to be smooth as cream... All the ingredients together was great, but I couldn't get the cottage cheese to be smooth as cream cheese, so for this as you eat a piece you got small pieces of cottage cheese left over in your mouth,I didn't like that type of texture. If anyone try differently and got a smooth consistency please let me know how. Thanks
Date published: 2006-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this cheesecake and most important my husband loved it too. I loved this cheesecake and most important my husband loved it too. He says it a keeper. I recommend this recipe to anyone that's trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle. I am on Weight Watcher and am Lifetime member. It great and very low in points. Keep have more recipes like this I love your site. Thanks Debbie
Date published: 2008-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took this over to the new in-laws house for Thanksgiving. I took this over to the new in-laws house for Thanksgiving. I had to make a good impression. This cheesecake won the heart of my Mother-in-law. The whole family enjoyed it. My only problem now is that I have been threatened with my life to bring this EVERY time I go over there. It is well worth it though...
Date published: 2006-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The name "cheesecake" might be a little deceiving, but as a diabetic who can only vaguely remember... The name "cheesecake" might be a little deceiving, but as a diabetic who can only vaguely remember what a real cheesecake taste like, this was a very refreshing treat. I just made a jello salad with the cracker crumbs sprinkled on top. With this basic recipe, I will only be limited by my imagination.
Date published: 2006-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I changed the sugar free jello flavor from orange to cherry as my favorite is cherry cheesecake,also... I changed the sugar free jello flavor from orange to cherry as my favorite is cherry cheesecake,also used no fat cottage cheese.( I don't think that hurt the recipe). Thankfully I made 2 pies and they were a great hit at our 4th of July bar-b-que. Everyone wants the recipe, so I'm gladly sharing.
Date published: 2008-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe several times as I am on a low-cal diet and husband is a diabetic. I have made this recipe several times as I am on a low-cal diet and husband is a diabetic. For those wanting more of a crust, I have used the pre-made low-fat graham cracker crust available at the store. I also use 8 mandarin orange slices with mint leaves to show where each slice should be cut.
Date published: 2006-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tasty! Very tasty! I've made this dessert twice, the first time using the sugar free orange gelatin, the second time using the sugar free cherry gelatin. The cherry gelatin had much more flavor to it! I will be trying sugar free lime in the future. I like the fact its a low fat, low calorie cheesecake.
Date published: 2006-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is such a delight. This is such a delight. Low in calories and carbs and sugar! My husband and I fought over the last bite. And my 2 1/2 year old who doesn't eat anything... loved this. I plan on taking it to any potlucks or engagements where I have to bring a dessert it looked lovely and tasted even better.
Date published: 2007-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummo! Yummo! Even though the texture isn't as dense as regular cheesecake, this still hit the spot. I made it with lemon Jello and my husband loved it. I did miss having a thicker crust, next time I might actually make a graham cracker crust, because you are still saving lots of calories and fat.
Date published: 2011-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We made this recipe for a dinner party and it was delicious. We made this recipe for a dinner party and it was delicious. It was very light and fluffy and I could have eaten the entire thing in one sitting it was so good. Tip- I used a blender to mix my ingredients and just made sure that everything was smooth and creamy, so there were no lumps. A+
Date published: 2006-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am diabetic and we love cheesecake. I am diabetic and we love cheesecake. this was a great low fat no sugar wonderful cheesecake. I enjoyed every minute and so did the people at my house for easter. they were on different diets and they loved it also. and asked for the recipe and I have sent it to the one who has a computer.
Date published: 2005-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was out of this world.My mother -in-law who hates cheese cakes had two slices...I added 1 tbsp... It was out of this world.My mother -in-law who hates cheese cakes had two slices...I added 1 tbsp of skim milk with the cottage cheese ,then added 1 tbsp of orange extract,and an extra cup of cool whip.My father-in-law asked that I make it again this Sunday.So light yet so sinful...
Date published: 2006-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my gosh, this was SO GOOD! Oh my gosh, this was SO GOOD! I made it with everything fat free I could that the recipe called for & honestly, my family RAVED about this, even those non-diabetic! It was so refreshing, especially with the near 100-degree heat we've been experiencing. this goes in our favorites!
Date published: 2011-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my very first cheesecake attempt and it turned out wonderfully! This was my very first cheesecake attempt and it turned out wonderfully! It was quick, easy, AND healthy so I didn't feel too bad about eating all my hard work :). I found it was easier to just get a store-bought crust, but I probably could have bought two this recipe made so much!
Date published: 2007-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this in 2 layers for a party- halved all ingredients, cranberry jello for bottom layer,... I made this in 2 layers for a party- halved all ingredients, cranberry jello for bottom layer, orange for top (you must half jello mixes after boiling). Complicated but looked pretty. People were afraid to try it at first, but it ended up the breakout star of the dessert table.
Date published: 2007-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was delicious and my husband says it's a keeper. It was delicious and my husband says it's a keeper. I also love the recipes you have on your site because they are low in calories and points. I am a lifetime member of Weight Watchers and have lost 134 pounds after I reached my goal in June of 2007. Keep up the good work!!!
Date published: 2009-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the best low fat dessert I have ever made. This was the best low fat dessert I have ever made. people said that they didn't like the chunks from the cottage cheese, that just means they didn't blend the cheeses long enough or they didn't have a good blender. I used raspberry jello instead of the orange it was so good.
Date published: 2006-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a fabulous recipe. This is a fabulous recipe. The first time I made it with orange. I am getting ready to make it again with another flavor. I was making this for some diabetics in my family, so I used the sugar free cool whip. Even less sugar. I will keep this in my favorite recipes.
Date published: 2007-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my dad for his birthday. I made this for my dad for his birthday. I used fat free cream cheese and vanilla yogart and added mandrian oranges. My son just had a piece and asked for another. Im just wondering...does it come off of the springform bottom? I dont guess so..Loved it though.
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used the strawberry fat free sugar free jello. I used the strawberry fat free sugar free jello. and placed 2/3 cups of frozen unsweetened strawberries (sliced) on top. This added an extra 6 calories to each slice of pie and it was great. My husband who hates low cal foods, eat 2 pieces and wanted more.
Date published: 2006-01-23
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_42, tr_246
  • loc_en_US, sid_63566, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

504500:63566

>