Luscious Four-Layer Pumpkin Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Luscious Four-Layer Pumpkin Cake

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
30
min.
Servings

16 servings

Explore this Luscious Four-Layer Pumpkin Cake recipe. Bring together caramel, cream cheese and pecans in this Luscious Four-Layer Pumpkin Cake.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Beat cake mix, 1 cup pumpkin, milk, oil, eggs and 1 tsp. spice in large bowl with mixer until blended. Pour into 2 greased and floured 9-inch round pans.
  • Bake 28 to 30 min. or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool cakes in pans 10 min. Remove from pans to wire racks; cool completely.
  • Beat cream cheese in medium bowl with mixer until creamy. Add sugar, remaining pumpkin and spice; mix well. Gently stir in COOL WHIP. Cut each cake layer horizontally in half with serrated knife; stack on serving plate, spreading COOL WHIP mixture between layers. (Do not frost top layer.) Drizzle with caramel topping just before serving; top with nuts.

Variation

Prepare using PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Special Extra

Ensure easy removal of cake layers by covering bottoms of cake pans with circles of parchment paper before filling with batter.

How to Slice and Stack Cake Layers

Place 1 of the cooled cake layers on serving plate. Make 2-inch horizontal cut around side of cake, using long serrated knife. Cut all the way through cake layer to make 2 layers. Remove top layer by sliding it onto 9-inch round cardboard circle. Frost cake layer on plate with 1/3 of the COOL WHIP mixture. Slide top half of split cake layer from cardboard circle onto frosted layer on plate. Place the remaining unsplit cake layer on a cutting board. Cut into 2 layers as done for the first layer. Repeat process of transferring cake layers to stacked cake layers on plate using the cardboard circle.

Substitute

Omit caramel sauce. Microwave 10 KRAFT Caramels and 1 Tbsp. milk in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min. or until caramels begin to melt. Stir until caramels are completely melted and sauce is well blended. Drizzle over cake just before serving; top with nuts.

How to Store

Keep prepared dessert refrigerated.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 310
Total fat 16g
Saturated fat 7g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 290mg
Carbohydrate 40g
Dietary fiber 1g
Sugars 28g
Protein 5g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 90 %DV
Vitamin C 2 %DV
Calcium 10 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a ladies meeting where over 20 women attended. I made this cake for a ladies meeting where over 20 women attended. Everyone who saw and tasted the cake oozed and aahed over it. I tweeked it a bit.. Doubling the recipe making one HUGE 4 layer cake. I did not cut the layers in half but kept them big and whole.. For the pumpkin, I used pumpkin pie filling which already had extra spices added to it. I also added 1 tbsp of vanilla and 1 cup of chopped pecans to the cream cheese filling. (The pecans gave the filling a bit of a crunch.) I also poured extra caramel and pecans on top. Everyone Loved it!!! Thanks Kraft!!!
Date published: 2008-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly pumpkin-licious I've used this recipe for 4 years now and it is a big hit... I tweaked it a little to make it more delicious. I add about 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon to the batter and about 2 pinches of cinnamon to the frosting and it comes out amazing!!! My family and coworkers love it! I also love to chop a few extra pecans and add them to the batter. I also add some caramel drizzle to each layer of frosting.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone at work loved this! Everyone at work loved this! Believe me, this is a simple one that only looks fancy. I took the cake and the filling separately, then assembled before serving, which made things a little more simple. The filling did not cause my layers to slide, and I didn't put the caramel all over the top - just over the slices after plating. Even cutting the layers was less traumatic than I thought it would be - I just eyeballed it and it was fine. Remember, the pumpkin filling will basically glue together any false starts! Enjoy the compliments...
Date published: 2007-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I absolutely LOVE this recipe. It's an easy recipe that has a WOW affect when it is done. It looks like it would be a heavy dessert but it really is pretty light. A great any season recipe. the only thing that would make this better is to drizzle a little chocolate syrup over the top with the caramel sauce. : )
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What more can be said about this recipe. What more can be said about this recipe. I had it at our monthly bunco fun night and everyone raved. I asked the person, who brought it, if it was a secret recipe and she laughed and said, "No! Go to Kraft.com." I did and made this for Thanksgiving. We had five families over and they thought I was some kind of gourmet chef when I brought out the caramel syrup and dripped it over the cake, topped it with nuts and put it on the table. Wonderful looking and AWESOME tastng. This will now be a traditional recipe.
Date published: 2007-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I actually made this recipe for a work Halloween party. I actually made this recipe for a work Halloween party. I adjusted the recipe to make it into cupcakes instead of the 4 layer cake because I knew it would be easier for the guests to eat. I got soo many compliments on the cupcakes. They were extremely moist and delicious. I used organic pumpkin pie that I made myself. Now the icing is why this recipe has 4 stars instead of 5. I just wasn't impressed with it. But definitely am going to make it again, and am willing to give the icing another try! Great recipe!
Date published: 2009-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let me be the 1501st person to rave about this recipe. Let me be the 1501st person to rave about this recipe. The cake was great. Not to sweet and extremely moist. I made a couple of changes that did not hurt the recipe. I made my own whipped cream to add to the cream cheese frosting and used a small amount of cinnamon and nutmeg in place of the pumpkin spice. I also did not use the caramel sauce on top, but a small dusting of powdered sugar and walnuts. When I make the cake again, I will add more walnuts in between the layers. Everyone loved this cake!
Date published: 2010-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a birthday cake at work. I made this for a birthday cake at work. I love pumpkin recipes so I had to try it. The cake was so moist - it was a perferct fall desert. Everyone raved about how wonderful it tasted & how light a cake. For the carmel topping, I microwaved it to make it spread easier, I then spread a thin layer of the carmel on the top layer, then used my rolling pin to break up the pecans & sprinkled them on top of the carmel. I think that was the finishing touch. I plan to make it again for Thanksgiving desert.
Date published: 2006-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a Christmas dessert contest, and won. I made this cake for a Christmas dessert contest, and won. I have become known for this cake, and people don't believe me when I tell them how easy it was. It is the most requested thing I make and at each function they want to know if I'm bringing it, even if the event is in July. I put my cakes in the freezer after baking and that makes cutting them in half much easier, and prevents crumbs from going everywhere. This is a definate crowd pleaser! And is always the first to go at any function.
Date published: 2005-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake and it was fantastic! I made this cake and it was fantastic! I made it for Thanksgiving this year. I made the acutal cake layers the night before and then put it all together the morning of Thanksgiving. It was very impressive. The video helped me learn how to cut the layers in half so it's worth watching. My finished cake looked exactly like the picture on the recipe. I will try a chocolate version next as my family likes chocolate much more than pumpkin. You will get so many compliments if you make this cake!
Date published: 2009-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cake several times and it is EXCELLENT! I have made this cake several times and it is EXCELLENT! The best dessert I have ever made. Each time I have made it, I have changed something. I have frosted the cake all over, have added the caramel, have used condensed milk in place of the caramel, have added crushed pecans to the frosting. The one thing I do consistently everytime is to use pumpkin pie mix instead of canned pumpkin. I made this mistake the first time and have continued! This is an excellent addition to any meal!
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, that's all I have to say! Wow, that's all I have to say! This cake is so moist and delicious, and you can't tell it's boxed cake. I added about a 1/2 teaspoon extra pumpkin spice to the cake mix and the icing. I also added about a 1/2 cup extra powdered sugar to the icing. I also drizzled a little caramel on each layer instead of just on top. My mom said it's one of the best cakes she's ever eaten. I will be making it again for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Fantastic recipe! I will be making this for years to come.
Date published: 2008-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the second year I've made the cake for Thanksgiving, and it was such a big hit again this... This is the second year I've made the cake for Thanksgiving, and it was such a big hit again this year that I was asked to make it for Christmas as well. My 19-year old daughter (who hates baking and swears she ruins everything) even enjoyed helping and was impressed it turned out so well. It's turned out beautifully every time we've made it. One hint, if you really butter and flour your cake pans well, it will look exactly like the picture. Tastes great, very light but flavorful!
Date published: 2005-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I substituted spice cake for yellow cake and left out the pumpkin pie spice in the batter (although... I substituted spice cake for yellow cake and left out the pumpkin pie spice in the batter (although I did add it in the filling). It was SO fabulous it didn't need the nuts or carmel on top! We love pumpkin (but hate traditional pumpkin pie) so we'll plan on incorporating this into our Thanksgiving dessert table. The ONLY problem with this cake is that it was so big with the filling that I couldn't get the dome on the cake serving plate. (That's not really a complaint?!) :-)
Date published: 2007-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for Thanksgiving, and it was absolutely delicious! I made this cake for Thanksgiving, and it was absolutely delicious! I made the cake and filling with a few changes. I did not have pumpkin pie spice, so I used cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. I did not use the caramel ice cream topping nor the pecans. Instead I frosted the entire cake with the cream cheese filling mixture. It was a big hit. Everyone enjoyed it better than pumpkin pie, because it was so light tasting. Great recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2008-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this recipe at least five times for five different occasions. I have made this recipe at least five times for five different occasions. In each occasion, the celebrants enjoyed the recipe and requested that I make it again. Because the filling/frosting was too soft, I had frozen the dessert. The celebrants thought it was an ice-cream cake. One celebrant who does not care for pumpkin really enoyed the recipe and stated that she would have this pumpkin, but only if made this way. I found the dessert to be light and refreshing.
Date published: 2005-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from bluesky- I made this cake for our Halloween party at work and it was a hit. bluesky- I made this cake for our Halloween party at work and it was a hit. The entire cake was eaten in 1 hour. I had like 20 people asking me for the recipe. All I heard was ooh mmm this is soo oo good. It'svery moist and creamy its truly a lucious pumpkin cake. I had fun making it. I added food coloring to the frosting to make it more of an orange color. Every one at my job wants to make it for the Thanksgiving holiday. I will defenetly make this cake again!
Date published: 2006-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is great. This cake is great. I was lazy so used my 3 round pans and didn't divide them. I put the filling in between the 2 layers, and then put it on top. Drizzled the caramel over the filling then added the pecans. I didn't use as much caramel as the recipe called for and didn't feel like I needed more. Everyone raved about the cake and asked for the recipe. I'll definitely make this again - it looks impressive, tastes great, yet was fairly easy to make.
Date published: 2005-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think this is the best cake we have ever had. I think this is the best cake we have ever had. I made it in a 13x9 pan so my husband could take it to work. We decided to try it the night before he was going to take it in. Well it never made it to work. We couldn't stand to give it away. I served it to my kids and some company and they all raved over it. The good part is that it isn't too sweet and too rich. This will be on our Thanksgiving table and at many other times throughout the year!!!
Date published: 2006-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our 'grand' daughter, Kaitlyn, loves pumpkin so much. Our 'grand' daughter, Kaitlyn, loves pumpkin so much. When I received this cake recipe online before Thanksgiving I had to try it. My family raved over it, especially Kaitlyn! Just before Christmas she ask that I make another and bring it to her house for our Christmas dinner there. Of course, I did, and it was a hit again. It is a marvelous cake! Do your family a favor and try it......it will become a 'family favorite' during the holidays - promise!
Date published: 2008-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was very nervous about making this cake for Thanksgiving, so I seperated the mixture into 4 baking... I was very nervous about making this cake for Thanksgiving, so I seperated the mixture into 4 baking pans instead of trying to cut the 2 cakes into 4 pieces. It worked famoulsy!! The cake was so simple and delicious. It was a big hit at out Thanksgiving gathering. I would definately recomend this recipe to anyone wanting to make and extra special desert. Even my son liked it and he dosen't like much of anything. I will make this cake again and again.
Date published: 2005-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I adjusted the recipe to bake the cake as a 13 x 9 single-layer cake. I adjusted the recipe to bake the cake as a 13 x 9 single-layer cake. I baked the cake for 35 minutes, and it was perfectly done! After the cake was cooled, I frosted it with the frosting in the recipe. The cake was used for a church event, and won nothing short of rave reviews. The frosting was even more impressive than the cake itself! I will make this cake again - and will likely be asked to bake it again the same way! What a winning recipe!
Date published: 2007-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was really skeptical at first because I never tasted cake with pumpkin before but it got such... I was really skeptical at first because I never tasted cake with pumpkin before but it got such great reviews that I took the risk. It was so very delicious. It was eaten up so quickly. I used a tad bit extra sugar to the icing and added more of the pumpkin pie spice to both the cake and icing..only because I love the flavor..not that the cake was lacking. I love baking and this is one of my top favorite cakes. Will definitely make this again!!
Date published: 2006-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite seasonal cake to make for work, family & volunteer organizations. This is my favorite seasonal cake to make for work, family & volunteer organizations. Everyone loves this cake. I made this recipe as cupcakes once ... used a pastry bag and filled the insides of the cupcakes with the icing mixture, then made a swirl on top with a fancy tip. People acted like I'd performed some kind of magic act! If you make this cake, be prepared for lots of attention ... and bring extra printouts of the recipe with you!
Date published: 2007-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter choose this cake for her wedding cake. My daughter choose this cake for her wedding cake. I did use cream cheese frosting instead of the caramel nut topping, (I just couldn't bring myself to be quite that unconventional for her cake) and I used the pumpkin filling freezing the cake with the filling in it so it wouldn't "bleed" into the frosting. Everyone thought it was extraordinary; it was moist and had outstanding flavor. Even I liked it – and I don’t usually like pumpkin!
Date published: 2007-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this cake several times, and everyone loves it! I've made this cake several times, and everyone loves it! The recipe is easy, the results impressive. You should try it with the cream cheese (when the filling has been made, no one would guess there is cream cheese in it). I sometimes use the filling as a frosting for top and sides with pecans as decoration. I haven't tried the caramel sauce. Calorie count can be reduced by using low-fat cream cheese and low-calorie whipped topping.
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS ONE YUMMY CAKE! THIS IS ONE YUMMY CAKE!! WITH THE 1ST CAKE, I ONLY MADE A 2 LAYER CAKE AND OMITTED THE CARAMEL AND PECANS, ADDED 1/2 THE FROSTING (SAVED THE REST FOR FAMILY TO ADD MORE IF DESIRED) AND FROSTED THE ENTIRE CAKE INCLUDING SIDES AND TOP. THE SECOND CAKE I MADE I ADDED THE PECANS FINELY CHOPPED IN BETWEEN LAYERS AND I MUST TELL YOU THAT BOTH WAYS IS DELICIOUS! MY FAMILY LOVES IT, AND IT'S ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL IF ASSEMBLED CORRECTLY!
Date published: 2007-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this recipe was wonderful! this recipe was wonderful!! i made it for halloween and then shared the recipe to my mom. she made it for Thanksgiving and served it at the diner she works at. she asked me to send the link for the recipe to her so she could pass it out at work. it's a huge hit everywhere. i didnt put the nuts or caramel on it, didnt see the connection in flavors...it was still wonderful. it reminds me of a pumpkin roll. Great recipe!!!
Date published: 2007-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a delicious cake. This is a delicious cake. I made it the day before Thanksgiving, and it only made it through Thanksgiving morning for breakfast. It was as easy to make this cake as to bake one from a box. My husband wanted me to go back out that nite to get the ingredents to make another one for Thanksgiving day, but I didn't make it. I'm sure I will buy triple ingredents and have them on hand to make the cake through out the New Year!!!
Date published: 2008-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is absolutely the most delicious cake I've had. This is absolutely the most delicious cake I've had. It is very easy to make and it was a big hit at Thanksgiving. I made another one for my office and it was gone in no time. It's beautiful and tasty too. Would make it over and over and I'm not really a baker. The filling is lite and not very sweet. The caramel and pecan on top really top it off. Very very good!!!! If there were more stars I'd click on all of them.
Date published: 2008-12-09
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_154, tr_1246
  • loc_en_US, sid_65930, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

547700:65930

>