Luscious Lemon Poke Cake - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Luscious Lemon Poke Cake

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
4
hr.
30
min.
Servings

16 servings

Explore this delightful recipe for Luscious Lemon Poke Cake. Simple yet scrumptious, you'll want to tell everyone about this Luscious Lemon Poke Cake!

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in Winnetka, IL 60093
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Place cake layers, top sides up, in 2 clean 9-inch round pans. Pierce cakes with large fork at 1/2-inch intervals.
  • Add boiling water to gelatin mix; stir 2 min. until completely dissolved. Carefully pour over cake layers. Refrigerate 3 hours.
  • Beat pudding mix and milk in large bowl with whisk 2 min.; stir in COOL WHIP. Dip 1 cake pan in warm water 10 sec.; unmold onto plate. Spread with about 1 cup pudding mixture. Unmold second cake layer; carefully place on first cake layer. Frost top and side of cake with remaining pudding mixture. Refrigerate 1 hour.

Substitute

Prepare using COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Special Extra

Garnish with lemon slices and fresh mint sprigs just before serving.

Lemon-Lime Poke Cake

Substitute 1 pkg. (3 oz.) each JELL-O Lemon Flavor Gelatin and JELL-O Lime Flavor Gelatin for the 1 pkg. (6 oz.) JELL-O Lemon Flavor Gelatin. Stir 1 cup boiling water into each flavor of gelatin mix in separate bowls. Pour lemon gelatin over 1 pierced cake layer and lime gelatin over second pierced cake layer in clean round pans. Continue as directed.

Substitute

Prepare using 2 pkg. (3 oz. each) JELL-O Lemon Flavor Gelatin.

Servings

  • 16 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 16 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 260
Total fat 8g
Saturated fat 4g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 360mg
Carbohydrate 43g
Sugars 29g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 6 %DV
Iron 4 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for a party I was invited to today. I made this recipe for a party I was invited to today. I was hesitant and skeptical, since I feared the cake would turn out a soggy mess. It was excellent, even though I made a mistake I won't repeat. I made the "fast-setting" jello recipe, and the gelatin poured over my 9" X 13" cake was thicker than it should have been and didn't penetrate deeply into the cake. It kinda' stayed on top and sides of the cake, and seeped only slightly into the poked holes. It was still delicious, moist and flavorful. Your recipe should be more clear to use the normal jello recipe. (I also used a yellow cake mix, and it was still strikingly pretty and tasty). Also, I wanted to liven up the Coolwhip so I added sprinkles to it just before serving. I was glad I waited, because the sprinkles just melted on the whipped topping, and would have looked unattractive had I sprinkled the decorations on earlier in the day.
Date published: 2004-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE poke cakes! I LOVE poke cakes! I topped the cake with mandarin oranges and used orange jello like another reviewer suggested. the only problem with this cake is that the frosting (which is SO delicious) makes the layers kind of slippery. Maybe adding something else in between the layers along with the frosting would keep them together. Watch the video along with this recipe. Mine turned out exactly like the picture! I'm eager to experiment with other cake and jello flavors!
Date published: 2007-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This looked so pretty, I decorated the top with rainbow sprinkles. This looked so pretty, I decorated the top with rainbow sprinkles. It tasted great, my friends who are not huge dessert fans wanted seconds. I did find the cool whip/pudding "frosting" to be a little slippery while serving the cake. Next time I make this cake I think I'll be cautious and go with the 13 x 9 inch rectangle. Less room for slippage! But with that said, this was a very light, refreshing, delicous cake! We will have this again!
Date published: 2007-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I did not add candied lemons on top, but this cake was very light and refreshing. I did not add candied lemons on top, but this cake was very light and refreshing. As with other cakes on here that you pour jello over top, I did not use all of the jello mixture. About 3/4 of what the recipe calls for. Also, I wouldn't use the whole packet of lemon pudding in the icing again. With the lemon jello in there too, it's way to lemon'y for my taste. I'd add more cool whip or maybe some powdered sugar
Date published: 2007-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was glad to see the e-mail I recieved with this cake. I was glad to see the e-mail I recieved with this cake. I used to make it with my Mom. I was worried when I saw this recipe because my Mom always made this in a 9x11 pan & I was worried that I remembered incorrectly. As soon as I got to the rating page I glad to see that a lot of other people make it that way. My Mom has been gone for 16 yrs so it will feel good to"bake with her again"
Date published: 2004-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I make this cake I use 2 small boxes of jello, 1 lemon and on the second layer I use lime jello... When I make this cake I use 2 small boxes of jello, 1 lemon and on the second layer I use lime jello then proceed as directed. It makes a really refreshing summer desert. I also have made it at Christmas time using a box of red jello for 1 layer and a box of lime for the second and then use silver , red and green sprinkles on top of the cool whip. It makes really pretty party desert.
Date published: 2004-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At first I thought this recipe would be a lot of trouble to make but it so easy and the taste is... At first I thought this recipe would be a lot of trouble to make but it so easy and the taste is wonderful and refreshing. I ended up using orange jello only because I had some in my pantry so the combination of the orange jello and lemon puddding only added a more unique citrus flavor to the cake. I am going to make this cake for Easter.
Date published: 2007-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this dozens of times, in a simple 9x13 cake pan, and I always use Cherry Jell-O. I've made this dozens of times, in a simple 9x13 cake pan, and I always use Cherry Jell-O. It's quick and easy, and my family loves it! This year, I made it for the 4th of July, and dyed part of the Cool Whip blue, and part of the Cool Whip red, and left the remainder white, and topped the cake with the American Flag. It was a big hit!
Date published: 2004-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this to bring to a friends house. I made this to bring to a friends house. Everyone loved it, including men who prefer their beer instead of pastry. and they ate the whole thing! Very easy to make. Very tasty, light, and I used applesauce instead of oil for the cake, sugar free jell-o, and light cool whip which made it almost fat free! Will definately make again!
Date published: 2006-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this except when I made the cake, I used a 12 oz. I made this except when I made the cake, I used a 12 oz. can of diet Sprite and sugar free lemon jello with Lite Cool Whip for a lighter version. For Weight Watchers members, I think this is only 3 points with 2 tbsp of the Cool Whip! Totally refreshing and my husband never knew it was lite! (We added sliced strawberries too!)
Date published: 2004-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for Easter. I made this cake for Easter. I substituted one pack of lemon jello with orange jello. Wonderful!!! I also cut thin lemon slices in half and placed them in opposite direction all around the cake. On the top I sliced two lemon slices about a 1/4 of the way and twisted them. It was wonderful and everyone loved it!!!!!!
Date published: 2007-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have not made this yet...some reviews indicated they on,y use one Bo's of jell instead of two. Have not made this yet...some reviews indicated they on,y use one Bo's of jell instead of two. Am I missing something, the recipe only calls for one box of jello. Re: frosting: I think if you mix the pudding,let sit a minute, then gently fold in the cool whip, it will keep its thicker consistency.
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake on mothers day for the family and it turned out wonderful. I made this cake on mothers day for the family and it turned out wonderful. It was so yummy. I enjoyed making it because it was simple. The hard part was it needs to be refrigerated and there was not much room for it. So other than that it was a hit. It was light and fluffy and just simply perfect
Date published: 2004-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made it twice, to rave reviews! Made it twice, to rave reviews! Made it as a 13 x 9 pan. My pie loving husband normally avoids "gooey" desserts, but he requested seconds! The lemon version is definitely a nice spring treat. I used candied lemon & lime slices on each piece of cake for a colourful presentation at a church dinner.
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband said, "you change my view of cake! My husband said, "you change my view of cake!" Normally not a cake liker, he ate two pieces. It is light and refreshing. I dissolved the jello in one cup of boiling water and added a cup of very cold water. Then I only refrigerated the cake for 2 hours. Everyone who tried this cake loved it!
Date published: 2007-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this cake is delicious! this cake is delicious!! my family especially enjoys it made with strawberry jello in place of the lemon jello. i just make a sheet cake(9x11), and pour the jello mix over the cake in the pan. i let it cool, then top with coolwhip & sliced strawberries. this is a great Easter/ Spring cake.
Date published: 2003-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this cake was so easy to make, i made it a 13x9 inch pan and used strawberry jello, it was just the... this cake was so easy to make, i made it a 13x9 inch pan and used strawberry jello, it was just the best cake i ever eaten, and the coolwhip on top, just made it even more delicious want to try the lemon pudding poke cake too, i bet its just as good, thank you for the great recipe, kathi
Date published: 2004-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this lemon cake for a graduation party and it turned out great.It is a pretty dessert and it... I made this lemon cake for a graduation party and it turned out great.It is a pretty dessert and it is also delicious! Guests loved the light, refreshing taste for the summer months. Printed recipe for some of ladies at party. Will be a dessert at future gatherings of friends and family.
Date published: 2007-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake was so most and so yummy but most of all so easy. This cake was so most and so yummy but most of all so easy. I made tis recipe for both my husband and my staff and it was gone before I knew it. I was lucky to get a piece! The next time I make it, I plan on using a different flavor just to give more variety!! I highly suggest it!
Date published: 2004-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this for 16 years. I have made this for 16 years. I use orange jello and decorate with little canned oranges on top. I have done the strawberry and cherry. It is fun and easy to put together and there are never any leftovers when brought to a social gathering. It is always the first to to.
Date published: 2004-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it was ok- used the wrong kind of pudding mix- PLEASE READ THE PACKAGE (i bought the cook & serve... it was ok- used the wrong kind of pudding mix- PLEASE READ THE PACKAGE (i bought the cook & serve mix) therefore my frosting wasn't as thick as it looks on the picture, but other than that i didn't use all of the jello mix- too lemony but light & tangy- cool for the summer!
Date published: 2007-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for an office birthday party - everyone loved it. I made this for an office birthday party - everyone loved it. Even the president and his wife stopped by my desk to thank me for making it! I will be making it again for my bunko group. Although you have to plan ahead due to the wait time, it is definitely worth it!
Date published: 2007-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for easter. I made this for easter. Since I had to travel, I made it using a 9x13 pan. This was fantastic. Very refreshing and light tasting for a dessert. Will make another time using a lemon cake mix if I can find it. The lemon was not as pronounced as I thought it would be.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make a similar version for the holidays. I make a similar version for the holidays. I make one layer with any red flavor and the other layer with any green flavor of jello. I just use plain cool whip for the topping, but it is very good. It's a nice light dessert when you don't want something too rich.
Date published: 2006-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for Easter and my father and siblings usually only have Ice cream cake. I made this cake for Easter and my father and siblings usually only have Ice cream cake. Well they loved this cake and so did everyone else the Jello really makes the cake so moist I used regular vanilla cake with the lemon jello and frosting PERFECT!
Date published: 2007-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Mother used to make a cake like this, with a few differences. My Mother used to make a cake like this, with a few differences. Use a lemon cake mix, poke the holes, but use raspberry gelatin *made with half the water the box says*. Then top it with lemon pudding, then cool whip. It's a whole new level of cake!
Date published: 2002-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I mix one package of Instant Lemon Pudding with 1 cup of milk then fold that into the Cool Whip to... I mix one package of Instant Lemon Pudding with 1 cup of milk then fold that into the Cool Whip to frost the cake. Also if you use sugar-free jello, pudding and Cool Whip Free this is an excellent treat for anyone on a diet or if they are diabetic.
Date published: 2006-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this in a 9x13 pan for work and everyone just enjoyed the light texture of the cake. I made this in a 9x13 pan for work and everyone just enjoyed the light texture of the cake. I plan on testing different flavors. PS...I probably wouldn't have made it had I not got the wonderful calendar!! I wish you would do another. Thank you.
Date published: 2008-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe but I used a strawberry cake mix, strawberry jello. I made this recipe but I used a strawberry cake mix, strawberry jello. strawberry cool whip and decorated it with fresh strawberries. In other words, my family loves strawberries. I have also made it in the lemon flavor and my family loves both.
Date published: 2004-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loved this and is so easy to make I tried othervariations such as raspberry jello and... My family loved this and is so easy to make I tried othervariations such as raspberry jello and some fresh raspberries for garnish i have also tried strawberry and blackberry my favorite was the blackberry but my family loves them all
Date published: 2004-07-10
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_53182, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

501217:53182

>