Make-Ahead Unstuffed Shells - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Make-Ahead Unstuffed Shells

Prep Time
30
min.
Total Time
1
hr.
15
min.
Servings

6 servings

Here's the saucy, creamy deliciousness of stuffed pasta shells—without the hassle of stuffing them and with the convenience of make-ahead preparation.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Cook pasta as directed on package, omitting salt. Meanwhile, brown meat in large skillet; drain. Stir in pasta sauce; simmer on medium heat 2 min. Remove from heat.
  • Drain pasta. Mix cream cheese spread, basil, Parmesan, milk and Italian seasoning in large bowl until blended; stir in pasta. Spread half the meat sauce onto bottom of 13x9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; cover with layers of pasta mixture and remaining meat sauce. Sprinkle with mozzarella; cover with Reynolds Wrap® Aluminum Foil. Refrigerate up to 24 hours.
  • Heat oven to 375ºF. Bake casserole, covered, 40 to 45 min. or until heated through, uncovering after 30 min.
Reynolds® is a registered trademark of Reynolds Consumer Products LLC

Special Extra

Cook 1 each small chopped onion and green pepper along with the meat.

Variation

Casserole can be baked immediately after assembling. Just reduce the baking time to 30 min., uncovering after 20 min.

Family Fun

Spend time with your family by preparing this meal together and enjoying a walk afterwards.

Servings

  • 6 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 6 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 570
Total fat 23g
Saturated fat 12g
Cholesterol 95mg
Sodium 940mg
Carbohydrate 54g
Dietary fiber 5g
Sugars 9g
Protein 35g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 35 %DV
Vitamin C 6 %DV
Calcium 35 %DV
Iron 25 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from good and easy I made a few tweaks to the recipe - i make a really good bolognese sauce with Italian sausage so i subbed that in for the sauce in the recipe. I also used Ricotta instead of cream cheese and added spinach. it needed more of the cheese mixture. when i make stuffed shells, there is this wonderful burst of creamy cheesy filling that was lost in this recipe. i want to try it again using double the cheese mixture. regardless, this was a very quick, filling meal that is making great leftovers. will be making this again.
Date published: 2017-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used the Phildelphia Tomato and Basil Cooking Creme instead of the Original. I used the Phildelphia Tomato and Basil Cooking Creme instead of the Original. I also used the same pot to mix the pasta with the remaining ingredients instead of a large bowl( saved time on cleaning). It came out great.Everyone loved it. I hope when I get home today,that there are still left overs for me to eat.
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have never made it the day before, sometimes earlier in the day but mostly it goes straight into... I have never made it the day before, sometimes earlier in the day but mostly it goes straight into the oven. We LOVE it, this has become one of our favorites. I have been asked several times for the recipe and gladly share. It is super easy to double for a large family for a get together.
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So easy and so tasty! So easy and so tasty! I used garlic cooking cream instead of plain. Will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, Filling and Delicious! I made this for my husband, 16-year-old son and I. It was delicious! My son RAVED about it and my husband took a nice portion to work the next day for lunch. The entire casserole was gone in less than 2 days! I recommend adding a little extra spaghetti sauce when you mix it with the meat. This will be a regular dinner option in our house.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I substituted the Italian Herbs and Cheese cooking creme for the original and omitted the parmesan... I substituted the Italian Herbs and Cheese cooking creme for the original and omitted the parmesan and basil. I also increased the mozzarella to 2 cups to ease the measuring and the pasta to 1 lb. These alterations didn't effect the quality of the dish but made the prep that much easier.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family loves this so much that they request it if I haven't made it in a while. My family loves this so much that they request it if I haven't made it in a while. It's easy, especially if it's made ahead of time, it's filling, everyone eats, and there's leftovers for lunch the next day. I usually add extra Philly cream cheese to make it creamier- it's awesome.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took the suggestion of another commenter and used sausage and regular cream cheese. I took the suggestion of another commenter and used sausage and regular cream cheese. My mother is vegetarian but me and my boyfriend are not so I made one dish with sausage and one without. Both were fantastic. I also sautéed the peppers and onions in olive oil before adding.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious I made this last night and my family loved it. The only thing I added was onion and salt to the ground beef. I served with a simple green salad and mini ciabatta rolls. There was enough left over for maybe 2 more meals. I might add extra cream cheese in the future.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for my brother & his family it was A big hit everyone loved it I also added some onions... Made this for my brother & his family it was A big hit everyone loved it I also added some onions ,green peppers ,and used half ground beef & half italian sausage it was what I had in my pantry & used italian herb cooking cream, can't wait to make this again .
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for my husband using 4-cups Gluten-Free penne pasta instead of the shells, also used... Made this for my husband using 4-cups Gluten-Free penne pasta instead of the shells, also used Italian Herb cooking cream, since they were out of Original the day I went shopping for the ingredients. Super-tasty and easy! Will definitely be making again!
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was delicious! It was delicious! I agree with katiec0213 that adding a little more sauce would be better. Also, I used Philly Sundried Tom cooking creme and I think it would be better with just the plain cooking creme. This recipe was so easy and will make it again!
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was delicious! This recipe was delicious! I did not do the make-ahead version. It was super easy and quick. It tastes a lot like lasagna. I used the herb cream cheese sauce as someone else recommended. Also, I used my own regular recipe for spaghetti sauce.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef. I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef. I couldn't find the cooking cream so I softened 8 oz of cream cheese and thinned it with some half and half and added garlic powder and Italian seasoning. It worked great and the dish was a hit!
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from AWESOME! AWESOME! I substituted turkey for the beef, added onions, Santa Fe Cooking Creme, and 8 oz. of a 1/3 less fat creme cheese as suggested by a previous reviewer. It was quick and easy to make. Looking forward to the leftovers tonight!
Date published: 2012-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe and I have to say, it was really good! I made this recipe and I have to say, it was really good! I actually used a regular 8oz size of cream cheese instead of the cooking creme and it turned out great! Very easy and pretty tasty! I would recommend this recipe!
Date published: 2012-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was so easy! This recipe was so easy!! My husband loved it. I think it would be even better with a little more sauce; maybe another half jar or so. Otherwise it was amazing. Thanks Kraft for making dinner planning a little easier.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious recipe! Delicious recipe! Even my some what picky kids ate it! I used dried basil instead of fresh. I'm not sure how much I used but I'd estimate maybe a tablespoon to 1.5 tablespoons. Will definately make again soon!
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for Christmas Eve. Made this for Christmas Eve. The Grandkids loved it. The best thing was, I made it the day before and then just had to bake it. Planning to make it again for SuperBowl Sunday. Thanks Kraft for making things easy !
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Blah. Blah. While eating this dish I kept thinking . . . this would be better with red pepper flakes, more sauce, ricotta cheese, etc. In the end, though, it would have been better if I had used a different recipe!
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves this recipe. My family loves this recipe. I make it with the Italian Cheese and Herb cream cheese and leave out the basil. It is fantastic. It gives it a real Italian flavor. My family calls it Lazy Man's Lasagna. :)
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My family loves this dish and so do I! My family loves this dish and so do I! So easy to put together. I make it with Italian sausage and I use the Italian Herb flavored cooking cream. I've used the Pesto flavor as well. I love this dish!
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! I love this! I used Italian herb and cheese cooking cream and it turned out great! It gave it more flavor! I cook for two people so we had dinner for 2 nights! I highly recommend this recipe!!!
Date published: 2012-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my family - my son and his friend ate the entire pan by themselves! I made this recipe for my family - my son and his friend ate the entire pan by themselves! I now make it at least every other week and they just can't get enough. Super quick, easy and cheap.
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was delicious. This was delicious. I did not add basil as I do not care for the taste. To compensate, I added a bit of green pepper and a couple shakes of seasoning salt. I will definitely make it again.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family loved this even my 19 month old daughter. Family loved this even my 19 month old daughter. Made a few minor changes added more marinara sauce and cheese and added chopped onions to the meat. Making this a regular
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kids loved this dish! My kids loved this dish! They called it lasagna explosion! The noodles were very creamy with the Philadelphia spread. I even used ground sausage. Will surely make again.
Date published: 2012-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We all loved it and will make again! We all loved it and will make again! Used Italian Herb and Cheese Cooking Cream instead and added chopped onions to the meat. Recipe was quick, easy, and flavorful. :)
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This dish is great and I look forward to making it again. This dish is great and I look forward to making it again. Just make sure you have a large pot to coat the pasta. I made it difficult on myself by using a small bowl.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our family loved it! Our family loved it! I used the cooking creme i had on hand which was the SANTA FE BLEND, and did add another 8 oz of 1/3 less Fat Phil Creme Cheese - LOVED IT!!!
Date published: 2012-12-10
  • y_2017, m_12, d_9, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_128138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

566817:128138

>