Maple-Baked Apple Chicken - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Maple-Baked Apple Chicken

Prep Time
15
min.
Total Time
40
min.
Servings

4 servings

Chicken breasts get a sweet and savory kick from apples, maple syrup and onions in this simple comfort food dish.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Cook chicken in large ovenproof skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium-high heat 3 min. on each side or until evenly browned. Remove from heat.
  • Top chicken with onions; surround with apples. Mix syrup and dressing; pour over chicken.
  • Bake 20 to 25 min. or until chicken is done (165ºF). Drizzle with syrup mixture from bottom of skillet.

Cooking Know-How

If you don't have an ovenproof skillet, simply cover the handle of your regular skillet with several layers of foil before using as directed.

Substitute

Substitute honey for the syrup.

Serving Suggestion

Serve with prepared STOVE TOP Stuffing or hot cooked rice.

Servings

  • 4 servings

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 4 servings
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 310
Total fat 7g
Saturated fat 1.5g
Cholesterol 65mg
Sodium 260mg
Carbohydrate 38g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 36g
Protein 25g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 0 %DV
Vitamin C 4 %DV
Calcium 2 %DV
Iron 6 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was a little hesitant to make this recipe because of the syrup & italian dressing mix- it just... I was a little hesitant to make this recipe because of the syrup & italian dressing mix- it just seemed too strange to work, but the chicken tasted fabulous! I placed the ingredients in foil packets in my toaster oven, so I could make mine with onions and my husband's without. The funniest thing is, I'm not a big apple fan either- until now. I loved the warm apple slices as a side-dish. We'll be having this dish at least once a month.
Date published: 2005-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe's great! This recipe's great! I used part-maple syrup and part-honey (not exactly sure the exact measurements, just whatever I had in the house) and it turned out fabulous! A lot of the comments mention that the apples didn't get soft enough... I used Rome apples (which seem to be a little bit softer than the average), and they absorbed the syrup flavor perfectly! I served this with white cheddar mashed potatoes and spinach salad. :)
Date published: 2007-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was fantastic and VERY quick and easy! This was fantastic and VERY quick and easy! I prepared with Kraft’s Cranberry & Toasted Walnut Stuffing and the Green Bean Sauté. My family loved the whole meal. All the flavors complimented each other wonderfully. It was a great cold weather - comfort food - meal to kick off the fall season. Just a note: the recipe doesn’t tell you that the chicken skillet does not have to be covered in the oven!
Date published: 2005-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this last night for diiner, and it received a thumbs-up! I made this last night for diiner, and it received a thumbs-up! I would have to agree with the others and recommend that the onions be browned with the chicken - they tended to not cook much and dried out a little. I would bet this dish would be good with pork chops also - though the cooking time may have to be adjusted depending on the thickness of the chops. I will definitely make this again!
Date published: 2005-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my husband and 3 kids and they loved it! I made this for my husband and 3 kids and they loved it! it was very easy! I made the Festive Side Salad(at bottom of page) with it before hand-and I also made rice- just butter rice. The family actually used the juice from the chicken and put it on the rice. I then went for the a sweeter veggie- sweet corn! It was a awesome meal and everyone enjoyed! Great new way to make chicken!!!
Date published: 2005-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was really skeptical when I read the ingredients but this dish was fabulous. I was really skeptical when I read the ingredients but this dish was fabulous. Sweet but not icky sweet. Pair it with something savory like Stove Top Stuffing and a salad of tossed greens, pecans, pears, feta cheese and light raspberry vinegrette to balance out the sweetness. Also recommend using real maple syrup rather than bottled pancake syrup. I used granny smith apples.
Date published: 2008-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My family like this recipe a lot. My family like this recipe a lot. My husband is a picky eater and he even said it was good and I should make it again. The apples and onions were delicious and gave the chicken a great flavor! I added a little honey with the maple syrup. I used Kraft's fat free italian, too. Next time I would probably use a little more maple syrup then the recipe called for.
Date published: 2005-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THIS WAS GOOD, TASTY AND QUICK. THIS WAS GOOD, TASTY AND QUICK. I USED HONEY, NOT MAPLE SYRUP--COOKED IT COVERED MOST OF THE TIME AND UNCOVERED LAST 15 OR SO MIN.S. (COOKED IT LONGER THAT RECIPE--) SO THAT ONIONS WOULD BROWN. SAUCE NEEDS SOMETHING THO--BIT BROWN SUGAR OR MAYBE TERYAKI SAUCE? I WILL MAKE AGAIN THO--AND EXPERIMENT. D/H REALLY LIKED IT THE WAY IT IS.... THANKS KRAFT.
Date published: 2005-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent recipe! This is an excellent recipe! It was full of flavor and really made the chicken very moist, not to mention it made my kitchen smell fantastic! I used lite syrup and fat free italian dressing to cut down on calories. I also used granny smith apples instead of red baking apples because it was all I had on hand. I will be making this again and again!
Date published: 2009-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so easy to make and it looked like I slaved in the kitchen! This was so easy to make and it looked like I slaved in the kitchen! I substituted sugar-free maple syrup and reduced fat Italian dressing and got great results. I served this with baked sweet potatoes and it was like Sunday dinner. Not only will I make this again, I'm sharing the recipe with family and friends - this is too good to not share!
Date published: 2007-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We loved it! We loved it! I used real maple syrup, fat free zesty Italian dressing, 9 boneless skinless chicken thighs, 1 red onion, 1 jonagold apple,1 granny smith apple, 2 sliced carrots, 5 chunked red potatoes, salt & pepper. I must have sliced the apples to thin because they turned to mush. The taste was wonderful and I had compliments all night long!
Date published: 2007-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didn't have any Zesty Italian dressing, so I used another brand of balsamic vinegarette instead... I didn't have any Zesty Italian dressing, so I used another brand of balsamic vinegarette instead and it was really good!! Even my kids (5 and 2) liked the flavor, although the apples were a bit too mushy for my taste. I'll experiment with another variety of apple next time. I also think I'll stick with the balsamic dressing. A keeper!
Date published: 2007-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this again and again. I have made this again and again. This is my hubands favorite chicken recipe and it is company worthy. The only change I make is that I use a good chicken seasoning when browning chicken on each side - and this really goes well with a nice seasoned rice. Super easy and fast recipe - very nice pretty presentation when served.
Date published: 2005-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good blend of flavors, except the flavors did not enhance the chicken. Good blend of flavors, except the flavors did not enhance the chicken. The gravy/broth was necessary with each bite to flavor the chicken. Also, as other readers said, there is no such thing as a glaze here...and I cut way back on the dressing. This is a great idea, but the recipe itself needs adjusting, hence the 2 stars.
Date published: 2005-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this recipe on our grill and individually foil wrapped each serving. I made this recipe on our grill and individually foil wrapped each serving. The chicken was very tender and the syrup and dressing made a wonderful glaze. Most important, the kids liked it! If you choose to make this on your grill, place the chicken on a baking sheet and place on the top rack to avoid over cooking. :)
Date published: 2005-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was great! This was great!! We were looking for something new to try since chicken can get boring easily. This was quick and easy and very flavorful! I ended up just putting the chicken in the oven for 45 min rather than cooking it in the pan first. It came out great and we're definitely going to be doing this again soon!
Date published: 2008-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to make. Very easy to make. In fact, I was running low on time, so I just put all the ingredients in the crockpot. I thought it turned out great. I was hoping the maple and zesty italian dressing combination would have made a more distinct flavor, but it was still very good and I would definitely make it again.
Date published: 2007-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband made this for dinner last night and I brought the leftovers to work - which explains why... My husband made this for dinner last night and I brought the leftovers to work - which explains why I'm even on the site - all of my co-workers wanted the recipe. Nobody wanted their lunch anymore - they all wanted mine. I ended up hunting down the recipe and printing it out for everyone! Thanks!
Date published: 2005-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and flavorful recipe. Easy and flavorful recipe. I used real maple syrup and 1/2 cup zesty italian dressing. Used golden delicious apples instead of red baking apples. Also I cut the breasts into strips and baked them in a large baking pan instead of skillet. Turned out fabulous! I will definetly make this again!
Date published: 2006-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even after reading all the reviews I still had my doubts. Even after reading all the reviews I still had my doubts. Well, the reviews were correct, this was one of the best chicken recipes I've ever made. Chicken was so moist, apples were tender and sweet. Everyone, including our 3 year old grandson loved it. Will be making this again, very soon!
Date published: 2011-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was very skeptical about the Italian/maple combo, but I am very glad I made this. I was very skeptical about the Italian/maple combo, but I am very glad I made this. It was awesome! I substituted red bell peppers for onions, granny smith apples, & made my own Italian dressing. my husband loved it & said I would definitely win over my new in-laws with this recipe!
Date published: 2010-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm not a big sweets lover but I really enjoyed this recipe.....My hubby who is picky liked it and... I'm not a big sweets lover but I really enjoyed this recipe.....My hubby who is picky liked it and so did the kids...they liked the fact that it had syrup and apples in it....I don't think they even noticed the onions....I will make this again when I want to change up the menu....
Date published: 2005-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this was a great success, fast, easy to prepare, healthy, my kids loved it. this was a great success, fast, easy to prepare, healthy, my kids loved it. i used red onions instead that added more color to the dish. and i cut a whole tortilla warp in each dinner plate instead of rice or sweet potatoes.many friends on my face book wanted to make it too !
Date published: 2011-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a great variation on chicken! This was a great variation on chicken! I made it for my parents while they visited. Even my dad, who doesn't like anything "fruity", ate every bit of it. Everyone loved it. Next time I will make more sauce and use a bit more italian dressing to cut the sweetness a little.
Date published: 2005-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was wonderful! This was wonderful! I didn't have the boneless breasts so I cooked them about 20 minutes longer. They were great! My new husband raved about them. I even brought leftovers and my friends enjoyed it too. This was easy to make and I used REAL maple syrup in the recipe.
Date published: 2005-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent ! Excellent ! My husban loved it. I used a little less syrup than the recipe called for and it was perfect. I also added some sweet potatoes. That was great ,except some of the potatoes were not done. If you add them, cut in small dices. I will definatly make again.
Date published: 2007-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The sauce is very good. The sauce is very good. I added potatoes and carrots and baked it all together but doubled the sauce. Next time I would probably triple the sauce as it evaporated while it cooked. I also plan to make this again with out the extra vegetables. Great fall favorite.
Date published: 2007-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this just on top of the stove, using sugar-free maple syrup. I made this just on top of the stove, using sugar-free maple syrup. Turned out great! My husband raved about the wonderful taste. I also made the Maple Glazed Carrots as a side dish. All leftovers went to work with my husband!! Will definitely make this again.
Date published: 2007-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i loved this recipe! i loved this recipe! my husband and guest agreed also :) not too sweet (i used honey) and the dressing gave it a "zesty" flavor... though i would have like the onions to brown a little more than they did with the recommended time. once again stars go to kraft!
Date published: 2005-09-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Neither my husband or I enjoyed this. Neither my husband or I enjoyed this. It's ok (and we ate it), but it was one of those recipes where you find yourself wishing you had made something different. The Italian dressing and maple syrup are a strange combination and we will not make this again.
Date published: 2008-10-18
  • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_218
  • loc_en_US, sid_75582, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

551030:75582

>