Mary's Macaroni & Cheese Recipe - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Mary's Macaroni & Cheese Recipe

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
50
min.
Servings

8 servings, 1 cup each

Try our homestyle Mary's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe. Follow our Mary's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe for a rich, creamy dish which your family will love.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Place butter in 13x9-inch baking dish; cover with layers of half each of the macaroni, VELVEETA and cheddar.
  • Whisk egg and milk until blended; pour half over ingredients in baking dish. Repeat with all remaining ingredients except paprika.
  • Bake 15 min.; stir until blended. Bake 15 min. or until macaroni mixture is heated through and top is golden brown. Sprinkle with paprika.

Healthy Living

Save 50 calories and 7g of fat, including 4g of saturated fat, per serving by preparing with 2% Milk VELVEETA and KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Cheddar Cheese.

Special Extra

For a festive look, add layers of 2 cups chopped mixed red and green peppers along with the other casserole layers before baking.

Servings

  • 8 servings, 1 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 8 servings, 1 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 500
Total fat 24g
Saturated fat 14g
Cholesterol 90mg
Sodium 660mg
Carbohydrate 50g
Dietary fiber 2g
Sugars 8g
Protein 21g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 20 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 50 %DV
Iron 15 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from I followed this recipe precisely and I honestly have to say that this was very bland and not very... I followed this recipe precisely and I honestly have to say that this was very bland and not very tasty at all. None of my children would eat it and now I'm looking for ways to get rid of it. It's a shame - I'm sincerely looking for a good homemade mac and cheese recipe and this definitely was not it. Sorry!
Date published: 2006-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hi there! hi there! wow I just made this recipe and used tortiglioni by mistake, it was better then I've had befor . I must say I've been making macroni & cheese since I was 19yrs.,oldmy family always braged about mine.thats until they tasted yours. fantastick. 5 stars +++ thanks, I will share it with ever one .
Date published: 2006-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i have been making baked mac. i have been making baked mac. & cheez since i was about 14. My grandmother tought me, but i use colbey & jack too, no butter or egg. I bake it about an hour or so, golden brown on top. my family goes nuts over it. for every party or cookout they say dont show up without it. You can also do it stove top.
Date published: 2006-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this last night. Made this last night. My family loved it. I did make changes. I used 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese and 1 cup shredded monterey jack cheese along with 5 oz of the velvetta cubed. I also added cut up chicken and I cooked bacon and crumbled it in the casserole. This was delicious and filling.
Date published: 2008-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband had this fond memory of something his sister made when he was young. My husband had this fond memory of something his sister made when he was young. I thought that the memory would prevail in this case, but he oogled over this. I even got my anti-mac 'n' cheese eater to eat a whole bowl. It is pretty rich, so don't let your stomach be bigger than your eyes.
Date published: 2006-12-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Made this for Christmas Eve - somewhat disappointed, very dry, not very cheesy - took twice as long... Made this for Christmas Eve - somewhat disappointed, very dry, not very cheesy - took twice as long to brown, delayed dinner by 1/2 hour - May try it again using more shredded cheese and possibly add Mozzarella so not so dry. Great concept, all in one pan - - definitely worth a second try!
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was pretty good. It was pretty good. I wouldn't say great, but good enough to make again sometime. It was a little runnier than I had expected, so next time I probably won't add as much milk. It does thicken a little as it cools. Overall, it's worth a try. I think it would be a hit with children.
Date published: 2008-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy...Yummy ! Yummy...Yummy !! This was soooo good. My husband loves Macaroni and Cheese and I've tried several recipes and not been thrilled. My husband said this one was a keeper. I have made it several times. It is really easy too. I don't, however, use the paprika. This is great !!
Date published: 2007-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this and shared with my neighbor and my parish priest. I made this and shared with my neighbor and my parish priest. We all loved it and will make it during lent at lot. I used the new Velveeta Shreds rather than cutting the regular Velveeta in chuncks. It worked out great. Best recipe for Mac and Cheese I have tried. Thanks.
Date published: 2011-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved this recipe. I loved this recipe. I made a couple of changes to it though. Instead of regular cheddar cheese I used the Kraft Mexican Blend 4 cheese and instead of paprika I used a tiny amount of ground cumin. It came out wonderfully and I will defintely make it again in the future.
Date published: 2007-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My other homemade mac and cheese recipe is much more labor intense. My other homemade mac and cheese recipe is much more labor intense. This one was simple but I did make one adjustment. I added breadcrumbs to the top after I stirred it. Next time I will probably add more cheese and some salt but it was still quite tasty as presented.
Date published: 2005-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was super easy to make and very good. This recipe was super easy to make and very good. I like that i can make a homemade mac & cheese and its still good. I used 1/2 cheddar & 1/2 italian cheese since it was what i had. This recipe makes alot, way more than 8 servings. I will definately make this again.
Date published: 2007-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Recipe is very good...I have been making mac & Cheese forever, but never used the Cheddar... This Recipe is very good...I have been making mac & Cheese forever, but never used the Cheddar Cheese in it...I loved it.. I add Lil smokies, or kielbasa, or cut up slices of smoked sausage in it before I bake it, for an easy Delicious Meal...my kids go crazy over it..
Date published: 2006-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my 2nd year making this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner, it is so easy and delicious that my... This is my 2nd year making this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner, it is so easy and delicious that my children have begged me to start making this kind of mac & cheese, as opposed to the boxed stuff. I doubled the velveeta & cheddar this year, and it was awesome!
Date published: 2005-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the first thing gone....everyone LOVED it! I made this for Thanksgiving and it was the first thing gone....everyone LOVED it! I did add 2 extra cups of "Shredded Mexican Cheese Blend" (one cup on each layer) to make it creamier, less runny, and EXTRA cheesy! I plan on making this every Thanksgiving!
Date published: 2007-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My husband ate Macaroni & Cheese for dinner practically every day before we were married. My husband ate Macaroni & Cheese for dinner practically every day before we were married. I don't consider it a meal! But this is a great compromise! I don't feel like I am feeding my kids a TV dinner! It is creamy and GONE in about 10 minutes!
Date published: 2005-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was looking for an easy mac and cheese and this is it! I was looking for an easy mac and cheese and this is it! It is very good, too. My husband even asked me to make it again! I like that you can put everything in the pan and let it bake. And yes, using different kinds of cheese makes it even better.
Date published: 2011-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have always made mac&cheese from scratch. I have always made mac&cheese from scratch. Decided to try a baked mac&cheese for a potluck. This was great! Substituted pepper cheese for the cheddar cheese the second time and went over even better. Also sprinkled with bread crumbs. Yummm...
Date published: 2008-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I having been making this recipe for years and my family loves it. I having been making this recipe for years and my family loves it. You can make it lower calorie for those of us that need to watch out for our calories. It's a keeper and it also heats up very well. I would highly recommend this.
Date published: 2007-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy, very creamy, very yummy! Very easy, very creamy, very yummy! Everyone loved it - including my husband who swears the best Mac and Cheese comes from the blue box!! Made a lot more than 8 servings - which is fine, since we'll be fighting over the leftovers.
Date published: 2007-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for my daughters first birthday on 2/19/05. I made this recipe for my daughters first birthday on 2/19/05. There was alot of family and friends there and every one loved it. We served many different foods and Marys mac and chesse was the very first thing to go. Thanks
Date published: 2005-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for christmas dinner and it was suprisingly easy to make and was very good. I made this for christmas dinner and it was suprisingly easy to make and was very good. I plan on making it again but may cut recipe to half unless we have another big get together then it's the perfect size for larger events
Date published: 2005-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving and it was delicious. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was delicious. I altered the recipe, I used 1 cup of Kraft Colby & Monterey Jack Shredded and 1 cup of Kraft Italian 5 Cheese Shredded, instead of 2 cups of Cheddar Shredded.
Date published: 2006-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I even made it using the mac and cheese box and adding more cooked macaroni (if don't have 16 oz). I even made it using the mac and cheese box and adding more cooked macaroni (if don't have 16 oz). Than added cheese. Experiement with different cheeses. My kids love this dish and usually don't have any left.
Date published: 2004-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe is very good. This recipe is very good. I did at an extra cup of sharp cheddar and about and extra 1/4 lb. of Velvetta. The key is to stir it really well after the first 15 mins. I will definately make this recipe again!
Date published: 2006-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe was delicious. This recipe was delicious. My husband really enjoyed it. But to make it extra creamy I used the whole pack of velveta cheese and also shredded both cheddar and mozarella cheese and it turned out wonderfully.
Date published: 2008-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this tonight and my family all loved it! Made this tonight and my family all loved it! Only thing I did different was I used Sharp Cheddar instead of regular. I also added a little salt and pepper. This was great! I'll definately be making it again!
Date published: 2008-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was so easy and it tasted really good. This was so easy and it tasted really good. It had the consistency of a quiche or possibly a souffle or custard probably because of the egg. I did cook it longer than the recipe called for. Very cheesy.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mmmm! Mmmm!! Even better the next day! I cooked it longer than directed so it wouldn't be runny. Also, a couple minutes before I pulled it out, I added some extra cheddar cheese and paprika for a pretty finish.
Date published: 2008-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stop looking, because you have just found the BEST Mac & Cheese recipe! Stop looking, because you have just found the BEST Mac & Cheese recipe! I make this on a regular basis for my family. It's a winner for kids and adults. It's easy to make, and it is delicious! Enjoy!!
Date published: 2007-02-06
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_55, tr_149
  • loc_en_US, sid_62578, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

544346:62578

>