Merry Cherry Dessert - Kraft Recipes Top
Comida Kraft
Recipe Box

Merry Cherry Dessert

Prep Time
20
min.
Total Time
3
hr.
50
min.
Servings

18 servings, 2/3 cup each

What is this fruity gelatin dessert with fluffy topping so merry about? Probably knows it’s perfect for a holiday party crowd.

Read MoreRead Less

What You Need

Showing deals in -1, -1 -1
Show Deals
Change Zip
Select All
Add To Shopping List

Make It

Tap or click steps to mark as complete

  • Reserve 1/3 cup cherry pie filling for garnish; set aside. Add boiling water to gelatin mix in large bowl; stir at least 2 min. until completely dissolved. Stir in cold water and remaining cherry pie filling. Refrigerate 45 min. or until slightly thickened.
  • Place cake cubes in 3-qt. serving bowl; cover with gelatin mixture. Refrigerate 45 min. or until gelatin layer is set but not firm.
  • Beat pudding mixes and milk in large bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in 2 cups COOL WHIP; spoon over gelatin layer in bowl. Refrigerate 2 hours or until firm. Top with remaining COOL WHIP and reserved cherry pie filling.

Substitute

Use 1 pkg. (3.4 oz.) JELL-O SIMPLY GOOD Vanilla Bean Flavor Pudding.

Variation

Prepare as directed with lite cherry pie filling, fat-free milk and COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping.

Substitute

Prepare using 2 pkg. (3 oz. each) JELL-O Cherry Flavor Gelatin.

Special Extra

Garnish with PLANTERS Sliced Almonds just before serving.

Special Extra

Garnish with fresh mint sprigs.

Special Extra

Garnish with PLANTERS Sliced Almonds or fresh mint sprigs just before serving.

Servings

  • 18 servings, 2/3 cup each

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 18 servings, 2/3 cup each
AMOUNT PER SERVING
Calories 190
Total fat 3.5g
Saturated fat 3g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 300mg
Carbohydrate 38g
Sugars 33g
Protein 3g
% Daily Value
Vitamin A 6 %DV
Vitamin C 0 %DV
Calcium 4 %DV
Iron 0 %DV

* Nutrition information is estimated based on the ingredients and cooking instructions as described in each recipe and is intended to be used for informational purposes only. Please note that nutrition details may vary based on methods of preparation, origin and freshness of ingredients used.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely scrumptious! Absolutely scrumptious! I baked a lemon cake mix and used this instead of the angel food cake. Both my husband and daughter loved this cake, and neither one of them likes jello. A friend of mine happened to make this cake also and said that her whole family also loved it. I've already fowarded the recipe to a couple of friends.
Date published: 2006-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from There was too much jello and not enough cherries. There was too much jello and not enough cherries. I would only use maybe 1/2 the jello and bump up the cherry pie filling. I took it for dessert on Christmas and no one seemed to be too impressed with it. They were giving me ideas on how to make it better! That's a sign that it wasn't the best dessert I've made.
Date published: 2006-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for our Christmas party for approximately 40 people. I made this for our Christmas party for approximately 40 people. It sounded soooo good, I was dying to try it. I made a few other desserts too, but this one was completely gone. I am making it again for Christmas day so I can see if it was really that good. Adults and kids loved it and many asked for the recipe.
Date published: 2006-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for New Years eve. I made this recipe for New Years eve. It took a while to make but I was able to do other things while it set up. It's super simple and delicious. Among all of the other desserts this was the first one to finish. I should have made two! I plan on making it agian for another family party next weekend!
Date published: 2007-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a party last weekend and it was a big hit. I made this for a party last weekend and it was a big hit. To lower the calories I used sugar free jello and sugar free pudding, as well as sugar free Cool Whip. The guests all raved about it and couldn't believe I'd used sugar free ingredients! A very pretty presentation in a trifle bowl.
Date published: 2006-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This recipe is AWESOME! This recipe is AWESOME!!! But I changed up the cherries with Dark Morello Cherries by Trader Joes it tastes really fresh cherry flavor and the cherries have real texture ( the can cherries leave it less flavorfull and if you love "real cherries" you love the switch! Melissa G. Mesa, Az
Date published: 2007-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Super Bowl Sunday and so surprised it was so good . I made this for Super Bowl Sunday and so surprised it was so good . Everyone loved it. The next day I took the rest to work with me and everyone wanted the recipe. The ones who didn't get to taste it got a little upset, so I am making it again for Valentine's Day. Excellent recipe!!!
Date published: 2007-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this recipe for Christmas and everyone loved it! I made this recipe for Christmas and everyone loved it! They all commented it was a nice change from something rich and chocolate. I highly recommend this recipe for something fruity and refreshing, and what a pretty presentation! Everyone raved and ate the whole thing!
Date published: 2006-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for Thanksgiving, substituting strawberry jello and pie filling, because I don't like... I made this for Thanksgiving, substituting strawberry jello and pie filling, because I don't like cherry. It was the first empty dessert dish that day. I made it again a few days later, substituting white chocolate pudding. Even BETTER. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2006-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this dessert MANY times and year round. I have made this dessert MANY times and year round. Every time I make it there is almost nothing leftover and I have to give out the recipe. I have also made this using strawberry jello and strawberry pie filling with the same results--AWESOME!!!!
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I changed it just a bit and instead of using regular cherry pie filling all I could find was cherry... I changed it just a bit and instead of using regular cherry pie filling all I could find was cherry jubilee. It turned out wonderful. It was a little time consuming but well worth it in the end! Very good and very festive for the season!!!!
Date published: 2006-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have only made it with sugar free and fat free products. I have only made it with sugar free and fat free products. Everyone raves about how good it tastes and how light it is. It presents as well as it tastes. I would like to have the calorie count using all sugar free and fat ingredients.
Date published: 2011-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a hit at my family Christmas dinner.. This was a hit at my family Christmas dinner.. and now they voted me to make this for all our Christmas dinners...It was such a a great and easy dessert...and very light and refreshingbeats the ordinary traditional pies that are served.
Date published: 2008-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made several deserts for Thanksgiving including this one and while every other desert use to be... I made several deserts for Thanksgiving including this one and while every other desert use to be gone at the end of the day, this one was the big hit with lots of leftovers from the other desert. What a presentation this desert makes.
Date published: 2006-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I would make substitutions for cherry as I odn't care for the flavor unless we are talking FRESH... I would make substitutions for cherry as I odn't care for the flavor unless we are talking FRESH cherries, no mixes taste good. I will use raspberry jello, raspberry pie filling and possibly chocolate pudding, depending on guests.
Date published: 2002-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've made this recipe several times and it is always a big hit. I've made this recipe several times and it is always a big hit. It doesn't matter what time of year it is EVERYONE loves to see it at the table. I am always passing along this recipe because it is so simple and delicious!!
Date published: 2002-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This receipe is a winner for anytime of the year, especially Summer, it is cool and refreshing to... This receipe is a winner for anytime of the year, especially Summer, it is cool and refreshing to have and people can not get enough of it. Very easy to make, I made it a day and 1/2 ahead of time and it worked great!
Date published: 2007-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have made this many times and received many compliments. I have made this many times and received many compliments. It is just as good using all low-fat ingredients as well! I have also used raspberry and strawberry pie filling/jello for a differant taste. Both very good.
Date published: 2006-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my very favorite recipes from my very favorite issue of Kraft Foods! One of my very favorite recipes from my very favorite issue of Kraft Foods!!! I am not a big fan of angel food cake so I substitute white cake for it! So yummy and refreshing! Not a very heavy dessert.
Date published: 2009-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always make this whenever we have a family gathering. I always make this whenever we have a family gathering. I use pound cake instead of angel food cake, which gives the recipe a richer flavor. Everyone loves it; you can't go wrong with jell-o and pudding.
Date published: 2009-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everyone was impressed not only by the taste but also by the eye catching appearance. Everyone wanted this dessert even the dieters. What a hit! Will make often.
Date published: 2006-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every one in the family really enjoyed this . Every one in the family really enjoyed this . Since my husband is diabetic, I was able to use sugar free products where applicable. going to try it with a different pie filling the next time
Date published: 2011-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After using 2 cups of Cool Whip with the pudding, there wasn't much left for the top of the... After using 2 cups of Cool Whip with the pudding, there wasn't much left for the top of the dessert. Next time I'll save a bit more for the top. The dessert certainly looks appealing.
Date published: 2009-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unfortunately, this recipe was not good at all. Unfortunately, this recipe was not good at all. Very, very sweet. I do not know what I did wrong, but it was all watery. It was a waste. Nobody ate it. I would not make it again.
Date published: 2006-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crowd Pleaser! Crowd Pleaser!! Everyone wants the recipe after tasting and enjoying. I used french vanilla pudding, even though the color is more on the yellow side it enhances the vanilla flavor
Date published: 2006-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real hit with the crowd. A real hit with the crowd. I did it in individual dishes, sprinkled with some chocolate shavings & added a cherry on top. It makes such a nice looking dessert at this time of year.
Date published: 2002-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a Christmas pot luck at work and everyone loved it and asked if they could have the... I made this for a Christmas pot luck at work and everyone loved it and asked if they could have the recipe. One said she was going to take it to the family dinner for Christmas.
Date published: 2010-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love this dessert! We love this dessert! I use sugar-free jell-o's, skim milk and lite cool-whip. No one ever knows that I've lightened it up. It's so good and makes a very pretty presentation.
Date published: 2010-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make and very tasty. Easy to make and very tasty. Everyone loved it. I used pound cake instead of angel food cake. I would advise to make at least 4 hours ahead so flavors can meld together.
Date published: 2009-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this dessert several times and each time I get more compliments. I made this dessert several times and each time I get more compliments. Everybody always asked for the recipe. This is one of the best desserts that I have ever had.
Date published: 2007-10-11
  • y_2017, m_12, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_83
  • loc_en_US, sid_57546, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_khcrm

505535:57546

>